Rent Legendary for PS3
view large frontback

Legendary

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.2

1441 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

A better storyline?

posted by sphinx (CONCORD, NC) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

not spoilers...

The Box should have killed Deckard in the first scene. The game should have ended and you could have dreamed of all the potential that mixing guns and monsters could have had. If you are a fan of Halo, Turok or Call of Duty you may as well save yourself the trouble of sending this one back. Think of how fun goldeneye was... now think of how much fun it is to actually play goldeneye after the past 10 years of advances in video games. If you have a deep love of mythology or really just need to see Vivian in some cutscenes don't let me stop you. Otherwise this game is not worth the carbon footprint of receiving it and mailing it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Fairly Decent Play

posted by DaedelousX (EL CAJON, CA) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game is definitely one to play if you enjoy a challenge and discovering the different ways to kill your enemies. I will admit is is quite frustrating at times through many of the boss fights, but if your a true gamer you will have paitients to die those first few times, and learn each time how to better kill your enemies. It has your basic Unreal Light reflection graphics, so pretty good on that part, and has some equally good music for the genre of game that it is. Its definitely not a class act game but its definitely one of those games that takes trial and error to beat, if u like easy run an gun and never die games where there's no challenge then this isn't the game you want to rent. But it has a semi-good plot line and attempts to make good pick ups and find-em's through out the game, could have a more extensive choice of weapons but does well with what it gives you. Over all its the first few levels i think gamers will find frustrating, but the game has some decent graphics and some interesting levels and places you go, so over all i give it a 6.5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Should've been called "Lame"

posted by PolloRojo (PENSACOLA, FL) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'll make this brief. The controls are unresponsive, the graphics aren't very good at all, the story makes almost no sense, the weapons are weak against most enemies, and your character can only jump about 4 inches, but they included jumping puzzles anyway.

The multiplayer has some good ideas, but the game is so easy to lose interest in that you'll rarely find anyone to play with.

I've been playing video games for almost 20 years now, and I've played some of the all time best, and some of the worst ever, and I rarely turn a game away.

This game actually GOT turned away. After several hours stumbling around running into everything by way of the horrible controls, and getting killed by enemies left and right because I was using the helpless pistol, I switched to multiplayer. I found ONE person with which to play. A few rounds later, after more stumbling around and getting murdered by the werewolves in multiplayer, I gave that up too.

This game simply isn't fun, and even if you give it a chance, it's pretty hard to get anything done because you're constantly running into invisible walls (or 'dense air' as one of my co-workers calls it) or being mauled by some ridiculous Pokemon-esque monster and being sent back to where you were 10 minutes before.

The only good thing about this game is the music from the title screen. It's generic modern rock (a la Breaking Benjamin) and isn't fantastic, but it's not bad either.

Do yourself a favor and don't play this game, unless you just want to play every game you can get your hands on. That's how I ended up with it, anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

AWESOME GAME!!!

posted by JEkilla (URBANDALE, IA) Jan 4, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I do see some of the bad things that others have said, but looking past the few glitches and somewhat ps2 graphics the game play was amazing!!! It is fast paced and keeps you moving... I did not want to quit playing. If you like HUGE enemies and constant battle this game is good for you. The other reviews were correct about getting past the first half hour... it is kind of lame for the first part and really glitchy but as the game went on the graphics improved and gameplay was less irritating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not as good as it looks

posted by pushin30 (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

im not someone who listens to other peoples comments so i rented this game the story seems really good the graphics aren't all that great but what got me was how horrible the controls were its hard to aim and run around the best way i can explain is its really choppy i got to the third level and had enough so i sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't stop playing after a half hour!!!

posted by WatchMe (MILWAUKEE, WI) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I was confused when I read the other reviews for this game, but now after playing it, I see that all the reviews are correct. Those of you who hated it all quit after a half hour. You shouldn've really kept going.

Did two different development teams work on this game? At the beginning, the graphics look like high end PS2. The monsters are dump, weapons are dumb. After meeting up with Vivian, the graphics become PS3 quality. The monsters are much better, except for those stupid werewolves that still hang around. You get the shotgun. And the game becomes very intense with several "gotcha" moments.

The game does continue to be extremely linear and events are heavily scripted. (Think Disneyland ride.) But with the major improvement in game atmosphere, you don't really notice it anymore.

I'm hoping for a sequel (by the 2nd development team) and hopefully they'll learn how to open up the enviroments by then.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Intresting

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 12, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Legendary is pretty unique, although yet another game made from Unreal Tournaments game engine as like Turok. This game offers a interesting story as well as creatures in this game.

You would really enjoy Legendary if you are into mythological creatures like Centaurs, Griffins, and many other sort of old mythology folklore creatures that all so happen to rampage threw New York, Demolishing everything in sight, all by accidentally opening Pandora's Box.

Legendary's graphics are amazing specially for the Unreal Tournament's engine that was used. The Creatures will at first make you question about proceeding onward but once they usually grab a car and throw it at a sky scrapper you get the hint that you better move or it will be you being tossed like a rag doll by a enormous Griffin.

The only real fall back into Legendary is the lack of ability to move around all your paths are fixed an there is basically only one way, one goal, but you have small puzzles you have to think threw an obstacles you encounter; as like another strategy orientated first person shooter as like Half Life2 except you are not fighting futuristic aliens, instead Mythological creatures that are decimating present time New York! ... exciting! If you enjoyed Half Life2 this game is ideal to you.

Another great thing I admired was that every time you run across a new mythological critter that is either trying to step on you or make you as a small snack, Legendary has a great description of the mythological creature and what folk lore they originated from.

Legendary has a online multiplayer feature that is deathmatch and co-operatively configurable. Sadly you can not play as a Werewolf, Griffin, but only has a gun wielding human..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

legendary

posted by owengamer (EAST FALMOUTH, MA) Feb 22, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

pretty cool game im very suprised with this game ign gave it a 2.3 bad score it was worth a 7 at least it's very fun to play despite the graphics the ai is cool and it has a good story i really liked this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Legendary

posted by hermitfour (ABILENE, TX) Nov 28, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game was fun. It's fast-paced, you never get lost, there's decent boss battles, and you can finish in an afternoon (6-8 hours). It reminded me of Diablo II if playing first person perspective. Repetitive for sure, but definitley worthy of the rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Legendary

posted by Houdini031 (WELLESLEY, MA) Apr 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I can usually keep myself entertained for quite awhile with just about any decent game. In other words, I'm not too picky. But I have to say Legendary was one of the worst games I have played in a long time, and certainly the worst on PS3. (Yes, I am sure there are games that are worse, and no I am not interested in trying them out in comparison). The game play is very simplistic, and to be honest way to hard for the beginning of a game. Its unfortunate, because the story line had potential to be good. I lost interest somewhere after the second "boss", so maybe it gets better. I wasn't up to finding out though. I would not suggest renting it unless your almost out of games left to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Rubbish; Avoid

posted by rjcpdx (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Jan 2004

10 out of 15 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'll be honest here: it's the rare game that has me sealing up the Gamefly envelope after only 25 minutes. In this case, nearly half that time was waiting for the stupid thing to finish installing. After a quick spin through the dire opening minutes, I couldn't see wasting another second on Legendary.

I'd look past the Playstation One era graphics, the cheap hobbyist-quality level design with the painfully stiff models and their limited animation, if there was a game here. Maybe there is a game here, but life's short and I didn't make it out of the first level. The early going is just painfully boring, slapped-together generic shooter rubbish in dull looking buildings with all the detail of an early Duke Nukem game. Plus -- ha ha -- long load times, in case you need even less fun.

Fail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a good game.

posted by gjeous (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Dec 2004

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

The game is bad. Do not even rent.
The first thing I can say about this game is that the graphics are ok. They are not revolutionary they are not even good. The Second is that the music is pretty good. It all goes very downhill from here. The game play is slow and confusing. The checkpoints are spread far apart. I played this game for about 45 minutes and turned it off. I played through the same part 3 times, not because I'm bad but because it takes forever to pick up that life force junk. It could get better later in the game but I don't have that much patience or want to see. Great premise, horrible execution.
I can't say anything about online play because I was so disgusted with the game that I couldn't bring myself to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Just Wow

posted by Nate0201 (DUMFRIES, VA) Apr 6, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well where to start here I'm not sure. The game description is very deceiving. Legendary plays and handles very poorly and very unexciting. There was never a moment of true fun or excitement. Then main characters and monsters leave a lot to be desired. The vocie acting is poor and lame and the story is just well kind of mind numbing. The graphics are not even on par for the PS3 system. All in all if your want to be bored out of your mind and waste a few hours of your life rent this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

low points for the game

posted by vmpyrsnt (ANGEL FIRE, NM) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This is a great game for the gameplay and for the graphics. The only things that I would have like to have seen were some customization; a map; and some armor. Other than that the length could have been better. Overall the game was a great play but I would have been dissappointed had I bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Legendary

posted by SlikGamer (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Cheezy Graphics... Faulty Storyline... Skip this one !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

TERRIBLE

posted by CobyChrist (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

. all repetitive and the graphics suck, the story is horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

AAGH

posted by bigtimer22 (SALVISA, KY) Oct 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

This game was horrible I couldn't even stand it for 2 seconds it was just the worst game I've ever played and Ive played a lot of games so this was the worst

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lost in the mail

posted by reyryreyey (SALEM, OH) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

I mail this game back 1 week ago and 3 day I do not have this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Im expecting Part 2.

posted by Adonis79 (ATLANTA, GA) Sep 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

It took me only two days to finish this. I was impressed with the graphics and the game play. The plot of the game I think was very well wrote. I am looking forward to the sequel.

I was hoping to enjoy the online feature from the game but there was no anywhere that was using this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Legendary! I don't think so

posted by RezaMan (NEWTOWN SQUARE, PA) Aug 19, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

I am a fan of pretty much any FPS and I try games even if people say it's not good. I tried Legendary just so see if they were right and i gotta say even a 2 out of 10 is too much for this game. Let's start with controls, glitch topped with frustrating jumps plus less than a hand full of guns and repetitive enemies explains it all. Graphics are last Gen, with a few descent backdrops and as for cut scenes, lets say my PSP has better ones. lastly is the story line, nothing more than an excuse to get the player from point A to point B. If anything is good about this game it could be the fact that you actually fight against mythological beasts which is a nice change from fighting Nazis or Russian Terrorists. My advise is that don't be fooled by the cool cover picture because half way through it you wish you bought/rented Ice age the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Legendary Sucks

posted by iamthetaz (FLAGLER BEACH, FL) Jul 10, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

This is the worst PS3 game I ever played. Put it in and played for 15 minutes, then took it out and mailed it back to Gamefy within the hour. It sucked!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

FIGHT FOR YOUR LIFE

posted by kimber (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I played this game and its ok, its not as good as Asasins Creed but its good, I like the story and that the monsters are bad, its hard to kill the wolfs, but its fun to hack their heads off!!!! Kimber out, keep up the fight for surviver!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

better than they say

posted by gamingdad (MARYSVILLE, KS) May 1, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

i don't what these other guys are talkin about but they're full of it. i thought the game was pretty good, and i am a fan of call of duty. to me the game was like god of war with a modern twist to it. the music was good to. it wasn't that goddy stuff that a lot of games have. so these guys that say it sucked need to try again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

legendary tiresome

posted by womax1 (WEST WARWICK, RI) Apr 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

always running, auto saves so going over the same things a hundred times before you kill the enemies and find out which way to go gets very tiresome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Review Title

posted by emptyeyes (VANCOUVER, WA) Mar 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Is this supposed to be a shooter? Yeah, I liked all the crazy Griffins flying around too. But that doesn't make up for the herded feeling and the really lame jumping. I couldn't jump on the back of a parked car. w-t-f? I stopped playing in the subway and didn't really want to keep going. Maybe it picks up, but I just lost interest after the beginning. It needed more plot to keep me involved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse