Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3929 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's explains a lot, and it's juicy story

posted by Wrathel (BRONX, NY) May 3, 2012

Member since May 2011

Best game I've played so far and if you're a die hard fan then you will appreciate this for everything they tell you and how they say it,hopefully fans will catch that,but if you're a newcomer to the game it is still amazing and great story line and safari as I know it's so far the only Zelda game that allows you to start over with you save file in a new mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

posted by dih1982 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Apr 29, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This is by far the best game I've ever played. There are so many things to!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zelda: Skyward Sword

posted by Daniel_Perez (SIMPSONVILLE, SC) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Everything about this game is amazing. Rent it or buy it. Either way you have to play this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the Greatest Zelda games ever!!!!!

posted by TradeMark_XIII (PRESCOTT, AZ) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

When I first got my Wii when it was released back in 2006, I was completely excited to get the next big Zelda game, Twilight Princess. To be honest, I was disappointed, I just couldn't get into it. Don't get me wrong, the game was good, and after replaying it recently, I found it was better then I originally thought. It just felt like a clone of OoT. I felt the series was getting stale. So when I finally played through Skyward Sword, it was a godsend.

I can tell Nintendo worked hard on making this a different, fresher experience. It still feels like the Zelda I know and love, but with enhancements and additions that make the game feel new, as if the series has been reborn.

The gameplay is likely the first thing you will notice, as Nintendo touts the use of the Wii Motion Plus in this game. While it may not be true 1:1, it is very close, and is used in such exciting and interesting ways. Swordplay is now much more strategic, compared to the mindless button mashing of past Zelda games. Fighting against my first bobokin in the game, I felt like I was in an actual swordfight, trying to analyze his moves and find a weakpoint. Buttons seem archaic compared to this, at least in the Zelda series.

The story is the best the Zelda series has ever seen. Zelda isn't just another damsel in distress to rescue, well....actually, she is, but you get to know Zelda on a more personal level, as a friend. When she does get kidnapped, I actually WANTED to rescue her, not because I had too. The villian is engaging, support characters also have a suprising amount of depth, and the game explains the beginning of the series (this is the origin story) very well.

I also want to add, I love the addition of the upgrade system. It helps increase the longetivity of items, so you use some beyond the dungeon you find them in.

Nintendo truly made the perfect 25th annivesary game, and it wasn't made for it! It celebrates the past 25 years of Zelda while showing us a bright future for t

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wii Remote Plus controllers required

posted by instig8r (JACKSON, MI) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

We were looking forward to this game, but we have the original Wii controllers and this will only work with the Remote Plus. Unfortunately we had to send it back without ever playing since we weren't ready to buy new controllers (or the Plus addons for old controllers). I'm not going to ding this game with a bad rating because I didn't have the gear, but will research further before rent another Wii game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by November212011 (SILVER LAKE, WI) Mar 19, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Great fun game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New Favorite Zelda!

posted by BugJuiceDad (MOLINE, IL) Mar 18, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I am 30 years old and have maintained that LOZ: Ocarina of time is the best Zelda since I bought it for Nintendo 64 (I preordered it then, and so I was one of the first normal customers to have it when it was released in 1998). I have played every Zelda since and even went back to check out the Zeldas of old, but nothing has been as dynamic as Ocarina. This game just topped it! I am amazed! The puzzles are challenging, but not overly challenging. It is normal game play length for what you would expect, me being nearly 50 hours into it and only being somewhere around half way. The added dynamic of the Wii Motion Plus and the real sword play is awesome and frustrating, at the same time. Awesome because it lets you act out the game, but frustrating because in the heat of battle the controller would get confused, on occasion. This would ususually result in a misattack (misinterpreted action from the remote) from Link and allow the enemy to sneak one in on him. The Wii Motion Plus technology isn't perfect yet, but it worked very well considering a new frontier for Nintendo, and only negligibly affected the game play experience in a negative way.

I had wondered why the price difference from "Twilight Princess" to this one, but after playing this I totally get it and believe it is worth it. Twilight Princess was entertaining, but this was just straight addicting.

I needed to send it back before I finished the entire adventure, but this is definitely on my Father's Day wish list. I probably haven't stated anything new, from other reviews, but I wanted to promote it anyway. Hope it helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awsome game!

posted by THACKER (LINDON, UT) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

I own this game and it is AMAZING. It deserves at least a 9 in my book. People that just hate zelda or the wii should not spam up the review. The only flaw I found was that the motion control was a bit touchy, making it harder to perform the right move. That is about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Game you want!

posted by Jesse515 (ROCHESTER, NY) Feb 27, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

You sure do want to get the game its fun and really tests your skills it can be frustrating at times but right when you get back on line you say yay! There are also alot of videos that show the love between Zelda and Link and what makes you love Zelda too. 100000000000000 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Legendary!

posted by 6amer95 (HOWELL, NJ) Feb 18, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Here's the way things work at Nintendo; they come up with a concept, and then they ask themselves, what can we do to make this better? That attitude of theirs has never been more effective than in this game. This is truly one of the biggest milestones of this generation for the gaming industry. Nintendo has made their fair share of mistakes in recent years, but this game is evidence of the fact that they are not planning on being bested by anyone any time soon. This game completely revamps everything about the Zelda formula that we have grown to love. The Wii motion plus truly adds depth to the gameplay experience in more ways than one, and offers new ways to get the job done, which results in a unique experience that feels totally new, but familiar at the same time. While I wouldn't say it matches 1 on 1 swordplay perfectly, you aren't mashing a button for 60 hours. You actually have to use your head to do things as basic as fighting enemies. Which adds to the overall challenge and does a great job at immersing you in the game. There are many motion-controlled games that overuse the technique, and fail miserably. What seperates Skyward Sword from all of those games, is that these controls work. For all of you who say they don't, how about taking three minutes to figure them out first? But other than the Wii motion plus, it brings many new ideas to the table. Rather than exploring a dungeon, followed by fifteen minutes of exploring the overworld, and more dungeon, the challenge is distributed evenly throughout the whole physical game. As your world expands before you, huge array of tasks open up and provide you with a new brand of challenge every time you turn around. Even though you return to the three main locations multiple times, you rarely feel like the formula is repeating itself. Overall, if you ever had even a shred of doubt about this game, it proves you wrong in every way. You enjoy every moment of this masterpiece, Skyward Sword is truly one for the ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A NEED TO PLAY GAME

posted by MYSTICGAMER (FLINT, MI) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i dont see how any one can give this game a break once i started playing i dindt stop till i finished it in 19hours and 42 min with all my hearts and upgrades and gear, but dont let me keep you from this game just put it in and enjoy massive sword play and puzzles that will keep you locked in at all times, AND HAVE EITHER MANY BATTERIES OR MORE THAN ONE RECHARGABLE WII CONTROLER CUASE YOU HATE Having to stop just to go out to get some batteries

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

CHUCK NORRIS OF THE WII

posted by Omegaman777 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

THIS GAME IS EVEN BETTER THAN HALO SERIES/GEARS OF WAR AND CHUCK NORRIS AND OKAMI!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The game could have more bosses,items and more areas to explore, but it make up for beautiful graphics that you can see easily epic boss fight lovable characters and best of all,LINK SHOWS LOTS OF EXPRESSTIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It Is The Best Zelda Yet

posted by KTJDDD (UPLAND, CA) Feb 2, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

From the beginning, before I even start my file, I'm presented with the most terrifying of intros ever conceived in The Legend of Zelda. I felt this game could be more terrifying than Twilight Princess and Majora's Mask combined.

It's incredibly fierce in the way it's presented. With a feeling of little help, you find yourself struggling for answers to what is actually happening in the story. After a while, you yourself would like to know what is going on.

You find many items and meet many creatures and people. And while the land isn't vast and huge like Twilight Princess, it's much more compact and much more dense.

The forests of Faron are beautiful. The Eldin Volcano stood fierce in glory. And Lanayru remained a ghost of it's former self. But each of these terrains is filled with characters to talk to and new things to do with each visit.

Instead of once again drawing out details textures and pseudo-realistic world like Twilight Princess attempted to do, more pixels are given to model shapes and more design work was put into the colors. A game isn't just about a large resolution output.

Considering my own quirks such as text speed and random unnecessary alerts, there's not enough to give this game less than a great score. It's rare when I rate a piece of media 9.0 or higher. But this will be the highest score on this blog yet

See my full review at hope4media . blogspot d0t com

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game. Period.

posted by TheaEzeldaLuver (HENDERSON, NV) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

NEVER before have I played a better game. You thought Super Smash Bros Brawl was good? I'm one of those few people that are least likely to be gamers, and not too many people know I am; yet, I play games fantastically well for a GIRL...(stereotyping against girls sometimes). My friend Sarah and I were just kept on our toes throughout the game. Great motion sense, excellent graphics, marvelous story-line, and just an overall superior game. Zelda creators obviously went the extra mile to craft smooth game play. After a stunning 3 rounds through, I sadly packaged up the game and sent it back to GameFly. Once I've finished everything on "My GameQ," The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword will definitely be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Wii game, and best game in the franchise

posted by Thanatos_0 (ABSECON, NJ) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not only does this game take full advantage of everything the Wii has to offer, making it the only game out to do this, but it also takes legend of Zeldas storytelling to the next level. Which, by the way, in my opinion has been the only element lacking in this franchise. I'm not going to go into huge detail so if you like the Wii, a good story, the legend of Zelda, or action games of any kind then play this game. You'll do ourself a disservice otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Review

posted by Garzafam10 (DETROIT, MI) Jan 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Skyward Sword is by far the best Zelda game in the whole series. It is definitely a prequel and the whole story line grabs your attention from the start. The relationship between Zelda and Link is very nice to see and the characters are all unique and interesting in many ways. It is going to be hard for a future Zelda game to beat this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just awesome!

posted by dan_man (BOWIE, MD) Jan 16, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i first off just bought the game seeing as i've loved zelda as a teen and up! this one is nothing short of fantastically amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite Zelda game EVER!!!!!

posted by Zeldaplayer (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jan 3, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the best Zelda game of the series, the overall story is great, the graphics are amazing, and the game play is jaw-dropping, and I love all the adventures that link has to go through is this game, in fact in my opinion, this is the best wii game ever made!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Game ever created

posted by bozo1025 (BONITA SPRINGS, FL) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the best since Super Mario Galaxy. The dungeons are creative the graphics are stunning and the gameplay is masterful. Play this game now. I will warn you though that wii motion plus is required so pick the game up since it comes bundled with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game

posted by tonyrocks (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i love everything in this game the only problem with the game is that the "world" is pretty small forcing you to go back and forth throughout the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Brilliance just brilliance

posted by mrlink (SPANISH FORK, UT) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start out by saying that this is one of the best games ever. The best Zelda one by far. I never get tired of jumping off a ledge into open sky and calling my loftwing. The storyline is not like other Zelda games. In this you're not just trying to save Zelda, but Zelda plays a big role in saving the world like Link does as well. I do wish there was more land though to just explore! But even so the land and artwork is wonderful. This game has new artwork, new storyline, new ways to fight, but is still like an older Zelda game. It is familiar because this game takes place in a time before Twilight Princess, and you will see things from that. This is a must rent, and even more a must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games i've ever played

posted by mackdaddyyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i don't often give a 10/10 rating for video games. but this is an exception.

i've been video gaming since i was 5 years old

and i never thought anything would top the classics: pokemon, super smash bros, kingdom hearts...

but when zelda twilight princess came out I had never played a single zelda game. before i knew what hit me, i'd beaten one of the best games i've ever played.

now the sequel, Skyward Sword, has absolutely blown me away
it took me 62 hours to beat. every hour was the best platforming adventure i've ever played in 15 years.

this is the kind of game that inspires people's lives

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Legend of Zelda is fresh again.

posted by zeldaguy1 (BELLEVUE, NE) Dec 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

OK so as time goes a new generation is born and with it new games. I am proud to say I was born into the nintendo era so I grew up with Zelda. The PS3 and XBOX 360 generation can easily overlook a Wii Game but they would be missing out on one of the best games out there.

This is one of the most amazing and best series out there in the world. It has made the standard and set the example and many action/rpg adventure games now a days.

Zelda games have always held a high expectation and honestly the formula was getting a little stale. Skyward Sword has breathed new life into the series again. I would go as far to say that it stands as best Zelda game ever right next to Ocarina of time.

The world in Skyward Sword is full of life and detail much pleasing to the eye. The storyline is epic and it actually makes you feel like a hero of great importance while you play the game. EX: Link is the chosen hero of destiny that once again must save the World aka "Skyloft". And Zelda plays a major role in saving world as well. Its not your normal Zelda where you have to rescue her.

The controls make the game a lot more fun. EX: combat is better and more realistic as the Wii motion plus gives you near perfect sword swings on the way you swing the Wii mote. The enemies defend against your attacks and you have to swing at an opening. It makes every battle feel like a duel. The only downside is you have to be precise on the way you swing the Wii mote but it beats the old days just mashing a button that makes Link swing randomly. So its a welcome change.

The Graphics are the best the series has ever seen and I would say the best on the Wii console. Link and the characters show emotions and you can see these through the expressions on their faces. The world lots like a painting as the graphics style was intended to look. Its a Blend of Twilight Princess and Wind Waker and it looks great.

40+ hours of game play. Much longer than most other gam

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesomazing!

posted by uss_capital (WASHINGTON, DC) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Wow. This game is EPIC. The motion controls are perfect, and the awesome soundtrack of this series is only boosted by Nintendo's decision to orchestrate the score. Even flying around the sky and playing minigames is fun. Enemy design is mostly satisfying, and their rewards seem perfect. Overall, I give this game a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

...

posted by LightStryke (BROOKLYN, NY) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

... If you haven't played this game something is wrong with you. BEST ZELDA GAME EVER!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse