Rent Leisure Suit Larry: Box Office Bust for PS3
view large frontback

Leisure Suit Larry: Box Office Bust

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
2.7

1173 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nail in the coffin.

posted by CeltCub (SAN JOSE, CA) May 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2005

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to agree with "Hertz1", there is no reason to go into a long drawn out tirade about how bad this game is. They didn't even try. It's a shame because there is some classic vocal work here, but a lackluster script and unplayable game render anything else moot. The humor is not half as funny as the franchise warrants, the graphics prove that even Unreal can look horrible... I can't go on.

I rated it a 1. I never give games a 1.
Listen to the bad reviews and save yourself a spot in your Queue. There is NO reason to rent this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by GMEN181 (WESTWOOD, NJ) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

If i could give this game a zero i would... The game in the 80's was 100x better!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game this Generation...Period

posted by Glacier928 (THIELLS, NY) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Leisure Suit Larry is by far the WORST GAME I've played this generation. I don't even know where to begin with the abundance of problems this game had. The first thing is the fact that the game is soooooooooo boring!!! I was doing fetch quest after fetch quest for no reason what-so-ever. The storyline was never funny during any sequence. There was nothing comical about the game. The graphics were inexcusable. The game requires a 1.9 GB installation and the frame rate was so choppy to the point where the game was unplayable. The controls are a mess and moving the character has never been so cumbersome. Platforming is also among the worst due to stiff, unresponsive controls. I'm usually lenient on games that get reviewed poorly and I was thinking the whole time, "It can't be THAT BAD..." Well, it's literally THAT BAD! There is no redeeming quality at all with this load of garbage! If you rent this game, be prepared to seal it right back up and send it back to gamefly. Bottom line...THIS GAME BLOWS!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WHY?

posted by SlickJC (MOREHEAD CITY, NC) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Do they even test games before packaging and shipping them? The story was pretty funny, but gameplay is horrible. The movement of the character is so stiff. I was doing alright until I reached the western set. They tried to make the game a fighter. COME ON! It's not a fighter game, even if if was, it's too stiff. Get thru that, then decide to play the first dreamscape mission. MISTAKE! Now the game turns into a shooter, a real bad one at that. How is it that you have to shoot enemies with a six shooter, they can duck and hide behind cover, and you CAN'T? Turning the horizontal and vertical sensitivity up still doesn't help the fact that the character turns so slowly that you'll be dead before you even figure out who's shooting. After trying to get thru that part, game got ejected out of my system, sealed in the envelope, and put in the mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE GAME EXPERIENCE

posted by guyhouser (OXFORD, GA) Jun 24, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game just plain stinks! The graphixs are ok but the gameplay is choppy and the glitches arer abundant. I have played the leisure suit larry games before but this one could have been done better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BAD !!!!!!!!

posted by bluejimbo (ATWATER, CA) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

21 out of 23 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

this game is so awful that i dont have the time or the patience to list everything that is wrong. i feel sorry for the ones that bought it would have easier to flush sixty bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I think I figured it out...

posted by mtdew69 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Someone involved with this game was scarred or deeply offended by "Larry" of the 80's and has now found themselves in a position to relish their long awaited revenge, they could put out the worst game of all time as a Larry title, thereby killing the franchise and leaving a horrible stench cloud around it for generations to come. Well played...well played, they succeeded. Seriously though I think the object of the designers is to torture and punish the player, again total success. I have had more pleasant root canals.

LSL-BOB : 1 Poor saps who play it : 0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BUGS BUGS BUGS!!!

posted by caspergdk (HOLLAND, MI) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lets start with the fact that the visuals lag and leave lots of artifacts. This makes game play difficult because walls show up late. On top of the bad visual graphics the cameras provide very difficult maneuvering in small spaces. I thought that the story would be funny but the dialogue is dry and many spelling errors in the caption makes this game almost the worst game I have played in some time. NPPL Paintball was more fun then this and that game is not worth the time they put into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

a shame to a series

posted by kodylyo (SEABROOK, TX) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this larry sucked, the missions were all boring, they took for ever and once finished lead to a cut scene that didn't progress the scene, i suggest the larry for ps2 that one was funny, and entertaining, as opposed to the sad "wit" of the new larry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Use this game for skeet!

posted by Boomstick7 (PALM SPRINGS, FL) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Is there a lower rating than 1? I wish there was. If you see any of your friends buying this game, slap them until they come to they're senses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Taking Advantage of Older Lesiure Suit Larry Lover

posted by LJohnverre (LITHONIA, GA) Jan 26, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like many computer gamers 35 and up I got this game because I loved the old LLL games. This game is NOTHING like the original LLL and looks like a cartoon version of GTA without the mineless killing. I was so disappointed. Thank you GF because this would have been like your commercials if I bought this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Leisure Suit Larry: Box Office Bust

posted by GameGirlVA (HENRICO, VA) May 27, 2009

Member since May 2009

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game was terrible. I played for about 20 mins, and then couldn't listen to the boring script. It sounded like every character was over-acting which was almost painful to listen to. They definitely tried too hard to make it funny, and in doing so ruined it.

Being someone who's mind is always in the gutter, I was looking for a good laugh, and this just didn't even come close. Even after I muted it and tinkered around some more with the controls, it just fell short in every aspect.

Very disappointing. I do not recommend wasting your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game suck

posted by successful (UPPER MARLBORO, MD) Jun 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game shows no boobs without bras, its a complete waste of time. The camera makes it very hard to control jumps. The Larry college was by far a better game with the mini games they had, these mini games are pointless. This game totally sucked. Just because people can say azz on game doesn't make Leisure Suit game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

extremely disappointing..

posted by leftfoot (JACKSONVILLE, FL) May 14, 2009

Member since May 2009

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It's painfully boring, first of all. Second, the captions move oddly. Third, the control as really, really annoying - especially after playing ratchet & clank.

We didn't play it for more than 2 hours then promptly shipped it back. If you played LSL "back in the day", you will feel like your fond, perverted memories of this game have been robbed only to be replaced with an under-developed game that rests solely on it's popular franchise.

Remember Pepsi Clear and the New C0ke?

Exactly the same thing with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring, but 'kinda funny..

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) May 9, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

13 out of 17 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Leisure Suit Larry, is a old classic that started out as a 8bit video game for the PC in the 90s, which seems to be picked up by CodeMasters' Funsta.. Funsta a 'new division of CodeMaster, seemed to really missed the whole plot of Leisure Suit Larry and made it into a more comical arcade like game. The controls and interface resembles a whole lot like Rachet and Clank. Unlike, Rachet and Clank, this title is, pretty boring with dirty references threw out the entire game.

You play as Larry Laffer, a average joe like guy, that has his mind set on one thing in his grand tale. Well more of Chasing tail using cheesy quirks and doing anything he can to find his true, calling. Larry gets employed by his Uncle, who works at a movie studio. Starting out as a janitor, Larry trys to find his means by getting into his fellow co-workers.. hearts, by any means.

Funsta, could have done a lot more with the game. There is lighting bugs, exploits in the controls, has no shaders in the rendering, which makes the game very slow and choppy at certain points of the game when there is a large polygon count in frame. Way to many bugs that the designers probably hoped the funny tid bits would cover up.

I only rented the game cause I was familiar with the past titles of Leisure Suit Larry, but this title held that flare of comedian quirks that leave you laughin. With a Comic-cartoony environment that could have been done far better, then what they had, but the concept was a great idea. The gameplay was the main down fall of the game. The camera angle sucks, controls seem a bit jittery on motion not fluent at all, the game interaction is what Funsta missed massively, as well. The Original Leisure Suit Larry, you would wonder around and be able to interact with everyone, not on this title. You are given tons of small objectives with annoying goals and the controls and bugs will aggravate you along with that. Along with poorly done AI, least they don't drop bolts and screws when ran over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

abosolutely horrible

posted by cdub0817 (TYLER, TX) May 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

do not rent this game at all. i could go on and on about the flaws, glitches, and boring game play that this game has. but i'm not wasting anymore time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

CONTROLS ARE ABYSMAL

posted by scion91 (BEND, OR) May 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The sloppiest and most worthless controls and camera angles since the nadir of Tomb Raider. Worse even! Absolutely NO excuse is possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Game Ever?

posted by rbatc123 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It's pretty bad. Maybe not the worst game ever but it has to be somewhere in the top 5. I gave it a good chance and spent a few hours trying to get into the story of gameplay, but unfortunately both were horrible.

From the horrible graphics that have hitches and awful framerates, to the frustratingly bad and sloppy jump sequences. I have to believe that whoever made this game did not attempt to play the finished product or they would have certainly spent more time making it playable in any way shape or form.

This is the reason gamefly was invented so you don;t have to buy junk like this to find out you wasted 60 bucks. It isn't even worth the cost of materials and packaging they used to wrap up this giant steaming pile. Try it here if you must, but don't say you weren't warned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

just awful

posted by clanc43 (COLLEGE STATION, TX) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If there were numbers under 1 I'd have picked them. The physics engine is terrible, the camera angles are awful and you can't change them. The missions are stupid and VERY repetitive. There's nothing clever about it. Its not your normal LSL game. All the tongue and cheek went out the window. Now its just cheeky. I'm trying to think of something redeeming about this game, but I can't think of one. I played it for a while hoping to get to a good part, but I beat the game, and still didn't find one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

?

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) May 25, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

You have been warned with my rating ! 0.0 out of 10.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Awful. Just Awful

posted by Hertz1 (ROCKVILLE, MD) May 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Why waste your time with a long review???

Leisure Suit Larry Games--Used to be fun.

This game. NOT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by clayeg (BILOXI, MS) Jan 13, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Don't waste your rental on this game. Very Very boring. Just got it today and sending it back tomorrow...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Glitchy

posted by SignOfZod (BALTIMORE, MD) Nov 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When it comes to this game, it is on the same path as the early versions back on ps2/xbox. The title at times can be a lot of fun; but also a pain in the brain. The story from the middle to end is pretty cool with movie spoofs like (Michael Jackson's Triller (video) , Titanic and Van Helsing) but this isn't enough to make up for the sometimes lame conversation and hand full of control, camera angle and technical issues mainly glitches. All and all it is the same franchise that it is so it won't hurt to play, even thou it can be a little long winded.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Leisure Suit Larry: Box Office Bust

posted by cocwi03 (MOUNT JOY, PA) Apr 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is the worst game I would not even wast money on the stamp it cost to mail it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst game... ever

posted by ShefZ28 (LOMBARD, IL) Apr 15, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If it weren't for the broken controls, this game wouldn't be that bad. Jumping, fighting, and just walking around is made difficult.

Play this game is you want the platinum trophy, it will be the hardest trophy you will get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse