Rent Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

2626 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Remaster!

posted by neongenesis731 (PARIS, AR) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

It is every bit as good and fun as the original on N64 but with better graphics and gameplay (personal opinion) Great remake overall!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Never played the original. But this takes the cake

posted by nategrey (SOUTH OZONE PARK, NY) Dec 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

Everything on here from start to finish had me going. I can't say I played the whole thing without help. I used a guide. But it was still difficult. Seeing the walkthrough online, I can see the game looked much better on my 3ds. Love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

El Beast T Mo

posted by Tazh (KILLEEN, TX) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

Best game ever but if your a guy who rushes into just all action well you might want to watch some videos...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by nate33 (ENCINITAS, CA) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

This is by far the best 3DS game to date. In addition to being a great and fun game, the soundtrack is wonderful and the 3D is beyond anything I've seen.

Pros: Fun, easy to pick up but hard to beat, lengthy, unlockables, great plot and soundtrack, great game, 3d visuals awesome
Cons: None

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST HAVE FOR 3DS!

posted by Starfoxstatic (ARNOLD, MD) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This game was first on N64 but then went to gamecube to virtual console on wii to 3DS. When i got this game and looked at the graphics, i flipped, alot better then blocky graphics on N64. All i have to say is GET THIS FOR 3DS. PERIOD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the quick review.

posted by Rlmm24 (KILLEEN, TX) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

i'll keep this one short and sweet if u haven't played the nintendo 64 version of the game then this will be a new experience for you but for the people that have you'll love the new visuals they added along with moving the 3d effect slider in and out on certain areas ( im looking at you bongo bongo and shadow temple) other then that great game overall like the original and if your not happy with the first play through u can replay the game in its awesomeness via master quest. were everything is re-done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best it was and ever will be!

posted by Jetknight (CLEVELAND, OH) Aug 29, 2011

Member since Nov 2008

This title is trully memorable to me cause the original in the N64 was given to me as a xmas present when i was 15. I still got that copy Brand new stored in a special box along with my N64 both in brand new conditions. This game it was trully amazing in its original release and now it has been supercharged in every possible way. Better grahpics wich means the characters looks less blockier and in 3d mode is a whole new experience that will keep you glued to the game until youre done. The sound is a flashback ride that will transform returning players from the previous release into a kid once again.
This game is a must buy for all 3ds owners and the main reason to buy a 3ds if you dont already have one.

THE BEST IT IS,IT WAS AND IT EVER EVER WILL BE!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Zelda Game Ever Remastered!!

posted by BPaige634 (WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This game is one of my favorite zelda games. When I heard that Nintendo was making a remake of this game to their new system I freaked! I am so happy the way this game looks now and I have to say it is great! The gameplay is amazing and the game itself will go down in history! GO ZELDA!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Well, the truth is....

posted by TweekTra (MILWAUKEE, WI) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

This game has been slightly (only very slightly) dumbed down. A good example is the water temples color coding. Other than that, the game was great. If the 3ds could lost that horrendous low contrast ghosting, the game would be great. Originally, I was going to beat master quest with only three hearts, then send it back for some lucky person to discover, but I think I'm going to keep it. 10 of 10, and looking forward to the release of Majora's Mask on the next 3ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is an amazing game

posted by FrankWest1998 (LAKEWOOD, CO) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina of time in 3D is an amazing game. The graphics and 3D is so much better and amazing. Gameplay is like the classic one, except you get a personal spot for you Ocarina. Collection still will make you scour the lands for Gold Skulletlas, Heart Pieces, Bigger Bomb Bags and more.

Plus, the story is still spot on and will keep you guessing throughout the game. Difficulty is not too easy, nor far too hard. So all in all, this is the best 3DS game yet, and a great addition to the Zelda franchise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by ryangroovy (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

What was considered by many to be the best game made is back, and better than ever!

The game has had it's Graphics updated, Motion Controls added, with a Boss Attack Mini-Game, all that, and an Directors Cut type of the game called, "Master's Quest", which is essentially a Mirror World, with the Dungeons wildly changed.

The Controls are just as smooth as they ever were, and even better in ways. You, instead of using the C-pad, can use the Touch-Screen!

The games Graphics are great, almost matching the Graphics of Twilight Princess. The 3D is also good, but it sometimes causes images to double-over, which can be annoying.

The Motion-Controls don't add much to the game, although it is a neat addition. You'll feel awesome if you pick off an enemy at a great distance with your Bow with the Motion-Controls on.

In the Boss-Attack Mini-Game, you go against almost each Boss of the game, but there's a catch; you have severely limited Health and Equipment. You can gain more by opening Treasure Chests, after defeating the Boss. However, you might end up with something useless.

All in all, this is the best all-around game on the 3DS so far, with tons of replayability value, great Graphics, smooth Controls, and an fairly good Story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

die hard

posted by ASAPossible (LEWIS CENTER, OH) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

i used to only care about mario but now from the moment i got the game i turned into a goron.giving a 9 in steadof 10 because 3d sometimes makes it hard to fight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

3D+Zelda=????

posted by BigBigPotato (ELWOOD, IN) Aug 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I have no words on for how good this game is end of story

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Ocarina of time

posted by ahmedsharif (VALLEY VILLAGE, CA) Jul 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

The bosses and story is so cool. I like when you play Saria's song and make a goron dance as much as you want as a kid

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games of all time, even better

posted by Blurgaschnrgit (MORRISVILLE, PA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

If you're a die-hard LOZ fan like me, you already have an idea of how fantastic this game is gonna be. But if your just starting to join the LOZ fan club, this game will convert you into a beiliver.

Though a 100% remake of the gamecube version, this game transfers amazingly to the groundbreaking 3D console.

Graphics: There really is no point in talking about graphics. On a scale from 1-10, they get an 11. O-MAZ-ING.

Gameplay: The digital world of Hyrule transferred greatly on to the 3ds and so does the controls. The touch screens serves as a menu and the top screen is where everything is seen. Between bosses and normal enemies it all works. Nothing is to hard or to easy. Gameplay is not a problem when it comes to this game

With tons of side-quests and hidden items, the only complaint I have with this game is lack of replay value. Not that it matters, for once you finish, simply send it back.

In conclusion, rent this game. You'll get a good days worth of play out of it and it will be one of the best games you've ever played, whether you're a big LOZ fan or a casual gamer.

RENT THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Its everything I remember!

posted by Thecrowghs (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

All i can say that this game is the best! Just like i remembered it the temples, the music everything. I didn't know if it would be different on the 3DS but its awesome. You have to love the ocarina even playing out your custom tunes on it like the simpsons theme lol. To tell you the truth the music in this game is what really brings memories back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greate Fun and Adventure

posted by bobgamer1 (LAND O LAKES, FL) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This 3DS game is one of the best RPG I have played in a long time. It has fantastic 3D graphics, great gameplay, and just all-a-round Fun! A must play!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GET IT, BUY IT, RENT IT, PLAY IT !!

posted by SaigoNoGetsugaT (SANTA ROSA, CA) Jul 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Have it for my Wii and this game has to be the BEST ! Legend Of Zelda EVER MADE ! Love this game with everything, the weapon system , the battle system, dungeons A LOT A LOT of stuff to do, Highly recommended, The story line is the best and I collected every single Gold Skulltula there's in the game + the upgrades, if you a fan of Link this is the game you have to play ! 10 out 0f 10 5 STARS review

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game of all time gets even better.

posted by LotusTyger (CHARLOTTE, NC) Jul 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

When Nintendo announced that they were going to completely rebuild The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time for the 3DS, I was a little bit worried because I truly didn't believe the 3DS was powerful enough to put that much information on the screen at one time with no lag.

I was completely and utterly wrong when I thought this. Its hard to describe this game without saying "Wow", "Beautiful" or "Brilliant", and that's before you turn the 3D effect on. But when you do turn it on, (especially for the cut-scenes) it brings the game to life. So much so, that some points in the game I actually wanted to reach out and pick up something through the screen. If you have played the original on the N64, you'd appreciate the better graphics the most.

But other than the better look, they didn't really mess with the game that much. Everything in the original game was put in the new one. One of the additions that your going to notice the most is the inventory system. Everything is very easy to access with a few taps on the touch screen. There are 4 slots that you can put your items in, two are designated to a button (x and y) and the other two work just like hotkeys.

Also, they added a gyro system for the Hookshot, Bow and Arrows, and Slingshot. So instead of moving them around with the C-pad, you can move the 3ds itself. I found it rather helpful in some areas, but i do recommend turning down/off the 3d effect while doing this, it will mess with your eyes a lil bit.

Add all of this together with the Master Quest, which is pretty much a second game all by itself, and the Boss Challenges and you get "Wow what a Beautiful game, everything about this is Brilliant". Great Job Nintendo. I can't wait to see a completely new Legend of Zelda for the 3ds, especially if it looks and plays as well as this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best 3ds game

posted by Grayconnor (AVONDALE, AZ) Jul 13, 2011

Member since May 2011

It is the best by far it is long and multiple playthrough worthy it is more then just a port they added a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just as good as the original

posted by Mario11168 (RIO RANCHO, NM) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

I never had a chance to beat the N64 version, so I was incredibly excited to get this game. Once I did, I can't believe what I was missing.

The controls are amazing with the analog stick on the 3DS, the touch screen makes so many things easier, and the entire game is just smooth. No lag, no slow downs, no frame drops, perfect.

The 3D is darn near perfect. After playing this game for 3 hours straight on full 3D effect, I had no eyestrain and even forgot the 3D was on. The enhanced graphics and textures just make it that much better, and when you look through the 3D screen and see Kokiri Forest... omg. There were some parts where leaves and other flat graphics would cause strain on your eyes, but they're far and few between. Besides, turn off the 3D if that bothers you TOO much.

The sound is just clean and crisp, the music when you play the Ocarina is unbelievably good.

If, for whatever reason, you haven't played this game before, you're missing out. If you have, it's a great remake to be able to take wherever you want (long plane or car rides, for example).

For people claiming this is a port, you should really take the time to do some research and smarten up before making false claims.

Don't forget, there's a Master Quest after you beat it normally. Although, I have to say, the Water Temple was nowhere near as hard as I've heard it was...

This game does a great job of bringing back all those memories when you would sit in front of the old tube TV and use the old N64 controller to control Link through the land of Hyrule. Everything is darn near perfect in this game, and the ability of being able to take it wherever you want just adds to that. I give this game a 9.8 out of 10, and imagine I'll be playing it for a very, very long time. If you haven't played this game, get it right now, you won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by pokemonmaster (REDDING, CA) Jul 2, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Ok I first played this game on the N64 and it was the best game ever!!!!!!! It was the first game I got from point a to point b and I was so happy when I herd that it was going to be on the 3DS.Then I was on of the first to get it on game fly and beat it in 4 days! on flaws. best game ever. buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse