Rent Legend of Zelda: Collector's Edition for GC
view large frontback

Legend of Zelda: Collector's Edition

Not Rentable
GF Rating
9.1

1987 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My favorite game ever!

posted by htcat33 (WENATCHEE, WA) Oct 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I am a Zelda fan so naturally I would love every game on this disk. But I thought this plan from Nintendo was fantastic. They put all the Zelda classics you can't find anymore on one disk for the gamecube.

All in all its a ten for sure. But I did have trouble figuring what to do on the older games, but I am a younger gamer and I love classics so I'm sure its fine. I personally would recommend this to anyone to rent. And everyone who is a fan of Zelda should definitely buy this game!
Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game, Minor Emulation Problems

posted by anonreview (Tallahassee, FL) Mar 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

I rented this to play Majora's Mask, but soon found that I couldn't resist playing the other games as well. The Zelda series is impeccable, but emulation flaws in this edition sometimes cause the games to lock up, so save often.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's just too fun to play this!

posted by gonzo3333 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 16, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

27 out of 31 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game is so fun. I rented it TWICE from gamefly. The only bad part is that it's really hard to get this game. They don't sell it in stores, and gamefly doesn't sell it. Sooooo good luck on ebay.

The games included in this game is the original The Legend of Zelda, then there's The Legend of Zelda II, then there's The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time, and The Legend of Zelda: Majoras Mask! All 4 are really good and too fun to play!

If you haven't played the orginal Zelda, then you haven't played Zelda. You have to know what this game is like. Sure, with all the new ones out, the "n00bs" are going to say it sucks, but the people with good taste will realize how good it is/was when it came out. It's very basic, really has no story. Just move around the map and go to dungeons. But it's much funner than it sounds.

Zelda II is completely different from the first. It's an adventure/RPG style game. You move around in a side-scrolling type style (except when on the map) and you talk to people in towns who give you hints and stuff like that. The music in this game is good, and this is where the Hyrule Temple song came from. It's a really strange Zelda game but lots of fun!

Ocarina of Time is pretty much known by everyone. This game is one of my favorite Zeldas. I used to play it all the time. You start out young, then travel 7 years into the future, and you're old. You ride the horse, blah blah blah. You know the story. But it's really fun! The dungeons are perfect in difficulty, making it moderate, but not too easy and not too hard! And there are plenty of towns!

Majora's Mask was one of the ones that had a really good story. You can collect masks, all which have a special power to it. And there are only 4 dungeons, but it takes a long while to get to them, and the dungeons are hard. You have a 3 day time limit until you go back in time. Which is plenty considering the fact that you can slow it down.

Good game. Defenitely rent it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

All Zeldas in One

posted by GameDudeAR (LAKE MARY, FL) May 2, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing it has The Origanal Legend of Zelda, Zelda II, Magora's Mask, and Orcarina of Time all in one! A must for all Zelda fans! The one down side to this game is that it only was obtainable by purchasing a GameCube at the Chirstmas of 2004, so now it is very hard to find. I was lucky and found a copy used at a EbGames for $50 but it was well worth it. Since it has 4 awesome games also Orcarina of Time which is supposedly Nintendo's Best Game ever made which I do agree with. Also this is not a good game to rent just because it will take many months to be and fully enjoy. So you should deffinitly get it just try to buy it at a EbGames, GameStop, or Ebay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Im a Zelda Freak, and this game rules

posted by SomeGuy1 (ST CHARLES, IL) Mar 14, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm a Zelda maniact. And i know what Zelda games are good and bad (most are good.) I beat evry one available out there. Of all Zelda games, this was the best. it had my 2 favorite zelda games, and ones i hadnt played in years. Besides games, It had other stuff like game previews, and stuff like that. The one thing they need is Master Quest and it would be all set. Even if you dont like zelda, get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost perfect

posted by kingkool (LARCHMONT, NY) Jul 14, 2009

Member since May 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

now im a zelda fan who has beaten every zelda game exept for spirit tracks. This game was great except for the most frustrating gitch ever on the water temple in Ocarina of Time. if you raise the water levelto the highest it can go before you get the longshot, it will literally be impossible to beat the game, and im not exagerating. i looked at 26 walkthroughs, and 17 cheat pages, but i could not find the answer. I had to start the game over again! Just a heads-up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

just a few words.

posted by ThyMayhem (HIALEAH, FL) Apr 2, 2008

Member since Apr 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I just wanted to say it rocks dude lol. i had to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

All the "classic" games in one.

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 14, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

(Like the title says.) I don't really know what the Nintendo ones are about but I have played Wind Waker, Phantom Hourglass, Twilight Princess, ???maybe Ocarina of Time??? So I didn't rent this game from here. I got the game from a video game store (I'm not gonna tell which one.) and I thought it was ok. But it had demos of the other old games. First I played Majoras Mask. That was about the weirdest thing ever! It started out with a scene of Link riding his horse then the next thing you know this skull kid thing knocked him off! Then his bag he was carring opened and the skull kid thing stole his ocarina!!! After a chase you learn the things name is Majora! He turns Links face into wood!!!! :) Imagine a wooden face. It sounds soothing....! ;0 NO IT'S NOT SOOTHING IT'S LIKE A NIGHTMARE! (He's not cool looking with a wooden face. With a wooden face he looks as uncool as Gary!) Anyway then the demo ended. :( I wanted to see if he would get his back. Anyway it also has a super nintendo Legend of Zelda game and a demo of Ocarina of Time. So enjoy having a hard time finding this game! :) (You will never be able to rent it!)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Marioruler (PERU, IL) Feb 5, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

LOZ Collector's Addition has all the great Zelda games except for Twilight Princess. I am HUGE LOZ fan. So take it from me, This game is the best LOZ game ever!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game ROCKS!!!!!!

posted by bigdog63 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Nov 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

What can i say other than AWSOME!!!! It has four games a demo and two short movies this is the ultimate game for zelda fans. it has the first two zelda games ever made and the first two on the N64 Console. My whole family loves this game even my dad plays this game and he hardly ever plays video games. So if a person that love's the first two zelda's they will play this game. and i didn't rent it i bought it. It's that good.

Play on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

review by a fan

posted by linklord (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 25, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Its not often when i am stunned about an old video game .Heck, its not often when i`m stunned about a new video game .But the legend of Zelda collectors edition has 4 count `em 4 excellent old games, and that`s not including a 20 minute playable demo of the legend of Zelda the wind waker (witch had yet to be released). If you also include the clip that`s a tribute to Zelda games, and that it came packed with a Gamecube, at almost no extra charge then you have the whole package . the games it has are the following: the legend of Zelda ,the game that started it all; the legend of Zelda, adventure of Link, a game that holds a dear place in many a gamers hearts;the legend of Zelda ocarina of time, witch along with the legend of Zelda twilight princess, the legend of Zelda phantom hourglass, and the legend of Zelda Majoras mask. speaking of witch; the legend of Zelda majoras mask, an overlooked gem. the only flaws i see are that theres some weird sound problem in majoras mask and ocarina of time from transferring the game from its original nintendo 64 version and the games have their original graphics despite the systems far more powerful hardware .but the sound problem you can hardly notice and the graphics give it a nostalgic feel . anyway this is a very solid game and a must for old school Zelda gamers who own a gamecube(or a wii)and are not sure about the wind waker or dont have access to an old console, or for people who missed these games the first time around .goodbye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

one of the best collections!!

posted by Greenlink (WALNUT CREEK, CA) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I played games liked them hated them get bored of them but you would think collecitions are a waste of money and you already have them for the other consoles.YOU ARE WRONG the reason why this is a great game is becuase it is has 4 different games of legend of zelda,your thinking this review is going nowhere but im getting to the point.Is the same exact games like on the consoles,but the gameplay is great on the gamecube has a nice feal didnt destroy the original games thy are nicely wrapped in one disc ready for you to play it the only thing it was missing was LTTP a link to the past if it had that game....I wont go on with that but all im saying if you ever see this for sale get it if your not sure just rent it from gamefly.I give Zelda best collection a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

zelda collectors edition

posted by sheik33 (VINCENNES, IN) Jun 25, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Zelda collectors edition is good if you do not any of the games on the disc. I have both nes games and the graphics are worse on the collectors edition. Buy it if you do not have any of the games on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"zeros got nothing on this"

posted by zerokilla1 (WEST SALEM, WI) Jul 10, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

meaning this game rocks its million times better than sonic riders i give this game 100000% rating
on the best games ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Majoras Mask

posted by mackado (HARTSELLE, AL) Oct 14, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This review is for majoras mask only.If i had to pick one word to decribe majoras mask it would be perfect. one thing ruined the game for me.To figure out google majoras mask BEN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good original game

posted by mario5000 (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

Legend of Zelda Collectors Edition is a fun and original game for those who remember back in the 1980's. My personal favorite is Majora's Mask (always love finding those masks). Get this game if you like Zelda.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A zelda fan's dream come true

posted by pickle962 (WALKER, LA) Jan 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

This is quite the package. Four great zelda games in one. What more could you ask for? Although nowadays you can just buy these on virtual console, why bother?

Pros:

Four classic zelda titles all on the same disc.

Each is fun to play.

Has Ocarina of Time included

Each provide a good challenge

Cons:

You might find yourself a little lost at times unless you look up hints online.

Zelda II, while it's not a bad game, it sure as heck ain't easy.

If you play Majora's Mask, it might freeze on you on occasion

Graphics definetly show their age.

Final Verdict: 8/10

If you can get your hands on a copy of this game, consider yourself lucky. Definitely worth your time and will keep you occupied for months...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WHY CAN'T THEY LET ME BUY THIS

posted by Number (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I cant find these games anywhere anymore
Why do you have to be like this to Gamefly??!
Why????!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A must-have for Zelda fans

posted by MetalMario (PITTSFIELD, NH) Jun 26, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

Now that you can download each of these four classic Zelda games from Nintendo's Virtual Console, this GameCube compilation seems less impressive than it was at the time of its release. For me, however, it provided the first opportunity to fully complete the original "The Legend of Zelda", as the battery save in my NES cartridge had died long ago. Also, "Ocarina of Time" plays superbly with a GameCube controller. Unfortunately, emulation problems cause "Majora's Mask" to freeze up occasionally, but that by no means renders the game unplayable. It would have been nice if Nintendo had included "A Link to the Past" as well, but as that game's GBA remake was still relatively new at the time of this collection's release, they probably worried about cutting into sales.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the legend of zelda

posted by zeldarocks (SAN JOSE, CA) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

i love this game its so much fun i played it for n64 and i cant wait until my copy arrives one the the best rpgs in the world i love it and i promise you youll love it to

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not great

posted by NonaSuomi (LEMON COVE, CA) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Certainly a sold addition to any Zelda fan's collection, this disc has four "classic" games which you can select from. Now these games have all been around for a while, so I'll keep it brief:

Zelda NES is a classic and although you'll be dying often and in dire need of a map it is still very enjoyable even to this day.

Zelda II is almost nothing like the first- instead of top-down adventure, we get a sidescrolling fusion of hack-and-slash gameplay and RPG-style stats. Still, a fun game if you go in with an open mind.

Of course OoT sets the standard by which every modern Zelda title is held to, and it doesn't disappoint. The game basically sticks to the formula of LttP but instead is in full 3d.

Majora's Mask could be called the Zelda II to OoT's Zelda. It's a fun game on its own, but it just doesn't feel like a Zelda game despite copying the entire engine from OoT, not to mention that you never once see Ganon, Zelda, or any of the other series regulars aside from everyone's favorite kokiri-who-is-really-Hylian.

Overall, as I said, it's a solid compilation, but it suffers from a handful of flaws and omissions.

Firstly, and this is the biggest one, instead of properly porting these games Nintendo decided to emulate these games on the 'cube. This would have been alright had they done a proper job making their emulators, but the emulation is prone to crashing. I don't understand why, especially when freeware emulators for both the NES and the N64 can do basic emulation and so much more without a hitch...

Secondly, and this is more likely to matter to the Zelda buffs, was the fact that while we did get some of the main console titles, they left out one in the middle to make us buy the GBA port: LttP.

Finally, I personally would have also liked to see the inclusion of a few handheld titles like Link's Awakening and the Oracles games, but that's water under the bridge.

All-in-all, it's a neat little set, but if you want reliable gameplay, stick with emulators.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What's the point of writing this

posted by banghenr (CINCINNATI, OH) Aug 2, 2009

Member since May 2009

I love the zelda games far a list of reasons. They're not like the Force Unleashed where you commit to it for an hour or two. They take a long time. The thing that keeps them from being as pointless as some games is that they have a deep storyline. The graphics are always great compared to others on that system. They are free roam games so you can finish the game and then do what you want. There are always a lot of fun items to use. In most of them if you want an easy thrill there are always the chickens. And the final thing there is the outstanding music in a lot of them. So all of these together make a smart rent or buy. I got it for $40.00 that's only $10.00 a game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Cashews224 (GLOUCESTER, VA) Jul 26, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

It's a great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best thing since sliced bread

posted by wero890 (MICANOPY, FL) Jun 28, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

It hasnt come in the mail yet but i know its great becuse i used to have it my favorit is majoras mask and the 20 minut demo shows the story of the hero of time (a.k.a ocarina of time)it tells you the itire story of link and how saved hirule but soon after leavs you play the full game of ocarina of time and then play the demo to see the movie about it then play majoras mask to see why he left. And i'd like to inform all of you legend of zelda fans there makeing a movie of loz based on ocarina of time dont worry its not animated its real.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

sooper dooper good game

posted by cashman (BISMARCK, ND) May 26, 2009

Member since May 2007

I had LOZ OOT and MM for N64. they were so much fun until the next gen came out. So I didn't have time 4 N64 anymore. this whole game on the GC helped. I love this game. There's nothing better than it. the old not-so-awesome graphics felt right and only added to the quality of the game. Reminded me of when I was younger and staying up late to play Zelda OOT. This game is very elusive and hard to find though. I just went to some random store i never herd of or even remotely thought existed, and there it was. so it's really easy to find actually. just go to some dumpy, deserted, unseen part of town and you'll probably find this game. Or just go to Ebay. IDK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse