Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3929 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

sweet, but why?

posted by youbetcha (EVERETT, WA) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

i play every zelda game that comes out. wind waker and ocarina of time are faves

this zelda was great. music, story, controls, characters were phenomenal.

annoying details these people can NOT get right! 1. having to individually read info and talk when buying products at the store (slow transactions are tiresome) 2. why do the maps suck? they aren't cool to look at, and nothing is labeled. "is that area higher or lower than where i am? Why can't i look at different maps? I would love it if we could write stuff on our maps and not wonder if thats a floating island or floating rock that lets your fly faster. 3. short video of link playing harp and the song "cutscenes" are atrocious. (random birds flying around to a random song that you can't make out the words too) 4. the game felt like it was dungeon after dungeon. everywhere is dungeon shaped! all areas you "dive" into aren't free roaming. you have to open paths up like you would a dungeon in order to move forward. 5. is it my fault that i didn't solve missing little girl mystery until i finished the master sword?? 6. get this, to get that, so you can get this, in order to do something phew now all i need now is that. no rewards to replay the game

things i liked: silence after beating a boss, walk cutscenes entering dungeon, the controls (once you figure them out). the stamina and shield bar! and upgrading was nice (finally a zelda game where there is stuff i can't wait to buy) the new races were sweet! water/time effects are crucial. the save points were easy. how you can see all the colorful portals in skyloft (awesome) more fun to catch bugs this time around! silent realms are actually pretty cool. items easy and fun and useful. fi- is a helpful and quick to the point sidekick ive been waiting for.

got me my zelda fix. the controls and new story along with new characters are epic. but it wasn't an adventure where you had fresh footprints. only went places because of story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

FINISH HIM!!

posted by Karinka88 (MONTROSE, CO) Dec 4, 2011

Member since May 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

so worth finishing that final boss was so much fun i was going to give this game a 6 because of alot on annoying parts like the silent realm, bad controls, and stamina meter.... but now that im done with it i feel a little more merciful so ill stick with a score of an 8 that final boss helped alot

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NOT WHAT I SUSPECTED

posted by rodfong591 (ESTES PARK, CO) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 30 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

so the graphics are 100 times worse than twighligt princeses, the gameply sucks, and the controlls are just confusing. the story mode is fun and catches the player in but thats about it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

alright

posted by wolfman1996 (BOWLING GREEN, KY) Nov 23, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

it was a good game but feel like the ending fight could of been a little bit harder and longer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game for what it is but zelda is zelda

posted by chrono36 (NAMPA, ID) Nov 7, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I wont waste to much time here. Good clean hacknslash Zelda.
Graphics are good. Puzzles can take hours if not days to figure out.
Controls are super good.(Except for the bird. I didn't care for that. Seemed a lil buggy) If your lookin for a challenge and days of gameplay you will find it here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

hat

posted by LightAngelxX (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Oct 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

suck

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game but not challenging though

posted by dragonbb (KAILUA, HI) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Game was great but like all the new Zelda's (After Zelda ocarina of time) it was not that challenging. It seems like the are putting more in to graphic then into the story or the level. This is way im giving it a 7 out if 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

No bad but not amazing

posted by Kashi (RIVERSIDE, CA) Aug 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

im a huge huge zelda fan... this game was fun at some parts but some ish was not necessary like the vacuum blower thing...W T F was that ish about? the stupid imprisoned.. i mean come on!!! sometimes the sword was a lil unresponsive like when i tried killing the freaken plants and it wouldnt slash right... but that was only sometimes... other then that story line wasnt too bad... gets really really good towards the end... all in all it was alright.. definatly didnt wanna replay though...hope the next one is better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

to be very honest...

posted by darkwolf99 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

The legend of zelda skyward sword was a good game, I enjoyed playing through it. the dungeons were good, and as was the fighting (skulltulas are really hard in this game for once). now I do not give this game a 10 out of 10 or a 9 out of ten for the fact that THEY could have better honestly. If you played through the other zelda games Which I had mostly, this one is the most tedious, You literally enter this giant thunder head 3 times to do something that you could have done the FIRST time! (I personally do not like flying into giant thunderstorms at all, doesn't sound safe) and do not get me started on the ending on the game. I wont tell every thing about it for those who may have not beaten it yet. The one thing I will say is if you know what a paradox is you will find one in the ending!!! They left a paradox in there that is highly obvious! this is why I give it a 7 out of ten.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Zelda skyward Sword Wii

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Jul 25, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Not A Bad Game,But its More Of Tasks,Talking Then Its Action Based,I Would Say Not The Best In Its Series But Not All That Bad,Im More Oldschool So This Zelda Isnt All That Hardcore..to Me,Anyway Rent It If U Just Want To See What Its About...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its an ok game

posted by Ashley84 (GREENVILLE, SC) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

but i liked LOZ: TP much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very far from the best

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Apr 22, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

For the most part, I enjoyed "Skyward Sword" during my playthrough. Looking back on the experience, however, all sorts of flaws stick out. It's long-winded, it's formulaic, it's simplistic, it's rigid, and the helper character...good grief, the helper character! Nintendo isn't just holding our hand on this one; they're pushing us around in a wheelbarrow! Additionally, I really hated the Silent Realm challenges. And although some of the boss battles are cool and fun, the game forces you into continuous rematches with the two bosses that happen to be neither cool nor fun.

Of course, there are plenty of good points, too. The graphics and sound are excellent, and the story is probably the best the Zelda series has seen since "The Wind Waker". Upgrading your weapons and items is a neat concept, and I enjoyed the flying. Also, the controls behaved pretty much flawlessly for me. I didn't experience any of the troubles that so many other people complain about.

"Skyward Sword" doesn't deserve a rating any lower than a 7, but it doesn't deserve a rating any higher, either. It's worth playing once, but I honestly can't picture myself ever wanting to go through it again. I've experienced the same trouble with "Twilight Princess". As much as I hate to say it, I really do believe the Zelda series peaked with "Ocarina of Time", then began rolling downhill, with each subsequent entry in the series drifting further and further away from what made their predecessors so great.

Nintendo needs to shake the Zelda series up a bit. And I'm not talking about flooding Hyrule or turning Link into a wolf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Zelda's always great, but this one has problem

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2010

I'm really of two minds when it comes to Skyward Sword. As a Zelda game, it lives up to it's pedigree of being a wonderful experience. Yet, some of the problems I felt with it were just so frustrating that I felt as if the actual final boss of the game was the game itself. For a Wii game, it's one of the best games available. Many aspects can be extended to non-Wii consoles as well...

For starters, if you're looking for an adventure game and have a Wii, this is a must-play game. If you've played any Zelda game since (and including) the SNES days, you won't be surprised to see what is here. There are some minor, but unimportant. change ups. This is the first Wii game in more than a year of rentals (Wii is my secondary console) that I actually wanted to play (once I started it). Once the adventure started going and clicked for me, I just couldn't put it down (unfortunately my sleep schedule suffered, but it was generally worth it). Many complain about fetch quests in Zelda games, but I actually felt as if most of the game belonged (the trials are the exception, but when compared to the 50 hour game, they're minor).

Now for the problems. I hated the controls. Yes, Wii motion plus was definitely noticed with how precise the controls could be. Yet, I found that I had to constantly re-center the controls, and felt as if the controls had better enemy AI than the monsters you fight. Some reviewers seem to think the controls are great, so I will concede that this will be a person-by-person issue, but it was frustrating enough both in the beginning and the final boss battle. Re-centering is very easy in the game, but it did massively increase both the difficulty and frustration when it didn't work for me. Those that liked the controls think that ease is a good enough compromise, but it's the only thing that kept me from sending the game back after just a few hours (and every 5-10 minutes after that...).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Love/ Hate

posted by nokra (OWENS CROSS ROADS, AL) Aug 3, 2013

Member since Mar 2011

This game is fantastic, with huge world, interesting boss fights, and great graphics, making it one of the best games in the series. There were just three problems.
(Warning! some of these problems contain spoilers)

1. Too much reliance on the Wii Motion Plus

I understand what Nintendo was trying to do the WMP made things possible that weren't before, and a good amount of that was fantastic. However, if you don't have a proper place to put the sensor bar, or if the Wii's controls are bad, it really ruins the experience. I can't tell how many times I had to "Point the controller at the middle of the screen and press down."

2. Huge world, Unable to be explored

The sky is huge, with enough space in it to hold three zelda games, but there is very little of the sky used. It kind of remind me of Wind Waker.

3. Old Ship level is this games equivalent of the Water Temple in OoT

Awesome mini-boss, interesting gimmick, bad boss. Only difference, the gimmick was good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

skywardsword

posted by fballfntic (MERIDEN, CT) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

There was one challenge (for me) in the game toward the frontend the rest was bordering simplistic. Don't get me wrong it was a fun game but the Zelda experiences are fun because of the challenges they provide-it's the reason we all keep playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not so excited

posted by Michele5683 (PORT ARTHUR, TX) Mar 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I became a new gamefly member a few months back and when our first game arrived Zelda the game was damaged and did not play. I did not have a home computer and was unabe to find the answers I needed to fix the problem on my android phone so I was not sure what to do, then I got some info from a friend that said just send it back to the company so I went to send it back and realized that I lost the envelope to send the game back to gamefly.
To make a long story short (too late) a new member has a membership they are paying for a total of 3 or more months and we only got one game that never worked and now finally we will be able to return the game to the company. Thank goodness there are no late charges cause I would owe them a bundle.
I undertand that none of the troubles I had were the fault of gamefly except the game never working, but it may have helped with there website was more mobile phone friendly.
Thank goodness we got a home computer otherwise we would still be wondering how to fix the problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Close to well done

posted by Ragnarok (LEXINGTON, KY) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This Zelda game has to be the most frustrating I have played in the series. The Wii Motion Plus is supposed to allow for greater motion control but ends up frustrating more than anything.

It will CONSTANTLY go off center, which is very inconvenient when you have time based puzzles or are in the middle of a boss fight. It will go off center if you:

1. Choose different equipment
2. Shake the controller too hard
3. Pause the game
4. Let the Wii controller go to sleep
5. Put the Wii controller at any angle
6. Move to a new section of the dungeon

The list goes on. You can literally put the controller down, and when you pick it back up it will be skewed off center.

This wouldn't be a big issue except the game requires you to perform motions that needs you to be "on center." Very frustrating when that rarely is the case.

Others have said they just look at re-centering as part of the game and got used to it. I disagree with that statement. If you need to constantly be calibrating the controller, it takes away from the gameplay experience.

I would have most likely enjoyed this game much more had they just left Wii Motion Plus out of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Give me a heads up, Gamefly!

posted by seiyuu54 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So, I'm waiting for this game for a week, and as each day goes by I'm more and more pumped to finally play it. It came today, and I had to do all sorts of things before I could play it. Anyway, I finally sit down to play the thing...AND I NEED TO BUY THE WIIMOTION PLUS TO PLAY THE GAME!

The shady practice of the dev is in no way Gamefly's fault, but what i do blame them for is not telling us that it needs the special thing.

GAMEFLY: Please mark your games based on whether they call for a specific accessory, and hey, how about you also mark them when they need a code for online play. Before we waste time and space on our Queue waiting for this game, give us the heads-up on whether we can get the full enjoyment out of the game. Minimal effort on your end.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A very good game but just a few little annoyances

posted by Redtoeonfire (SPANISH FORK, UT) Mar 13, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

The description of items in this game is so repetitive and constantly holding up the same item you got a few moments ago gets annoying when in the bazaar. Other than this it is a very great game. I found Fi to get extremely annoying, "tell me something I don't know Fi ...".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too much filler

posted by ReviewerA (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This is a well made adventure game, with creative level design, and entertaining use of, and variety of, key items. The graphics are pretty good, everything looks like what it does, and the characters are cute and entertaining, for the most part. The graphics presented here aren't simulations of the appearance of reality, but rather a form of puppetry, that works most of the time. I also like that there is limited voice acting, since reading is more active than listening cut scenes are a little less boring.
This is also one of the most annoying games I've ever played. The controls just don't work well enough, most of the difficulty in the game is caused by them. There are too many fetch quests, repetition of previously completed dungeons and areas, and other filler. The sound effects also get a little annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Mildly Entertaining, but more often frustrating

posted by Ferrhis12 (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Feb 7, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I had a decent amount of fun in this game. It definitely was worth a rent. But I didn't finish it and don't plan to because it had one too many frustrating parts. The controls were the worst. The incoherent story was next in line and the boring gameplay was the worst culprit. I could deal with terribly wonky controls if what I was DOING was fun, but overall it wasn't. And I had no real motivation to do what I was trying so very hard to do. In conclusion, it was a very disappointing experience and I hope Nintendo can get it together for the next one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A True Zelda Fan Very Disappointed

posted by Metallica0 (BEAVERTON, OR) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

First off everyone that has been saying this is the best Zelda game for a console has got to check there head. The game isn’t even top 10 of the best Zelda games and here is why.

1. When Shigeru Miyamoto demoed the game at E3 and the controls didn’t work they should have scrapped the idea and went with normal controls. The Wii Motion plus is so broken the game is unplayable. The Motion Plus loses connection every 5 minutes I found myself pointing the control at the wall more than the TV.
2. This game is just a test of patients. Silent Realm that’s all I have to say. There is so much back tracking in this game it’s like they gave up making new areas they just rehash the same area over and over again. With the terrible Motion Plus controls you don’t want a longer game you are wising for an ending. I couldn’t even finish the game if i tried my head would have popped.

All and all I’m giving the game a 6 because it’s a Zelda game but they should have given the game the Old Yeller treatment and went back to the drawing board.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

HAHAHAH Best Zelda ever made.

posted by Tmactown01 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 23 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

This game proves what a waste of time motion controlled gaming is. Good lord are the controls bad.....I thought nothing could be worse then Twlight Princess but o man this game is almost unplayable. I already hate motion controls for ruining some of the best games ever made such as Zelda and Mario. But man they really did a number on this one. Be sides Final Fantasy Zelda was one of my favorite games of all time and what they have put out in these last two titles is a disgrace to Zelda and their fans. Get back to the basics of real games with one remote so motion and pin point accuracy...nomore of this motion bs that ruins every game it touches..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Some Control Issues

posted by R3nmir (PANAMA CITY, FL) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The storyline and graphics in this game are amazing. I wish I could have experienced more of it but I found the controls to be annoying. I'm very glad I didn't spend the 50 dollars to actually own the game because I couldn't have gotten over it. The balance is hard, the remote constantly loses center and the swordplay is extremely difficult to master. Hopefully they will release a version that is playable with a different control scheme, maybe a classic or tilted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not that great

posted by Minwen (COLUMBUS, OH) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I felt the graphics were a bit too cartoon like for my taste. Why this might be ok for kids, I don't like it. It didn't have the same feel as the other Zelda games to me. I felt it was quite lacking. The story wasn't too bad, but I would like to be able to skip some of the cut scenes. Not horrible, but not great either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse