Rent Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker for GC
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.9

2872 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the few reasons why to BUY a Gamecube!!!!

posted by killerkiss (NEWARK, NJ) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

28 out of 28 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If it were not for this game, I would not have bought a Gamecube. I have been a fan of the Zelda series since the old NES days. At first I was skeptical about it with the graphics, but once you begin the adventure you will be pulled into it's story. It has everything you have ever loved about Zelda games; puzzles, great story, thrilling music and lots of secrets. I must have played this game for hours nonstop. If you have not played this game, please do because you will be missing out on one of the best games in the Gamecube library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"Another classic in game cube history"

posted by nicnik3 (BURLINGTON, VT) May 30, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ok, I rented this game when it first came out in March of "03" and ever since then i have been hooked on this game from the great graphics to the epic adventures across the vast ocean of waves. When i first rented it, i was playing it for hours on end but never really got that far..so i brought it back to the video store..then in "05" i bought it to start over and try again, and boy did i get far!! i beat the game in about a week and a half. I fought the great monsters and bosses through out each stage of this epic story filled with pirates and mystery filled temples, caves, and great places. There is a bunch of new items including the leaf which helps you fly through the air and blow enemies away. Plus you don't have to deal with that annoying fairy that at every moment she talks to you and says something that you already know like in the Ocarina Of Time(another great classic for N64). So this game overall i give two thumbs way way up for a hardcore gamer like me who has been stuck on these legends or a new comer who wants to try something new and exciting.

P.S. Can't wait for the Twilight Princess to make its big opening!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Reap the wind

posted by FelixFaust (ENFIELD, CT) Feb 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

In the 3rd installment of the now 3D Zelda series, players are introduced to a very different world "The Great Sea". After his adventures in Ocarina of Time, the hero (Link) vanished. When Ganondorf returned and the hero didn't the people begged the gods help, they sent a torrent rain that covered the land under leagues of water. Hundreds of years later fact has become mere legend and the world has no idea what lies just below the waves. On a small island called Outset a young boy just turned the same age as the legendary hero and tradition dictates that he wear a traditional green tunic.
As the latest reincarnation of the Hero you must battle evil, sail the seas, and even control the very wind to save your sister, the princess and the very world from destruction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow. Just, Wow.

posted by gamecraze (FREEHOLD, NJ) Sep 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This. Game. Is. Awesome!!!!!!!!!
The graphics are great. The game play is amazing. And don't get me started on the storyline!Basically, It's worth 2, no 4 rents!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wind Waker

posted by gamer92 (NAPA, CA) Jul 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off this game is good but has almost nothing to do with Ocarina of Time or Majoras Mask. In fact it isn't even Link. Next This is a fun and challenging game but it does get a little repetitive at some points. The controls are solid and it does do a good job of locking on (Z-targeting for all of the people who understand that your welcome). The story is less than perfect but will satisfy. The way i break down my games is as followed:

Graphics: 7
Game play: 8
Characters: 7
Controls: 9
Replay Value: 10
Difficulty: 6
Fun: 9

There it is this game is a buy for Zelda fans but a game you will want to rent for a long time.

P.S. Finding all of the triforce shards is harder than god knows what.
A very worthy game to be called part of the Zelda Franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perhaps the best legend of zelda game of all time

posted by ghighc4 (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game was so good i bought this over 7 times. Yes, it may be similar to ocarina of time and twilight princess, but
1. the best zelda music ever
2. u actually want to play around with the other characters, like in OoT and TP the characters were very similar to one another, in WW they all have their own unique and comical personalities.
3.after u beat the game, u still want to play it
4. The ultimate epic dx camera (memorable photos)
5. great weapons
6. Smokin' Tetra (lol)
Hands down Wind waker's the best LoZ game of all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My first actual Legend of Zelda experience in 3D

posted by TatsuJin (SAN MARCOS, CA) Apr 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played some of Legend of Zelda games on Gameboy and Gameboy advance. They were so much fun to play. When I played this game, Windwaker, it was even more fun than ever before. My most favorite weapon of all is the Hero's bow. I like to have the urge to shoot arrows with a bow. I really like how you can sail with your own boat anywhere on the map. It seems there's a lot of islands out there to explore and it's interesting to play this game because there's seem to be a lot of things to do. Honestly, I didn't do much of the sidequests because I don't like doing sidequest that much. So I just get it over with and went to rescue his sister and defeat Ganon. It is a no brainer when you fight the bosses because when you get a new weapon, that's the weapon that will help you defeat the boss, so keep that in mind.

Pros:
I like the cel shading graphics and the main character, Link looks like a comical character but like Yoda says, "Size matters not". Gameplay is quite satisfying to use. Really simple and it can be quite fast to learn from. Enemies are fun to kill. When there's a will, there's a way.

Cons:
Targeting enemies can be quite a hassle. If I was fighting multiple enemies, I had a hard time targeting who I wanted to target. If only if there's a button to select any enemy you want to fight but hey the targeting is okay. Any other cons? Not that I know of.

Final thoughts:
Play this game. Rent or own. If you are a Zelda fan, this can be a really good game for your Zelda collection. If you're looking for an action/adventure plus puzzle yet so simple to do so, then this is also for you. Other than that, just play it because it's a really awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best zelda ever

posted by SamWells3 (TEMECULA, CA) May 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this zelda is the best (IMO) i love the story, all the sidequests, the characters, the enemies, the weapons and items, and just everything about it is amazing, ive played it so many times and i never tire of it, but i need it to be rentable again!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Incredible game!

posted by SolarYoshi (RENTON, WA) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is just amazing. For me, this game has always been so adventurous! With 40+ islands to explore, and loads of side-quests, this game will take a long time finish 100%!

Many people hate the graphics, but I think there great! If your a classic zelda fan, then you'd probably would prefer more realistic graphics. This game also has some puzzling dungeons. You'll encounter enemies from ChuChus, to the horrifying ReDeads! (Which sound like elephants screaming in pain for some odd reason...) The sidequests are also fun and hard (that's what she said!). If you're having trouble, you also can connect a gameboy to your console and call Tingle! You can have your kids, friends, etc., to help you out by playing as Tingle!

The only problems I found with this game was the sailing, but later in the game, you get the ability to warp to various islands, making sailing MUCH MUCH easier! If you have trouble with any dungeons, you can check out some Let's plays or walkthroughs on youtube, ign. etc. (I REALLY recommend Chuggaaconroy's Wind waker LP for help)

Good things:
Superb adventuring
Fun side-quests
Funny at some points
Good storyline
Challenging dungeons
Tingle Turner

Bad things:
Repetitive sailing
Frustrating to figure out what to do at times

So I give this a 10/10 I REALLY recommend you getting this game, it's completely worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best by far

posted by ferrari308 (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the only reason people bought a gamecube was this game no dout the best game on the gamecube by far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Super fun

posted by lilybug202 (PARK CITY, UT) Jun 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game. There is so much to do and it's so fun and intense with the music. :) The graphics are okay and when you get to windfall island it's awesome! There is a lot to do there. I think its a pretty EASY game and I really enjoyed it. Sometimes its frustrating but you can look for walkthroughs and cheats on Youtube or here. I look on Youtube usually so you can watch it instead of reading or whatever but... yeah. Super fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games i have ever played.

posted by veteran_gamer (MUSKOGEE, OK) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game from the start. zelda has always been nintendo's way to get me back to there consoles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Graphics do not make a game, this proves it.

posted by gman5852 (COLUMBIA CITY, IN) Aug 24, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This here is one of my favorite games period. I could care less that the graphics seem to be for a younger audience. Every zelda game has different graphics. I love this game from start to finish and even enjoy the second mode. The only problem is the fact i dont own it and there is a very low availibilty for me most of the time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Wind Waker

posted by kiddbpt (NAUGATUCK, CT) Jul 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

those who give this a bade rating is because u have to sail across the sea. i found this part of the game very fun. sure, its long, and can be boring, but it plays cool adventure music while your sailing and you can find hidden islands on the way where you can get upgrades. the dungeons had great puzzles just like all zelda games, and can be repetetive, but give it try if ur a zelda fan. im sure you will want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's Still Zelda

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No matter how it looks it is a hardcore Legend of Zelda game. Don't let the cartoony look throw you off. It even gets super hardcore at the end.

PS: Don't mess with cartoon link

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Game to Remember

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

No matter what you think of the cel-shaded graphics, this game will be remembered for a long time to come. Personally, I think going for a cartoony look was the right move for the series, and I wish Twilight Princess had followed suit.

I recently revisited the game on my Wii. It seems almost better now than when it was first released. I honestly can't believe that so many "fans" think that this is one of the worst of the bunch. Yes, it has its shortcomings (not enough dungeons and too much time spent sailing), but overall the experience is magical.

This game looks and plays like a wonderful dream. In 480p it looks and plays even more dream-like. The environments, dungeons, and characters are all beautifully presented and often awe-inspiring. Too many people felt that the game became too "cute," but the Zelda games have always bordered on the cute. This game avoids falling into kiddie territory by offering impressive dungeons and puzzles throughout. You can't compete with the Zelda games for level design.

Seeing games like Okami (on PS2) shows just how wonderfully suited the genre is to cel-shaded graphics. I think it was a mistake to make The Twilight Princess with a "realistic" look. Zelda games have always been about the magical experience of wandering a fantastic world. I want to be transported when I play a Zelda game, not stuck in a drab, dull, realistic world.

Sailing across the beautifully rendered seas is a joy in itself. This game can try your patience, but learn to enjoy the game as it's happening and don't get obsessed with getting to some destination. This is the first (and still only) Zelda game that has felt this open-ended. Even though all of the most recent Zelda games have technically been open-ended, only Wind Waker has actually felt it.

This game has stuck in my mind ever since it first came out. Returning to it feels like returning to a beloved dream, a beloved book, a tangible piece of a fond memory. Truly a game to be remembered.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What is so wrong about the graphics?

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Apr 15, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Everyone I know has said that this game has kidish graphics, I thought the graphics were awesome! Almost everything was awesome about this game! I liked the gameplay. The characters had a lot of personality too. Tetra has an attitude. Aryll is well...little sisterish. Medli is sweet and kind. I LOVE THIS GAME!!! I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Cartoon Zelda Rocks!

posted by Trumpetman (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 10, 2006

Member since May 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is comparable with Ocarina of Time. It may be cel-shaded, but it remains true Zelda gameplay. From the new items to the cool bosses, this game is amazing. This game shall not get lower than 9.5. Buy this game, people!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zelda, just as good as the rest

posted by logansteel (EDMOND, OK) Sep 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i am a long time zelda fan. since i was 10 i loved zelda. and this game is no different from the rest. i really like that nintendo made the game cell shaded. the gamely does not disappoint zelda fan boys. that is why i say this game is a great reason to buy a gamecube. and i strongly recommend it to gamers everywhere

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No disappointment for Zelda fans

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played most Zelda games, this title had a lot to live up to for me. It did and then some. I would rate it 2nd overall in the Zelda series and I would say it's in my top 5 for game cube.

Pros:
Great Gameplay
Enough similarities to the older Zeldas without being the same game.
Good replay value
Expansive world with plenty to explore and lots of side missions

Cons:
Yes, cell shaded animation looks like poo, but you'll get over it quick
Very PG/characters and target audience is very young.
Link still refuses to talk.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ZELDA HAS ALWAYS BEEN THIS GOOD!

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Jul 11, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The Legend of Zelda: The Windwaker is a must buy for all those zelda fanatics and casual gamers alike. It proposes many new weapons and a new, beautiful cell-shaded world that portrays bright, wild color and eye-catching characters as well. The characters in Windwaker are some-what carefree and sometimes goofy(hence the cartoonish look and feel to the game)and this really helps the player to relax and have a good time, while on a quest to save the world from a fierce threat. The treat of course is Ganon, a long-time foe of Link's that has some how mysteriously revived from his grave several times and threatened the Zelda realm with brawn(and might I say "little" brain.)Past the story, the gameplay is really made fun by the many things you are able to complete in course of the storyline and the many side-quests that seem to fill up your Sea Map with ease. What is a Sea Map you might ask? It is a map, in the Windwaker, that gives you direction about the ocean routes that you will be sailing on to make progress. You use your windwaker, a musician's baton, to change the course of the winds on the sea, so to be able to sail to different places and get to more side-quests or what not. It's really your choice of what you want to do and where you want to go, in this spectacular game. The sound is deep and enthralling just like the graphics, which I described earlier. Everything goes together perfectly in this game and you won't be able to sense that perfection if you don't pick it up for $20, or rent it, and play it through to the end.

Windwaker has about 5-6 dungeons and many other temple structures, where you'll obtain unique weapons, like the deku leaf which allows you to glide from certain platforms to unreachable ones, and magic, like that of special funtions for your windwaker and magical abilities for yourself. It will take the average gamer about 30 hours to complete the Windwaker story alone, but when you add in all the sidequests and treasures-40 hours easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zelda just can't do wrong

posted by soilworker (LANSING, MI) May 11, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I really thought this was going to be the end of the line for the Zelda franchise. I have only played the original Zelda game and the Ocarina of time which are some of the best video games ever made. This game was not far off from those marks. The cartoony graphics did not even phase me a bit. The game was so good it didn't even come into play. I am probably a bit older than the majority of people probably playing this so thats saying something. The game play was awesome just like the N64 titles, the same great story and exploring of the Zelda legacy was all here too. This is a game that anyone that plays video games could enjoy; male, female, older, younger, experienced or beginner. This is THE game for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The legacy of Zelda

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Apr 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Legend of Zelda: Wind Waker was a highly anticipated sequel in the beloved Zelda series and the first such game on the Gamecube. Many fans were turned off by the cell-shaded animation and cartoony feel of the game. Those fans missed out on one of the best gaming experiences of this console cycle. Other people stopped playing before the game was over, feeling it was too vast. Those people missed an epic adventure unlike any other. I had no choice but to give this is a perfect score, because there is simply nothing wrong with this game. But Wind Waker is far more than just a solid game. This is an unforgettable experience that stays with you well after the game ends. And the amazing thing about the game is how it sneaks up on you. At the start of the game, it does seem cartoony and humorous, which helps to draw you in to it's world. But then, it gets more dramatic and epic, leading to a stunning conclusion that will legitimately give you an emotional response. In many ways this was more engaging than even the N64 Zelda games, considered some of the best in the series. It's like a living storybook where you're the hero trying to defeat a looming evil. This is more than a game, it's an experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great!!!

posted by yoboymarc (RACINE, WI) Jul 15, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game has one of the best story lines every! and its the best free roming zelda game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

coolest GCN game yet

posted by orca1026 (SUNNYVALE, CA) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

wind waker is my favorite game for gamecube! my only criticism is that link's head and body are slightly misproportioned. (his head's a little big.) but the world is huge and diverse, and there are so many fun things to do. with a big world and an awesome arsenal, there's nowhere you can go wrong!!

P.S. - the game is much more fun after you get the master sword and skull hammer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse