Rent Legendary Starfy for DS
view large frontback

Legendary Starfy

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.8

634 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Legendary Starfy

posted by RamenChef (LONG BEACH, CA) Aug 12, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Although short, it manages to amuse you for the entire turn of plots. It plays somewhat like a cross between a Mario and Kirby style game, you go through a level beating up the grunts, then at the end you fight a big boss, repeat. You have Bunstons powers which reminded me of Mario finding one of his many mushroom abilities.

Dont look for some overwhelming plot that sucks you in, you wont find it. But if your looking for a sweet little game you can play for a few days and not regret sending it back, this is your game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you like Kirby you will like this

posted by Robofish (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Jan 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not gonna lie, this game is really easy, but it's really fun. The art and the gameplay remind me a lot of Kirby. The levels are fun, and there is a nice bit of swimming and platforming levels ( Starfy is a starfish after all ). He has a few abilities such as a star spin, a dash and he can change into some neat forms. A seal with a giant icicle attack, and a monster that shoots fire to name two. It also has a coop mode so you and a friend can go through levels together.
The bosses are very cool and cartoony but also somewhat easy to take down. However, there are some neat challenges and mini games to be had. In addition there are tons of collectibles and unlockables for the player who wants to try and find everything in this game.
If you want a game that's simple, oozes charm, and is just fun. This is your game. If you want something hardcore, this is not your game.

On a side note, turn the game on when it's your birthday for a neat little suprise. Or just set the DS clock to your birthday that is programmed into your DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Kirby?

posted by imsbiltu (SOUTH GATE, CA) Jun 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Does anyone else think this game looks a lot like all the other kirby games. Except its a star shape fluffy guy. I mean if you like the kirby series i think this game would be good for you. Its fun, nice to play with another person and the minigames are pretty fun too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Unbeatable

posted by numnum (LOMBARD, IL) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

You can't beat the final boss in less you ask your dad for help.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fun or Bored

posted by cappacap (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Legendary Starfy is one game that is fun and cute. It is so different from all the Kirby, Mario, or Sonic games, but it is a little on the boring side at times. If anyone plays this game, you should be very patient with it. The fun will be waiting for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Kinda Lame

posted by barp123 (ROSWELL, GA) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is not that good.

The GOOD: Very colorful and time-consuming

THE BAD: Very repetitive, i'm not even sure if there IS a story because i didnt have time to sit through the cutscenes, pointless powers with pointless abilities, annoying characters (cough cough Starfy), and the worst thing about this game is..........ITS WAY TOO EASY!!!!! I COULD PLAY THIS GAME WITH MY EYES SHUT!!! THERE IS NO CHALLENGE AT ALL AND THERE IS NO DIFFICULTY SETTING. I WOULDN'T ENJOY THIS GAME EVEN IF I WAS 8 YEARS OLD.
Dont get this game........dont even rent it, its just a waste of a good game rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun game

posted by Gameingspade (NORTH BRANCH, MN) Jan 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Starfy's graphics are kinda like kirby's. I like this game because there are a bunch of unexpected twists, awesome transformations, epic battles(in my opinion), and fun minigames. This is why I rate this 10/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Shining Star

posted by snow_ninja (RENO, NV) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Okay, this game looked slightly weird when I first heard of it. However, it is great fun and (possibly) worth buying.

Story: 7/10 The story wasn't great, but cute nonetheless. You are this starfish prince (what?) who longs for adventure, if a bit of an airhead sometimes. A amnesiac bunny in a space suit falls out of the sky, requesting help from Starfy to recreate his memory. A ragtag group of pirates also pursues him, so Starfy, the bunny (named Bunston), and Starfy's friend Moe the clam set out to fix all this. Not the deepest story, but the characters are cute and have many hilarious (or sometimes just plain stupid) expressions.

Gameplay: 9/10 The gameplay was fun and cute, the environment colorful and bright. You swim and walk around and try to find pearls. The only way you can defeat enemies (other than joining up with Bunston) is by wildly spinning into them. I really liked the gameplay, but I personally thought it was super-easy. The only section I have problems with is the bone-fish you have to make land on stuff. For a hint, if you join with someone to be Starly, the game is way easier. I beat about eight worlds with my friend on a train to California.

Music: 8/10 The music was pleasant enough, but not very memorable and not super catchy. I honestly don't remember any of it right now.

Graphics: 9/10 The graphics were good, but a little pixelated for the DS era. The cutscenes were quite clear, though, with the adorable cutscenes of overexaggerated emotion.

This game was quite fun and cute, graphics colorful and characters adorable. The game was easy, though, so perhaps not the best for hardcore gamers. If you just want to relax without intense frustration and button mashing, then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not very engaging

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jan 21, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

"The Legendary Starfy" is clever in its own way, and it certainly has its moments, but it's really easy and simplistic. The gameplay is just downright unexciting. It's clearly intended for young children, and they're the ones who are likely to get the most out of it. If you're looking for a challenging, action-packed adventure that gets the adrenaline pumping, you won't find it here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Starfy

posted by npr4cases (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This game is a great game. The storyline is confusing but is very interesting at the same time. Characters are as cute as can be. I can tell that this is an adventure game for girls. Fairly easy. It isi similair to mario too. The controls can be weird at times but overall is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun and entertaining

posted by pickachu23 (LOCK HAVEN, PA) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this game was fun even though I finished it in 1 day. I also entered my birthday and got a surprise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

legendary starfy

posted by BOOGIE1 (WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jul 2003

i found the game to be exciting but a little similar to kirby i think that kids around the age of 10 will enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Starfy

posted by niteowl47 (HESPERIA, CA) Mar 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

This game was unplayable

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Lengendary Starfy review

posted by Gamer287 (SONOMA, CA) Jan 27, 2010

Member since Sep 2009

The one thing that I will remember about this game is the last boss battle. This battle was epic. I dont like button mashing but it was still intense. This game is great for all ages and easy enough for all ages. It reminds me of Kirby games and to me thats a good thing, This game is a perfect game to rent or buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

cute,cuddly, and action!!

posted by gamerQ765 (RALEIGH, NC) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

this game is good better than kirby super star ultra, its like mario and kirby combined to a cuddly squishy star character as starfy beats ferocious pirates and the evil mashtooth if you like mario and kirby you'll like starfy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Starfy

posted by angelburns (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

I rented this for my granddaughter who is 7-years old and very much a gamer with the DS and Nintendo PS2. However, after fifteen minutes with this game, she was bored and didn't like it so we sent it back the same day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »