Rent Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning for PS2
view large frontback

Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, Xbox, DS, GBA
GF Rating
7.1

531 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Quite Short, more fighting than platform

posted by CindyW (REDMOND, WA) Oct 25, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This isn't the old Spyro, and that's good in many ways, bad in others. My thumbs aren't falling off from chasing things over and over again, and it's not quite as child-like as before. The graphics are more sophisticated, and the voice-acting is done well.

However, the things that made Spyro games what they were are missing. This is mostly fighting and powering up of dragon-skills (weapons). No exploring, no treasure chests, no puzzling through how to get to the next level (indeed, you're always told what to do next).

I get the feeling the budget was blown on getting big-name actors to do the voices. Why? Because this is an incredibly short game. I maybe got 7 hours of playtime, and that's stretching it. As the 4 levels sped by (yes, only 4), I kept saying to myself, "surely that's not all there will be?" Unfortunately, that was it. There's a quick cut scene after the credits, but no more levels. I enjoyed it, but I'm glad to have rented it here instead of purchasing the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Where did Spyro go?

posted by UpsetInKY (COVINGTON, KY) Oct 28, 2006

Member since May 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was a big fan of the Spyro franchise, but this game is nothing like the rest of the series. Sure it's got the same main characters, but now there is almost as much time spent on cut scenes as game play. Then to top it all off, you no longer get to search for goodies like eggs and gems. It's all fight, fight, fight, and more fighting. Bah humbug, I am sending this one back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hack'n'slash for the Kiddies

posted by Aleema (SAINT JOSEPH, MO) Oct 31, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

It hits you really hard and really fast that this game won't be like other Spyro games. Of course, you should know that before you rent it. Only die-hard fans should purchase the game, but just plain ol'fans should only be renting the game. Those who who've never played Spyro games before may be best off with another game, if you're over the age of 15.

I was thrilled about the new battle system, different elemental breath and such, but I was giddy thinking that these aspects would come ALONG with the quality open-ended-ness platforming that Spyro games are known for. The worlds were far too linear, and all you did was fight. While I really enjoyed the battle system, I honestly wanted more than that. I do like collecting things because it requires you to explore and attempt risky moves. The biggest rushes I had with the game was when I had to solve a totem puzzle -- but otherwise it was just fightfightfight.

The voice actors weren't horrible at their jobs, though I never once imagined Sparx to be anything like they portrayed him in this game. I have something against celebrities doing voice overs because, well, they suck at it. I wasn't disappointed here, though. It just seemed unnecessary. Who's honestly going to buy Spyro based on the person who makes his "ARGH!" sounds?

The game was pretty easy (and if you have trouble you can make a crucial change in tactics to fix it). The game is insanely short compared to other Spyro games with tons of worlds, you only get around 5 here. It's filled with tons of pointless things to make the game seem longer (and some just annoying, like training). And while you're in the levels you're begging for it to be over already.

Overall, a great game for the kids and people who love Purple dragons, but the game mirrors the brainlessness of slash'n'hack games and there is no real substance. But I wasted a few days of my life on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is the best Spyro Game ever!

posted by Examiner (BUENA PARK, CA) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Nov 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First off I should explain one thing,

THIS IS NOT THE SAME TYPE OF SPYRO GAME THAT INSOMNIAC USED TO MAKE!

the game play is all about fast paced battling and there is much less platforming.

Spyro is now capable of meele combat as well as upgradeable breath attacks that you get along the way all of which serve a purpose and all of which are great.

This game does have the words "A new Beginning" for a reason as it is a fresh start for Spyro this may annoy some but if you play it chances are y you'll love it.

The storyline itself is also something inspiring, The music captures the moment brilliantly and that being every moment, the voice acting is very top notch, and the game play is the best I've seen in any Spyro game.

My only complaint is it's far too short but if they make other spyro games like this we could see a new age where Spyro becomes mainstream

You'll like it if:
You like fast paced action
you like dragons
you like to have fun playing a video game

you wont like it if
you ONLY accept the first three Spyro games and refuse to look at anything new for the series
you like excessive difficulty

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst spyro ever

posted by rockerGame (HOUSTON, TX) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game is completly different the graphics and abilities are cool but whats the point in changing the whole story now STUPID!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great Game Just To Short

posted by ladyann (YPSILANTI, MI) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a Spyro Junkie from way back but this game was so simple to beat. The way it restarted you with full health and the enemies weakened. Well I guess it's a real kids game. Was fun just ended to soon.

Would defiantly rent this game but I do feel bad for those who bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Spryo

posted by celticprince (ACKLEY, IA) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

I thought the game had a interesting plot to it and the fact that spyro has different abilities in this one wasn't at all bad. The story line was good and the game play wasn't at all dissapionting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Spyro, How you changed.

posted by snookie (SOUTHAVEN, MS) Sep 12, 2012

Member since Nov 2009

When I was a little kid, I first got the Playstation along with my very first game. Spyro the Dragon. In the past i played my fathers game of DOOM. But this was My first game. The moment I met this little purple dragon, I was hooked, And from that moment on, I became a Gamer. I have All three games in my collection, And treasure them to this very day. After the PS1 games were over and done with and the PS2 was out, I never really got any new spyro games. Then Skylanders came out and i saw the abomination that they turned spyro into, So i decided to play these games to see how spyro came to this. When i played This game, I was surprised that Spyro made enough money that they got Elijah Wood, David Spade and Gary Freaking Oldman to be in this game. Oldman alone was enough for me to enjoy this game, And being a huge spyro fan, I played and had a blast. It is very short however, I think that if i had enough time, I would have beaten it the very day i got it. But still, I had fun playing this game and look forward to renting the next. See you soon Spyro my main dragon...Oh and by the way...DAVID SPADE SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCKS in this game. Just prepare to be annoyed to death.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not what I thought it would be.

posted by anomaly9 (ALAMOGORDO, NM) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

I loved the graphics, the voices were pretty good, the game itself was a let down. Compared to the other Spyro games there just wasn't any challenge! Good game for the little ones, but I wanted more!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What a breath of fresh air

posted by Taasla (College Station, TX) Oct 30, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

Finally we step away from the terrible game that was Enter the Dragonfly and the obnoxious gameplay of A Hero's Tail.

This is a reboot of the Spyro series, and a good one at that. No more gems as a form of currency, and the story throws a bit more of a sinister atmosphere.

For a gamer who has been here since the very first Spyro, this is a great addition. Though woefully short, the graphics are good, the worlds are beautiful, and the character design is finally no longer polygonal.

Unfortunately, majority of the enemies you will find are all the same. The only difference is a color change. Oh, and they come in hordes. Lots and lots of hordes. In the final world you'll be facing them in large numbers with an epic LoTR-esque track playing.

That brings me to the music. Beautiful music as always. If anything that is what the Spyro games have never lacked.

Personally, I cannot wait to buy this game. For others, you may wish to keep this on rental only. It is short, and once you beat the game there is little reason to replay it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spyro? Where?

posted by PecanBlue (HIALEAH, FL) Oct 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game and the direction it seems to be heading toward receives a lot of flack because of how many comparisons are made between this series and the old series by Insomniac. Frankly, I think it deserves that flack.

First of all, not only is it disrespectful to what Insomniac had originally created that was never broken to begin with, it is false advertising. I read what the designers had to say about their own game and they keep insisting that they wanted to "re-establish" the series and Spyro himself. Except, I don't see any Spyro? All I see is some purple dragon and a golden dragonfly that coincidentally share the same names of the older characters. This is no revival of a series at all, it's a completely different game and universe with look-alikes for the sake of making a quick buck.

In any case, the game itself is pretty horrid as well. It's terribly linear. There is no place to go but the path in front of you. You can't wander off to explore or do sidequests; not that there's much to look at anyway. You can't re-visit levels on your own will unless you start from the beginning, and every single area seems so disconnected because there doesn't appear to be any clear way that "Spyro" travels between them. Sure, he can fly on a set path, but from where exactly does he start flying? Not to mention the levels themselves aren't anything interesting and they're so closed in most of the time it makes me claustrophobic.

The story is just riddled with cliches and corny writing. Oh Spyro, you're the special chosen one? YAWN.

Not to mention the length of the game, but it doesn't matter anyway because 90% of it will be pressing the same buttons over and over again to defeat the same enemies as before, even when it's completely unnecessary for them to be in your way at all.

My best guess for why this is a failure? They spent most of their budget on celebrity voice acting and advertising to glorify this game.

Definetly stay away from this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Spyro game, not good game in general

posted by Okami1 (PASADENA, CA) Jun 21, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

First of all, this an excellent Spyro game, but no so much as just a game. It's a good game but it's just none stop fighting, and you BARLEY get to fly, I mean REALLY FLY. Hopefully the new Dawn of the dragon will be better. I LOVE the ending, about Cynder ( she is SO COOL!), but the constant fighting left me bored. I am a big Spyro fan, and I was excited about a new one coming out. But it wasn't what i thought it would be. I love the new story however. And I haven't played Eternal Night yet :"( but am eager to try the 3rd. But still don't let this review get you down, this game is still really fun, so go ahead and rent it!! ( I'm just won't garontee anything.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is awesome dude!

posted by tineegiant (CHECK, VA) Jun 3, 2008

Member since May 2008

Legend of Spyro: a new beginning was very awesome and cool! I liked the graphics a lot. My favorite part was getting the powers. My favorite character was Spyro and Sparx. Thanks for letting me play this game!
TineeGiant

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spyro like you never seen him before

posted by mewlover (KINGSTON, NY) Apr 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I just got this game today and i have heard that this is a lot different then the Spyro i'm used to and it's true this game puts you in charge of spyro in whole new ways adding melee attacks the one thing in this I don't think some younger players of the series will like is it is much harder then the regular spyro games but as a added bonus David Spade as sparx WOOT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The Legend of Spyro a New Begining

posted by We7R4GiveN (EDGERTON, KS) Jan 19, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I think this game rocks it has a great story in the game but the game has some things you wouldn`t expect so I give spyro 9 out of 10 it is great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very nice! But not so much...

posted by Razare (COOLEEMEE, NC) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

Decent little game. Too short too easy too bad. nuff said.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

not that great

posted by eragon6 (VIDALIA, LA) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

it wasn't that good it was short and not good game play

i say they should revert to the orginal style game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice One for the Deaf!

posted by DeafGod1 (ROCHESTER, NY) Jul 1, 2007

Member since May 2005

I've had the chance to play this game even though it's not really my top genre. The subtitles are there by default! You can't just turn the subtitles on or off. Every convo Spyro talks with the other characters - subtitles are there. Including the cut scenes as well!

I would rate this game based on its subtitiling for the Deaf or Hard of Hearing a 10.

However, the moves that Spyro needs to execute is a little tricky. Then again, it could be me. At age 32, I'm a little bit slower and a bit more distracted with other factors! (laughing)

This is a nice game for pre-teens or adults who want to play it easy & simple. The only hard part of the game is defeating the major bosses or monsters of the game.

Seriously, for all the Deaf gamers - this game is worth playing and your time, and most importantly, your money!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than any other Spiro Game

posted by MrJackson (JACKSONVILLE, AR) Jun 18, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

As most have already stated, this is not your regular Spiro game. This game starts out like you are watching an actual movie. Just knowing that Elijah Wood was his voice in this one took me back to the Lord of the Rings trilogy. I and my son had a great time playing and this game towards the end really gets you to thinking about how to beat it. The graphics are great and unexpected. The game is just long enough but not too long. I would not buy this game for myself as I have already beat it but I would consider buying it for my son. Great Job!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This is our old purple dragon?

posted by LordXbox (SUGAR LAND, TX) Jun 5, 2007

Member since May 2006

This Spyro: A New Beginning has bads and goods.

Bads:
#1-Spyro was raised by fireflys???
#2-When did a dragon learn not only fire, but lightning, ice, and earth???
#3-The game is way to short I passed it in 4 days.
#4-Cynder is way, way to easy
#5-This story barely is like the real version at all.

Goods:
#1-There are new moves that are super cool.
#2-There's way cool terains.
#3-It's a little bit funnier than the others.

If you're a picky game player, I'll highly doubt you will like this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boo! Hiss! Boo! Hiss! Hey... Pretty Music!

posted by spitoon (PLYMOUTH, MI) Jun 1, 2007

Member since Oct 2004

First the best thing about Legend of Spyro: A New Beginning is the soundtrack. And the voices are great-Elijah Wood; David Spade and Gary Oldman.

My big reason for writing this review is every level of the game, save for the last one, just feels like it repeats itself. Unending waves of similar monkey creatures just keep coming. By the third land you're thinking, "Hey, haven't I seen these guys before?"

If you love Spyro you'll probably love the game. Just get ready to play the same thing over and over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

NOT THE BEST SPYRO GAME

posted by ballin4lyf (BRONX, NY) May 24, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

This game wasn't as good as I thought it would be. The graphics is way better of course and the fighting parts were alright, but what I didn't like about this game is that it was too short and it wasn't challenging enough. I beat this game in less than 1 day....This game is too easy too beat and I think a six year old could beat this game in less than 1 day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spyro A New Beginning

posted by Jcorson87 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Apr 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

So this is the newest Spyro game, but it is really a prequel. You start over from the beginning with Spyro being born and not knowing how to do anything. The graphics are immaculate but the rest of the gameplay is really weak. I finished it in 8 hours and I'm sure I could have finished it quicker. There isn't anything to find like eggs or gems you just run through, kill things and then fight bosses. No challenges, no puzzles... Spyro fans will be disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Game

posted by MommyD (IMPERIAL, MO) Apr 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

My son just absolutley loves this game unfotunately he has almost beat it and he is only 7. The controls are relatively easy and the game play is smooth. I look forward to renting the next one and will definately recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Where's the fire?

posted by ibobber (ROCKVILLE, MD) Mar 5, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

As a big big fan of the Jak and Dexter genre, I went into this game with high hopes. I guess, my expectations were too much for those cute little wings to carry. On the whole this game was weak. Too many cutscenes slowed the pace; and with no option to skip, they just became excuses to switch to input 2. The celebrity voices did nothing for me.
Game play had its ups and downs. The swirling effect on the attacks made me feel like I wasn't really connecting. Not really popping the bad guys, just whooshing by them. Breath affects were nice, but beyond that they just didn't feel forceful or intense enough. But the worst was the total lack of variety in the enemies. After the second level, I was done with the OOOXOOO slow motion on the same models over and over. The ability to pick up right where you left off after dying was nice, but it did take away some of the challenge.
Again, if I wasn't expecting more, I might have been content to waddle through this game. But overall, it lacked the punch of its counterparts in the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse