Rent Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D

Rent

Keep for: $29.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

2583 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolutely Great Game

posted by Netman (MEDIAPOLIS, IA) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

To start off this review, let me say that this game was the reason I wanted to get a 3DS. I absolutely love the Zelda series and Ocarina of Time is absolutely hands down my favorite Zelda game, and on my list of favorite games of all time. This remake on the 3DS does not disappoint, at all. When I first got this game it was about...1am so I only played it for about an hour. The next day, I played for about eight or nine hours, this game it just that good and that engrossing. Also, the 3D is very nice in this game. I don't usually play with the 3D on full for this game, but for me it's just not needed. I can still easily see the 3D effect and it looks amazing. Also, the remastered graphics are better than anybody, myself included, could have ever hoped for.

An overview:

Graphics: 10/10 Simply put these graphics are stunning. The 3D works perfectly and the graphics themselves, 3D or not, look amazing.

Story: 10/10 This game's story is great. Its deep, and it draws you in from moment one.

Gameplay: 8/10 Plays great. Gyroscopic aiming for weapons like the bow and the slingshot works very well, but 3D will blur up when you tilt the system to use the gyroscope.

Final comments: Rent this game or buy it asap. It is a must have, and I'm a person who rarely, if ever, calls a game a must have. I have had it for over a month, have beaten it repeatedly, and still play it today.

Final Score: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Masterpiece

posted by Cykke (AKRON, OH) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

21 out of 24 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This is a fantastic game that is deserving a play of any Nintendo 3DS owner.

The 3D graphics are an amazing accomplishment and do this game such justice, showing off the incredible fully realized world and it just gets better with the new-and-improved graphics.

The gameplay is unchanged, and always, fantastic.

It is truly a legend among gamers and deserves nothing less than the full respect of any 3DS gamer!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nostalgic!

posted by FluffosaurusRex (LITHIA, FL) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

15 out of 17 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

One word can describe this game, wow.

This game brings me back to when I was very young playing a borrowed version of Ocarina the N64. Hearing the classic scores such as Saria's song in the lost woods took me back to a different time.

The 3D in this game is eye popping the only problem is that it can be a little much after a while.

The enemies, environment, Link, everything has been revamped in a higher resolution but maintains that "Classic" feel that the original had.

The sound effects are still all there and they catch your ear just like they used to.

Even though I haven't finished the game yet I know about Master Quest mode which sounds very interesting and I will be giving this a try.

A must have for any Legend of Zelda fan, and a absolute must have for any 3DS owner.

I wish I could shell out the money to buy this fantastic game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest video game of all is now in 3D!

posted by MaleficusLues (MARLBORO, NY) Jun 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

It is the remake of the classic. The graphics are tweaked so they aren't blocky, but other than that the game is exactly like the original. Basic rule, if it ain't broke, don't fix it. This is a game you will spend a hundred hours easy on. The gameplay is fantastic, the controls are awesome, and the story, if you live in a cave and don't know it, is monumental. It is like I am ten years old again playing this game. There a little bit of easter eggs in this one, that are different from the previous easter eggs. What is great is once you beat the game, Master Quest unlocks, a more difficult version that came with the Wind Waker preorder from a couple years ago.

This game is worth buying a 3DS for alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Freaking Awesome Must Get

posted by cutoverSCORPION (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i love the legend of Zelda Games they are the best games i think its cool that they have it for the 3ds but i think they should have Majouras Mask for 3ds now because that is my second favorite Zelda game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A very great game!!!

posted by reddilonis (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun. And has very few cons and tons of pros. The game was smooth and challenging (most games I could beat in one to two days). I plan to take on master quest. This is a must have for anyone looking for challenge.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Yet

posted by javaladez90 (RIVERBANK, CA) Jun 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The Remake of this game was way better than i expected. The N64 version is still amazing, but this version takes the cake. Same gameplay with even better graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC

posted by MJBMAN1091 (ATHENS, GA) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

7 out of 13 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

Well as the best game of all time heads to the 3ds..many were curious if Nintendo would ruin the magic... THEY DID NOT.. its PERFECT!

10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EPIC. NUFF SAID.

posted by RanchPizza (LEHIGH ACRES, FL) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I love Zelda titles and always will. Shigeru Miyamoto (creator) is a genius and i hope he lives a long life. (and makes more games!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

B E S T G A M E E V E R

posted by Jesse515 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the best game i've ever seen. Oh man, the story MAN THE STORY THE STORY THE STORY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Takes Me Back

posted by element04 (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I remember staying up until 3 A.M. playing this game on my old Nintendo 64. I loved this game so much I actually still have my old Nintendo 64 and I still play it. Now its on the Nintendo 3DS. I get the old fashioned game that I loved so much when I was a kid and with buffed up graphics and gameplay. I wish Nintendo would bring back more classic games like this to the modern consoles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nostalgia in the best form.

posted by Barbaro (BRYANT, AR) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having just beat Ocarina of Time, I can honestly say, this is the best remake/port I have ever seen. It was already a sell for me because I absolutely loved Ocarina of Time on the N64 but, they added new things and remastered it perfectly.

I have absolutely NO complaints besides the fact that you lose the 3D effect when you shoot the slingshot with gyroscope, seems like a flaw to me.

However, my positives of this game are endless. The story is well, amazing. It's the best story of any Zelda game hands down. Infact it's one of the best stories I have seen in a game.

The gameplay is flawless, and there is so much to do you will easily spend 30 hours on this game. EASILY. That's without doing all the extra stuff and collecting hearts and gold tokens. The combat is smooth, and the dungeons are the masterpiece of what is Zelda. Water temple though, still a PAIN IN THE BUTT. However, they do assist you with the map on the lower screen.

Which brings me to my next point. The lower screen alone makes me wonder what kind of possibilities games have that used to be a hassle. Going through the menus on the old version was a pain and got old very quick. Even playing the Ocarina got old, however with the bottom screen all the info you need is RIGHT THERE. It's something you will love.

Graphics wise this is once again the best I've seen on the 3DS, the 3D is completely worth it. I advise you play this in 3D unlike some you should play a little. Take a break because the 3D makes the game have much more depth and immersion.

Overall, this isn't a rent. It's a BUY. Considering you will have this game for a while especially if you are a first timer. You will want to buy this. Especially since there is a master quest mode.

10/10 in every aspect especially when it comes to a portable console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

6 out of 5 stars

posted by doctorw (ATHENS, TX) Jul 18, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The orignal was veiwed by many as THE greatest video-game ever made, and stayed that way for years. But it was lost to time. This game, this 3D, wonderful game, has brought the greatest video-game ever made back from the dead. GOD BLESS NINTENDO!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zelda

posted by evilraiden (FREEHOLD, NY) Jun 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've owned this game for roughly 4 days and have pumped 20 hours of game play into it. This of course includes getting all items in the original then starting master quest which is a whole nother game in itself. The puzzles are excellent and the game is great. 10/10
P.S watch for cows in walls...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

(Almost) Flawless

posted by Narutofan123 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game has really improved the graphics, and everthing has been remastered with justice, my one complaint is that......when you learn a new song on the ocarina, and the lights flash, the songs doesn't continue after you play the last note on the ocarina. It used to send goosebumps down my spine when the music picked up and the whole song played, why is it cut off?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOZ OoT Remake is GREAT!!

posted by DevinR (EFFINGHAM, IL) Jun 19, 2011

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OoT remake from the 1998 version is done superb. The 3d effect is amazing, the graphics are beautiful (with the original look), and the whole button layout couldn't be better. If you have never played OoT before or you are even an OoT veteran this is a must play.
Once you beat the game you unlock the maters quest (which is a mirrored version of the game with all the temples redesigned). Not only that they added the boss mode. The boss mode is a challenge where you must defeat all the bosses one after another.
Just like the classic the storyline is one of the best out of any game. The quest is long, full of puzzles, bosses, and interesting characters. If you have never played a Legend of Zelda game this is the perfect game to start the series. At the moment it is the beginning of the LoZ storyline and its the best rated LoZ game out. A must play game!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game to Rent....Then Buy

posted by review1899 (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You should totally buy or rent this game because it has a great story and also great gameplay. Although it can be frustrating at times it is still a great game and you will probably get around those hard and frustrating parts

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ITS AMAZING

posted by york78 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Jun 21, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

ITS AMAZING

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by surfnshan (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This one is a BUY. It's awesome! By far one of the best 3DS games available. The 3D is great, the colors are rich and the storyline is unsurpassed. You'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Legend of Zelda OOT 3D (The Nightmare veiw)

posted by NightmareXIV (RIVERTON, UT) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The Legend of Zelda ocarina of Time was amazing, but now they decided to make some changes to the game. with Revamped graphics, fast paced adventure with each moment chasing after the other like heartbeats, and best of all the triforce. Plus with the new hint movies things are simpler. When you get in a pinch in a dungeon use Forone's Wind to place a warp point then go find the Shekiah stone in the Temple of Time.

"Order today, and check some of my other reveiws"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Legend of Awesomeness Ocarina of Time

posted by XxslayerxX (CLIFTON PARK, NY) Jun 19, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Best N64 game now on a hand held in 3D!!! Great! during this summer guess what ill be playing not COD, not monster hunter, not mario, not halo, not naruto, not well i think you get it, ill be playin Zelda. if you never played this game before than you will really enjoy it.
STORY
For those who dont know the story its about a kid named Link. He 1st has to save a tree. (I forget his name :P)and then you go see zelda she thinks ganon is bad so you do what she tells you and then ganon is after Zelda! Oh No what now well she throws you the Ocarina of Time and you go nto the Temple of time and get the master sword then you turn into an adult and you do more Quests through dungeons getting hearts, rupees and the pleasure of slashin things ya know? And find out the Legend of Zelda.
The only thing i dont look forward to doing is the Water Temple ugg. This game also has a great sound track! Listen to it on youtube and put it on a cd or ipod. Hope you will get this game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Been there done that

posted by Slammer612 (LUNA PIER, MI) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2005

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

If you have the N64 version (like I do), you might get a kick out of the masters quest. Boss battle mode is meh at best

If you have the Windwakers collectors version (like I do) you will get nothing but a paint job on this game vs that one for 40 more bucks. I cannot recommend this game for you.

If you have the Wii version which is an exact copy of the N64 one see the N64 version response.

Do not get me wrong, I think OoT was a great game. However, I think it is a little too much milking of the same game for myself to want to repurchase. (If you got all the versions you spent already and getting this you are over 100 bucks for this game), and the sales for this game shows that quite a few people agree.

It did not lift sales of the 3ds like they thought (just like starfox 64 again.. how about a new game or have they ran out of ideas for their games now). I would prefer them concentrate on new IPs and not rehashes of the exact same game they have given us 3x already.

I might be marked down on this review since I choose not to go with the norm and blindly score a game 10. It was a 10 back on the original release. I gave it a 5 because it is an average game for someone like me who has beaten it multiple times on different platforms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good graphics for such an old game...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Dec 10, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Graphics wise this game is pretty phenominal. It make really good use of the 3d graphics, so from a simple graphics perspective it is a great game..
But.. It is a OLD game, so nothing is really new beyond
the 3D perspective.. You can play the original game or you can play the master quest.. Master quest is proof that you can make a hard game without have a defective camera(So the People at FROM Software should pay attention to Nintendo, because Nintendo has experience in this field).. Yes, Dark Souls I am talking about you! Still, though if you already have this game for either the 64 or Gamecube you might not see much too benefit to owning it, beyond the portability option... So it is your call.. I rate the game a 4 only because I already have it for the gamecube.. But I could also give it a 6 as well for quality, but the painful lack of combat development variety options which has hounded the Zelda series also makes this a basic game at best even with the 3D function.. Well, remember to try before you buy! then again maybe a 5 is more fitting..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Old, bland, and boring remake

posted by akimbotimbo (COSTA MESA, CA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 108 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

So disappointed in Nintendo for remaking this game for the 3rd time. This version still looks poor and has wonky controls. I don't even recommend wasting a spot in your gameQ for this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same exact thing as the N64 version.

posted by Taco_Human (REVERE, MA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

If you never played this before, go for it. It's great. If you already played the 64 version to death like me, it's not worth buying at all. Yeah the graphics are pretty, but it feels just slightly different from it. I'd stick to the 64 version for 10 bucks on the Virtual Console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse