Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3829 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super cool

posted by mrsweed45 (NAPLES, FL) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I believe I can fly!

posted by nadare (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game! I especially like that you can fly the Loftwing. Flying is one of my favorite parts! I've only gotten to outside the temple in the Deep Woods, but I can already tell it's a great game! One thing I don't get that I think is really wierd, is that I found two Remlits (cat-like thing, Zelda's dad's pet Mia), both on Skyloft! Is this supposed to happen? Has it happened to anyone else? I haven't checked to see if there are two at night, but I hope not. One vicious cat thing I can handle, but two is almost scary! Almost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by poppatrick12345 (RIVERSIDE, RI) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Introduction-
Well! I'm new to the Zelda, seeing as to the fact that this is my first Zelda game. BUT,I am now a fan of Zelda. Now,for anybody who likes fast paced games that need zero strategy, this is not the game for you. I rented it from Gamefly, and it took me about a month to beat. Now, if your playing this game and your like "Oh my god!!! I can't beat this!!! I've tried EVERYTHING" Well of course you have not tried everything!!!!!!!!!!

Hints-
When fighting a deku baba, use a spin cut or shield bash, which are most effective.

On the first battle with "Demon Lord" when he tries to block your sword, move it in a circle(Same thing you did with the "Eye Guardian)until his hand stops moving, then slash away!(Same thing goes for the second battle with him)

On the final boss, make sure you have a few heart potions and a sturdy shield. Also, stay calm, block his attack, then do a quick counter attack. When he starts charging his sword, raise your sword as if you were doing a Skyward Strike, walk around a little, until your sword chages too then hit him(He can't defend against this), then while he is stuned, hit him rapidly. Keep doing this until he falls, then do a quick fatal blow to finish him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Final words-
All in all, this is the best game I've ever played! I'd to thank Nintendo for making such an awesome game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Legendary!

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Here's the way things work at Nintendo; they come up with a concept, and then they ask themselves, what can we do to make this better? That attitude of theirs has never been more effective than in this game. This is truly one of the biggest milestones of this generation for the gaming industry. Nintendo has made their fair share of mistakes in recent years, but this game is evidence of the fact that they are not planning on being bested by anyone any time soon. This game completely revamps everything about the Zelda formula that we have grown to love. The Wii motion plus truly adds depth to the gameplay experience in more ways than one, and offers new ways to get the job done, which results in a unique experience that feels totally new, but familiar at the same time. While I wouldn't say it matches 1 on 1 swordplay perfectly, you aren't mashing a button for 60 hours. You actually have to use your head to do things as basic as fighting enemies. Which adds to the overall challenge and does a great job at immersing you in the game. There are many motion-controlled games that overuse the technique, and fail miserably. What seperates Skyward Sword from all of those games, is that these controls work. For all of you who say they don't, how about taking three minutes to figure them out first? But other than the Wii motion plus, it brings many new ideas to the table. Rather than exploring a dungeon, followed by fifteen minutes of exploring the overworld, and more dungeon, the challenge is distributed evenly throughout the whole physical game. As your world expands before you, huge array of tasks open up and provide you with a new brand of challenge every time you turn around. Even though you return to the three main locations multiple times, you rarely feel like the formula is repeating itself. Overall, if you ever had even a shred of doubt about this game, it proves you wrong in every way. You enjoy every moment of this masterpiece, Skyward Sword is truly one for the ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A NEED TO PLAY GAME

posted by MYSTICGAMER (FLINT, MI) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i dont see how any one can give this game a break once i started playing i dindt stop till i finished it in 19hours and 42 min with all my hearts and upgrades and gear, but dont let me keep you from this game just put it in and enjoy massive sword play and puzzles that will keep you locked in at all times, AND HAVE EITHER MANY BATTERIES OR MORE THAN ONE RECHARGABLE WII CONTROLER CUASE YOU HATE Having to stop just to go out to get some batteries

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect.

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Feb 7, 2012

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was amazing. Unless this is the first review of the game you've read, you know it's a mix between TP's graphical design, and WW's cell shading. Though I prefer TP's graphics, this was made for younger, and older people.

Unlike most Zelda games, this one puts more emphasis on puzzle solving than defeating enemies. And due to the wii motion plus's 1:1 motion controls, a lot more strategy is needed for defeating enemies.

The fact that they added sprinting and a stamina bar changes the entire game. They also eliminated Hyrule Field, since there wasnt even a Hyrule yet, and have lots of puzzles in between dungeons. I've gotten 3 hours in and havn't encountered side quests yet (there was a Goron that told me to find as many special cubes as possible, but I'm not sure if that's a sidequest yet).

The story is great, and was written in a way that tied up the non-sensical timeline. I was upset that Ganondorf wasn't in it, but it was still great.

So if you have a choice between this, and TP, chose the latter, but when you're done with Twilight Princess, play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game. Period.

posted by TheaEzeldaLuver (HENDERSON, NV) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NEVER before have I played a better game. You thought Super Smash Bros Brawl was good? I'm one of those few people that are least likely to be gamers, and not too many people know I am; yet, I play games fantastically well for a GIRL...(stereotyping against girls sometimes). My friend Sarah and I were just kept on our toes throughout the game. Great motion sense, excellent graphics, marvelous story-line, and just an overall superior game. Zelda creators obviously went the extra mile to craft smooth game play. After a stunning 3 rounds through, I sadly packaged up the game and sent it back to GameFly. Once I've finished everything on "My GameQ," The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skyward Sword

posted by Joeliboi (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 27, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Of course any "Zelda" game is going to rate a 9 to 10. I only wish that there was a feature to play it without using the wii remote "motion plus". My friend is handicapped, and cannot enjoy the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii game, and best game in the franchise

posted by Thanatos_0 (ABSECON, NJ) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not only does this game take full advantage of everything the Wii has to offer, making it the only game out to do this, but it also takes legend of Zeldas storytelling to the next level. Which, by the way, in my opinion has been the only element lacking in this franchise. I'm not going to go into huge detail so if you like the Wii, a good story, the legend of Zelda, or action games of any kind then play this game. You'll do ourself a disservice otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review

posted by Garzafam10 (DETROIT, MI) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Skyward Sword is by far the best Zelda game in the whole series. It is definitely a prequel and the whole story line grabs your attention from the start. The relationship between Zelda and Link is very nice to see and the characters are all unique and interesting in many ways. It is going to be hard for a future Zelda game to beat this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just awesome!

posted by dan_man (BOWIE, MD) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i first off just bought the game seeing as i've loved zelda as a teen and up! this one is nothing short of fantastically amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Close to a 10.

posted by Duder80 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun to play, but it has some flaws that keep it from being a 10. First the motion contols are just down right frustrating at times and they use them for almost everything. Lots of the things like swimming and flying could be done with the analog stick but are not. Enemies seem to know where you will hit and are wise alot. But that's not the deal breaker. That comes from the lack of places. There are basically 5 places to go. The sky has 2 places and none of them are great. Skyloft is the only real place to go. Then there are 3 under the sky type places which you wil visit 3 different times each. To say it gets boring is an understatement. You even fight the same type enimies all the time with just minor diffrences. The land looks vast and you can't wait to explore the sky on your bird, but you soon relize there isn't much to do anywhere. But the story and solid charecters save it to some extent. So in conclusion this game was fun and frustrating at times. I personally would just rent it and see what you think about it. Oh and by the way can we not get a Zelda game in HD? it's 2012 for god's sake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite Zelda game EVER!!!!!

posted by Zeldaplayer (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the best Zelda game of the series, the overall story is great, the graphics are amazing, and the game play is jaw-dropping, and I love all the adventures that link has to go through is this game, in fact in my opinion, this is the best wii game ever made!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Game ever created

posted by bozo1025 (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the best since Super Mario Galaxy. The dungeons are creative the graphics are stunning and the gameplay is masterful. Play this game now. I will warn you though that wii motion plus is required so pick the game up since it comes bundled with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by tonyrocks (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love everything in this game the only problem with the game is that the "world" is pretty small forcing you to go back and forth throughout the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliance just brilliance

posted by mrlink (SPANISH FORK, UT) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start out by saying that this is one of the best games ever. The best Zelda one by far. I never get tired of jumping off a ledge into open sky and calling my loftwing. The storyline is not like other Zelda games. In this you're not just trying to save Zelda, but Zelda plays a big role in saving the world like Link does as well. I do wish there was more land though to just explore! But even so the land and artwork is wonderful. This game has new artwork, new storyline, new ways to fight, but is still like an older Zelda game. It is familiar because this game takes place in a time before Twilight Princess, and you will see things from that. This is a must rent, and even more a must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skyward Sword aimed high and went higher

posted by HalfCalf71 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game took much longer then previously expected to complete the first time through. While the graphics seem somewhat lacking and pathetic at first glance, they turn out to be slightly original and really create a new world for the franchise. The story proved to be awesome and original in a way I never thought possible for a Zelda game. Let's face it, almost every game is Link defeating Ganon to save yet another reincarnation of the world of Hyrule. Instead of going with tradition these amazing game developers took to the clouds and created a brand new aspect in a way that is all too familiar. I do not think it will be possible for them to top this game. But then again, I have said that many times before with this series. Long live Link, long live The Legend of Zelda!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mildly Entertaining, but more often frustrating

posted by Ferrhis12 (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I had a decent amount of fun in this game. It definitely was worth a rent. But I didn't finish it and don't plan to because it had one too many frustrating parts. The controls were the worst. The incoherent story was next in line and the boring gameplay was the worst culprit. I could deal with terribly wonky controls if what I was DOING was fun, but overall it wasn't. And I had no real motivation to do what I was trying so very hard to do. In conclusion, it was a very disappointing experience and I hope Nintendo can get it together for the next one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

gimmicky much?

posted by KamenRiderZero (KEENE, NH) Dec 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

10 out of 24 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Way too many people are calling this the best Zelda ever. The story and music are great, and I personally like the graphics...but that's about it.

1) the motion controls are gimmicky and don't always respond well. I really don't like having to re-center the Wiimote every 5 seconds

2) you just jump between the same 4 areas.

3) enemies feel cheap & annoying. even when I swing correctly, they seem to hyperspeed into a perfect block of my attack. worst version of Armos ever, too

4) harp feels pointless to play as it never sounds like you're playing anything remotely resembling music.

5) silent realm is total bs. whoever came up with those areas is a masochistic jerk

6) if I want to play something stealthy, I'll play Metal Gear or Assassin's Creed, thank you. I want to be Link, not Solid Link...

Seriously, Nintendo needs to move away from gimmicky bs and get back to what made Ocarina & A Link To The Past the classics they are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's NOT the best zelda!

posted by theCRTS (CHEYENNE, WY) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

I'm sick of hearing this is the best zelda of the series. It's really just okay. I hate the fact that it's said the graphics are the best yet. They're not, I don't understand why they went with the toonish look but I think it's boring and makes the game feel immature. The controls may seem cool, but it's really not. They get really annoying when they don't do what you want it to. What happened to sitting back and relaxing to a video game, not swinging around a dumb remote and constanlty pointing at the screen trying to correct the faulty thing. The story is fine I guess nothing special. The stamina is annoying, I mean who poops out after running for 5 seconds. Your constantly going back to a forest, a volcano, a desert, and one town in the sky. The dialogue is so cheesy and stupid, looks like an elementary kid wrote it. And it is so annoying when you pick up an item you've found a hundred times, and it zooms in to tell you about it like it's your first time picking it up. It was very disappointing for me, I love zelda series and ever since the Wii they're not the same. Majora's mask is still the best!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Princess

posted by SupremeSoleNYC (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Could Have Sworn She Was Shiek Once Upon a Time ... So Why Is She Always In Dire Need Of Help?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very mehhh

posted by TXler (HUFFMAN, TX) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

One of my favorite games of all time is Ocarina of Time, and Twilight Princess did a good job of holding up to my Zelda expectations. So I went into Skyward Sword expecting the same kind of thrill.

I'll admit I didn't get very far (about halfway through the first "temple") but I came out sorely disappointed. From the beginning, the story never really grabbed me as exciting.

My main annoyance with this game is the use of the sword with the Wii controller. It does not flow like it should for it to be the main part of the game. I almost died to a simple enemy like a spider because I couldn't get the thrust to work.

Younger players who really like the Wii (I have an Xbox and a Wii, and I've only enjoyed a few Wii games) will probably enjoy this more, but if you go into this game expecting the same level as Ocarina and Twilight Princess, prepare to be extremely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

R. I. P. Zelda

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jun 5, 2012

Member since May 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Here lies the Zelda series. Once a free roaming sandbox style adventure... It has been reduced to gimmick status.. This game would have gotten a much higher rating but alas for the controls which are hit and miss(mostly miss)... This game has made the following offenses:

1. The has never had a character creation function which has always held it back in my book.

2. Gimmicky motion controls which don't always respond the way you want, and swinging the Wii-mote feels silly and it hurts the arm(causing stress injuries to the player's arm is never good)!

3. Bully tactics by either Nintendo operatives(posing as fans) or the fans themselves who try to pressure you into buying the game(good thing for gamefly). Imagine a game series that can actually be ruined by the rabid fan base that pressures you into to a purchase!

4. insane linearity( zelda got its start as a fairly somewhat open ended sandbox style adventure[yes I still think the 8-bit original version is better than this)!

5. FI - She tells you everthing yoyu already know! Nintendo insults the players intelligence even when we do brake down to actually play the game... I feel sorry for those that made the blind purchase!

6. Flying controls are questionable as the land controls are better using the directional stick( shaking the Wii-mote to flap the bird's wing is just plain silly!)

7. Combat is hit and miss due in part to the controls which makes simple encounters more complicated than it otherwise has to be.

8. watching the let's plays of this game on youtube you actually see the games repetitive pattern in the game's quest line up...

9. dowsing is not very reliable as you will eventually figure it out bon your own(which is actually faster in some cases)!

Finally the Game's own designer had trouble with the controls at E3, so why doesn't Nintendo use the classic conbtroller for the Wii? Yet this game uses Wii motion plus ONLY! Try before you buy! You have been warned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment at Best

posted by Jakefiz (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Okay for all of you who think this is "The best Zelda Game Of all time" need a reality check. here are my reasons this game is in no way superior to other Zelda games.

1. Repetition - this is a huge point. there are only 3 regions in the game. and you repeatedly go back to these regions to accomplish the same quests over and over again. I'm not even joking when I say 6 of the boss fights are of the same 2 people. And you fight the most poorly designed and boring boss...3 times... A lot of ideas in this game are repeated throughout the story which made me feel like I new what to expect in the next room.
2. Lack of exploration - Like I said before. there are only 3 regions in this game. A forest area, a volcano area, and a desert area. And they have the same zelda species but instead of Zoras they have...wait for it...Robots... Really nintendo? And the regions arent connected so to get to the region you just drop right into them via the sky and your hometown/hub world of Skyloft. And at anytime in the region, literally every 5 steps theres a bird statue that will take you back into the sky so you can go home and take a nap. Really takes the "epic adventure" out of it. I never had that feeling in MM or OoT.
3. Motion controls shoved down throat - Now I know nintendo worked hard on the controls but really. Every single enemy from start to final boss requires some form of Wii motion show off. This is a zelda game not Wii sports. It seems nintendo took more thought into the controls then the actual game itself. making it a terrible theatrical experience.
4.
The Final boss Was never explained well enough hes just kinda...there.... And the Villian Girihim ends up in the end to accomplish 0% and proves to be the most pointless villian in zelda history. A lot of people say this game was made to complete the timeline but was it really needed? Did they really have to take 5 years on this game? MM took one and Is probably the best. All in all its not terrible, its not gr

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I have never hated the Wii controls as much!!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

When first hearing about this game I couldn't believe how some gaming sites gave this game an average score. It has taken me over 50 hours to get to a point of complete utter hatred for the Wii. I keep finding my self wanting to love this game, I love playing Zelda, I grew up with the original Nintendo. But in no other game has it become so evident why the Wii, and motion control for that matter, will never be used for hardcore gaming. You NEED a second analog stick for the camera!!! 1 to 1 is not always a good thing, I could not stand the flying and swimming sections of the game so much so that I had to force myself to continue. There would be times I was collecting tad songs that Link turned every way BUT the direction I wanted him to go. Sword slashing is fun but the glitches in the controls make it more of a novelty than a genuine tool. Zelda was not a good franchise to experiment with....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse