Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3895 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worst Zelda Game EVER

posted by Blitz (BUDD LAKE, NJ) Dec 17, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

This game is terrible! Shotty controls! terrible story lines and wth - did I mention the ridiculously awful controls? When you're not bored to death with some of the most stupid storyline quests, you're left frustrated trying to repeatedly perform that awfully stupid "skyward" sword move. Seriously, what a stupid use of the Wii motion controller. This game is overly repetitive and you spend way too much time trying to find that stupid "sweet" spot to get that absurd skyward sword move. Take a pass on this game and save yourself a lot of unneeded frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

b

posted by peepee1001 (MOUNT OLIVE, NC) Feb 13, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

its crazy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Chores

posted by stufftough (OAKLAND, CA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I don't want to do your chores Zelda. I just want to go in & fight the bosses. Instead you make me go find 5 flippin keys just to open the door, & then figure out all the things & tricks to do just to get to the boss. As much as I like figuring things out, this doesn't seem the genre to do it it, leave that sort of thing to the puzzle genre i.e. Portal, & Professor Layton.

I thought the game would have more of a cell-shaded look to it. But I was pleasantly surprised by it's looks, & option to take a majority of the on screen hub (indicators of what buttons do what) off of the screen. Which made the game that much more immersive. The story starts out wonderfully too, at a school where Link is currently attending, but it's more like a boarding school so he lives there too. I think they were trying to appeal to the popular Harry Potter series, which wasn't a bad idea. The problem is that Link goes around & people he knows around the school talk to him, the problem being is that we, the player, know nothing about any of these characters. Introductions could have been fixed by simply attaching characters names to their dialogue. OR, by going the extra mile & buying some VOICE ACTORS for your NEXT-GEN TITLE NINTENDO!!!

Sorry that bugs me so, but these are interactive immersive experiences we're supposed to be engaging in right? Well it doesn't work, when 4, count them, FOUR different N.P.C.'s tell me "Hey, you know you can look around the room using the 'C' button, right?" That breaks the forth wall, & there are other games that do that with humor & grace. Honestly I'd rather have had it so that they included a forced tutorial before the game started. I flippin hate those! But I'd rather have that, than be pulled out of this sort of interesting story-line that you're presenting me with.

In closing I just want to point out that there are game series that can move on, like Resident Evil towards Gears if War. Zelda should have moved on more towards Shadow of the Co

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

That's pretty lame Nintendo

posted by Soccergeek (IRVING, TX) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

So I got the game on Friday, found out I needed the Motion+ Friday Night, and sent the game back Saturday.

What a rip off. No where on the gamefly site does it say that I need to have the Motion+. It does however have a notice on the cover of the game box (went to Best Buy to find out). Then I see that the Motion+ is $25.00! What horse hockey!!!!! I already spent $150 buying three extra controllers, now I have to spend another $100 to get 4x Motion+

No wonder Nintendo is doing so poorly in the market. Also, SHAME ON GAMEFLY for not making that tid-bit of information apparent on their site. It would have saved my a game rental spot and I would be spending the weekend playing a game I could actually PLAY!

I wish I could write a review about the game, but I am so frustrated I just sent the game back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

posted by rosie41676 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

This game is terrible, the graphics is dull and sad...I am a huge Zelda fan and love both the classics and Ocarina of time, but Skyward Sword was a big disappointment.
I give this a -1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

boring! boring! boring!

posted by stircrazy001 (BUCYRUS, OH) Jun 28, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I decided to rent this given all of the advertisements about the game. Boy, was I disappointed. I played it for about an hour the first time and found it terribly boring but wanting to be fair, I played it again for about 1 1/2 hours and still found it boring. I can see where kids might get into it but it seems that it takes forever to finish the quests. I found the majority of the ones that I completed not very much fun for the effort. Again, this might be a good game for the younger generation. Good luck if you rent/buy this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

R. I. P. Zelda

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Jun 5, 2012

Member since May 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Here lies the Zelda series. Once a free roaming sandbox style adventure... It has been reduced to gimmick status.. This game would have gotten a much higher rating but alas for the controls which are hit and miss(mostly miss)... This game has made the following offenses:

1. The has never had a character creation function which has always held it back in my book.

2. Gimmicky motion controls which don't always respond the way you want, and swinging the Wii-mote feels silly and it hurts the arm(causing stress injuries to the player's arm is never good)!

3. Bully tactics by either Nintendo operatives(posing as fans) or the fans themselves who try to pressure you into buying the game(good thing for gamefly). Imagine a game series that can actually be ruined by the rabid fan base that pressures you into to a purchase!

4. insane linearity( zelda got its start as a fairly somewhat open ended sandbox style adventure[yes I still think the 8-bit original version is better than this)!

5. FI - She tells you everthing yoyu already know! Nintendo insults the players intelligence even when we do brake down to actually play the game... I feel sorry for those that made the blind purchase!

6. Flying controls are questionable as the land controls are better using the directional stick( shaking the Wii-mote to flap the bird's wing is just plain silly!)

7. Combat is hit and miss due in part to the controls which makes simple encounters more complicated than it otherwise has to be.

8. watching the let's plays of this game on youtube you actually see the games repetitive pattern in the game's quest line up...

9. dowsing is not very reliable as you will eventually figure it out bon your own(which is actually faster in some cases)!

Finally the Game's own designer had trouble with the controls at E3, so why doesn't Nintendo use the classic conbtroller for the Wii? Yet this game uses Wii motion plus ONLY! Try before you buy! You have been warned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wii motionpus required...

posted by theworm1244 (HOLLIS, NH) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I'm not letting nintendo scam me out of another 25 bucks just for this game, what a joke.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

outstanding,awsome,spectacular

posted by flheidiho (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

it was pretty awsome fighting in the game zelda

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

worst of the series

posted by BerserkerM80 (FOREST GROVE, OR) Apr 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

honestly this game was the worst yet if you wan to play the best play ocarina of time or twilight princess.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very mehhh

posted by TXler (HUFFMAN, TX) Jul 7, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

One of my favorite games of all time is Ocarina of Time, and Twilight Princess did a good job of holding up to my Zelda expectations. So I went into Skyward Sword expecting the same kind of thrill.

I'll admit I didn't get very far (about halfway through the first "temple") but I came out sorely disappointed. From the beginning, the story never really grabbed me as exciting.

My main annoyance with this game is the use of the sword with the Wii controller. It does not flow like it should for it to be the main part of the game. I almost died to a simple enemy like a spider because I couldn't get the thrust to work.

Younger players who really like the Wii (I have an Xbox and a Wii, and I've only enjoyed a few Wii games) will probably enjoy this more, but if you go into this game expecting the same level as Ocarina and Twilight Princess, prepare to be extremely disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Ruined by Controls and Pace

posted by Supermane1985 (PORTLAND, OR) May 9, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

This game feels like it was made 10 years ago. Presentation and control of games have evolved so much in the last decade and shipping a "AAA" title that functions as poorly and is this badly paced and presented is just unforgivable.

You'll be constantly fighting the controls and camera to get it to do the simplest things. The motionplus is shoddy at best during combat and I lost track of how many times I fell off cliffs trying get Link to jump towards a stationary vine.

Every once in a while something cool will happen or there will be an actually enjoyable fight or puzzle but the ratio seemed to be roughly 2 hours of play for 15 minutes of real entertainment.

I couldn't even finish the game. I just don't have the patience to slog through all the garbage to get to the good parts. I just cant believe Nintendo still hasn't figured out how to make a solid AAA title that actually utilizes their motion controls well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Best use of Wii controls so far ...

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

... but it is still Zelda, a game for sub-10-year-old girls who like fantasy and enjoy brushing up on their reading skills.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointment at Best

posted by Jakefiz (PORTLAND, OR) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Okay for all of you who think this is "The best Zelda Game Of all time" need a reality check. here are my reasons this game is in no way superior to other Zelda games.

1. Repetition - this is a huge point. there are only 3 regions in the game. and you repeatedly go back to these regions to accomplish the same quests over and over again. I'm not even joking when I say 6 of the boss fights are of the same 2 people. And you fight the most poorly designed and boring boss...3 times... A lot of ideas in this game are repeated throughout the story which made me feel like I new what to expect in the next room.
2. Lack of exploration - Like I said before. there are only 3 regions in this game. A forest area, a volcano area, and a desert area. And they have the same zelda species but instead of Zoras they have...wait for it...Robots... Really nintendo? And the regions arent connected so to get to the region you just drop right into them via the sky and your hometown/hub world of Skyloft. And at anytime in the region, literally every 5 steps theres a bird statue that will take you back into the sky so you can go home and take a nap. Really takes the "epic adventure" out of it. I never had that feeling in MM or OoT.
3. Motion controls shoved down throat - Now I know nintendo worked hard on the controls but really. Every single enemy from start to final boss requires some form of Wii motion show off. This is a zelda game not Wii sports. It seems nintendo took more thought into the controls then the actual game itself. making it a terrible theatrical experience.
4.
The Final boss Was never explained well enough hes just kinda...there.... And the Villian Girihim ends up in the end to accomplish 0% and proves to be the most pointless villian in zelda history. A lot of people say this game was made to complete the timeline but was it really needed? Did they really have to take 5 years on this game? MM took one and Is probably the best. All in all its not terrible, its not gr

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst use of motion controls since Red Steel

posted by HotWax (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Dec 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

5 out of 20 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Nintendo ruined a perfectly good franchise and what could have been an outstanding game because they had no restraint when it came to adding pointless, frustrating motion controls that add nothing but hardship to the game.

The story of this game, like most Zelda games, is fantastic. You play as Link attempting to rescue Zelda and the world from an ancient evil, and this time you get to fly around on the back of a bird, skydive to various locations on the surface, and fight lots of interesting and well-balanced enemies.

The motion controls aren't all bad, either. The sword fighting, for the most part, feels solid, and the ability to slash from multiple directions depending on your hand motions feels great.

Unfortunately, that's really the extent of the good uses they found for the Wii Motion+. If they had left it there, you'd have a great game. But no, they had to push it further. Just about every action in the game requires some kind of movement of the Wiimote, even when it would make more sense and be done in a more controllable fashion with the buttons on the controller. Flying and swimming require you to point the Wiimote, when a perfectly-good analog stick is sitting right there just waiting to be used. The nunchuck, which doesn't benefit from the Motion+'s finer controls, does nothing but get in your way. It's used to raise your shield on foot, and do spin attacks in the air and water -- These actions occur whenever you shake it, shift positions on the couch, or sneeze, and it will do so ALL THE TIME when you don't want to act.

Even the tried-and-true music controls in this game are awkward and pointless. The ocarina/wind waker in previous Zelda titles allowed you to learn and repeat several songs depending on the situation, but here the harp is just used by holding one button and waving your hand back and forth, not actually playing anything worth calling a song. It feels dumb and is just another example of how this game is a missed oppor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Some Control Issues

posted by R3nmir (PANAMA CITY, FL) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The storyline and graphics in this game are amazing. I wish I could have experienced more of it but I found the controls to be annoying. I'm very glad I didn't spend the 50 dollars to actually own the game because I couldn't have gotten over it. The balance is hard, the remote constantly loses center and the swordplay is extremely difficult to master. Hopefully they will release a version that is playable with a different control scheme, maybe a classic or tilted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great

posted by Minwen (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I felt the graphics were a bit too cartoon like for my taste. Why this might be ok for kids, I don't like it. It didn't have the same feel as the other Zelda games to me. I felt it was quite lacking. The story wasn't too bad, but I would like to be able to skip some of the cut scenes. Not horrible, but not great either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's NOT the best zelda!

posted by theCRTS (CHEYENNE, WY) Feb 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

7 out of 17 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

I'm sick of hearing this is the best zelda of the series. It's really just okay. I hate the fact that it's said the graphics are the best yet. They're not, I don't understand why they went with the toonish look but I think it's boring and makes the game feel immature. The controls may seem cool, but it's really not. They get really annoying when they don't do what you want it to. What happened to sitting back and relaxing to a video game, not swinging around a dumb remote and constanlty pointing at the screen trying to correct the faulty thing. The story is fine I guess nothing special. The stamina is annoying, I mean who poops out after running for 5 seconds. Your constantly going back to a forest, a volcano, a desert, and one town in the sky. The dialogue is so cheesy and stupid, looks like an elementary kid wrote it. And it is so annoying when you pick up an item you've found a hundred times, and it zooms in to tell you about it like it's your first time picking it up. It was very disappointing for me, I love zelda series and ever since the Wii they're not the same. Majora's mask is still the best!! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I have never hated the Wii controls as much!!!!

posted by Jrw1202 (KALAMAZOO, MI) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2007

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

When first hearing about this game I couldn't believe how some gaming sites gave this game an average score. It has taken me over 50 hours to get to a point of complete utter hatred for the Wii. I keep finding my self wanting to love this game, I love playing Zelda, I grew up with the original Nintendo. But in no other game has it become so evident why the Wii, and motion control for that matter, will never be used for hardcore gaming. You NEED a second analog stick for the camera!!! 1 to 1 is not always a good thing, I could not stand the flying and swimming sections of the game so much so that I had to force myself to continue. There would be times I was collecting tad songs that Link turned every way BUT the direction I wanted him to go. Sword slashing is fun but the glitches in the controls make it more of a novelty than a genuine tool. Zelda was not a good franchise to experiment with....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair

posted by msandink (SPARKS, NV) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

It was okay..... but, the graphics weren't as good as I thought and it didn't have as much of a plot than I thought. But, the Wii Motion Plus helped the game a load, with the action/fighting great!!!!!! So all in out, it was pretty fair because graphics weren't that great, not much of a plot, but, it has great action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

gimmicky much?

posted by KamenRiderZero (KEENE, NH) Dec 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

10 out of 24 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Way too many people are calling this the best Zelda ever. The story and music are great, and I personally like the graphics...but that's about it.

1) the motion controls are gimmicky and don't always respond well. I really don't like having to re-center the Wiimote every 5 seconds

2) you just jump between the same 4 areas.

3) enemies feel cheap & annoying. even when I swing correctly, they seem to hyperspeed into a perfect block of my attack. worst version of Armos ever, too

4) harp feels pointless to play as it never sounds like you're playing anything remotely resembling music.

5) silent realm is total bs. whoever came up with those areas is a masochistic jerk

6) if I want to play something stealthy, I'll play Metal Gear or Assassin's Creed, thank you. I want to be Link, not Solid Link...

Seriously, Nintendo needs to move away from gimmicky bs and get back to what made Ocarina & A Link To The Past the classics they are.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Love/ Hate

posted by nokra (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) Aug 3, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

This game is fantastic, with huge world, interesting boss fights, and great graphics, making it one of the best games in the series. There were just three problems.
(Warning! some of these problems contain spoilers)

1. Too much reliance on the Wii Motion Plus

I understand what Nintendo was trying to do the WMP made things possible that weren't before, and a good amount of that was fantastic. However, if you don't have a proper place to put the sensor bar, or if the Wii's controls are bad, it really ruins the experience. I can't tell how many times I had to "Point the controller at the middle of the screen and press down."

2. Huge world, Unable to be explored

The sky is huge, with enough space in it to hold three zelda games, but there is very little of the sky used. It kind of remind me of Wind Waker.

3. Old Ship level is this games equivalent of the Water Temple in OoT

Awesome mini-boss, interesting gimmick, bad boss. Only difference, the gimmick was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

skywardsword

posted by fballfntic (MERIDEN, CT) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

There was one challenge (for me) in the game toward the frontend the rest was bordering simplistic. Don't get me wrong it was a fun game but the Zelda experiences are fun because of the challenges they provide-it's the reason we all keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so excited

posted by Michele5683 (PORT ARTHUR, TX) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I became a new gamefly member a few months back and when our first game arrived Zelda the game was damaged and did not play. I did not have a home computer and was unabe to find the answers I needed to fix the problem on my android phone so I was not sure what to do, then I got some info from a friend that said just send it back to the company so I went to send it back and realized that I lost the envelope to send the game back to gamefly.
To make a long story short (too late) a new member has a membership they are paying for a total of 3 or more months and we only got one game that never worked and now finally we will be able to return the game to the company. Thank goodness there are no late charges cause I would owe them a bundle.
I undertand that none of the troubles I had were the fault of gamefly except the game never working, but it may have helped with there website was more mobile phone friendly.
Thank goodness we got a home computer otherwise we would still be wondering how to fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Close to well done

posted by Ragnarok (LEXINGTON, KY) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This Zelda game has to be the most frustrating I have played in the series. The Wii Motion Plus is supposed to allow for greater motion control but ends up frustrating more than anything.

It will CONSTANTLY go off center, which is very inconvenient when you have time based puzzles or are in the middle of a boss fight. It will go off center if you:

1. Choose different equipment
2. Shake the controller too hard
3. Pause the game
4. Let the Wii controller go to sleep
5. Put the Wii controller at any angle
6. Move to a new section of the dungeon

The list goes on. You can literally put the controller down, and when you pick it back up it will be skewed off center.

This wouldn't be a big issue except the game requires you to perform motions that needs you to be "on center." Very frustrating when that rarely is the case.

Others have said they just look at re-centering as part of the game and got used to it. I disagree with that statement. If you need to constantly be calibrating the controller, it takes away from the gameplay experience.

I would have most likely enjoyed this game much more had they just left Wii Motion Plus out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse