Rent Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time for GC
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time

Not Rentable
GF Rating
9.2

1700 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The legend is back

posted by GTA647 (BELL CITY, LA) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

15 out of 15 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's face it, when new game consoles come out you feel that you need to sell your old ones to get them. But then you regret it because one of those old games turns out to be better than the new games. nintendo realized this and brought this N64 classic to the game cube. everything you remember is here. the game play, the epic storyline, and that unforgettable music that got stuck in your head for days. I VERY HIGHLY recommend this game to both veteran Zelda players and people who are new to the series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

OUTSTANDING GAME!!!

posted by Trifrocez2 (BRONX, NY) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This must be one of greatest game I've ever played. Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time has everything, Art Direction, Storyline and Gameplay.
This game is the god of all videogames and it strikes down every Xbox 360, Wii and PS3 titles including Call of duty, Halo reach and every other next gen games. Shall God bless this Game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one word

posted by bkmeiler (SACO, ME) Jun 10, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful


Classic

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Zelda game ever

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jun 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Though "A Link to the Past", "Link's Awakening", and the original "The Legend of Zelda" are all near the top of the heap as well, "Ocarina of Time" is definitely the crown jewel of the series, and try as they might, Nintendo hasn't been able to top it since. Later games like "Majora's Mask" and "The Wind Waker" have their good points, but they can't touch the epic greatness that is "Ocarina of Time".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun, surprisingly.

posted by BryanL (KEENESBURG, CO) May 8, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

22 out of 27 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

The gameplay in the updated version of the Ocarina of Time is surprisingly fun given the changes. Whilst the game is not exactly rearranged, the changes in the dungeons are dramatic, confusing even to a player completely familiar to the game. The game doesn't have as much mindless running around to accomplish tasks in dungeons, it allows you to get straight to the point and challenge your wits and abilities without making you circle areas. Although some parts of the game are much more simple, the changes are so dramatic that simplicity is never expected, thus making for a difficult game.

Still, the best (and probably most pointless) change is made with the placement of cows in the most unexpected level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An updated classic

posted by Ragnex (SILVER SPRING, MD) Jun 20, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2006

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's a magical thing when something you love gets even better. Like ice cream dipped in chocolate. Or a new version of Zelda Ocarina of time. If you liked the original, you should really try this one.

Pros:
Your favorite old Zelda and a revamped version to boot.

Cons:
Very Rare.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS IS MY FAVORITE GAME!!!!!!

posted by carlito (FREDERICK, MD) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

17 out of 27 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

I GOTTA ADMIT IT THIS IS MY FAVORITE GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!! this is 1 of the best zelda games ever released. the graphics were very ahead of its time, the story waz incredible, and its just fun. i dont have a lot to say but this if u r a zelda fan buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

...

posted by Deathru (CROSBY, TX) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

SO SO SO SO So SO EPIC!!i all i have to say XD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nintendo is a Beast at Making Games(In a good way)

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Hello people it's a zelda game and it happens to be the best as of now, before Twilight Princess comes out at Wii launch.

No more comments needed!

-If you diss this game you have no idea what a Zelda game is and have been too lazy to pick one up!
-Oh yeah, and pick this one up!!!!!
-
-
-It's much needed.
-Run if you have to or just sit back in your computer chair and put it in your GameQ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!- !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-Best game in the world as of right now!
-10
-10
-10
-10
-perfection

---Twilight Princess will blow me,and every other respectable gamer, to another world!

--For now play this game! Ocarina of Time is worthy of immense praise!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Legend Of Zelda The Ocarina Of Time

posted by starfox (GLENDORA, CA) Jun 12, 2006

Member since May 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dear Gamely Users, I like Ocarina of Time for many reasons. #1: It takes you through time and you explore Link's childhood and late teen year's. #2: You get cool weapons and tools. #3: You do many tasks, all leading up to defeating the evil wizard Gannondorf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME IN THE HISTORY OF GAMES!!!

posted by Ocarina (TIPTON, IN) May 13, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The Legend of Zelda, Ocarina of time is my favorite game. It has very good graphics. It takes a while to beat the game but u will have fun facing the bosses. The best part is u can play the harder version Master Quest. So if u are up for the challenge, try this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Can this game beat Twilight Princess?

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 7, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I REEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEALLY WANT THIS GAME! I heard about it and it sounds cool! I haven't played it ever. (I wish I could buy it in a store but I never see it.) I have played almost every Legend of Zelda game. (Almost. Not the Super Nintendo ones they stink and it's hard to tell which character is which plus they don't look real!) My favorite of all is The Legend of Zelda Twilight Princess! I hope this game is not better. Maybe this Legend of Zelda game WAS number one. But Twilight Princess beats it hands down! Of course I may be wrong, the only way to find out is to play this one. I CAN'T RENT IT BECAUSE IT'S RARE AND IS ALWAYS LOW!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Say It With me Now: OVERRATED

posted by Iamnobody (WILMINGTON, DE) Jul 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I'm not saying that Ocarina of Time (OoT) is not a good game, but it is up there with Final Fantasy VII in terms of being laughably overrated.

The Good:

-It's a Zelda game

-The camera is less glitchy than other N64 games

-The soundtrack is often genius

-The boss fights are fun, although they usually aren't very difficult

The Bad:

-The game implements the iffy jumping mechanic far too often, resulting in some very frustrating rooms.

-Navi is one of the most annoying characters to ever appear in a game.

-The story is predictable and frankly not that interesting. (the time traveling aspect had a lot of potential, but it was unfortunately ignored)

-Way too much empty space. You are forced to walk across the massive but empty Hyrule Field far too many times in the game.

OoT still manages to be a great game, and a must-play for Zelda fans, but it is far from perfect. I'd also recommend Zelda: Collector's Edition over OoT/MQ because CE comes with LoZ, AoL, and Majora's Mask as well, and MQ isn't really all that different from base OoT. More importantly, it's cheaper in stores and has the same availability on GF.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

copied

posted by Nighthawk (HAVERHILL, MA) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 27 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

This game is fun and all but it's just a copy of the organial and master quest hardly changes it at all I give it a five.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing game.

posted by ReFlEx321 (MELBOURNE, FL) May 17, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

Ok this in my opinion is the best video game ever. Originally made for the N64 in 1998 but even on the Gamecube it is still my favorite game. It has a amazing story line that is unforgettable.I would recommend this game to players of any genre. Plus its not a SUPER challenging game so basically anyone can play this game with ease.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

freakin classic

posted by SamWells3 (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

this game is so amazing i remember playing it as a kid but the stupid thing is i want to rent it again but i cant thats the only bad part its not rentable why is that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games ever made!

posted by nnseabourn (SOCIAL CIRCLE, GA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Out of all the Zelda games, this one is my favorite. Has everything you could want in a game. I remember playing it when it first came out. It was awesome. I highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The best Gamecube game ive ever played

posted by TheGamer298 (AZUSA, CA) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game is just so awesome so-so graphics but awesome gameplay if you have a wii or Gamecube buy this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game Known To Man-Kind

posted by Snuggie101 (HAPPY VALLEY, OR) Jul 16, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

I've played the N64 version, and the Gamecube version, and they're the best games ever!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow just wow

posted by jhonzelda (QUEEN CREEK, AZ) Oct 25, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

i never new there was 2 ocarinas of time glad they didet include majoras mask i hated that game its like the ds verssion of harvest moon and pikemen well ta ta

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game!!!!!!!

posted by caspercbo (LORAIN, OH) May 29, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

I wish i had not of sold this game. I would play this everyday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

master quest is awsome!!!! ive beat normal but....

posted by gamer021 (RAWLINS, WY) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2009

master quest for the ocarina of time its grate, the one thing i love most that if you played the normal game and then this, it makes you think prety hard on whares the switches and eyes you need to hit are at. my favorit temple is the spirit temple. the room with 2 other doors as an adult one key locked and the other switch locked, it took me 3 mins to figgure out how to get the box off the top of the top of the top box of time, infact the only reson why i figgured it out was i played the (song of time) twice by mistake and it landed on the bottom, i was actuly suprised it was somthing so easy to do but hard to figgure out. thats the reson why i gave it a 10 raiting because outa all zelda games ive beaten, and i have beatn them all, the regular nintendo, the super nintendo, the gameboy color, the nintendo:64 and gamecube, this one made me actuly think!lol. i thought of somthing the wind waker, make a dungon hard sequal to that game, now that will bring some challanges to the table, its allready kinda long because you got to find the shattered peaces of the triforce all around the ocean and lands on there. But if the dungons where harder than ever? along with finding them, heck yeah now thats a 3week to a mounth game. speshaly if u put the triforce peaces in harder places too. the things you have to do to get to the grate feries, i think its fine on there its actuly a somewhat of a challange, but yeah. the game got here on the 16 of may i think and i dident play for like 4 days so it took me 4 days to beat it, not too bad. normal game setting for the dungons on orcarina of time takes me 1 and a half to 2 days to beat so it is longer if its new to you, it will defently give you somthing to do and intertain you. love your site, got grate games as far as i can see. seems how you guys screen this, i have a question? do you guys know of eny company thats a game testing and programing company i can contact? i would love to be a game tester in the future.i luv playing games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i love this game

posted by gamecentra (NORTH POLE, AK) Mar 7, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

this is a great game for all ages. the plot is incredible. the game play is excellent. i love this game so much i have played and beaten it a lot of time. this is a great game. peace out

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!!

posted by Sekely123 (SUMMERVILLE, SC) Mar 13, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This is exactly what I was looking for. I played Ocarina Of Time before and this is just a better challenge. Everything was the same as I remember but it made you think a lot harder. Great Game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Perfect Package

posted by SirNewt (BELGRADE, MT) Jan 26, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

I've always been skeptical of Ocarina of Time being "the best game ever" or even of deserving a ten. The game's structure is almost a mirror of A Link the Past's just rendered into 3D (and that games visuals and combat have dated far less rapidly). Ocarina, however, still represents the top tier of Nintendo's abilities. The inclusion on this disk of The Master Quest truly lifts the overall package to something I feel fully comfortable calling perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse