Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3941 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

I have never hated the Wii controls as much!!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

When first hearing about this game I couldn't believe how some gaming sites gave this game an average score. It has taken me over 50 hours to get to a point of complete utter hatred for the Wii. I keep finding my self wanting to love this game, I love playing Zelda, I grew up with the original Nintendo. But in no other game has it become so evident why the Wii, and motion control for that matter, will never be used for hardcore gaming. You NEED a second analog stick for the camera!!! 1 to 1 is not always a good thing, I could not stand the flying and swimming sections of the game so much so that I had to force myself to continue. There would be times I was collecting tad songs that Link turned every way BUT the direction I wanted him to go. Sword slashing is fun but the glitches in the controls make it more of a novelty than a genuine tool. Zelda was not a good franchise to experiment with....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New Zelda Game.

posted by Imadori21 (LANSING, MI) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've had this game for about two weeks now since it got leaked online so i've played a great deal. I've experienced alot of the game but not all so keep that in mind as i write this review.

This is a zelda game for those who don't know it has a ton of fans and they expect something new every game.This however makes the whole zelda universe turn upside down in a good way for some and bad way for others.

The graphics are not breath taking yet there not bad and since it's not HD and many are used to playing HD games once you come down to this level you won't find it as crisp but it is as detailed the map of this game is not big at all which is why every location has many items and puzzles.
The Back tracking in this game is it's biggest problem there are like three dungeons on the map that open to huge amounts of spaces but it gets very annoying being in skyloft in the sky where u start from and only being able to buy things like potions and shields from there. So your shield breaks you go back, you need to upgrade you go back, you lose your life and have no more potions you go back.
Which reminds me the controls in this game are perfect and i mean DEAD ON so if you mess up and die it's your fault, but it takes so long to get used to such perfect controls the game seems very hard at the start however once you conquer the controls you'll love them and couldn't be happier. Now as i was playing this game only one thing came to my mind - "This is it the next generation Zelda." I believe those words as this feels nothing like any zelda i have played before it and i believe that's the point but this game feels so different many many fans will be very upset and Hate this game.

Overall i think this game gets a 9 out of 10 not the best so far but the perfect controls really make it fun. Of course that's if u can over look the tedious backtracking for items and locations.
Try it out
Some will Hate it
Some will Love it
This Is NEW
This Is Not The Traditional Ze

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A-frikkin-mazing

posted by nategrey (SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY) Dec 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Not done with the game yet, there is too much to tell. But I won't spoil it. The exploration is fantastic. Crafting is a great addition to the series. I don't care what anyone says about Fi, the new assistant to link in the game. She is awesome. If you don't mind I suggest you get the strategy guide, but don't read ahead and ruin it. Instead, go to the part you just completed sect by sect and have fun with it. You will not beat this in a couple of days. This is meant to tie you down with awesome lands to explore. Have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Some Control Issues

posted by R3nmir (PANAMA CITY, FL) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The storyline and graphics in this game are amazing. I wish I could have experienced more of it but I found the controls to be annoying. I'm very glad I didn't spend the 50 dollars to actually own the game because I couldn't have gotten over it. The balance is hard, the remote constantly loses center and the swordplay is extremely difficult to master. Hopefully they will release a version that is playable with a different control scheme, maybe a classic or tilted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Give me a heads up, Gamefly!

posted by seiyuu54 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So, I'm waiting for this game for a week, and as each day goes by I'm more and more pumped to finally play it. It came today, and I had to do all sorts of things before I could play it. Anyway, I finally sit down to play the thing...AND I NEED TO BUY THE WIIMOTION PLUS TO PLAY THE GAME!

The shady practice of the dev is in no way Gamefly's fault, but what i do blame them for is not telling us that it needs the special thing.

GAMEFLY: Please mark your games based on whether they call for a specific accessory, and hey, how about you also mark them when they need a code for online play. Before we waste time and space on our Queue waiting for this game, give us the heads-up on whether we can get the full enjoyment out of the game. Minimal effort on your end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great

posted by Minwen (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I felt the graphics were a bit too cartoon like for my taste. Why this might be ok for kids, I don't like it. It didn't have the same feel as the other Zelda games to me. I felt it was quite lacking. The story wasn't too bad, but I would like to be able to skip some of the cut scenes. Not horrible, but not great either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CHUCK NORRIS OF THE WII

posted by Omegaman777 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS EVEN BETTER THAN HALO SERIES/GEARS OF WAR AND CHUCK NORRIS AND OKAMI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The game could have more bosses,items and more areas to explore, but it make up for beautiful graphics that you can see easily epic boss fight lovable characters and best of all,LINK SHOWS LOTS OF EXPRESSTIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It Is The Best Zelda Yet

posted by KTJDDD (UPLAND, CA) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

From the beginning, before I even start my file, I'm presented with the most terrifying of intros ever conceived in The Legend of Zelda. I felt this game could be more terrifying than Twilight Princess and Majora's Mask combined.

It's incredibly fierce in the way it's presented. With a feeling of little help, you find yourself struggling for answers to what is actually happening in the story. After a while, you yourself would like to know what is going on.

You find many items and meet many creatures and people. And while the land isn't vast and huge like Twilight Princess, it's much more compact and much more dense.

The forests of Faron are beautiful. The Eldin Volcano stood fierce in glory. And Lanayru remained a ghost of it's former self. But each of these terrains is filled with characters to talk to and new things to do with each visit.

Instead of once again drawing out details textures and pseudo-realistic world like Twilight Princess attempted to do, more pixels are given to model shapes and more design work was put into the colors. A game isn't just about a large resolution output.

Considering my own quirks such as text speed and random unnecessary alerts, there's not enough to give this game less than a great score. It's rare when I rate a piece of media 9.0 or higher. But this will be the highest score on this blog yet

See my full review at hope4media . blogspot d0t com

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A True Zelda Fan Very Disappointed

posted by Metallica0 (BEAVERTON, OR) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

First off everyone that has been saying this is the best Zelda game for a console has got to check there head. The game isn’t even top 10 of the best Zelda games and here is why.

1. When Shigeru Miyamoto demoed the game at E3 and the controls didn’t work they should have scrapped the idea and went with normal controls. The Wii Motion plus is so broken the game is unplayable. The Motion Plus loses connection every 5 minutes I found myself pointing the control at the wall more than the TV.
2. This game is just a test of patients. Silent Realm that’s all I have to say. There is so much back tracking in this game it’s like they gave up making new areas they just rehash the same area over and over again. With the terrible Motion Plus controls you don’t want a longer game you are wising for an ending. I couldn’t even finish the game if i tried my head would have popped.

All and all I’m giving the game a 6 because it’s a Zelda game but they should have given the game the Old Yeller treatment and went back to the drawing board.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst use of motion controls since Red Steel

posted by HotWax (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Nintendo ruined a perfectly good franchise and what could have been an outstanding game because they had no restraint when it came to adding pointless, frustrating motion controls that add nothing but hardship to the game.

The story of this game, like most Zelda games, is fantastic. You play as Link attempting to rescue Zelda and the world from an ancient evil, and this time you get to fly around on the back of a bird, skydive to various locations on the surface, and fight lots of interesting and well-balanced enemies.

The motion controls aren't all bad, either. The sword fighting, for the most part, feels solid, and the ability to slash from multiple directions depending on your hand motions feels great.

Unfortunately, that's really the extent of the good uses they found for the Wii Motion+. If they had left it there, you'd have a great game. But no, they had to push it further. Just about every action in the game requires some kind of movement of the Wiimote, even when it would make more sense and be done in a more controllable fashion with the buttons on the controller. Flying and swimming require you to point the Wiimote, when a perfectly-good analog stick is sitting right there just waiting to be used. The nunchuck, which doesn't benefit from the Motion+'s finer controls, does nothing but get in your way. It's used to raise your shield on foot, and do spin attacks in the air and water -- These actions occur whenever you shake it, shift positions on the couch, or sneeze, and it will do so ALL THE TIME when you don't want to act.

Even the tried-and-true music controls in this game are awkward and pointless. The ocarina/wind waker in previous Zelda titles allowed you to learn and repeat several songs depending on the situation, but here the harp is just used by holding one button and waving your hand back and forth, not actually playing anything worth calling a song. It feels dumb and is just another example of how this game is a missed oppor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by maharris1985 (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I get kinda really annoyed with how they set up your weapons on this one, using only the B button to switch between items in a fight get ridiculous and all the turning my conroller around like a magic wand to fly or swim just get nerve racking after awhile. but over all a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

HAHAHAH Best Zelda ever made.

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 23 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game proves what a waste of time motion controlled gaming is. Good lord are the controls bad.....I thought nothing could be worse then Twlight Princess but o man this game is almost unplayable. I already hate motion controls for ruining some of the best games ever made such as Zelda and Mario. But man they really did a number on this one. Be sides Final Fantasy Zelda was one of my favorite games of all time and what they have put out in these last two titles is a disgrace to Zelda and their fans. Get back to the basics of real games with one remote so motion and pin point accuracy...nomore of this motion bs that ruins every game it touches..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst of the series

posted by BerserkerM80 (FOREST GROVE, OR) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

honestly this game was the worst yet if you wan to play the best play ocarina of time or twilight princess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring! boring! boring!

posted by stircrazy001 (BUCYRUS, OH) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I decided to rent this given all of the advertisements about the game. Boy, was I disappointed. I played it for about an hour the first time and found it terribly boring but wanting to be fair, I played it again for about 1 1/2 hours and still found it boring. I can see where kids might get into it but it seems that it takes forever to finish the quests. I found the majority of the ones that I completed not very much fun for the effort. Again, this might be a good game for the younger generation. Good luck if you rent/buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sweet, but why?

posted by youbetcha (EVERETT, WA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i play every zelda game that comes out. wind waker and ocarina of time are faves

this zelda was great. music, story, controls, characters were phenomenal.

annoying details these people can NOT get right! 1. having to individually read info and talk when buying products at the store (slow transactions are tiresome) 2. why do the maps suck? they aren't cool to look at, and nothing is labeled. "is that area higher or lower than where i am? Why can't i look at different maps? I would love it if we could write stuff on our maps and not wonder if thats a floating island or floating rock that lets your fly faster. 3. short video of link playing harp and the song "cutscenes" are atrocious. (random birds flying around to a random song that you can't make out the words too) 4. the game felt like it was dungeon after dungeon. everywhere is dungeon shaped! all areas you "dive" into aren't free roaming. you have to open paths up like you would a dungeon in order to move forward. 5. is it my fault that i didn't solve missing little girl mystery until i finished the master sword?? 6. get this, to get that, so you can get this, in order to do something phew now all i need now is that. no rewards to replay the game

things i liked: silence after beating a boss, walk cutscenes entering dungeon, the controls (once you figure them out). the stamina and shield bar! and upgrading was nice (finally a zelda game where there is stuff i can't wait to buy) the new races were sweet! water/time effects are crucial. the save points were easy. how you can see all the colorful portals in skyloft (awesome) more fun to catch bugs this time around! silent realms are actually pretty cool. items easy and fun and useful. fi- is a helpful and quick to the point sidekick ive been waiting for.

got me my zelda fix. the controls and new story along with new characters are epic. but it wasn't an adventure where you had fresh footprints. only went places because of story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NOT WHAT I SUSPECTED

posted by rodfong591 (ESTES PARK, CO) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 30 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

so the graphics are 100 times worse than twighligt princeses, the gameply sucks, and the controlls are just confusing. the story mode is fun and catches the player in but thats about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

outstanding,awsome,spectacular

posted by flheidiho (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

it was pretty awsome fighting in the game zelda

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best

posted by Emberwyld (WESTVILLE, IN) Sep 28, 2014

Member since Jun 2007

I loved this game in general, I want a fan of all the flying around, but all in all it was a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever!!!

posted by Zeldalover16 (NORTHVILLE, MI) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Skyward Sword is the Bomb! its the best Zelda game in history! from awesome graphics to great story. any Zelda fan will love this and the motion plus controls work great. I recommend this to anyone with Wii/Wii U!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda Topper - Loved it

posted by sunshine61 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game was great, better than the Zelda Princess game in some ways, but it had it's downfalls as well. With Princess you could skip a lot of the dialog, with this game you couldn't skip any of it unless you had already played it before, then you could only skip with the boss scenes to the fight. Also, when collecting bugs, it kept telling you what you got and going through 2 other screens before letting you move on, which was a bit annoying. The boss fights were bigger and better, and there is a lot of action. I felt the side missions were pretty good in this one. It was fairly simple, with the exception of the jumping off things and gliding down part. I never could figure out how to aim myself onto certain points or cliffs that you are required to do in order to finish some of the side missions. The remote just didn't want to put me where I aimed, not sure what is up with that. Overall, great game, I would recommend it, rated FUN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Zelda Game EVER

posted by Blitz (BUDD LAKE, NJ) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

This game is terrible! Shotty controls! terrible story lines and wth - did I mention the ridiculously awful controls? When you're not bored to death with some of the most stupid storyline quests, you're left frustrated trying to repeatedly perform that awfully stupid "skyward" sword move. Seriously, what a stupid use of the Wii motion controller. This game is overly repetitive and you spend way too much time trying to find that stupid "sweet" spot to get that absurd skyward sword move. Take a pass on this game and save yourself a lot of unneeded frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alright

posted by wolfman1996 (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

it was a good game but feel like the ending fight could of been a little bit harder and longer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Love/ Hate

posted by nokra (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) Aug 3, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

This game is fantastic, with huge world, interesting boss fights, and great graphics, making it one of the best games in the series. There were just three problems.
(Warning! some of these problems contain spoilers)

1. Too much reliance on the Wii Motion Plus

I understand what Nintendo was trying to do the WMP made things possible that weren't before, and a good amount of that was fantastic. However, if you don't have a proper place to put the sensor bar, or if the Wii's controls are bad, it really ruins the experience. I can't tell how many times I had to "Point the controller at the middle of the screen and press down."

2. Huge world, Unable to be explored

The sky is huge, with enough space in it to hold three zelda games, but there is very little of the sky used. It kind of remind me of Wind Waker.

3. Old Ship level is this games equivalent of the Water Temple in OoT

Awesome mini-boss, interesting gimmick, bad boss. Only difference, the gimmick was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I did not like Wind Waker and Twilight Princess

posted by Nubfail (FLORISSANT, MO) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I did not like Wind Waker and Twilight Princess...

but this game was GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game another classic to add to series

posted by Kev_215 (HARLEYSVILLE, PA) May 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Great game its up there with the best zelda games probably not as good as some of the classics like ocarina or majoras mask but defiantly up there deserves no less then a 9 and i gave it a 10 def rent / buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse