Rent Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword for Wii
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword

Rent

Keep for: $39.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.6

3894 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game Ever!!!

posted by Zeldalover16 (NORTHVILLE, MI) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Skyward Sword is the Bomb! its the best Zelda game in history! from awesome graphics to great story. any Zelda fan will love this and the motion plus controls work great. I recommend this to anyone with Wii/Wii U!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful and flawless

posted by mackyoshi (PORTSMOUTH, NH) Feb 15, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Artwork and gaming at its finest, ladies and gentlemen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I did not like Wind Waker and Twilight Princess

posted by Nubfail (FLORISSANT, MO) Jun 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I did not like Wind Waker and Twilight Princess...

but this game was GREAT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game another classic to add to series

posted by Kev_215 (HARLEYSVILLE, PA) May 10, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Great game its up there with the best zelda games probably not as good as some of the classics like ocarina or majoras mask but defiantly up there deserves no less then a 9 and i gave it a 10 def rent / buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WoW

posted by MSJR94 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best in series. Innovative gameplay.

posted by joeturbo (TURLOCK, CA) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Oct 2003

Skyward sword brings new innovative gameplay mechanics. The sword mimics your movements with the wiimote, giving you a more emersive experience. New weapons have more purpose in this game, whereas other installments some weapons were used a couple of times and forgotten. The puzzle and dungeon design are fantastic, best I've seen. The game took me about 50 hours to complete, although I did take on some side missions. This installment shows a push to change the rehashed zelda elements: mission brief, traverse world hub, dungeon, key, boss, repeat. The necessary steps needed to even get to a dungeon or temple is just as puzzle oriented. The combat requires precise timed movements rather than hack n slash. Depending on how enemies hold their weapons you have to parry their weapon before you strike. Even the simple spider skultulla requires more thought to kill. This is the game's combat is its best attribute. The game actually only has 3 different lands: woods, volcano, desert, and unfortunately you have to traverse them several times with different motives. They do change up the world a little bit and add a different control scheme. Towards the last portion of the game, this was about to become stale, as I felt more than ready to fight the final boss. But luckily the retreads are shorter. I have noticed this happens in many zeldas, but this game was more prevalent. Thats my only nagging issue, is the retreading of familiar lands. This game should not be missed. The story line was simple but wonderfully presented. The colorful and artistic approach to this installment is something to believe.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

second best Zelda game!

posted by Smashlover4476 (MONROE, NY) Feb 22, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Ever since the Ocorina of time It's the closest to the flawless game, don't get me wrong there are flaws. But I love it. I recommend it to any Zelda fan who loves them for the story and game play since it's the first one to use motion controls. One last thing: 5 year wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

what i think

posted by amydrussell (SNOQUALMIE, WA) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

its awsome the bosses are fun and all that but just one thing is missing exploreing is not in this but its still awsome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by lil_j13 (HOPKINSVILLE, KY) Jan 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This Zelda title is in my honest opinion one of the best to date. I think A link to the past still has my heart but this one was truly amazing. The story was really really good.. I REALLY HOPE they decide to continue this story. Simply put, this game was amazing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ocarina Move Over

posted by Jesse978908 (WAXAHACHIE, TX) Jan 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Though many opponents of motion controls will tell you otherwise, this is the best Zelda game ever made. The story is flawless, the controls meaningful, the graphics are gorgeous. This game goes toe to toe with much more advanced HD games and looks just as good. This game is a masterpiece.

A Masterpiece.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST IN THE SERIES

posted by ZELDABROS (ROGERS, AR) Dec 11, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Alright I'm gonna tell you right now it's my new favorite game. Zelda is my favorite game series and when i saw this I was a little worried why you might ask? MOTION CONTROL. Not a big fan of it in Twilight Princess honestly but hey it's Zelda. When I started playing though this thing blew me away. The motion control is spot on, it has my favorite story line in any game, and its replay value is off the charts. It brings you back to the good old days of ocarina of time. EXCEPT WAYYYYYY BETTER. Yeah I know better then OCARINA pretty crazy stuff right there. Get ready to play one of the best games of all time fans because we got ourselves a true classic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Possibly the BEST Zelda EVER

posted by SamusAranZero Oct 25, 2012

I have to say Ocarina of Time (N64), aside from Master's Quest (GameCube), was the best Zelda, but this one either beats it or comes shy of beating it as this is where the Legend of the Master Sword takes place. Be prepared for over 60 hours of great gameplay using your Wii Remote Plus and Nunchuck. It puts you right into the action. After you beat it, you'll be overwhelmed by the intuitive minds of Nintendo's great creation, but the fun doesn't stop there; enjoy it AGAIN in Hero Mode (a more challenge feat for Novices).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Play!!!

posted by KJStevens (HERNDON, PA) Oct 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

A Fantastic Game...Fun, But Tough, and Beautifully Illustrated!!! Can't Wait For The Next Zelda Game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent!

posted by swagdaddy1497 (FAIRFIELD, CA) Sep 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

This game was amazing! The use of the Wii motion plus is wonderful. it really tests your skills with the sword. The different gear you obtain throughout the game is also cool. you have to use your brain to use the right thing.
The story is amazing as well. every little thing that happens makes you want to play that much longer. sure its a long game, but it is all worth it.
All im trying to say is , next to Ocarina of time, THIS IS THE BEST LEGENED OF ZELDA GAME EVER!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing game! Best game on the Wii!

posted by DarkOverlord (Toronto, CA) Aug 18, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

I bought this game, AND pre-ordered it, and it is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Graphics: Wind Waker and Twilight Princess graphics combined 9/10
Gameplay: Motion controls are great, fun, and the idea works! 10/10
Replay Value: 9/10
Music: 10/10 it is BEAUTIFUL!!!
Story: 10/10 awesome!
Final Verdict: 10/10

It's awesome! You should buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best zelda game

posted by 7981dero (HENDERSON, NV) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Skyward sword is one of the biggest and best zelda games of all time. the wii motion plus sets this game apart from all of the others.if you're a true zelda fan, rent the game and see how the zelda conflict really started!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

super cool

posted by mrsweed45 (NAPLES, FL) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

best game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I believe I can fly!

posted by nadare (AUSTIN, TX) Jul 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love this game! I especially like that you can fly the Loftwing. Flying is one of my favorite parts! I've only gotten to outside the temple in the Deep Woods, but I can already tell it's a great game! One thing I don't get that I think is really wierd, is that I found two Remlits (cat-like thing, Zelda's dad's pet Mia), both on Skyloft! Is this supposed to happen? Has it happened to anyone else? I haven't checked to see if there are two at night, but I hope not. One vicious cat thing I can handle, but two is almost scary! Almost.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Motion Control Clarification

posted by Zorpix (BURLINGTON, WI) Jun 21, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I've been reading some of the bad reviews, and a LOT say that "recentering the motion controls is annoying" First off, this DOESNT happen when you're using his sword or anything like that. There is no centering required for anything that doesnt require aiming. As for the rest, all you do is point at the middle of the screen (Which you'll be doing anyways) and press the down button. The screen will instantly fix itself and snap to the right centering. I guess people are so lazy that just hitting the down button makes them give an amazing game like this a 1. While it does get sort of repetitive, there is a lot of depth to the worlds, and exploring them will get you more items you can craft. Yes, CRAFTING in Zelda. It's actually pretty awesome. All the characters, even the shopkeeps, have their own personalities, and you get to know them as characters, not just static salesmen and women. There are also tons of extra things to do after the final boss, so there's no lack of content either. You can do "quests" (tasks) for people around town, which usually requires exploring past areas and completing a few difficult requirements.

All in all, this game makes me proud to be a Wii owner, and yes, it isn't for everybody. I know some people did generally dislike it for their own legitimate reasons, and that's perfectly fine! We can't all like the same thing. But definitely give this one a try, even if the bad reviews have you sitting on the fence.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!

posted by Buniny (TAVARES, FL) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This game is very good and well though. It has an easy story to get into and it has great graphics. It gives you clues which basically tell you what to do, but you have to read even though they are highlighted. There are some parts that you really have to think on what to do, but I still loved it. I believe that this was an very good game and I would recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by poppatrick12345 (RIVERSIDE, RI) Jun 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Introduction-
Well! I'm new to the Zelda, seeing as to the fact that this is my first Zelda game. BUT,I am now a fan of Zelda. Now,for anybody who likes fast paced games that need zero strategy, this is not the game for you. I rented it from Gamefly, and it took me about a month to beat. Now, if your playing this game and your like "Oh my god!!! I can't beat this!!! I've tried EVERYTHING" Well of course you have not tried everything!!!!!!!!!!

Hints-
When fighting a deku baba, use a spin cut or shield bash, which are most effective.

On the first battle with "Demon Lord" when he tries to block your sword, move it in a circle(Same thing you did with the "Eye Guardian)until his hand stops moving, then slash away!(Same thing goes for the second battle with him)

On the final boss, make sure you have a few heart potions and a sturdy shield. Also, stay calm, block his attack, then do a quick counter attack. When he starts charging his sword, raise your sword as if you were doing a Skyward Strike, walk around a little, until your sword chages too then hit him(He can't defend against this), then while he is stuned, hit him rapidly. Keep doing this until he falls, then do a quick fatal blow to finish him!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Final words-
All in all, this is the best game I've ever played! I'd to thank Nintendo for making such an awesome game!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best zelda game???

posted by Saint67 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jun 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

ok here it is this game is awesome. i like it. its cool amazing the story great and overall good so have a fun time with it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome, I love it!

posted by Sharon17 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 9, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I love the story and the game is amazing. Had to buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is what you have been waiting for.

posted by Slade_O_Niel (BURIEN, WA) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

Ever since the Wii first announced motion controls the first thing in my head was swordplay. But when Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess arrived I was left dissapointed and waggling the Wiimote half heartedly as Link jerkily swung regardless of what I was doing.

Before the Ocarina, before the Master Sword there was the Skyward Sword. See how the land of Hyrule began as Link takes on the likes of the demon prince Ghirahim in order to reunite with his best friend Zelda. (That's right, she's not even a princess in this one.) With a great cast of characters this Zelda drew me in more than all the others.

While the game flow is far more linear then all other Zeldas it does offer a few alternatives to gameplay that overall added to my enjoyment. Much of the equipment is upgraded by finding helpful objects through the world, bomb use is now more adaptive with the ability to bowl the bomb like a ball, and of course all the original favorite gameplay standards are there.

More importantly is the sword, it really does math your movements, sure you can't just swing wildly and expect to get far. that will just confuse Link's sword arm. However, Link's swings do match just about what I'm doing most of the time, and the increased need for the shield bash manuveur makes battle a fun new beast to master.

To those whose love is still for the controller only, I understand where your coming from, this game is just not for you. If you have an openmind and have been waiting to see just what the Wii could finally do, this is the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best legend of zelda.

posted by kal123 (KALKASKA, MI) May 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I think it is the best .I will tell you this it has a twist near the end zelda is a god that took over her body.
thats all I will tell you. this is the legend of zelda game that inspierd me to get phantom hourglass,twillight princess,and spirit tracks,ocirina of time 3D.honstly you shuld buy it.next you should buy ocirina of time 3D.BUY BOTH.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse