Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3829 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Its an ok game

posted by Ashley84 (GREENVILLE, SC) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

but i liked LOZ: TP much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very far from the best

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

For the most part, I enjoyed "Skyward Sword" during my playthrough. Looking back on the experience, however, all sorts of flaws stick out. It's long-winded, it's formulaic, it's simplistic, it's rigid, and the helper character...good grief, the helper character! Nintendo isn't just holding our hand on this one; they're pushing us around in a wheelbarrow! Additionally, I really hated the Silent Realm challenges. And although some of the boss battles are cool and fun, the game forces you into continuous rematches with the two bosses that happen to be neither cool nor fun.

Of course, there are plenty of good points, too. The graphics and sound are excellent, and the story is probably the best the Zelda series has seen since "The Wind Waker". Upgrading your weapons and items is a neat concept, and I enjoyed the flying. Also, the controls behaved pretty much flawlessly for me. I didn't experience any of the troubles that so many other people complain about.

"Skyward Sword" doesn't deserve a rating any lower than a 7, but it doesn't deserve a rating any higher, either. It's worth playing once, but I honestly can't picture myself ever wanting to go through it again. I've experienced the same trouble with "Twilight Princess". As much as I hate to say it, I really do believe the Zelda series peaked with "Ocarina of Time", then began rolling downhill, with each subsequent entry in the series drifting further and further away from what made their predecessors so great.

Nintendo needs to shake the Zelda series up a bit. And I'm not talking about flooding Hyrule or turning Link into a wolf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zelda: Skyward Sword

posted by Daniel_Perez (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Everything about this game is amazing. Rent it or buy it. Either way you have to play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wii motionpus required...

posted by theworm1244 (Durham, NH) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I'm not letting nintendo scam me out of another 25 bucks just for this game, what a joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty good

posted by SamWells3 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game was really good, and i enjoyed it, it wasnt so easy like some games and it was very addicting to play, but i liked Wind Waker alot better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Greatest Zelda games ever!!!!!

posted by TradeMark_XIII (PRESCOTT, AZ) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

When I first got my Wii when it was released back in 2006, I was completely excited to get the next big Zelda game, Twilight Princess. To be honest, I was disappointed, I just couldn't get into it. Don't get me wrong, the game was good, and after replaying it recently, I found it was better then I originally thought. It just felt like a clone of OoT. I felt the series was getting stale. So when I finally played through Skyward Sword, it was a godsend.

I can tell Nintendo worked hard on making this a different, fresher experience. It still feels like the Zelda I know and love, but with enhancements and additions that make the game feel new, as if the series has been reborn.

The gameplay is likely the first thing you will notice, as Nintendo touts the use of the Wii Motion Plus in this game. While it may not be true 1:1, it is very close, and is used in such exciting and interesting ways. Swordplay is now much more strategic, compared to the mindless button mashing of past Zelda games. Fighting against my first bobokin in the game, I felt like I was in an actual swordfight, trying to analyze his moves and find a weakpoint. Buttons seem archaic compared to this, at least in the Zelda series.

The story is the best the Zelda series has ever seen. Zelda isn't just another damsel in distress to rescue, well....actually, she is, but you get to know Zelda on a more personal level, as a friend. When she does get kidnapped, I actually WANTED to rescue her, not because I had too. The villian is engaging, support characters also have a suprising amount of depth, and the game explains the beginning of the series (this is the origin story) very well.

I also want to add, I love the addition of the upgrade system. It helps increase the longetivity of items, so you use some beyond the dungeon you find them in.

Nintendo truly made the perfect 25th annivesary game, and it wasn't made for it! It celebrates the past 25 years of Zelda while showing us a bright future for t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wii Remote Plus controllers required

posted by instig8r (JACKSON, MI) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

We were looking forward to this game, but we have the original Wii controllers and this will only work with the Remote Plus. Unfortunately we had to send it back without ever playing since we weren't ready to buy new controllers (or the Plus addons for old controllers). I'm not going to ding this game with a bad rating because I didn't have the gear, but will research further before rent another Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by November212011 (SILVER LAKE, WI) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Great fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New Favorite Zelda!

posted by BugJuiceDad (MOLINE, IL) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I am 30 years old and have maintained that LOZ: Ocarina of time is the best Zelda since I bought it for Nintendo 64 (I preordered it then, and so I was one of the first normal customers to have it when it was released in 1998). I have played every Zelda since and even went back to check out the Zeldas of old, but nothing has been as dynamic as Ocarina. This game just topped it! I am amazed! The puzzles are challenging, but not overly challenging. It is normal game play length for what you would expect, me being nearly 50 hours into it and only being somewhere around half way. The added dynamic of the Wii Motion Plus and the real sword play is awesome and frustrating, at the same time. Awesome because it lets you act out the game, but frustrating because in the heat of battle the controller would get confused, on occasion. This would ususually result in a misattack (misinterpreted action from the remote) from Link and allow the enemy to sneak one in on him. The Wii Motion Plus technology isn't perfect yet, but it worked very well considering a new frontier for Nintendo, and only negligibly affected the game play experience in a negative way.

I had wondered why the price difference from "Twilight Princess" to this one, but after playing this I totally get it and believe it is worth it. Twilight Princess was entertaining, but this was just straight addicting.

I needed to send it back before I finished the entire adventure, but this is definitely on my Father's Day wish list. I probably haven't stated anything new, from other reviews, but I wanted to promote it anyway. Hope it helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Zelda's always great, but this one has problem

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

I'm really of two minds when it comes to Skyward Sword. As a Zelda game, it lives up to it's pedigree of being a wonderful experience. Yet, some of the problems I felt with it were just so frustrating that I felt as if the actual final boss of the game was the game itself. For a Wii game, it's one of the best games available. Many aspects can be extended to non-Wii consoles as well...

For starters, if you're looking for an adventure game and have a Wii, this is a must-play game. If you've played any Zelda game since (and including) the SNES days, you won't be surprised to see what is here. There are some minor, but unimportant. change ups. This is the first Wii game in more than a year of rentals (Wii is my secondary console) that I actually wanted to play (once I started it). Once the adventure started going and clicked for me, I just couldn't put it down (unfortunately my sleep schedule suffered, but it was generally worth it). Many complain about fetch quests in Zelda games, but I actually felt as if most of the game belonged (the trials are the exception, but when compared to the 50 hour game, they're minor).

Now for the problems. I hated the controls. Yes, Wii motion plus was definitely noticed with how precise the controls could be. Yet, I found that I had to constantly re-center the controls, and felt as if the controls had better enemy AI than the monsters you fight. Some reviewers seem to think the controls are great, so I will concede that this will be a person-by-person issue, but it was frustrating enough both in the beginning and the final boss battle. Re-centering is very easy in the game, but it did massively increase both the difficulty and frustration when it didn't work for me. Those that liked the controls think that ease is a good enough compromise, but it's the only thing that kept me from sending the game back after just a few hours (and every 5-10 minutes after that...).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is really interactive!!!

posted by video300 (HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I would have to say this game is very good with the graphics. It has art that is very realistic! I think the only flaw would have to be sometimes the WII will get out of sink during battle then you need to put it down to reset it. The battles are very well rendered. This ga,e is really great! You'll love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome game!

posted by THACKER (LINDON, UT) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I own this game and it is AMAZING. It deserves at least a 9 in my book. People that just hate zelda or the wii should not spam up the review. The only flaw I found was that the motion control was a bit touchy, making it harder to perform the right move. That is about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A very good game but just a few little annoyances

posted by Redtoeonfire (SPANISH FORK, UT) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The description of items in this game is so repetitive and constantly holding up the same item you got a few moments ago gets annoying when in the bazaar. Other than this it is a very great game. I found Fi to get extremely annoying, "tell me something I don't know Fi ...".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Best use of Wii controls so far ...

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

... but it is still Zelda, a game for sub-10-year-old girls who like fantasy and enjoy brushing up on their reading skills.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too much filler

posted by ReviewerA (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This is a well made adventure game, with creative level design, and entertaining use of, and variety of, key items. The graphics are pretty good, everything looks like what it does, and the characters are cute and entertaining, for the most part. The graphics presented here aren't simulations of the appearance of reality, but rather a form of puppetry, that works most of the time. I also like that there is limited voice acting, since reading is more active than listening cut scenes are a little less boring.
This is also one of the most annoying games I've ever played. The controls just don't work well enough, most of the difficulty in the game is caused by them. There are too many fetch quests, repetition of previously completed dungeons and areas, and other filler. The sound effects also get a little annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Game you want!

posted by Jesse515 (ROCHESTER, NY) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

You sure do want to get the game its fun and really tests your skills it can be frustrating at times but right when you get back on line you say yay! There are also alot of videos that show the love between Zelda and Link and what makes you love Zelda too. 100000000000000 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Overhyped

posted by tucsoncarol (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is very good, but not the powerhouse I was led to believe. It seems like there is a cutscene after every move. Going over and over and over the same locations gets really old. Don't get me wrong, it was fun, just not....well, you know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what control?

posted by IVALEX123 (MORENO VALLEY, CA) Jan 21, 2012

Member since May 2008

do i need to use the wii plus or not?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair

posted by msandink (SPARKS, NV) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

It was okay..... but, the graphics weren't as good as I thought and it didn't have as much of a plot than I thought. But, the Wii Motion Plus helped the game a load, with the action/fighting great!!!!!! So all in out, it was pretty fair because graphics weren't that great, not much of a plot, but, it has great action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse