Rent Legend of Zelda: Minish Cap for GBA
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Minish Cap

Not Rentable
GF Rating
8.5

1439 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Link Shrinks!

posted by Jaxxor (DENVER, CO) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

22 out of 22 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had read some surprisingly good reviews of this game, so I decided to check it out through Gamefly. GBA games rarely score very well, so when G.I. listed it in their Top 50 for 2005, I was intrigued.
The game showed up in the mail. I opened it up, started a new game, and played through the 1st little dungeon. I turned off the GBA, put the game back in the Gamefly Case, mailed it off, drove to the store, and bought this game.
Legend of Zelda: Minish Cap is one of the best games I have ever played for the GBA, hands down. It is a must-own for GBA fans. An exciting premise, solid controls, and decent graphics help out a game that seamlessly blends our favorite parts of all the Zelda games into a new, pocket-sized experience that feels niether compromised nor overwhelming. Great musical melodies from "Ocarina of Time" and "Majora's Mask" make you feel like you're really back in Hyrule, while a return to the top-down view brings back nostalgic memories of the SNES. Add in that puff of purple and black smoke when you defeat an enemy (from "Wind Waker"), and you have deceptively simple areas looking graphically stunning.
As my review title states, the big part of this game is the ability to shrink yourself to a "Honey I Shrunk the Kids" 3/4 inches high. This means every level/area is actually 2 areas: A normal-sized one and a miniature one, each with its own challenges and objectives. This makes exploration and searching for hidden/secret items an endless source of recreation.
In fact, the need to play through every area twice (and sometimes more) to progress through the game is 1 of only 3 sources of frustration here. Second on that list would be a lack of buttons. Capcom did a great job, but GBA has so few buttons that you have to stop and reassign items a little too often. Finally, the kinstone idea is cool (get a kinstone, match it to an NPC, trigger event, get treasure), but when the treasure is another kinstone, you feel a little gipped.
Bottom Line: Buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game for female fans of link.

posted by Jennger (LAS VEGAS, NV) May 17, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I don't know about the guys who like link, but I do know that myself and a few of my friends loved this game!

I played it nonstop after I rented it, even when my husband and I would go out to eat. ;)

This game is great because it has an aspect from every previous Legend of Zelda Game. But if I hadn't played the previous Zelda games I still think it would have been just as great.

It was easy to learn the controls, great graphics compared to other gameboy games I've played and the story itself was good.

I think the only thing I was disappointed about was that it was over so quick. ;)

I highly recommend this to any person who is looking for a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Could be one of my favorite Zelda games!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 15, 2006

Member since Aug 2003

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Every Zelda game that has come out, I've loved! I've played them all! (except the Sega CD versions...) When this came out, it was even BETTER than I thought it would be...

Graphics
Very, very nice for GBA. I was impressed. It has a Windwaker style to it, like when you defeat an enemy, a puff of purple smoke takes their place.

Sound
I love the music in this game. It's suited perfectly for Zelda.

Gameplay
Once again, I was impressed by how much fun a one-inch cartridge brought me. It's just so much fun. Going to dungeons, and finding power-ups. And the story is really good. It's not the best story ever, but it's basic Zelda story. Also, the new power-ups are a really nice addition ;) I'll just leave them up to you to find out what they do, or you probably already know, or you'll probably go read what they do right now... And your little hat buddy, umm, what's his name again? Starts with an "E"... I forgot! Ohh, well, anyways, Mr.Talking Hat is the comic relief to this. I was surprised as to how many times I actually laughed at the dialogue in this game, thanks to Mr. Long Beak! ;)

Replay Value
One downside to this game is the length. I'd say it's about 15 hours, maybe a little longer. I don't know, it's been a while since I've played. But I've had the urge to want to play again and have since the year I've owned it. You probably won't start a new file right away, but you will eventually. However, one huge plus is collecting Kinstones. You collect a whole bunch of Kinstones and fuse them together with someone who has the other half in the game, which practically makes you talk to everyone you see. It's not required, but gets you some nice items, including heart containers! There are plenty in the game. Trust me. Also, there are secret items scattered through Hyrule like the mirror shield, and others...

So this game is a defenite buy. It's really fun! It's worth playing more than once, and is worth the money! Enjoy! ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Favorite Zelda game so far!

posted by charanajo (PUYALLUP, WA) Nov 9, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I have played every Zelda game, except for the one on Wii and the new one for the DS 3d. This one is my favorite. Zelda is #1 on my list of all times for video games, so I am a huge fan. This game was created years ago, but the graphics are awesome and game play is perfect! If you are a RPG fan, play this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A classic.

posted by wdog14 (FRANKFORT, KY) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Jul 2008

Zelda minish cap is a fantastic, fun game. I've played it well over five times and am not tired of it yet, and don't expect to be anytime soon.
Once you've defeated the main objective in the game (I.E, killed the final boss -Vaati- and saved Hyrule) you can still gather kinstones and fuse them with the multitude of characters in the game. Then, back-tracking, The bosses in this game were very fun to fight as you get to use that awesome new weapon you obtained in the dungeon you are in. And they made an effort not to let your older weapons go out of date, such as the light bow which makes using your bow a lot more fun to me. Over all, just renting this game would be a shame. So, even though this is 2011 I would say that this game still holds it's own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Another great Zelda Title

posted by vdrguy (ACTON, CA) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

If you are a fan of The Legend Of Zelda you need to play this game. evan though Capcom made this and not Nintendo is still plays like a classic zelda game

The story of this game is Princess Zelda is turned to stone (Sounds Familiar...Phantom Hourglass) and link must forge a picori sword to set her free.

The unique thing about this game is Link has the ability to shrink down to the size of a bug ant travel to new parts of the world (Think "Honey I Shrunk The Kids"). he travels through dungeons, gets cool items and fights cool bosses.

This game feels like a zelda game with lots of hidden areas to find and a lot of heart pieces to find (you find one every 5-10 minutes). the art style is similar to Wind Waker (Toon Link) but still looks good on the GBA.

Some things I noticed strange about this game compared to other zelda games is an odd System of unlocking hidden areas. throughout the game you find these Kinstones and you can fuse them with other people's Kinstones to make caves and chests appear. This is simple once you get the hang of it but if you forget about it you get stuck and there is no way to know what to do. The world map is also pretty small but mazelike so it seems bigger.

The only Bad part about this game Comes at the end when (SPOILERS) you are forced to fight three of the toughest enemies in the game right before you fight the end boss. The bad thing is that you're timed so if you take too long to dispatch them than its game over. This was very frustrating (It took about 10 tries to defeat them and only 2 for the final boss). This seems like a capcom thing as no other Zelda game times you during combat.

This Game is still a great addition to the Zelda Library and one of the overlooked Zelda Games. While it is not too Mind Blowing (There is this one cool part in the beginning with a barrel) it is still great fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best game ever

posted by bldoug1 (SELLERS, SC) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Nov 2006

the best game for G.B.A. is this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One word... Awesome

posted by adgpoke94 (JAY, FL) Jul 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

This game was amazing in all aspects: the gameplay, the story line, the graphics, everything! It held up to the old Zelda game habit of having plenty of cool and new gadgets, along with keeping some of the old favorites. The new sword skills were interesting as well, making you think of new and innovative ways of using them in combat, which ways a great break for all the Zelda fans who have grown tired of the old hold and spin technique. All in all, this game lives up to its predecessors in every way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Minish Cap

posted by necroX (ASTORIA, NY) Jun 8, 2009

Member since May 2009

This is a great game. Once you beat it, go get The Legend of Zelda the Four Swords for Gamecube. These two are related in story line!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by mastagears (LOUISVILLE, KY) Jun 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

One of the greatest zelda games there is. I would recomend it for anyone who loves the Zelda series. There is a huge adventure and the same elements of previous zelda games. not only that but Link can shrink, which is a great idea. The only problem with it is that it is way to short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I will try this game again.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) May 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

I bought it one time. I never really played it to long so I don't know much. I do know that Zelda (Younger in this game.) gives you shield or something like that. Does she give you the shield or do you give her the shield? Anyway and you shrink or something. And you get a hat with a bird face. ....(That doesn't sound right!) I think I should rent it again. I WILL! I had to give this game a five because I'm not sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

JUST ONE WORd

posted by MOBBSTARR (TORRANCE, CA) Apr 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

AWESOME, this game is just AWESOME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome game

posted by munchy560 (NEW PORTLAND, ME) Mar 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

i like it because it is hard and easy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Top 5 in the Zelda series!

posted by cinnamon97 (PEKIN, IL) Jun 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

wow...Wow!...WOW!!!

this is one of the best zelda games ever... EVER!!

~pros~

good graphics
good story line
awesome items to obtain
large world to explore

~cons~

may not know what to do next
difficult puzzles to solve

Over all this is an awesome game... 9 out of 10 =D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game!

posted by ykbane (PRINCETON, WV) Aug 18, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

This game is pretty cool. It's probably one of my favorites in the Legend of Zelda series. I like the graphics and how it was a little different than the other games. In my opinion, this is WAY better then Twilight Princess!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

kinda hard but good game

posted by werty485 (KATY, TX) Jul 24, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

this game is awesome.A lot of diffrent weapons.this game is a must rent!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Zelda hits a home run again!!!

posted by Reviewmon (SEA CLIFF, NY) Mar 16, 2007

Member since Jul 2004

I'm always a fan of zelda and this just proves how this series is one of the best franchises ever. The new thing in this game is that Link can shrink to become the size of a common field mouse and also you have a talking hat who helps you through your journeys.
The game play is simple using the main action buttons to attack and perform other actions. You still get different equipment and items like any of the other Legend of Zelda games.
I was very happy with this game because it met my expectations and all the reviews. I recommend this game to anyone who likes the Legend of Zelda games or who enjoys RPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Cool!

posted by woweee1 (WARWICK, NY) Feb 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I will play it. And i will win. So its cool!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LoZ Does It Again!

posted by GCDeluxe (PORT DEPOSIT, MD) Oct 11, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

LoZ: Minish Cap is in my point of view the best LoZ game ever made. It has stunning graphics (for the GBA, that is!), great music, and an awesome plot. I could barely put it down! The Kinstone process is awesome, if not hard to master. This game is great for those who love the LoZ series, or for those who want something new. It takes some brain power and puzzle solving, especially in the Temple of Droplets ;) . The only problem was that the bosses were TOO EASY! But that is just my opinion. You HAVE to try this game. Hopefully you will love it as much as me. LoZ has once again fully met my expectations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"DS game MUST HAVE"

posted by nicnik3 (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 17, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

U hvae to go out and buy this wonderful game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW

posted by DrPikachu (LEAGUE CITY, TX) Jun 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

This game was fun....really fun. It was pretty easy to me so i beat it pretty fast.And let me just tell you Vatti is a way cooler villan than ganondorf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Legend of Zelda:The Minish Cap

posted by Alejandro (ARLINGTON, VA) May 30, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

This game is awesome because I've played it before and there's this really cool part where you see these tree trunks or fungi. You go on them and you press the A button. After you press the A button you'll see a cut scene where Link is falling down, he bounces on a mushroom, and then another mushroom and then all of a sudden you see him tiny and then he walks out and then if you're not in the Minish world, you're really tiny and you can barely see him. But there's an arrow that's over your head and it points over your head and you see your face there and if you just want to get out, you have to get out Minnish world, go to that place where you turned into a Minish, push the A button and you turn back into a regular kid. That's the coolest part about The Legend of Zelda:The Minish Cap.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Link Shrinker

posted by Linkshrink (CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

This game is pretty good. It took me awhile to beat the final boss but i beat him. My fave boss was the very first boss. It was easy peasy lemon squeezy beating him. The four sword is the best sword in the game. I wish they made a seen where Link and Zelda get married.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must have for GBA

posted by Justy8 (BURBANK, CA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

There are not very many GBA titles that would have anyone wanting to buy it and play hours on end. However, any Zelda game on the GBA will. With Minish Cap it makes no exception. Link in back on a 2-D platform most gamers are familiar with. With Minish Cap you go through complex and fun dungeons and have the added mischief of smaller puzzles to find hidden areas and obtain smaller but important items.

The game play is typically great Zelda. The puzzles are challenging and the story is interesting and captivating. Collecting kinstone pieces is not a hassle and chore and can get fun to see who has the matching piece.

I highly recommend any GBA owner to at least rent this game. There is hours of game play to make you never wanting to put the game down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »