Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3929 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Undeniably Brilliant

posted by Brock_Crock (GLENWOOD, NY) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The motion controls legitimately strengthen the core components of the game. Swordfighting is immensely entertaining, yet challenging to master (as the final boss would likely attest to). Item control is easy, intuitive, and increases in complexity as you play.

Stamina, sprinting, and basic parkour maneuvers add much-needed diversity in traversing Link's world. Certain sections of the game even demand you master these new elements as a way of avoiding confrontation with incredibly powerful enemies. The crafting system is simple but adds dimensions to item utility while not overpowering the natural progression of the game.

Level design is predictably excellent. Skyloft in particular is a wonderfully-realized gamespace staffed with charming personalities and stuffed with minigames and sidequests. Ground areas each have distinctive tones, though lack a sense of interconnectivity. A more tactile entry sequence into each area could perhaps remedy this problem, but considering the expert layout and prodigious content of the areas themselves, it's a fairly minor quibble. Think Link to the Past meets Super Mario Galaxy.

The narrative is unsurprising and plot-related dialogue tends to drag on near the very end, but the cinematography, animations, and character concepts are superb. You'll frequently find yourself engrossed in the story and your role as Link by these concepts alone. The humor is bombastic and self-aware; it'll coax at least a smile from even the most jaded gamer.

The visual design is fantastic. It is wonderfully evocative without relying on impeccable detail, much like the Impressionist movement that inspired it. This game in motion is a beautiful thing, regardless of the power of the hardware.

All dungeons are excellent, all bosses are fun, Hero Mode and Boss Rush are great additions. Fi is annoyingly pedantic to begin with, but becomes mercifully terse about 1/3 through the game (and her nugget of character development at the end is sweet).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zeldariffic.

posted by blqnyllow (AZLE, TX) Dec 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me start off and say that this is probably the best Legend of Zelda, ever. I LOVED Majora's Mask but this takes the throne on my list. Skyward Sword is a great game. You can put so many hours in it and never stop. The beginning of the game starts out slow, like most Zelda's, but after 2 or 3 hours this game will make you not want to put the wii remote down. The gameplay is very fluid and the use of 'Wii Motion Plus' makes it feel like you're actually in Link's leather boots, swinging the sword and rescuing Kikwees from getting eaten. The Temples are probably the most challenging and brain busting in the whole series. Which is good because, who doesn't want a good ol' challenge?! The story is excellent from what I've played of it and it really pulls you in. Graphics in this game are pretty awesome. The water color looking art style pushes the wii to the little limit it has. Weapons and items in here are new and old. Shields are REALLY a big part in this game now. They break and have weaknesses. You get different swords and can upgrade your items! If you have an extra fifty dollars laying around you should definitely pick this game up, especially of you're a Zelda fan and want to know how Link became this awesome hero he is. Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A-frikkin-mazing

posted by nategrey (SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY) Dec 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Not done with the game yet, there is too much to tell. But I won't spoil it. The exploration is fantastic. Crafting is a great addition to the series. I don't care what anyone says about Fi, the new assistant to link in the game. She is awesome. If you don't mind I suggest you get the strategy guide, but don't read ahead and ruin it. Instead, go to the part you just completed sect by sect and have fun with it. You will not beat this in a couple of days. This is meant to tie you down with awesome lands to explore. Have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best zelda game ever

posted by mcgowanlynette (ABERDEEN, SD) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this game is my all time favorite zelda game. if someone says the motion controls suck, then they are lying to themselves and you. the controls are done so precisely that it brings you into the game better than the graphics in any other game do. the amazing this is, is you still get to sit down and semi eat your favorite chips/food while playing it.this game is the perfect example of what the wii should have had in the first place. the only problem is you have to recalabrate every so often, but its just a click of a button and you get back to the game

the graphics bring you into an amazing painting, and somehow things still come alive. the sky is as blue as ours and the characters look better than anything in real life. if you think the graphics suck, then my responce is you probly just hate the art. most people dont know that graphics are mainly the polygon count and the texture, and this game has both and the most vivid colors in any zelda game. and who wants real life graphics, honestly, im already in real life so i dont want an experiance i can get from this world. no i want the zelda world.

the story is absolutly amazing. its basically what every zelda fan has been waiting for. it just unlocks so many secrets unrevieled until this game. also this game is a step up from twilight princess, and thats not opinion people, thats the fact whether you like it or not.

the gameplay is amazing. each enemy is no longer killed with one hit of the sword. no you have to go hard with the controls and every enemy is a puzzle. no joke. also the dungeons are very difficult and i often got stuck, but i love getting stuck, i cant figure out why. and the side quest no longer make you back track as much as a zelda game before this. which is a great thing really. and you do go to the faron woods a lot but its different every time, when you go to there the 3rd time ITS FLOODED and thats just amazing really.

overall i cant find much to hate on. this is the best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zelda Rocks!

posted by Cartoonmc (MASSILLON, OH) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

was a little disappoint that I need the motion plus thing to play the game (didn't read all the info about the game, was excited to play the newest Zelda game). After spending $18 to get a used adapter for the motion plus. I'm now on my way to saving Zelda.. Love this game! The new controls took a bit to get used too though. But after that it great! Just wish I could find or learn how swim under water! Guess that later in the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nintendo has again found what makes them best.

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Nov 29, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2011

17 out of 20 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

With any luck Nintendo will continue on the path they have just restarted by releasing this, the latest in a long line of Zelda adventures.

While playing the last several releases, it became apparent that Nintendo's Zelda formula had become stale. With all respect meant for the company, the dungeons, characters, plot lines, and even the flow of the games became stagnant and re-used most notably between Ocarina of Time and Twilight Princess. Hyrule became a mainstay and the weapons, upgrades, and even play mechanism became dismal and almost (note that I said almost) boring. Fans still clambered for the latest release, but were left wanting more.

Happily, this game does not disappoint and in fact goes above and beyond the expected. I did not rent this game from Gamefly, but did buy it the day it came out with my hopes that brand new experience in gaming and the butterflies of brilliance awaited me. I let the game sit for a day because I though that I may have over-prepared and felt a need to be grounded. This was not a mistake, because if I had been further up the fall through to complete and total wonder may have ruined me.

I conclude with a word. Epic. I am running out of room and you are all thinking I've built this game up too high, but you're wrong. You are so very wrong. You have no idea what is awaiting you, just as I have no idea what to expect next as I continue to play it. The music is even more grand than expected and sets the mood eloquently. The "oil painting" style art plays to the Wii's graces and is exceptionally well done, even by "HD-gamer" standards (though this game is not necessarily HD). The controls are relaxed and controlled, you will find NO "waggling" here; it does what the Wii was intended to do and allows them to make the battles far more epic and somewhat difficult from time to time (though through no fault of the controls). The story is enchanting, believably fantastic, and grand.

But don't take my word. Play it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A true gamer will give this a chance.

posted by gamedude57 (ALBION, NY) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Last week, as many gamers were getting their souls kidnapped by Skyrim on their 360s and PS3s, I was pillaging my way through what is most likely the most unique adventure I've played all year.

And yes, I'm being serial. In a statement that I can very well see every Skyrim fan getting ready to attack as I say, Zelda Skyward Sword is my pick for Game of the Year. This isn't your run-of-the-mill Zelda game either... sure, it involves Zelda and dungeons, but the game has a sweet and satisfying turn of events thanks to the brilliantly crafted writing.

As every other reviewer has stated before, this game puts the Wii MotionPlus accessory (or the Wii Remote Plus) to great use: Every swipe with your Wii remote is depicted as accurately on screen as Link slashes with his sword. Heck, I even got annoyed sometimes when I would move with the nunchuk, and the game would register it as me readying my shield. Not even really a complaint... haha.

Next, why not discuss the gameplay itself? It's impressive. The wide variety of things to do (with the 40+ hour main quest) will be more than enough to keep gamers busy. The temple puzzles require some actual thought without completely making you rip your hair out over it. The combat requires you to carefully plan your attacks before execution (that's right, the enemies are actually smart).

Sometimes, you may have to repeat yourself during side quests, but repeat trips to the same place never feel the same. Every part of Skyward Sword feels like a breath of fresh air.

I know it will never win GOTY, but Skyward Sword gives Nintendo a better chance than ever at it. I feel like after five years of waiting for a fully-realized Wii, they completely deserve it. If you call yourself a gamer you CANNOT miss this game. No one is "too cool" for Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

mind = blown

posted by PhilipR (BROWNSVILLE, TX) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i wasnt sure what to expect out of this game because of the new control scheme. i've been a huge zelda fan all my life, and i can definitively say that this game can proudly stand out as one of the best. motion controls work better than you might think! if you are disappointed by the wii now, and are considering getting rid of it, then play this game before you do. it'll change your mind about the wii!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Princess

posted by SupremeSoleNYC (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Could Have Sworn She Was Shiek Once Upon a Time ... So Why Is She Always In Dire Need Of Help?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Put on some coffee, this one will keep you awake.

posted by boomer150 (EUGENE, OR) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I bought Skyward Sword for the gold motion+ controller

I got all heart pieces, upgraded all items, finished all side quests, got all goddess cubes (treasure charts of skyward sword)

Total play time 51 hours 32 min 22 sec right before final boss battle.

Not alot of games are better than ocarina of time for me, but this one was. Not by alot, but still better. bottom line, Rent this one if you can't afford to buy it, if you can, please buy it so they can keep making games like this i loved everything about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just about PERFECT!

posted by mingfour4 (STONEHAM, MA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off the combat controls are amazing and mirror like. This game was built for the Wii from the ground up. I love the fact that they used the same graphic designs as Twilight Princess. After TW I was hoping they would make Link in the next game look like he did in TW. The dungeon designs look fantastic and the puzzles are great. The fact that the enemies and bosses you fight require tactical precision is what really immerses you into the action. I have beaten every Zelda game out there except for the handheld titles and this is by far my favorite Zelda game. I was actually shocked when I saw that Gamespot gave this game a 7.5. This game is worthy of at least a score of 9.0.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Zelda game

posted by Assasin245 (GEORGETOWN, KY) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Battlefield 3 was my 2nd favorite game this year (MW3 being the first) but then this came along and trampled it. Actually MW3 did first. Battlefield sucked I traded it in and got this and I'm glad I did. This game is the stuff. People whine about the graphics but that's the way it was supposed to be made. I love the sword fighting and monsters. Although Fi is really annoying. This is the second best Zelda game twilight princess is the first. If you own a Wii you should have those games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A bird no a plan no it Zelda with wing

posted by Royon (BRENTWOOD, CA) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is farout i love windwaker color it make this game more fun. Only issule i have is contorllor for the sword. But i don't care i big zelda fan i got every last zelda game still. The music the cutscreen Took my Breathe away. This game is getting 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Zelda Game or just Best Nintendo Game

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Nov 20, 2011

Member since May 2010

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Lets Start.

What I think- I love Zelda, Ocarina of Time was my favorite one. This is now my favorite. This game is hard to play while laying down so you will have to stand or sit which is good. The wii motion + Works Great!! You can upgrade equipment like Slingshot to ScatterShot with items. The controls are hard to get used to at first but then there fun! Instead of Epona or a boat you use a Bird Forgot the name...

Story- You (Link) live in Skyloft in well the Sky. Nobody has ever gone below the clouds because they think its Dangerous and the birds wont go through the clouds. Theres a Ceremony going on and all you gotta do is get the Bird Statue from whoever has it. But Groose steals your bird and you gotta find it. Hes pretty much the "bully". Your best Friend Zelda after you win, asks to go riding but when you do she falls. You wake up in her Dads house and you follow this "Thing" After a while the "Things" name is Fi. She pretty muck replaces Navi. She helps you on your Quest! Then your long, fun Adventure Begins

Graphics- Its a mixture of Wind Waker and Twilight Princess, my opinion, I love it.

Verdict- I gave this a Ten because this is my favorite or 2nd favorite game, hard to choose but by far is the Best Zelda Game ever. The game has 50-100 hours of gameplay, thats good. You like Zelda, sword/adventure games then try this game out! If unsure rent it..i bought mine.

Wii Motion Plus Required.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best one out of the series (true story)

posted by Chris2215 (CHICAGO, IL) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

59 out of 66 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Ok lets get down to typing

Playing The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword it is clear that Nintendo threw out most of the handbook. Zelda is no longer a princess, the game is no longer a means to get from dungeon to dungeon and easy enemies are no longer defeated with some button bashing.

It is not to say that Nintendo has completely revamped the beloved franchise. You still get all the temples, play an instrument and in spite of her godly status Zelda is still key but it feels refreshed and challenging. When a series reaches 25 years things need to be changed and it may have taken Nintendo some time but Skyward Sword feels familiar yet new.

The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword is said to be as the greatest Zelda game for a number of reasons but the one at the front of most gamers mind is the use of Wii MotionPlus. This means that sword moves are the same to your movements but it doesn't always quite work. While Motion Plus is an improvement on the original Wii Remote it is not without its problems, and this is clear in this game at times.

Sword fighting works really well. It may not be a perfect 1:1 as Nintendo has wisely chosen to minimise it to eight directions, but the way in which you swing the Wii Remote is very critical. Classic enemies are now armoured and even the most greatest players will soon find themselves facing a new kind of challenge as they carefully swing the controller in specific directions or face humiliation at the hands of a Bokoblin.

The Zelda series has had its fair share of art and The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword may well be the best to date. I've always preferred the art style look of Wind Waker but the painted style of Skyward Sword does wonders within the graphics of the Wii console. While other games may be racing to have super ultra mega realistic graphics the art style of Skyward Sword works perfectly well, flaws and all.

I highly recommend this game to the loving fans of the series. And to people who have a wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda Topper - Loved it

posted by sunshine61 (VANCOUVER, WA) Jan 26, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game was great, better than the Zelda Princess game in some ways, but it had it's downfalls as well. With Princess you could skip a lot of the dialog, with this game you couldn't skip any of it unless you had already played it before, then you could only skip with the boss scenes to the fight. Also, when collecting bugs, it kept telling you what you got and going through 2 other screens before letting you move on, which was a bit annoying. The boss fights were bigger and better, and there is a lot of action. I felt the side missions were pretty good in this one. It was fairly simple, with the exception of the jumping off things and gliding down part. I never could figure out how to aim myself onto certain points or cliffs that you are required to do in order to finish some of the side missions. The remote just didn't want to put me where I aimed, not sure what is up with that. Overall, great game, I would recommend it, rated FUN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Legend of zelda skyward sword

posted by redjoker (HARTFORD, CT) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

this game is perfect. It has lots of hard puzzles and items like new medals and upgrade able weapons and potions. the side missions are fun to salve also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Enjoyed, but too long.

posted by rhythmguitarhv (SPRING BRANCH, TX) Jan 11, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

My play time was 21 hours and 47 min. when I decided to stop. I was a little over 60% completed I think looking at the sections on the guide list. When the guide has 35 sections and one can take up to two hours....yeah. It's good and fun, but not outstanding. It was time to move on to something else for me. It keeps adding new things, but they're just new tools to basically do the same type of stuff. Definitely give it a shot. The average completion time online is around 36 hours though. I believe it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I miss my Ocarina

posted by Kthulhu (BLACK MOUNTAIN, NC) Nov 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Having been away from the series for a while, save for plowing through my friend's copy of Twilight princess when it came out, I was a little hesitant to return to my once beloved universe. I picked it up when I signed up for gamefly and figured since I wasn't paying full price for it, it would be worth playing at least. I was thoroughly impressed. It felt like I was playing Ocarina of Time again, the goofy comedy, the in depth story, it felt like I when I first picked up that n64 controller and started my love for the 3d lands of Hyrule. Yeah things were different, and at times the most complicated part of the puzzles were the fiddly controls of the Wii, but I was prepared for that going in. I don't understand the need for Fi to immediately re-explain something to you every time a story point happens in a video sequence or even a conversation, so there were moments where the repetativeness of it got on my nerves, but I powered through it. The harp however, is terrible. If the motion controls aren't calibrated to a tee when you start to play to open the trials, you could be sitting there waving your hand for a good five minutes or more. Just give me my Ocarina back and let me push some buttons, maybe make me hold the Wii mote like a flute or something. All in all though I am very pleased, if you work past the minor annoyances (harp, Fi, and going to the same three zones a hundred times) it really is a great addition to the wide world of Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

25 Years of a Legend

posted by Gamer47 (BEAVERTON, OR) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Don't get me wrong, this is a great game. This is my favorite Zelda game yet. Second best, Twilight Princess. This game takes place as the beginning of the series. Zelda is not a princess, just your friend on the Skyloft, a floating piece of rock in the sky. Everyone goes around on a giant bird called Loftwings. After you winning the wing ceremony, you take a ride with Zelda, until a black tornado sucks her up and spits her down to the world below. You find a sword inside the statue of the goddess and the spirit inside called Fi. You take the sword and start your adventure below. This game has motion control and requires the Wii Motion Plus or a Wii Remote Plus. Whatever you do with the remote, Link does with his sword. If you aim the remote up, you can harness power to preform the Skyward Strike, a great force of power. The only problem I have in this game is flying in the Sky. The sky is huge and there is nothing to do, but fly around on your Loftwing. Plus the music gets really boring. Either way, it's still my favorite Zelda game so far. I rate this game a 9 out of 10. Keep it up Nintendo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun

posted by NaturalBeginnin (APEX, NC) Nov 13, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is fun and I really enjoyed playing this game. The only thing that I had a problem with is that there was to much talking or I should say story telling while your trying to get the game started.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game, Great Fun

posted by musicdevine (VALLEJO, CA) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm not a regular gamer. First game ever played was Twilight Princess, loved that one too. Figured I'd get Skyward Sword as the ratings and reviews were good. They were right it was a great game, I was sorry it ended. The puzzles were fun, the movement of the wii remote and the sword. The enemies....really fun battling. Get this game you won't be sorry. Be sure if you're a first time gamer to use the walkthrough on you tube by zelda dungeon, you won't miss an item, medal, or whatever you need. Have fun. I sure did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Game EVER!!!!!

posted by supamario2 (LENEXA, KS) Aug 4, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Im a HUGE Legend of Zelda fan i [lay ocrina of ttime and Four Swoards Adventure but this is the best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Comment On Game

posted by EObert13 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

I'm a Zelda Fan, I think that almost all of the Zelda games are great. Skyward Sword is OK. Gameplay is the best thing about this game, but some of the story lines plus some of the characters looks almost just as bad as the characters on Windwaker. Except Link, instead of a big head, big eyes and really small feet. This game, Link almost looks like a woman because of the angle of his face on the game. I think this game is cool but not really the "best" Zelda game out of all the others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda sky sword

posted by Betsy1421 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I love all the Zelda games this one is very cool hope they keep making more. Love the grafics the characters and the monsters .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse