Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3963 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing cinematics and gameplay!

posted by ZeldaGamerEevee (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 18, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword is a really good game and I'd suggest it to someone just getting into The Legend of Zelda, because it introduces main concepts and it's at the beginning of the official timeline. It's motion controls can be a bit tricky to get the hang of at first, but it makes gameplay awesome! Although I thought some parts were repetitive and tedious, all and all it was really fun and defeating enemies was satisfying. The amount of items and sidequests was great, and I really enjoyed Batreaux's Gratitude Crystal sidequest! Some parts are frustrating though and are really odd, like some dungeon puzzles. It was really cinematic and the ending cutscene was great. I cared more about saving Zelda than in any other Zelda game! The graphics were bright and beautiful and it was a pleasure to look at. I wouldn't recommend it to people really experienced in Zelda because Fi is annoying if you already know all the main concepts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Didn't even get to play

posted by Aturm26 (AVON PARK, FL) Nov 12, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

For anyone wanting to rent this game, make sure you have a Wii Motion Plus accessory. Gamefly decided it would be a good idea to have that part hidden away in the details part of the game, that nobody ever looks at. I didn't know this, and got the game and then couldn't play it. I can't see why this game would require it anyway. Giving it a 1 because its ridiculous to force someone to purchase an accessory like that just to play a game. Kinect is one thing, but the Wii Motion Plus requirement for this is unbelievable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Very fun game,Now a fan

posted by Hunterdrone276 (SARDINIA, OH) Oct 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

First Zelda game I've played, great adventure aspect, good puzzles, useful equipment, VERY long playtime, And the first game action game that used motion that's not too sensitive. Nintendo You've made a fan!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best

posted by Emberwyld (WESTVILLE, IN) Sep 28, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

I loved this game in general, I want a fan of all the flying around, but all in all it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever!!!

posted by Zeldalover16 (NORTHVILLE, MI) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Skyward Sword is the Bomb! its the best Zelda game in history! from awesome graphics to great story. any Zelda fan will love this and the motion plus controls work great. I recommend this to anyone with Wii/Wii U!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful and flawless

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Artwork and gaming at its finest, ladies and gentlemen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda Topper - Loved it

posted by sunshine61 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game was great, better than the Zelda Princess game in some ways, but it had it's downfalls as well. With Princess you could skip a lot of the dialog, with this game you couldn't skip any of it unless you had already played it before, then you could only skip with the boss scenes to the fight. Also, when collecting bugs, it kept telling you what you got and going through 2 other screens before letting you move on, which was a bit annoying. The boss fights were bigger and better, and there is a lot of action. I felt the side missions were pretty good in this one. It was fairly simple, with the exception of the jumping off things and gliding down part. I never could figure out how to aim myself onto certain points or cliffs that you are required to do in order to finish some of the side missions. The remote just didn't want to put me where I aimed, not sure what is up with that. Overall, great game, I would recommend it, rated FUN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Zelda Game EVER

posted by Blitz (BUDD LAKE, NJ) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

This game is terrible! Shotty controls! terrible story lines and wth - did I mention the ridiculously awful controls? When you're not bored to death with some of the most stupid storyline quests, you're left frustrated trying to repeatedly perform that awfully stupid "skyward" sword move. Seriously, what a stupid use of the Wii motion controller. This game is overly repetitive and you spend way too much time trying to find that stupid "sweet" spot to get that absurd skyward sword move. Take a pass on this game and save yourself a lot of unneeded frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alright

posted by wolfman1996 (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

it was a good game but feel like the ending fight could of been a little bit harder and longer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Love/ Hate

posted by nokra (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) Aug 3, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

This game is fantastic, with huge world, interesting boss fights, and great graphics, making it one of the best games in the series. There were just three problems.
(Warning! some of these problems contain spoilers)

1. Too much reliance on the Wii Motion Plus

I understand what Nintendo was trying to do the WMP made things possible that weren't before, and a good amount of that was fantastic. However, if you don't have a proper place to put the sensor bar, or if the Wii's controls are bad, it really ruins the experience. I can't tell how many times I had to "Point the controller at the middle of the screen and press down."

2. Huge world, Unable to be explored

The sky is huge, with enough space in it to hold three zelda games, but there is very little of the sky used. It kind of remind me of Wind Waker.

3. Old Ship level is this games equivalent of the Water Temple in OoT

Awesome mini-boss, interesting gimmick, bad boss. Only difference, the gimmick was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I did not like Wind Waker and Twilight Princess

posted by Nubfail (FLORISSANT, MO) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I did not like Wind Waker and Twilight Princess...

but this game was GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game another classic to add to series

posted by Kev_215 (HARLEYSVILLE, PA) May 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Great game its up there with the best zelda games probably not as good as some of the classics like ocarina or majoras mask but defiantly up there deserves no less then a 9 and i gave it a 10 def rent / buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

skywardsword

posted by fballfntic (MERIDEN, CT) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

There was one challenge (for me) in the game toward the frontend the rest was bordering simplistic. Don't get me wrong it was a fun game but the Zelda experiences are fun because of the challenges they provide-it's the reason we all keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WoW

posted by MSJR94 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zelda Sky

posted by Mallory45 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

It would have been helpful if i knew that the game used a specal controler

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Doesn't Stand Out Among the Greats of the Series

posted by Fruehdom (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

It's interesting what one comes to expect from a Zelda game after 20+ years of playing them. Every time you pick up the newest installment, there are certain things you can count on. The format serves as both a blessing and a curse for the series. To an large extent, the formula works and gamers continue to want more, so why break it. Also, there is a certain nostalgic quality every time a gamer comes back to the series. It takes you right back to the first time you watched 8-bit Link swing a sword on the NES.

What often suffers is innovation and storytelling. What is most surprising is when the game designers find a way to bring those two elements into the series without breaking from its core structure. Twilight Princess was a milestone because it allowed for actual depth in storytelling via Link's sidekick, Midna. Even though Link stays a blank slate, Midna underwent a very real change through the game, to the extent that you really cared for her by the end.

The other place where Zelda games still allow for innovation is in graphical style. Windwaker was a huge departure, and a very successful one in my opinion. Twilight Princess was also a success in its darker, almost graphic novel style.

Skyward Sword delivers on all the core components one expects from a Zelda game. Its dungeons and puzzles are well designed, and it adds its own unique spin on a number of elements from the core cannon. Perhaps the biggest innovation comes from the Motion+ swordplay. The designers really added a unique element to the series by forcing the player to use the wiimote like an actual sword.

There are plenty of things to like about Skyward Sword, but in the final tally, it just feels a little too safe to be one of the true greats of the series (Twilight Princess, Windwaker, Link to the Past). It delivered on all the things I expect of a Zelda game, but it never distinguished itself enough to stand out from the truly great games it has to stand next to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so excited

posted by Michele5683 (PORT ARTHUR, TX) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I became a new gamefly member a few months back and when our first game arrived Zelda the game was damaged and did not play. I did not have a home computer and was unabe to find the answers I needed to fix the problem on my android phone so I was not sure what to do, then I got some info from a friend that said just send it back to the company so I went to send it back and realized that I lost the envelope to send the game back to gamefly.
To make a long story short (too late) a new member has a membership they are paying for a total of 3 or more months and we only got one game that never worked and now finally we will be able to return the game to the company. Thank goodness there are no late charges cause I would owe them a bundle.
I undertand that none of the troubles I had were the fault of gamefly except the game never working, but it may have helped with there website was more mobile phone friendly.
Thank goodness we got a home computer otherwise we would still be wondering how to fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best in series. Innovative gameplay.

posted by joeturbo (TURLOCK, CA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Oct 2003

Skyward sword brings new innovative gameplay mechanics. The sword mimics your movements with the wiimote, giving you a more emersive experience. New weapons have more purpose in this game, whereas other installments some weapons were used a couple of times and forgotten. The puzzle and dungeon design are fantastic, best I've seen. The game took me about 50 hours to complete, although I did take on some side missions. This installment shows a push to change the rehashed zelda elements: mission brief, traverse world hub, dungeon, key, boss, repeat. The necessary steps needed to even get to a dungeon or temple is just as puzzle oriented. The combat requires precise timed movements rather than hack n slash. Depending on how enemies hold their weapons you have to parry their weapon before you strike. Even the simple spider skultulla requires more thought to kill. This is the game's combat is its best attribute. The game actually only has 3 different lands: woods, volcano, desert, and unfortunately you have to traverse them several times with different motives. They do change up the world a little bit and add a different control scheme. Towards the last portion of the game, this was about to become stale, as I felt more than ready to fight the final boss. But luckily the retreads are shorter. I have noticed this happens in many zeldas, but this game was more prevalent. Thats my only nagging issue, is the retreading of familiar lands. This game should not be missed. The story line was simple but wonderfully presented. The colorful and artistic approach to this installment is something to believe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

second best Zelda game!

posted by Smashlover4476 (MONROE, NY) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Ever since the Ocorina of time It's the closest to the flawless game, don't get me wrong there are flaws. But I love it. I recommend it to any Zelda fan who loves them for the story and game play since it's the first one to use motion controls. One last thing: 5 year wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Legend of zelda skyward sword

posted by redjoker (HARTFORD, CT) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is perfect. It has lots of hard puzzles and items like new medals and upgrade able weapons and potions. the side missions are fun to salve also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

b

posted by peepee1001 (MOUNT OLIVE, NC) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

its crazy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what i think

posted by amydrussell (SNOQUALMIE, WA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

its awsome the bosses are fun and all that but just one thing is missing exploreing is not in this but its still awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Chores

posted by stufftough (OAKLAND, CA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I don't want to do your chores Zelda. I just want to go in & fight the bosses. Instead you make me go find 5 flippin keys just to open the door, & then figure out all the things & tricks to do just to get to the boss. As much as I like figuring things out, this doesn't seem the genre to do it it, leave that sort of thing to the puzzle genre i.e. Portal, & Professor Layton.

I thought the game would have more of a cell-shaded look to it. But I was pleasantly surprised by it's looks, & option to take a majority of the on screen hub (indicators of what buttons do what) off of the screen. Which made the game that much more immersive. The story starts out wonderfully too, at a school where Link is currently attending, but it's more like a boarding school so he lives there too. I think they were trying to appeal to the popular Harry Potter series, which wasn't a bad idea. The problem is that Link goes around & people he knows around the school talk to him, the problem being is that we, the player, know nothing about any of these characters. Introductions could have been fixed by simply attaching characters names to their dialogue. OR, by going the extra mile & buying some VOICE ACTORS for your NEXT-GEN TITLE NINTENDO!!!

Sorry that bugs me so, but these are interactive immersive experiences we're supposed to be engaging in right? Well it doesn't work, when 4, count them, FOUR different N.P.C.'s tell me "Hey, you know you can look around the room using the 'C' button, right?" That breaks the forth wall, & there are other games that do that with humor & grace. Honestly I'd rather have had it so that they included a forced tutorial before the game started. I flippin hate those! But I'd rather have that, than be pulled out of this sort of interesting story-line that you're presenting me with.

In closing I just want to point out that there are game series that can move on, like Resident Evil towards Gears if War. Zelda should have moved on more towards Shadow of the Co

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by lil_j13 (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This Zelda title is in my honest opinion one of the best to date. I think A link to the past still has my heart but this one was truly amazing. The story was really really good.. I REALLY HOPE they decide to continue this story. Simply put, this game was amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not what I expected.

posted by alphamy (ANDREWS, TX) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I must say that wii plus remote works really great, but I enjoyed Twilight Princess way more than Skyward. Twilight has better story and amazing controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse