Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3895 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WoW

posted by MSJR94 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zelda Sky

posted by Mallory45 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

It would have been helpful if i knew that the game used a specal controler

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Doesn't Stand Out Among the Greats of the Series

posted by Fruehdom (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

It's interesting what one comes to expect from a Zelda game after 20+ years of playing them. Every time you pick up the newest installment, there are certain things you can count on. The format serves as both a blessing and a curse for the series. To an large extent, the formula works and gamers continue to want more, so why break it. Also, there is a certain nostalgic quality every time a gamer comes back to the series. It takes you right back to the first time you watched 8-bit Link swing a sword on the NES.

What often suffers is innovation and storytelling. What is most surprising is when the game designers find a way to bring those two elements into the series without breaking from its core structure. Twilight Princess was a milestone because it allowed for actual depth in storytelling via Link's sidekick, Midna. Even though Link stays a blank slate, Midna underwent a very real change through the game, to the extent that you really cared for her by the end.

The other place where Zelda games still allow for innovation is in graphical style. Windwaker was a huge departure, and a very successful one in my opinion. Twilight Princess was also a success in its darker, almost graphic novel style.

Skyward Sword delivers on all the core components one expects from a Zelda game. Its dungeons and puzzles are well designed, and it adds its own unique spin on a number of elements from the core cannon. Perhaps the biggest innovation comes from the Motion+ swordplay. The designers really added a unique element to the series by forcing the player to use the wiimote like an actual sword.

There are plenty of things to like about Skyward Sword, but in the final tally, it just feels a little too safe to be one of the true greats of the series (Twilight Princess, Windwaker, Link to the Past). It delivered on all the things I expect of a Zelda game, but it never distinguished itself enough to stand out from the truly great games it has to stand next to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so excited

posted by Michele5683 (PORT ARTHUR, TX) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I became a new gamefly member a few months back and when our first game arrived Zelda the game was damaged and did not play. I did not have a home computer and was unabe to find the answers I needed to fix the problem on my android phone so I was not sure what to do, then I got some info from a friend that said just send it back to the company so I went to send it back and realized that I lost the envelope to send the game back to gamefly.
To make a long story short (too late) a new member has a membership they are paying for a total of 3 or more months and we only got one game that never worked and now finally we will be able to return the game to the company. Thank goodness there are no late charges cause I would owe them a bundle.
I undertand that none of the troubles I had were the fault of gamefly except the game never working, but it may have helped with there website was more mobile phone friendly.
Thank goodness we got a home computer otherwise we would still be wondering how to fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best in series. Innovative gameplay.

posted by joeturbo (TURLOCK, CA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Oct 2003

Skyward sword brings new innovative gameplay mechanics. The sword mimics your movements with the wiimote, giving you a more emersive experience. New weapons have more purpose in this game, whereas other installments some weapons were used a couple of times and forgotten. The puzzle and dungeon design are fantastic, best I've seen. The game took me about 50 hours to complete, although I did take on some side missions. This installment shows a push to change the rehashed zelda elements: mission brief, traverse world hub, dungeon, key, boss, repeat. The necessary steps needed to even get to a dungeon or temple is just as puzzle oriented. The combat requires precise timed movements rather than hack n slash. Depending on how enemies hold their weapons you have to parry their weapon before you strike. Even the simple spider skultulla requires more thought to kill. This is the game's combat is its best attribute. The game actually only has 3 different lands: woods, volcano, desert, and unfortunately you have to traverse them several times with different motives. They do change up the world a little bit and add a different control scheme. Towards the last portion of the game, this was about to become stale, as I felt more than ready to fight the final boss. But luckily the retreads are shorter. I have noticed this happens in many zeldas, but this game was more prevalent. Thats my only nagging issue, is the retreading of familiar lands. This game should not be missed. The story line was simple but wonderfully presented. The colorful and artistic approach to this installment is something to believe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

second best Zelda game!

posted by Smashlover4476 (MONROE, NY) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Ever since the Ocorina of time It's the closest to the flawless game, don't get me wrong there are flaws. But I love it. I recommend it to any Zelda fan who loves them for the story and game play since it's the first one to use motion controls. One last thing: 5 year wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Legend of zelda skyward sword

posted by redjoker (HARTFORD, CT) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is perfect. It has lots of hard puzzles and items like new medals and upgrade able weapons and potions. the side missions are fun to salve also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

b

posted by peepee1001 (MOUNT OLIVE, NC) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

its crazy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what i think

posted by amydrussell (SNOQUALMIE, WA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

its awsome the bosses are fun and all that but just one thing is missing exploreing is not in this but its still awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Chores

posted by stufftough (OAKLAND, CA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I don't want to do your chores Zelda. I just want to go in & fight the bosses. Instead you make me go find 5 flippin keys just to open the door, & then figure out all the things & tricks to do just to get to the boss. As much as I like figuring things out, this doesn't seem the genre to do it it, leave that sort of thing to the puzzle genre i.e. Portal, & Professor Layton.

I thought the game would have more of a cell-shaded look to it. But I was pleasantly surprised by it's looks, & option to take a majority of the on screen hub (indicators of what buttons do what) off of the screen. Which made the game that much more immersive. The story starts out wonderfully too, at a school where Link is currently attending, but it's more like a boarding school so he lives there too. I think they were trying to appeal to the popular Harry Potter series, which wasn't a bad idea. The problem is that Link goes around & people he knows around the school talk to him, the problem being is that we, the player, know nothing about any of these characters. Introductions could have been fixed by simply attaching characters names to their dialogue. OR, by going the extra mile & buying some VOICE ACTORS for your NEXT-GEN TITLE NINTENDO!!!

Sorry that bugs me so, but these are interactive immersive experiences we're supposed to be engaging in right? Well it doesn't work, when 4, count them, FOUR different N.P.C.'s tell me "Hey, you know you can look around the room using the 'C' button, right?" That breaks the forth wall, & there are other games that do that with humor & grace. Honestly I'd rather have had it so that they included a forced tutorial before the game started. I flippin hate those! But I'd rather have that, than be pulled out of this sort of interesting story-line that you're presenting me with.

In closing I just want to point out that there are game series that can move on, like Resident Evil towards Gears if War. Zelda should have moved on more towards Shadow of the Co

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by lil_j13 (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This Zelda title is in my honest opinion one of the best to date. I think A link to the past still has my heart but this one was truly amazing. The story was really really good.. I REALLY HOPE they decide to continue this story. Simply put, this game was amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not what I expected.

posted by alphamy (ANDREWS, TX) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I must say that wii plus remote works really great, but I enjoyed Twilight Princess way more than Skyward. Twilight has better story and amazing controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ocarina Move Over

posted by Jesse978908 (WAXAHACHIE, TX) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Though many opponents of motion controls will tell you otherwise, this is the best Zelda game ever made. The story is flawless, the controls meaningful, the graphics are gorgeous. This game goes toe to toe with much more advanced HD games and looks just as good. This game is a masterpiece.

A Masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyed, but too long.

posted by rhythmguitarhv (SPRING BRANCH, TX) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

My play time was 21 hours and 47 min. when I decided to stop. I was a little over 60% completed I think looking at the sections on the guide list. When the guide has 35 sections and one can take up to two hours....yeah. It's good and fun, but not outstanding. It was time to move on to something else for me. It keeps adding new things, but they're just new tools to basically do the same type of stuff. Definitely give it a shot. The average completion time online is around 36 hours though. I believe it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I miss my Ocarina

posted by Kthulhu (BLACK MOUNTAIN, NC) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Having been away from the series for a while, save for plowing through my friend's copy of Twilight princess when it came out, I was a little hesitant to return to my once beloved universe. I picked it up when I signed up for gamefly and figured since I wasn't paying full price for it, it would be worth playing at least. I was thoroughly impressed. It felt like I was playing Ocarina of Time again, the goofy comedy, the in depth story, it felt like I when I first picked up that n64 controller and started my love for the 3d lands of Hyrule. Yeah things were different, and at times the most complicated part of the puzzles were the fiddly controls of the Wii, but I was prepared for that going in. I don't understand the need for Fi to immediately re-explain something to you every time a story point happens in a video sequence or even a conversation, so there were moments where the repetativeness of it got on my nerves, but I powered through it. The harp however, is terrible. If the motion controls aren't calibrated to a tee when you start to play to open the trials, you could be sitting there waving your hand for a good five minutes or more. Just give me my Ocarina back and let me push some buttons, maybe make me hold the Wii mote like a flute or something. All in all though I am very pleased, if you work past the minor annoyances (harp, Fi, and going to the same three zones a hundred times) it really is a great addition to the wide world of Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wii motion plus = annoyance along with empty sky

posted by sonic1991 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

skyward sword is a great game except the wii motion plus has to be calibrated almost every 30 minutes. so sew me for saying this is but, its not my favorite zelda game. Also skyworld is the empiest place in the world barely any enimies and the boss you fight with the loftwings (birds) is just annoying. so gets an 8 sew me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

25 Years of a Legend

posted by Gamer47 (BEAVERTON, OR) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Don't get me wrong, this is a great game. This is my favorite Zelda game yet. Second best, Twilight Princess. This game takes place as the beginning of the series. Zelda is not a princess, just your friend on the Skyloft, a floating piece of rock in the sky. Everyone goes around on a giant bird called Loftwings. After you winning the wing ceremony, you take a ride with Zelda, until a black tornado sucks her up and spits her down to the world below. You find a sword inside the statue of the goddess and the spirit inside called Fi. You take the sword and start your adventure below. This game has motion control and requires the Wii Motion Plus or a Wii Remote Plus. Whatever you do with the remote, Link does with his sword. If you aim the remote up, you can harness power to preform the Skyward Strike, a great force of power. The only problem I have in this game is flying in the Sky. The sky is huge and there is nothing to do, but fly around on your Loftwing. Plus the music gets really boring. Either way, it's still my favorite Zelda game so far. I rate this game a 9 out of 10. Keep it up Nintendo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun

posted by NaturalBeginnin (APEX, NC) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is fun and I really enjoyed playing this game. The only thing that I had a problem with is that there was to much talking or I should say story telling while your trying to get the game started.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game for what it is but zelda is zelda

posted by chrono36 (NAMPA, ID) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I wont waste to much time here. Good clean hacknslash Zelda.
Graphics are good. Puzzles can take hours if not days to figure out.
Controls are super good.(Except for the bird. I didn't care for that. Seemed a lil buggy) If your lookin for a challenge and days of gameplay you will find it here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Possibly the BEST Zelda EVER

posted by SamusAranZero Oct 25, 2012

I have to say Ocarina of Time (N64), aside from Master's Quest (GameCube), was the best Zelda, but this one either beats it or comes shy of beating it as this is where the Legend of the Master Sword takes place. Be prepared for over 60 hours of great gameplay using your Wii Remote Plus and Nunchuck. It puts you right into the action. After you beat it, you'll be overwhelmed by the intuitive minds of Nintendo's great creation, but the fun doesn't stop there; enjoy it AGAIN in Hero Mode (a more challenge feat for Novices).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hat

posted by LightAngelxX (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Play!!!

posted by KJStevens (HERNDON, PA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

A Fantastic Game...Fun, But Tough, and Beautifully Illustrated!!! Can't Wait For The Next Zelda Game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A must-play for fans and non-fans alike

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

The last Zelda game I played was the Windwaker on GC. To be honest the overall pace and experience didn't wow me as much as Skyward Sword did.

This game contains the best of what the franchise is known for: quest(s), utilizing different equipment to achieve different results, strategic yet engaging combat. I did find that the MotionPlus attachment, although needed (and uncommonly used for many Wii gamers), is a nice touch that added quite a bit of accuracy to the already interesting combat with the directional slicing sword features. The sword combat with the interactive use of the Wiimote was just so creative and something I'd not seen before. It was like a completely different combat system with such a simple change.

Music is much, much better than what I expected. It fit in well with the surrounding environment. The huge plus is that it is orchestrated, mainly. Thus the sound is a much better complement to the gameplay and makes it so much more cinematic and memorable.

Graphics is as good as it gets for the Wii. The Wii isn't known for its graphics but when the game developers get creative with the design, the player won't even catch the lack of graphics. Character design, environment, visual effects, etc combine the look of Windwaker (Youthful and two-tone) and Twilight Princess (Polished and serious) to make a look that can work best with the graphics capabilities. For example, in a field-like room/dungeon (there are quite a few), the farther out the field of vision is, the more painting-esque it becomes. Very artistic and it doesn't interfere with the experience.

Pace of the game couldn't be better. It was planned out very nicely to get all the points across while not making you fall asleep...most of the time anyway!

Overall I'm glad I decided to rent this game and I believe you'll be glad you did the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!

posted by swagdaddy1497 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game was amazing! The use of the Wii motion plus is wonderful. it really tests your skills with the sword. The different gear you obtain throughout the game is also cool. you have to use your brain to use the right thing.
The story is amazing as well. every little thing that happens makes you want to play that much longer. sure its a long game, but it is all worth it.
All im trying to say is , next to Ocarina of time, THIS IS THE BEST LEGENED OF ZELDA GAME EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game but not challenging though

posted by dragonbb (KAILUA, HI) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Game was great but like all the new Zelda's (After Zelda ocarina of time) it was not that challenging. It seems like the are putting more in to graphic then into the story or the level. This is way im giving it a 7 out if 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse