Rent Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures for GC
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Four Swords Adventures

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

1153 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Fun!

posted by Alfinator (VERMILION, OH) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is an excellent game but only a rental unless you have friends who have the GBA versions including yourself aswell. to unlock the full potential of the game you must play with friends. if you play by yourself you'll find hidden things you can only get to with friends as well as the game seems to get a bit boring as well.

replay value 4/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome game, a couple downsides though...

posted by HommyD (PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL) Nov 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. Its fun to play by yourself, but this game is definitely built to be played with friends. My girlfriend and I played through the entire game together and had a blast fighting over items and gems and whatnot. But I have one really really bad issue that caused me to give it a 7... there are two levels that you CANNOT beat in multiplayer mode! The Swamp and the Temple of Darkness. I don't understand why the entire game can be played with friends, and then all of a sudden you have to stop and beat these levels by yourself?! Lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Nothing Special... A good time passer, I guess.

posted by bathtime (ENNIS, MT) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This zelda game is much different from the others... This one, it's mostly the same thing EVERY. SINGLE. LEVEL. It gets dull. I was also kidna disapointed with the final bos.. Low replay value. Unless it's your goal to play all the zelda games, Don't put it at the top of your Q. RENT IT. DOn't buy right away!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

so so likin it

posted by jones33 (MESQUITE, TX) Sep 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm not to fond of this zelda game but the last zelda game that i had was cool. This one was just boring so i give this game a so so likin it in my veiw.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Zelda game, fun with multiple players

posted by pavia57 (ANTHONY, NM) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked this game, I had not heard anything about it previous to renting it. It is not as much fun as the others, I think it's because you really need more players. I want to rent it again when I have more time and more people can play with me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

legend of zelda:four swords adventure

posted by jatrei212 (WHITE HALL, MD) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Being one who had the "Link to the Past/Four Swords Adventure" game on the game boy advance, I was very sad to find out that you needed more that one of the game boy advances to play "Four swords". So when this game came out, I first thought that you needed at least 2 or more of the advances to play. i'm glad they made it able to play solo.

This game is a lot of fun. My son and I are big zelda fans, and this was very enjoyable for both of us. it was easy and yet very challenging at the same time.(if that made sense.)

I would recommend it to anyone, whether or not you like or even follow the zelda series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Decent Game To Play

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I thought that the old-school top down view of Four Swords was a refreshing experience of Zelda games in the past, but also a new adventure in terms of the unique places to go and the graphical presentation, which is a lot like that of the Wind Waker for the Gamecube. There are stages in this game, instead of just flat out free-roaming, but it is easy to get into that sort of gameplay quickly because you will be able to start afresh with collecting items that you didn't have a chance to collect in a previous stage. You'll feel a little better about not getting every single thing in a certain stage. I really liked the four player Link action, with or without multiplayer, because it adds a lot more stragety into the many puzzles you'll encounter through-out the game. Four Links(main characters)allow for more enemies and many more explosive battles, that ultimately leave you with a sense of accomplishment and bursts of beautiful color to your pupils.(that's awesome)If you have very sensitive eyes, I wouldn't recommend playing it because of it's frequent intense coloring. Not that easy on the eyes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Zelda Failed

posted by Nardan (ARLINGTON, MA) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After I read the manga of this game I could not wait to play it but after 2 hours of playing I was so appaled that I retered it without regret.

pros:
multiplayer
easy controles
formations of links

cons:
2-D grafics
Leviles insted of traviling
not much thinking (unlike other zelda games)
requires 2 GBAs to use multiplayer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME ROCKS!!!!!!!

posted by iGGy87 (BERLIN, PA) Jan 22, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This has got to be the best game ever. It's my favorite character finaly multiplayer! If you're on the wall about this, definetly try it! But i need to tell you about how dificult the Zelda series is. If it's too hard for you, remember that all of them are like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Four times a hero

posted by FelixFaust (ENFIELD, CT) Jan 18, 2009

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

In the follow up to "The legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past/ Four Swords" Trouble abounds when a shadowy Link clone wreaks havok in Hyrule. Thinking that Vaati has returned Link, Zelda and seven maidens pull the Four Sword and release Vaati, who is still sealed away. When Zelda and the maidens are taken captive Link and his Red, Purple and Blue counterparts Travel the kingdom deep in the grip of turmoil trying to restore order. As more and more maidens are rescued it is revealed that Vaati is merly a pawn in the larger mecaniations of Ganondorf, a member of the desert dwelling Gerudo Tribe who is in possession of a darkly powerful Trident. Weather by yourself or with three friends Four Swords Adventures is great fun, and a welcome addition to the Zelda franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

For young children and 'newbies' only.

posted by VoxVulgus (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 10, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Its the old school Zelda look and feel, which some people like, but now feels outdated and constricting. Action is extremely linear. And if you're not going to bother to connect multiple GBAs and play in teams, then the whole GBA sub-screen thing is just annoying. I'd recommend for young children and other relatively new game players who will have more fun with a simpler interface and less distraction in the challenges. Might be fun for older players who've never done teams before and want an easier intro to that style of playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What the!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by mnhilvers (VISALIA, CA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

In the origional release you needed 4 GBAs to play multi mode, sure thats good for spoiled rich kids, but what about those of us with a budget.
So when a YEAR later they re-release on the GC what is the only explanation for why they would remake it for a gamecube? Well the only answer any sane person would make that it was remade so that Zelda lovers could play 4 player without buying over 500 dollars worth of gear. BUT NOOOOO!!! The re release still requires you to have seperate Game boy Advances to play multi, a person could just buy a Gameboy player if they wanted that again. It should not have been like that and the fact that Nintiendo is doing this pisses me off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ZELDA 4 SWORDS

posted by sals (DAMASCUS, OR) May 17, 2013

Member since May 2013

Was a fun game to play and beat in 2 days I love me some Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I expected.

posted by Mr_Me09978 (HAMTRAMCK, MI) Mar 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

This game isnt what I really expected. I thought I would be able to play a multiplayer game with just the GC controllers; Boy was I wrong! Oh well. The gameplay is rather unique for one player and its pretty darn fun. :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Four Swords Adventures

posted by cookieman (GREENSBORO, NC) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

A wonderful game, old style Zelda, the way it should be. Fun game with the right amount of Zelda style puzzle solving. The only problem is that you don't actually acquire items and keep them in your inventory, you find them in each level and you can only carry one at a time. But yet and still, another great addition to the Legend of Zelda legacy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Should be, Zelda: A Wind Waker to the Past II

posted by MRAKUSH (NEW HAVEN, CT) Oct 15, 2007

Member since May 2007

I didn't think much of this game when I first rented it on Gamefly. I own all other Zelda games. I was expecting a game where it was all multiplayer, along with a short little one player game... NOT SO!

The one player game is a fantastic, well done game. Although it does stray slightly from the formula of other Zelda games in some areas, It keeps all the flair that previous 3/4 view Zelda games have; namely in the gameplay, sounds, and especially the MUSIC! Coming straight out of A Link to the Past (the greatest game of the 32 bit era, in my humble opinion), it includes music from the Light and Dark worlds, the dungeon music, and every sound effect that you know and love. The visual effect are from The Wind Waker series, a highly underated Zelda game.

OH, and the gameplay is pretty cool too. You control four links (if you are doing the single player like I am, no GBA for me). You can set them in different formations, and solve puzzles using all four of them, either working together to push/pull blocks, step on switches, or thwart Ganon's underlings.

Overall I had a great time with this game, maybe mostly because I thought so lowly of it to begin with. But at certain points in the game you feel like you are in a nicer version of A Link to the Past.
Great game, I would recommend renting if you are any type of Zelda fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very, Interesting game!

posted by jameshall4 (LAKE CITY, FL) Jul 23, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Now at first glance this game looks a lot like an old-school top down view zelda game. Well.... it is, but with a lot of subtle surprises that make the gameplay enriching, and fun. Now as the title insist, the game's premis is based around the fact that link the hero is split up into four. The game is very similer to Loz a link to the past. Witch makes sense seeing as how the original GBA version is paired with LOZ a link to the past. But the problem was you needed 3 other friends and 3 other link cables. SO nintendo brought us shallow and anti-social gamers the "four swords experience" Witch is delightful. this game is great for zelda fans, or people that are scared of todays 3d graphics. Now i'll admit that this game had its annoyances.
Like the fact that you can only use one weapon, and to switch you have to find another weapon. Also when u start a new level you are stripped of your force gems, and once again you must collect them and destroy the barriers.

On the finishing,the game is fun, but it might dissapoint hardcore zelda fans. But on the other hand it may not, i was not dissapointed, and i do consider myself a hardcore fan. But then again i wasn't expecting perfection from a GBA port.

Anyway its worth playing, or buying you decide.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

played more like a gameboy

posted by zeldakix17 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) May 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

it did great idea of hooking your gamboy too it but it's not nesisaree fun but I wanted a advancher not a gameboy game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An interesting twist

posted by Bonnie (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 26, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

I never saw this game coming. It has elements from The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker, and elements from the original Legend of Zelda, all mixed in with classic Zelda puzzles and action. Not only that, but they mixed in a 4-player
co-op, with mini-games to boot. The only flaw of this game is the fact that you need gameboy advances to play to play together, instead of the usual gamecube controllers. However, this is necessary for players to be able to enter caverns and other areas on their own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This one is an oldie.

posted by cfoodlover (PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FL) Dec 27, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

If you are a big Zelda fan and you have been playing them since the first Zelda adventure, then I think it would be a good idea to rent this game if you haven't already. Not recommended for people looking for amazing graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Pretty Bad.

posted by someone19 (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

i just dont understand gameplay great graphics fine but the having to use gameboys for multiplayer stinks. I mean thats just stupid. my rating dont rent it unless you have lots of friends with gba. not ds

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

its not that good

posted by papercut (LA CRESCENTA, CA) Sep 20, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

the graphics disappointed me and made me sad :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by simspet (ENFIELD, CT) Jul 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

It was a good LoZ game. but it wasn't the best. very easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »