Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3956 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Play!!!

posted by KJStevens (HERNDON, PA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

A Fantastic Game...Fun, But Tough, and Beautifully Illustrated!!! Can't Wait For The Next Zelda Game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A must-play for fans and non-fans alike

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

The last Zelda game I played was the Windwaker on GC. To be honest the overall pace and experience didn't wow me as much as Skyward Sword did.

This game contains the best of what the franchise is known for: quest(s), utilizing different equipment to achieve different results, strategic yet engaging combat. I did find that the MotionPlus attachment, although needed (and uncommonly used for many Wii gamers), is a nice touch that added quite a bit of accuracy to the already interesting combat with the directional slicing sword features. The sword combat with the interactive use of the Wiimote was just so creative and something I'd not seen before. It was like a completely different combat system with such a simple change.

Music is much, much better than what I expected. It fit in well with the surrounding environment. The huge plus is that it is orchestrated, mainly. Thus the sound is a much better complement to the gameplay and makes it so much more cinematic and memorable.

Graphics is as good as it gets for the Wii. The Wii isn't known for its graphics but when the game developers get creative with the design, the player won't even catch the lack of graphics. Character design, environment, visual effects, etc combine the look of Windwaker (Youthful and two-tone) and Twilight Princess (Polished and serious) to make a look that can work best with the graphics capabilities. For example, in a field-like room/dungeon (there are quite a few), the farther out the field of vision is, the more painting-esque it becomes. Very artistic and it doesn't interfere with the experience.

Pace of the game couldn't be better. It was planned out very nicely to get all the points across while not making you fall asleep...most of the time anyway!

Overall I'm glad I decided to rent this game and I believe you'll be glad you did the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!

posted by swagdaddy1497 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game was amazing! The use of the Wii motion plus is wonderful. it really tests your skills with the sword. The different gear you obtain throughout the game is also cool. you have to use your brain to use the right thing.
The story is amazing as well. every little thing that happens makes you want to play that much longer. sure its a long game, but it is all worth it.
All im trying to say is , next to Ocarina of time, THIS IS THE BEST LEGENED OF ZELDA GAME EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game but not challenging though

posted by dragonbb (KAILUA, HI) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Game was great but like all the new Zelda's (After Zelda ocarina of time) it was not that challenging. It seems like the are putting more in to graphic then into the story or the level. This is way im giving it a 7 out if 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

That's pretty lame Nintendo

posted by Soccergeek (IRVING, TX) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

So I got the game on Friday, found out I needed the Motion+ Friday Night, and sent the game back Saturday.

What a rip off. No where on the gamefly site does it say that I need to have the Motion+. It does however have a notice on the cover of the game box (went to Best Buy to find out). Then I see that the Motion+ is $25.00! What horse hockey!!!!! I already spent $150 buying three extra controllers, now I have to spend another $100 to get 4x Motion+

No wonder Nintendo is doing so poorly in the market. Also, SHAME ON GAMEFLY for not making that tid-bit of information apparent on their site. It would have saved my a game rental spot and I would be spending the weekend playing a game I could actually PLAY!

I wish I could write a review about the game, but I am so frustrated I just sent the game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game! Best game on the Wii!

posted by DarkOverlord (Toronto, CA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I bought this game, AND pre-ordered it, and it is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Graphics: Wind Waker and Twilight Princess graphics combined 9/10
Gameplay: Motion controls are great, fun, and the idea works! 10/10
Replay Value: 9/10
Music: 10/10 it is BEAUTIFUL!!!
Story: 10/10 awesome!
Final Verdict: 10/10

It's awesome! You should buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No bad but not amazing

posted by Kashi (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

im a huge huge zelda fan... this game was fun at some parts but some ish was not necessary like the vacuum blower thing...W T F was that ish about? the stupid imprisoned.. i mean come on!!! sometimes the sword was a lil unresponsive like when i tried killing the freaken plants and it wouldnt slash right... but that was only sometimes... other then that story line wasnt too bad... gets really really good towards the end... all in all it was alright.. definatly didnt wanna replay though...hope the next one is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

posted by rosie41676 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is terrible, the graphics is dull and sad...I am a huge Zelda fan and love both the classics and Ocarina of time, but Skyward Sword was a big disappointment.
I give this a -1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

to be very honest...

posted by darkwolf99 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

The legend of zelda skyward sword was a good game, I enjoyed playing through it. the dungeons were good, and as was the fighting (skulltulas are really hard in this game for once). now I do not give this game a 10 out of 10 or a 9 out of ten for the fact that THEY could have better honestly. If you played through the other zelda games Which I had mostly, this one is the most tedious, You literally enter this giant thunder head 3 times to do something that you could have done the FIRST time! (I personally do not like flying into giant thunderstorms at all, doesn't sound safe) and do not get me started on the ending on the game. I wont tell every thing about it for those who may have not beaten it yet. The one thing I will say is if you know what a paradox is you will find one in the ending!!! They left a paradox in there that is highly obvious! this is why I give it a 7 out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Game EVER!!!!!

posted by supamario2 (LENEXA, KS) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Im a HUGE Legend of Zelda fan i [lay ocrina of ttime and Four Swoards Adventure but this is the best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Comment On Game

posted by EObert13 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I'm a Zelda Fan, I think that almost all of the Zelda games are great. Skyward Sword is OK. Gameplay is the best thing about this game, but some of the story lines plus some of the characters looks almost just as bad as the characters on Windwaker. Except Link, instead of a big head, big eyes and really small feet. This game, Link almost looks like a woman because of the angle of his face on the game. I think this game is cool but not really the "best" Zelda game out of all the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Zelda skyward Sword Wii

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Not A Bad Game,But its More Of Tasks,Talking Then Its Action Based,I Would Say Not The Best In Its Series But Not All That Bad,Im More Oldschool So This Zelda Isnt All That Hardcore..to Me,Anyway Rent It If U Just Want To See What Its About...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best zelda game

posted by 7981dero (HENDERSON, NV) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Skyward sword is one of the biggest and best zelda games of all time. the wii motion plus sets this game apart from all of the others.if you're a true zelda fan, rent the game and see how the zelda conflict really started!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda sky sword

posted by Betsy1421 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I love all the Zelda games this one is very cool hope they keep making more. Love the grafics the characters and the monsters .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Motion Control Clarification

posted by Zorpix (BURLINGTON, WI) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I've been reading some of the bad reviews, and a LOT say that "recentering the motion controls is annoying" First off, this DOESNT happen when you're using his sword or anything like that. There is no centering required for anything that doesnt require aiming. As for the rest, all you do is point at the middle of the screen (Which you'll be doing anyways) and press the down button. The screen will instantly fix itself and snap to the right centering. I guess people are so lazy that just hitting the down button makes them give an amazing game like this a 1. While it does get sort of repetitive, there is a lot of depth to the worlds, and exploring them will get you more items you can craft. Yes, CRAFTING in Zelda. It's actually pretty awesome. All the characters, even the shopkeeps, have their own personalities, and you get to know them as characters, not just static salesmen and women. There are also tons of extra things to do after the final boss, so there's no lack of content either. You can do "quests" (tasks) for people around town, which usually requires exploring past areas and completing a few difficult requirements.

All in all, this game makes me proud to be a Wii owner, and yes, it isn't for everybody. I know some people did generally dislike it for their own legitimate reasons, and that's perfectly fine! We can't all like the same thing. But definitely give this one a try, even if the bad reviews have you sitting on the fence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by Buniny (TAVARES, FL) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is very good and well though. It has an easy story to get into and it has great graphics. It gives you clues which basically tell you what to do, but you have to read even though they are highlighted. There are some parts that you really have to think on what to do, but I still loved it. I believe that this was an very good game and I would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best zelda game???

posted by Saint67 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jun 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

ok here it is this game is awesome. i like it. its cool amazing the story great and overall good so have a fun time with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderful experience, but...

posted by kaitoofrose (HARVEST, AL) Jun 9, 2012

Member since May 2011

To put it to point, I have not played the Hero Mode yet, but my overall experience was wonderful. The graphics are great for the Wii, even though when things get far away, they appear kind of, well, blurry. The controls were almost perfect, even though there was some times I needed to re-calibrate the controller, since the sword would not do what I need to do. The story is wonderful, but only some minor twists here and there. Overall, this game is wonderful, whether it is a rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome, I love it!

posted by Sharon17 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I love the story and the game is amazing. Had to buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is what you have been waiting for.

posted by Slade_O_Niel (BURIEN, WA) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

Ever since the Wii first announced motion controls the first thing in my head was swordplay. But when Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess arrived I was left dissapointed and waggling the Wiimote half heartedly as Link jerkily swung regardless of what I was doing.

Before the Ocarina, before the Master Sword there was the Skyward Sword. See how the land of Hyrule began as Link takes on the likes of the demon prince Ghirahim in order to reunite with his best friend Zelda. (That's right, she's not even a princess in this one.) With a great cast of characters this Zelda drew me in more than all the others.

While the game flow is far more linear then all other Zeldas it does offer a few alternatives to gameplay that overall added to my enjoyment. Much of the equipment is upgraded by finding helpful objects through the world, bomb use is now more adaptive with the ability to bowl the bomb like a ball, and of course all the original favorite gameplay standards are there.

More importantly is the sword, it really does math your movements, sure you can't just swing wildly and expect to get far. that will just confuse Link's sword arm. However, Link's swings do match just about what I'm doing most of the time, and the increased need for the shield bash manuveur makes battle a fun new beast to master.

To those whose love is still for the controller only, I understand where your coming from, this game is just not for you. If you have an openmind and have been waiting to see just what the Wii could finally do, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best in the Series

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) May 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Zelda has never been a game with great combat but the creative puzzles and ways to defeat enemies give the game its well deserved critical acclaim. Skyward Sword is the best out of the bunch. The graphics are not great but the game is colorful and doesn't feel as dated as most Wii games. I'm glad they returned to the cartoon-ish style over the realistic look from Twilight Princess which, in my opinion, looked muddy and was ugly to look at. The story is basic and told through walls of text. The main, and really only attraction of this game is the game play but it does that so well that there's no way I could give this game a bad score. There are at least 40 hours of fun game play if you try to complete the game 100%.

And I haven't had a problem with the motion controls like other people seem to have. They seem pretty accurate to me.

Pros:
+ Creative puzzle and ways to fight enemies
+ Over a 40 hour game potentially

Cons:
- I wish Nintendo would start realizing while graphics and a deep story don't make a game good automatically, those aspects do still matter. Game play is of course the most important element but I still wish Zelda could at least have a voice actor so the game can seem a bit more cinematic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best legend of zelda.

posted by kal123 (KALKASKA, MI) May 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I think it is the best .I will tell you this it has a twist near the end zelda is a god that took over her body.
thats all I will tell you. this is the legend of zelda game that inspierd me to get phantom hourglass,twillight princess,and spirit tracks,ocirina of time 3D.honstly you shuld buy it.next you should buy ocirina of time 3D.BUY BOTH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best wii game ever

posted by daviered (DAVIE, FL) May 20, 2012

Member since May 2012

I got this game a few months ago and it is amazing. It has an amazing storyline. Just don't get this game if you easily get frustrated because it is really hard. You need the wii motion plus though. Amazing graphics. Awesome controls. There are only 3 flaws. There are a gazillion cutscenes, you always need to press z to make Link face forward, and you don't get the bow until you are more than halfway through. You actually shoot the bow as you would shoot a real bow. Definitely buy this game. It takes a while to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

overworld

posted by Deadly_Penguin (BURNET, TX) May 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

the overworld could have been so much more im kinda disapointed in that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who said "kid's games" weren't fun?

posted by dominike7 (Amarillo, TX) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

First I am a huge fan of Nintendo and their games. And they haven't slowed down in quality in my opinion, skyward sword is a testament to that statement. The sheer game play alone can satisfy any RPGS/adventure fan. It's unique game play with the wii remote transforms the Zelda experience to the next level. In all it's well rounded game for old school NES Zelda fan and new ones too. A+ game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse