Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3917 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best wii game ever

posted by daviered (DAVIE, FL) May 20, 2012

Member since May 2012

I got this game a few months ago and it is amazing. It has an amazing storyline. Just don't get this game if you easily get frustrated because it is really hard. You need the wii motion plus though. Amazing graphics. Awesome controls. There are only 3 flaws. There are a gazillion cutscenes, you always need to press z to make Link face forward, and you don't get the bow until you are more than halfway through. You actually shoot the bow as you would shoot a real bow. Definitely buy this game. It takes a while to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

overworld

posted by Deadly_Penguin (BURNET, TX) May 19, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

the overworld could have been so much more im kinda disapointed in that

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who said "kid's games" weren't fun?

posted by dominike7 (Amarillo, TX) May 15, 2012

Member since May 2012

First I am a huge fan of Nintendo and their games. And they haven't slowed down in quality in my opinion, skyward sword is a testament to that statement. The sheer game play alone can satisfy any RPGS/adventure fan. It's unique game play with the wii remote transforms the Zelda experience to the next level. In all it's well rounded game for old school NES Zelda fan and new ones too. A+ game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another zelda hit

posted by BomberZed (BIG BEAR LAKE, CA) May 10, 2012

Member since May 2012

This is one of the best zelda games i have played. The gameplay is good and the storyline is well written. The addition of flying adds a fresh twist to the game. It feels like the ocean in the windwaker zelda with the flying islands but it is improved with the added deminson of flight. The temple levels are challenging and fun. I enjoyed the new combat the games uses( Make sure you have a WII motion plus accesory or remote to play) The new items and other weapons in the game are a blast to use. I also found the upgrade system a great addition to the game. Overall i would rate this a 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a good zelda game ,not good as twilight princess!

posted by funky12 (PLANO, TX) May 1, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

this game is almost average but for twilight princess, its infinite awesome, sky ward sword? seriously wiimotion plus? [not trying to be mean] twilight princess is better more cool, midna is better than that lady who calls you master GET TWILIGHT PRINCESSS NOT SKYWARD SWORD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

pretty good

posted by SamWells3 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game was really good, and i enjoyed it, it wasnt so easy like some games and it was very addicting to play, but i liked Wind Waker alot better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is really interactive!!!

posted by video300 (HOFFMAN ESTATES, IL) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I would have to say this game is very good with the graphics. It has art that is very realistic! I think the only flaw would have to be sometimes the WII will get out of sink during battle then you need to put it down to reset it. The battles are very well rendered. This ga,e is really great! You'll love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect.

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Feb 7, 2012

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was amazing. Unless this is the first review of the game you've read, you know it's a mix between TP's graphical design, and WW's cell shading. Though I prefer TP's graphics, this was made for younger, and older people.

Unlike most Zelda games, this one puts more emphasis on puzzle solving than defeating enemies. And due to the wii motion plus's 1:1 motion controls, a lot more strategy is needed for defeating enemies.

The fact that they added sprinting and a stamina bar changes the entire game. They also eliminated Hyrule Field, since there wasnt even a Hyrule yet, and have lots of puzzles in between dungeons. I've gotten 3 hours in and havn't encountered side quests yet (there was a Goron that told me to find as many special cubes as possible, but I'm not sure if that's a sidequest yet).

The story is great, and was written in a way that tied up the non-sensical timeline. I was upset that Ganondorf wasn't in it, but it was still great.

So if you have a choice between this, and TP, chose the latter, but when you're done with Twilight Princess, play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skyward Sword

posted by Joeliboi (SEATTLE, WA) Jan 27, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Of course any "Zelda" game is going to rate a 9 to 10. I only wish that there was a feature to play it without using the wii remote "motion plus". My friend is handicapped, and cannot enjoy the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Close to a 10.

posted by Duder80 (MOORESVILLE, NC) Jan 4, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun to play, but it has some flaws that keep it from being a 10. First the motion contols are just down right frustrating at times and they use them for almost everything. Lots of the things like swimming and flying could be done with the analog stick but are not. Enemies seem to know where you will hit and are wise alot. But that's not the deal breaker. That comes from the lack of places. There are basically 5 places to go. The sky has 2 places and none of them are great. Skyloft is the only real place to go. Then there are 3 under the sky type places which you wil visit 3 different times each. To say it gets boring is an understatement. You even fight the same type enimies all the time with just minor diffrences. The land looks vast and you can't wait to explore the sky on your bird, but you soon relize there isn't much to do anywhere. But the story and solid charecters save it to some extent. So in conclusion this game was fun and frustrating at times. I personally would just rent it and see what you think about it. Oh and by the way can we not get a Zelda game in HD? it's 2012 for god's sake.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Skyward Sword aimed high and went higher

posted by HalfCalf71 (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game took much longer then previously expected to complete the first time through. While the graphics seem somewhat lacking and pathetic at first glance, they turn out to be slightly original and really create a new world for the franchise. The story proved to be awesome and original in a way I never thought possible for a Zelda game. Let's face it, almost every game is Link defeating Ganon to save yet another reincarnation of the world of Hyrule. Instead of going with tradition these amazing game developers took to the clouds and created a brand new aspect in a way that is all too familiar. I do not think it will be possible for them to top this game. But then again, I have said that many times before with this series. Long live Link, long live The Legend of Zelda!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda would be perfect, Wii holds it back.

posted by GraphicSurgeon (CORTLAND, OH) Dec 15, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was amazing and gave me a chance to dust off the ol' Wii again. The game itself was very clever, everything was very well balanced. It was never to hard or to easy which keeps it fun but not frustrating. My only gripe is sometimes the controls don't swing the way you want which can leave you a few hearts short of what you should be, but that's the controller not the game. The graphics were about as good as they could be on the Wii. By far the best game you can get on the system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I can't get enough.

posted by heyitsbryan (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I absolutely loved this game. But even more than the game, I loved the sword fighting. It's really, really awesome. Just saying that doesn't even do it justice. I only gave it -1 star because there's simply not enough of it: I want more, more more.

This is the Wii, realized.

PS. trying not to spoil much, but fighting the last boss try to fight lightning with lightning. You'll spoil your pants.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Still A Good Legend Of Zelda

posted by citigroup06 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game deserves a 9/10 due to the lack of exploration LOZ is known for. Towards the end it the game gets very repetitive and predictable. I, for one, was disappointed in the obvious attempts to make the game longer by stretching the missions rather than adding more side-quests or more land to explore.

This is the 1st LOZ game that gives you stages rather than a whole world that is connected. The story is typical 100% LOZ. Not the best but an addictive story to say the least. Twilight Princess was better, all around. More to explore and more story. This game exhagerates small missions. That is the only major downfall to this entry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fantastic

posted by pearflozium (WINTER SPRINGS, FL) Dec 4, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The first thing i want to say about this game is that you should not go into this thinking about ocarina of time. Even though it really does have fantastic mechanics and the wii motion plus works almost flawlessly.

There was only a few complaints that i have so far, the dungeons lack the raw depth that you get from previous games. by this i mean that the dungeons in this game rarely took me more than 1:30 to 2 hours where in ocarina of time it could get much higher. also my only other major complaint, so far none of the dungeons in this installment have given that feeling of eerie darkness or making your arm hair stand up. it is very light and childish somewhat like wind waker. It is not a bad style but i enjoy the lighter temples dotted with a shadow temple style or something maybe as creepy as the well from ocarina.

the wii motion plus on the other hand, i would give a 9 out of 10, because it really is close to flawless but there is times where you swing rapidly and it is hard to get the correct swing.

the enemies are also kind of childish but they have very significant defense tactics, it will take at least a few dungeons to get used to the way they block, especially the deku baba's.

they made the dungeons very interesting and the tools are fantastic while still bringing back the favorites from the old games like hook shot and the bow. another thing i liked is that even in the later dungeons you still use most of the tools that you get previously.

all in all for most games now a days i would give it a 10 but for a zelda i would give it a 9/10. if your a zelda fan RENNTTTTTT NOW. if your not a giant zelda fan you should still rent because the storyline would occupy almost any gamer. hope this helped, enjoy!!!1!!!1111!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

New Zelda Game.

posted by Imadori21 (LANSING, MI) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 18 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I've had this game for about two weeks now since it got leaked online so i've played a great deal. I've experienced alot of the game but not all so keep that in mind as i write this review.

This is a zelda game for those who don't know it has a ton of fans and they expect something new every game.This however makes the whole zelda universe turn upside down in a good way for some and bad way for others.

The graphics are not breath taking yet there not bad and since it's not HD and many are used to playing HD games once you come down to this level you won't find it as crisp but it is as detailed the map of this game is not big at all which is why every location has many items and puzzles.
The Back tracking in this game is it's biggest problem there are like three dungeons on the map that open to huge amounts of spaces but it gets very annoying being in skyloft in the sky where u start from and only being able to buy things like potions and shields from there. So your shield breaks you go back, you need to upgrade you go back, you lose your life and have no more potions you go back.
Which reminds me the controls in this game are perfect and i mean DEAD ON so if you mess up and die it's your fault, but it takes so long to get used to such perfect controls the game seems very hard at the start however once you conquer the controls you'll love them and couldn't be happier. Now as i was playing this game only one thing came to my mind - "This is it the next generation Zelda." I believe those words as this feels nothing like any zelda i have played before it and i believe that's the point but this game feels so different many many fans will be very upset and Hate this game.

Overall i think this game gets a 9 out of 10 not the best so far but the perfect controls really make it fun. Of course that's if u can over look the tedious backtracking for items and locations.
Try it out
Some will Hate it
Some will Love it
This Is NEW
This Is Not The Traditional Ze

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zelda Sky

posted by Mallory45 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

It would have been helpful if i knew that the game used a specal controler

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Doesn't Stand Out Among the Greats of the Series

posted by Fruehdom (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Mar 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

It's interesting what one comes to expect from a Zelda game after 20+ years of playing them. Every time you pick up the newest installment, there are certain things you can count on. The format serves as both a blessing and a curse for the series. To an large extent, the formula works and gamers continue to want more, so why break it. Also, there is a certain nostalgic quality every time a gamer comes back to the series. It takes you right back to the first time you watched 8-bit Link swing a sword on the NES.

What often suffers is innovation and storytelling. What is most surprising is when the game designers find a way to bring those two elements into the series without breaking from its core structure. Twilight Princess was a milestone because it allowed for actual depth in storytelling via Link's sidekick, Midna. Even though Link stays a blank slate, Midna underwent a very real change through the game, to the extent that you really cared for her by the end.

The other place where Zelda games still allow for innovation is in graphical style. Windwaker was a huge departure, and a very successful one in my opinion. Twilight Princess was also a success in its darker, almost graphic novel style.

Skyward Sword delivers on all the core components one expects from a Zelda game. Its dungeons and puzzles are well designed, and it adds its own unique spin on a number of elements from the core cannon. Perhaps the biggest innovation comes from the Motion+ swordplay. The designers really added a unique element to the series by forcing the player to use the wiimote like an actual sword.

There are plenty of things to like about Skyward Sword, but in the final tally, it just feels a little too safe to be one of the true greats of the series (Twilight Princess, Windwaker, Link to the Past). It delivered on all the things I expect of a Zelda game, but it never distinguished itself enough to stand out from the truly great games it has to stand next to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not what I expected.

posted by alphamy (ANDREWS, TX) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I must say that wii plus remote works really great, but I enjoyed Twilight Princess way more than Skyward. Twilight has better story and amazing controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wii motion plus = annoyance along with empty sky

posted by sonic1991 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

skyward sword is a great game except the wii motion plus has to be calibrated almost every 30 minutes. so sew me for saying this is but, its not my favorite zelda game. Also skyworld is the empiest place in the world barely any enimies and the boss you fight with the loftwings (birds) is just annoying. so gets an 8 sew me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A must-play for fans and non-fans alike

posted by nr_clark (MARLTON, NJ) Oct 4, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

The last Zelda game I played was the Windwaker on GC. To be honest the overall pace and experience didn't wow me as much as Skyward Sword did.

This game contains the best of what the franchise is known for: quest(s), utilizing different equipment to achieve different results, strategic yet engaging combat. I did find that the MotionPlus attachment, although needed (and uncommonly used for many Wii gamers), is a nice touch that added quite a bit of accuracy to the already interesting combat with the directional slicing sword features. The sword combat with the interactive use of the Wiimote was just so creative and something I'd not seen before. It was like a completely different combat system with such a simple change.

Music is much, much better than what I expected. It fit in well with the surrounding environment. The huge plus is that it is orchestrated, mainly. Thus the sound is a much better complement to the gameplay and makes it so much more cinematic and memorable.

Graphics is as good as it gets for the Wii. The Wii isn't known for its graphics but when the game developers get creative with the design, the player won't even catch the lack of graphics. Character design, environment, visual effects, etc combine the look of Windwaker (Youthful and two-tone) and Twilight Princess (Polished and serious) to make a look that can work best with the graphics capabilities. For example, in a field-like room/dungeon (there are quite a few), the farther out the field of vision is, the more painting-esque it becomes. Very artistic and it doesn't interfere with the experience.

Pace of the game couldn't be better. It was planned out very nicely to get all the points across while not making you fall asleep...most of the time anyway!

Overall I'm glad I decided to rent this game and I believe you'll be glad you did the same.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Wonderful experience, but...

posted by kaitoofrose (HARVEST, AL) Jun 9, 2012

Member since May 2011

To put it to point, I have not played the Hero Mode yet, but my overall experience was wonderful. The graphics are great for the Wii, even though when things get far away, they appear kind of, well, blurry. The controls were almost perfect, even though there was some times I needed to re-calibrate the controller, since the sword would not do what I need to do. The story is wonderful, but only some minor twists here and there. Overall, this game is wonderful, whether it is a rent or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best in the Series

posted by pswilliams986 (ROCKY POINT, NC) May 29, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Zelda has never been a game with great combat but the creative puzzles and ways to defeat enemies give the game its well deserved critical acclaim. Skyward Sword is the best out of the bunch. The graphics are not great but the game is colorful and doesn't feel as dated as most Wii games. I'm glad they returned to the cartoon-ish style over the realistic look from Twilight Princess which, in my opinion, looked muddy and was ugly to look at. The story is basic and told through walls of text. The main, and really only attraction of this game is the game play but it does that so well that there's no way I could give this game a bad score. There are at least 40 hours of fun game play if you try to complete the game 100%.

And I haven't had a problem with the motion controls like other people seem to have. They seem pretty accurate to me.

Pros:
+ Creative puzzle and ways to fight enemies
+ Over a 40 hour game potentially

Cons:
- I wish Nintendo would start realizing while graphics and a deep story don't make a game good automatically, those aspects do still matter. Game play is of course the most important element but I still wish Zelda could at least have a voice actor so the game can seem a bit more cinematic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Overhyped

posted by tucsoncarol (TUCSON, AZ) Jan 23, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is very good, but not the powerhouse I was led to believe. It seems like there is a cutscene after every move. Going over and over and over the same locations gets really old. Don't get me wrong, it was fun, just not....well, you know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by maharris1985 (CORAOPOLIS, PA) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I get kinda really annoyed with how they set up your weapons on this one, using only the B button to switch between items in a fight get ridiculous and all the turning my conroller around like a magic wand to fly or swim just get nerve racking after awhile. but over all a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse