Rent Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
8.8

2643 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Confusing

posted by robocop6 (OWASSO, OK) Jul 21, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

The game was so confusing and I couldnt find my way out of the forest. I could not find my way anywhere around the forest it was just so confusing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Old, bland, and boring remake

posted by akimbotimbo (COSTA MESA, CA) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 108 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

So disappointed in Nintendo for remaking this game for the 3rd time. This version still looks poor and has wonky controls. I don't even recommend wasting a spot in your gameQ for this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Couldn't get into it

posted by treywar25 (FREMONT, OH) Dec 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

Great visuals and easy controls(you can turn gyroscopic aiming off) but I just couldn't get into it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good graphics for such an old game...

posted by greg137 (CALDWELL, ID) Dec 10, 2011

Member since May 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Graphics wise this game is pretty phenominal. It make really good use of the 3d graphics, so from a simple graphics perspective it is a great game..
But.. It is a OLD game, so nothing is really new beyond
the 3D perspective.. You can play the original game or you can play the master quest.. Master quest is proof that you can make a hard game without have a defective camera(So the People at FROM Software should pay attention to Nintendo, because Nintendo has experience in this field).. Yes, Dark Souls I am talking about you! Still, though if you already have this game for either the 64 or Gamecube you might not see much too benefit to owning it, beyond the portability option... So it is your call.. I rate the game a 4 only because I already have it for the gamecube.. But I could also give it a 6 as well for quality, but the painful lack of combat development variety options which has hounded the Zelda series also makes this a basic game at best even with the 3D function.. Well, remember to try before you buy! then again maybe a 5 is more fitting..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Been there done that

posted by Slammer612 (LUNA PIER, MI) Aug 26, 2011

Member since May 2005

3 out of 16 gamers (19%) found this review helpful

If you have the N64 version (like I do), you might get a kick out of the masters quest. Boss battle mode is meh at best

If you have the Windwakers collectors version (like I do) you will get nothing but a paint job on this game vs that one for 40 more bucks. I cannot recommend this game for you.

If you have the Wii version which is an exact copy of the N64 one see the N64 version response.

Do not get me wrong, I think OoT was a great game. However, I think it is a little too much milking of the same game for myself to want to repurchase. (If you got all the versions you spent already and getting this you are over 100 bucks for this game), and the sales for this game shows that quite a few people agree.

It did not lift sales of the 3ds like they thought (just like starfox 64 again.. how about a new game or have they ran out of ideas for their games now). I would prefer them concentrate on new IPs and not rehashes of the exact same game they have given us 3x already.

I might be marked down on this review since I choose not to go with the norm and blindly score a game 10. It was a 10 back on the original release. I gave it a 5 because it is an average game for someone like me who has beaten it multiple times on different platforms.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh

posted by jayprime (BOYES HOT SPRINGS, CA) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

I loved the game when it came out on the Game Cube. But even with it being remade perfectly for the 3DS I just couldn't get into this type of game on such a small screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good game

posted by Dragonite56 (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

The game is suitable for its name in popularity. Links quest to save Zelda and defeat the mighty Ganon is one to experience. I do, however feel that the game's title can just be a bit overrated. Even though it's known for being the best puzzle game, some of the puzzles within the game can be a bit cheap and misleading. The misleading gameplay can be struggling, and will drive you to look up a bit of a few walkthroughs and tutorials. All that on the side, the game is fine, the story is one of the best I've seen, and the atmosphere is amazing. The game's title might have been just a little bit exaggerated, but I would recommend this game to those who definitely like puzzles and an adventure to behold.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same exact thing as the N64 version.

posted by Taco_Human (REVERE, MA) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

If you never played this before, go for it. It's great. If you already played the 64 version to death like me, it's not worth buying at all. Yeah the graphics are pretty, but it feels just slightly different from it. I'd stick to the 64 version for 10 bucks on the Virtual Console.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

truly epic X10

posted by sonic1991 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

Its a very great game the only problem is that some how the running man is able to beat you even if you use cheats that has you get there in 00,00,000 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

B E S T G A M E E V E R

posted by Jesse515 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the best game i've ever seen. Oh man, the story MAN THE STORY THE STORY THE STORY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best for 3ds

posted by antwontwiz (DORCHESTER CENTER, MA) Jan 8, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2011

had it for N64, great adventure! never finish it! the 3ds version has more add on and gyro scope function! + 3d graphics blow ya mind away! nintendo knows what they doing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Must Have for both New and Old Zelda Fans.

posted by shyguy978 (CORONA, CA) Sep 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

As the title is, this is one of Link's best titles remastered in 3D. The graphics really take the capabilities of the 3DS, and I was amazed at how crisp the landscape was. Fortunately, it still obtains that nostalgic feeling when playing. Nothing really new at all, except for the addition of using the gyroscope for first person viewing, Hint Movies, replaying bosses, and
the addition of the Master Quest (previously only for people who pre-ordered Wind Waker.). But even if it is a port, this is a key title for the 3DS and a must have for your library.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda Ocarina Of time 3ds

posted by Captain_Crunch1 (QUINCY, MA) Aug 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Plays Just Like The N64 Version but Looks A Bit Better And Controls work rather Nicely..Young Link On His Quests,Lots Of Puzzles To Solve Cool Bosses..some Cool Equipment,Same Zelda we all Love..This game isnt short at all lots to do..Lots Of Thinking Involved,Anyway Id Definitely Buy It Its Worth It..But If U cant Afford It Just Rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by mjt2416 (DETROIT, MI) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

The adventures were fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by apol945 (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

To start off, I had bought a 3DS and this was definitely a game to have in my collection. I had never played the entire game, but I've always wanted to since it was the best Zelda game that ever released. This was a great remake of the amazing, original Zelda: Ocarina Of Time. I would definitely recommend getting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

3D effeects a plus

posted by CaStFuLLdayS (ARLINGTON, VA) Jan 5, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Playtime: 1hr

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Absolutely Great Game

posted by Netman (MEDIAPOLIS, IA) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

18 out of 19 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

To start off this review, let me say that this game was the reason I wanted to get a 3DS. I absolutely love the Zelda series and Ocarina of Time is absolutely hands down my favorite Zelda game, and on my list of favorite games of all time. This remake on the 3DS does not disappoint, at all. When I first got this game it was about...1am so I only played it for about an hour. The next day, I played for about eight or nine hours, this game it just that good and that engrossing. Also, the 3D is very nice in this game. I don't usually play with the 3D on full for this game, but for me it's just not needed. I can still easily see the 3D effect and it looks amazing. Also, the remastered graphics are better than anybody, myself included, could have ever hoped for.

An overview:

Graphics: 10/10 Simply put these graphics are stunning. The 3D works perfectly and the graphics themselves, 3D or not, look amazing.

Story: 10/10 This game's story is great. Its deep, and it draws you in from moment one.

Gameplay: 8/10 Plays great. Gyroscopic aiming for weapons like the bow and the slingshot works very well, but 3D will blur up when you tilt the system to use the gyroscope.

Final comments: Rent this game or buy it asap. It is a must have, and I'm a person who rarely, if ever, calls a game a must have. I have had it for over a month, have beaten it repeatedly, and still play it today.

Final Score: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

the quick review.

posted by Rlmm24 (KILLEEN, TX) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

i'll keep this one short and sweet if u haven't played the nintendo 64 version of the game then this will be a new experience for you but for the people that have you'll love the new visuals they added along with moving the 3d effect slider in and out on certain areas ( im looking at you bongo bongo and shadow temple) other then that great game overall like the original and if your not happy with the first play through u can replay the game in its awesomeness via master quest. were everything is re-done.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent

posted by ryangroovy (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Aug 15, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

What was considered by many to be the best game made is back, and better than ever!

The game has had it's Graphics updated, Motion Controls added, with a Boss Attack Mini-Game, all that, and an Directors Cut type of the game called, "Master's Quest", which is essentially a Mirror World, with the Dungeons wildly changed.

The Controls are just as smooth as they ever were, and even better in ways. You, instead of using the C-pad, can use the Touch-Screen!

The games Graphics are great, almost matching the Graphics of Twilight Princess. The 3D is also good, but it sometimes causes images to double-over, which can be annoying.

The Motion-Controls don't add much to the game, although it is a neat addition. You'll feel awesome if you pick off an enemy at a great distance with your Bow with the Motion-Controls on.

In the Boss-Attack Mini-Game, you go against almost each Boss of the game, but there's a catch; you have severely limited Health and Equipment. You can gain more by opening Treasure Chests, after defeating the Boss. However, you might end up with something useless.

All in all, this is the best all-around game on the 3DS so far, with tons of replayability value, great Graphics, smooth Controls, and an fairly good Story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

die hard

posted by ASAPossible (LEWIS CENTER, OH) Aug 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

i used to only care about mario but now from the moment i got the game i turned into a goron.giving a 9 in steadof 10 because 3d sometimes makes it hard to fight

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by surfnshan (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Jul 29, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This one is a BUY. It's awesome! By far one of the best 3DS games available. The 3D is great, the colors are rich and the storyline is unsurpassed. You'll love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game Ever

posted by Villalta (BURBANK, CA) Nov 5, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

Everthing about the game is to good to be real i never really like aventure game but This game changen my mine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ocarina of Awesome

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Sep 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2010

"Ocarina of Time" is already the best Zelda game ever. (Don't even try to tell me that "Twilight Princess" or "Skyward Sword" are better, or I swear I'll find a way to get the IRS to audit you.) In most ways (not quite all ways, but most ways), this handheld remake is even better than the original N64 version. The graphics are beautiful, the text speed is greatly increased, the Iron Boots can be toggled on and off by an item button now, and Nintendo threw in the Master Quest and a 'boss rush' mode for good measure. And I know that everyone and his brother hates gyroscopic motion controls, but, in this game, complimenting your aiming with a bit of movement actually makes for much greater accuracy.

"Ocarina of Time" is definitely worth experiencing in its original form on N64 or Virtual Console. After you've done that, however, you should definitely add this beefed-up version to your collection.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Classic Reborn

posted by SonyKL (CHANDLER, AZ) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For the longest time, I was convinced that OoT was the greatest game ever made. From the very beginning of meeting your fairy companion to the final showdown with your archenemy, the game was something that kept my interest from start to finish, and made me really connect with the main character. Most of us wish that we could be a hero destined to save an entire civilization, and this game gives you the opportunity to act and satisfy that desire.

While I do feel that the impact the game had in 1998 was the strongest, the 3DS version does not disappoint in any way. This was the first game that I ever played on the 3DS, and it is easily my favorite. OoT was meant to be played, and now you have the ability to do so with so many new features that not only make the game more convenient to play, but just as accessible as it was on the Nintendo 64.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by DatOneZelda (GALLOWAY, OH) Jul 5, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

This is my favorite game of all time. Someday I will tell my children about this game and they might play it too and maybe love it just as much as I do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse