Rent Left 4 Dead for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Left 4 Dead

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

33641 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best coop game ever!

posted by Destroy (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Oct 2004

142 out of 169 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Buy it. Keep it. Play it online or offline coop.

It is superb. Best online coop ever. Even better over lan (up to 2 per console split screen).

You know those co-op games where you just respawn and everything's hunky dorey? Or the other situation where you respawn with nothing and it's too hard? This game is quite different.

You have a standard health bar. If that gets depleted, then you're "down" but you still shoot and the zombies can still attack you (you just can't move). You have a new meter that they can shred down to nothing. To get back up your buddies have to help you up. If you don't get back up and your down meter runs out, then you're dead. If you are down 3 times in the same level, then the next time you fall you're dead. If all team mates are down at once, the team dies and you restart at the last safe room (I think it puts you back the way you were when you entered that safe room).

If you die then the rest of the team can try to beat the level without you (though the game won't take it easy on the remaining players). If someone is dead, some times the survivors can find "another survivor" trapped in a closet/room somewhere in the level. Which you become. It works very well. Best coop system I've ever seen.

The other part of the coop system is that there are also certain special zombies that knock or pull down players, requiring that another player shoots/shoves them off you. These special zombies are called hunters and smokers. You can hear them coming sometimes. You have a slight chance if you're by yourself. Shoot them before you are down basically. But what it amounts to is that you have to watch your buddies backs. You can't survive the level going rambo/solo. You will die.

As far as the gameplay and replay value.... they are through the roof. It plays like a zombie movie. Even when you all die, it's fun. And it's especially rewarding when you beat campaigns/levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun Zombie Co-op Mayhem!!

posted by Zane101 (POWELL, TN) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

61 out of 72 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

What can i say about Left 4 Dead, a simple, yet at the same time, complex First Person Shooter? Well, lets see..

You get to shoot zombies as a black man (Louis), a biker (Francis), a Vietnam veteran (Bill), or as a college chick (Zoey). You take on not only normal zombies, but Special Infected (Hunters, Boomers, Smokers) who are stronger and have powers! They arent as abundant, but make up for it with the ability to pounce on a person, pull someone away with their tounge, or barf on someone, which attracts the zombie horde.

You have 4 Player Co-op, or 8 Player Versus mode (4 Humans, 4 Special) and, with the FREE Survival Mode pack, you get Versus mode on all maps, and the Survival Mode (hold out as long as you can to delay the inevitabe!), where you can set your highest ranked times.

You get a kickass arsenal of weaponry, with Pistols (dual-wieldable), the Uzi-ish looking machine gun, a Pump Shotgun, an Auto Shotgun, an Assault Rifle, or a Sniper Rifle, each with their own specific uses (Snipers are good support, Auto and Pumps are raw strength, Assault rifle is all-around balance, etc.). Lets not forget the Pipe Bombs (which attract the horde AWAY from you and cause a nice explosion) and Molotov Cocktails (Which will light the world on fire, killing nearby zombies and harming special infected over time).

Lastly you get a selection of nice Achievements, ranging from nerve-wracking to getting them easy.

But, like every game, it has its flaws. For example, even though I just mentioned all the content above, after long sessions it will start to get repititive and feel lacking.

If you do not have Xbox Live, then you miss out on SO much, its not even worth buying without Live.

The levels are diverse, yet repititive. Start out small, move up little by little to finale. Yawn. No other sorts of little surprises (other then a Hunter ripping off your nipples?)? Not really.

Overall, the game is great in small doses. Too much WILL burn you out.
9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect

posted by ShockY (BENTON, AR) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

151 out of 185 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

To me, this is the perfect Zombie shooter. It has everything you could possibly want out of it. The four player co-op is amazing (especially if you play on Expert), the way the AI-director forces you to work as a team is nothing short of genius; run off by yourself? Plan on dying. And how the game is never the same twice stops you from knowing exactly what you're going to get next(IE: Guns, pickups etc. etc.)

All Zombie Survival Horror games should look at what L4D has done right. I found myself literally scared at some points while playing, unsure if I was going to be attacked by a Tank around a corner, or if I could hear a Witch somewhere around us and was clueless as to her exact position.

Anyone who's not a big Co-op fan might not enjoy this as much as I have,(Expert online can be a hassle if you don't find a team that knows what they're doing) but for me, I could play the same levels over again and again and never get bored.

Valve has done it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

An amazing achivment in multiplayer gaming !

posted by Bahaa3000 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

22 out of 26 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

The idea of game based upon 4 levels kept me away from this game for a long time , and I regret every second of it ! .

After being overwelmed by the many awards the game got , i was pushed into giving it a rent so I went ahead and did it .

When you start the game the opening cinematic will give you an idea about the game , there are four servivors which have to reach a rescue in an area filled with zombies . To give a better idea about the game im gonna say it like this :-

Gameplay :- The first true perfect Co-op (cooperative) feeling in which every player has to stick with the team and help each other to survive , using pistols , machine guns , shotguns and bombs .

Sound :- creepy to the last bit , the music gives you a great environment and the guns sound very satisfying .

Graphics :- Very modern with amazing charicter details , and the flash light gives a very real effect for your surroundings

Lifespan(how long you will play the game) :- It's not just four levels ! its unlimited levels ! because everytime you will play the game it's going to be a different experience depending on the difficulty , the people your playing with and the how the game spreads the zombies and bosses around the map !

In conclusion this game is really worth the rent , you will realize how good it is and you will really want to buy it after that !.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most fun i have had in a game in years!!

posted by Diog3nes (LA VERNE, CA) Dec 9, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

40 out of 49 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I can name quite a few games that look better than left 4 dead, but none of them plays better. I cant get over the way it makes random people talk and work together to get through. This is not Halo 3 or Gears of War where everyone talks trash to each other. Its pure fun with the only downside being that i want more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Left4Dead is one of the best games this Generation

posted by Garnett (PONTIAC, MI) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

43 out of 54 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Left4Dead a game that has been under everyones radar,does this game deliver?The simple answer is YES,This game is worth the 60$ it cost..

Campaign-

This game doesn't have a 6 hour story mode like CallofDuty4 or Gears of war,instead they give you 4 separate story's with 5 levels in each,therefore 20 levels,and each one varying on the difficulty of the game.

Controls-

This game has a somewhat standard FPS control design,but the left Trigger is used to melee,and the D-Pad is used for items,Up is for the flashlight,Left and right are for Medical items,down is for Grenades (IE.Pipe bombs or molotov

Graphics/Gameplay-

The graphics are good,tho there not Gears of War,There the way they are because they do not want the frame rate to drop,but the graphics are good,the shadows and the special effects they used are excellent looking this is one of the games you dont need a 60inch HD-TV to enjoy the graphics.

Game play is above Gears 2/CoD4/WaW and so forth,This game is fun! Each time you play the game it change,So you may play a game once and you play it again and its different,every thing's different,the levels are still look the same but there not linear levels like CoD,Weapons,Zombies,Health and special infected are all different,This game will keep you up all night playing it!

9.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Most fun with friends.

posted by NeoQuentin (CRETE, IL) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

32 out of 44 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game will only reach it's highest gaming point if you are playing with three other of your closest friends. When i first started playing Left 4 Dead i had my doubts. Sure enough when I got my first head shot on the first zombie I saw, I couldn't control my childish giggling. I am 17 years old and I am a big fan of 1st person shooters. This is the first valve game I have played and it's great. I've beaten Halo 3 on Legendary, Resident Evil 4, COD4, and many other shooters so you can see I had my doubts on this game, but when your playing with your buddies this game is most enjoyable. You actually care if your partners are downed or if one is on low health. You need them to survive (thats three other people who could possibly get pinned down and not you). You know if your not playing the full potential of this game if you are not giggling before the first chapter. Each time you play weapons, enemies, and special enemies come out of different spots. Standing in a room for too long will trigger "the Horde". Valve even runs their own dedicated servers for you to play on so lag is , for the most part, absent. It's like playing the game straight from your own console. Now the reason most people read reviews is to hear about the multiplayer. Multiplayer is something you will have to experience yourself because it will be your own movie scenes with you and your friends as the actors. 4v4 is fun as you can play as all the special infected excluding the witch. The only complaint about this game is that it only has 4 acts with east act having 5 scenes. The good thing about Xbox Live is that Valve might have some downloadable content such as more special infected, characters, and hopefully acts. This is one of the rare games that deserves a 10 out of 10.

P.S. This game will scare you at certain moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More campaigns would be nice....

posted by Lakers79 (ROUND ROCK, TX) Jan 14, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

my ranking is based on what i thought the game was and it was good. running around killing mass amounts of zombies is always fun and enjoyable. the weapons work well with the game. once you figure out how to set the zombies up for instant death with gas tanks, propane tanks, oxygen tanks, and the moltov. the graphics are good, there is a little choppiness fighting zombies and going through stages. the lighting system is amazing with the use of the flash light when you enter pitch black areas. you find yourself checking every room with caution. the muzzle flash is sweet when your shooting in dark rooms. it gives off the terror effect good when your shooting one zombie you see another rushing you when the flash occurs. the subtle this in the game make it pretty good, such as the wise cracking survivors who seem to always have a sense of humor given their situation. the little while playing the stages the only save points are the safe houses, though on normal you should not find yourself wishfully hoping for it to arrive sooner rather than later. the harder levels will test your skill and team work but the levels still remain fun and entertaining. team work is the biggest part of this game, as the co-op feature is the staple of the campaign and the game. the versus is ok, as each team takes on the task of switching between infected and survivor at each safe house. i didn't find the versus to appealing, the battles were usually favored in the humans favor and the only time it seemed the infected had a chance is when the tank showed up. the versus may have to kink out the bugs to work a little better and it could be a whole lot more fun. survival is standard for a zombie game and is not any different in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Great Coop Experiance

posted by monoxcide (HOUSTON, TX) May 24, 2009

Member since May 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game is made for coop the zombies are smart i love playing as the hunter :P the tank is very cool but im not a fan of all the human charactors francis is cool i guess. but overall better coop than halo3 gow 2 and r6v good job (thumbs up lol)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Quit Whining

posted by MandiFlick (DUBUQUE, IA) Apr 25, 2009

Member since May 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I spent maybe 10 minutes reading the lowest rated reviews and found the same things: not enough weapons, can't customize my character, not enough plot.

Get over it. Really, if you want to make a class, have character upgrades and tote around a flamethrower then go back to playing Call of Duty. Not every FPS has to have the exact same engine. Is it hard to understand a game that's different? Seriously, where are you going to find a rocket launcher or some super powered machine gun in a zombie apocalypse?

Also, lack of strategy? Are you serious? You're probably the jerkoffs who run out by yourself and get smoked in the beginning of the level and then go "DRR DRR WHY DIDN'T YOU SAVE ME GOSH". It's basically the only online co op game that forces you to work as a team. It's impossible to carry a team by yourself because if everyone else is incompetent you'll get jumped on and no one else will even notice.

L4D is a simple, fun game. The programmers took ridiculous amounts of time surveying people and making this game as fun as they thought possible, from being able to play as the enemy to making random spawning zombie hordes and bosses. You can't memorize enemies in a level except for where a tank MIGHT show up. The graphics aren't amazing because they didn't have the highest budget and didn't think the game would do nearly as well as it has. You don't need 40 different weapons to pop zombie heads, and you don't need to physically customize a character you don't even see 80% of the time. And as for upgrading your character's abilities? That would completely destroy the co op dynamic of the game and make one strong member able to carry a whole team of losers. And that would suck.

tl;dr dry your eyes and gb2/cod/

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Valve rules.

posted by ChaosPunk (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Oct 11, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Valve has once again produced a beauty. What can be more fun than slaughtering zombies with 3 buds (or random people online)? Simple, yet extremely fun. That seems to be Valves main formula when making a game. You have your choice of 3 types of weapons. Pistols (upgradeable to Dual Pistols), your Uzi (upgradeable to an assault rifle) and your Shotgun (upgradeable to an automatic shotgun). Generally, you just fight off hordes of zombies and try to make it to the end of a given level. But every once in a while, you'll fight "Special" zombies. Hunters crawl around like spiders, and will pounce you when you least expect it. There's no escaping his grasp, you'll need the help of your team to win. then there's the Smoker. They usually hide on rooftops or behind cars and use their elastic long tongues to pull you from afar. There's also the Boomer. These gelatinous masses literally vomit on their victims which causes any nearby zombies to ravage the poor unfortunate soul. Last but not least is the Tank. This monster is a beast, it has an immense amount of health and cant fling you hundreds of feet. It usually takes the whole team to bring it down. Guess what though? You can actually play as these special zombies in a versus mode! In versus, there are 2 teams. The Survivors, and the Infected. As Survivors, your goal is to, well, survive. As Infected, you randomly spawn as either a Boomer, Hunter or Smoker. Once the survivors get to a certain point, one of the Infected players randomly becomes the Tank, and can inflict massive amounts of damage. There are 5 campaigns and a downloadable Survival Mode, so this game should never get boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Highest Replayability For A FPS Online So Far

posted by terrill120 (AURORA, CO) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game is very good because you absolutely need to work together in order to pass any stage. This is a very challenging game, especially on the levels above normal. But an onslaught of zombies that run at you at irregular and unpredictable patterns make the game fun. My only complaint is more of a gun selection or allow for you to have 2 primary weapons or dual wield primary weapons (outside of weak sauce dual pistols). If they make another one it will be like Halo versus Halo 2. Good start to a great game series keep it coming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

wow this game is addicting.

posted by megamike (COHOES, NY) Feb 14, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I haven't had this much fun with a multiplayer game since halo 2, or lost so many hours of my life. Note: you should definitely have xbox live gold to play this, it just wouldn't be the same playing with AI teamates. The only draw back about this frantic, zombie shooting, teamwork based game is its limited content. But valve is always good about expanding on their games, and since this game has become so popular I guarantee they will do just that. "Dude, there coming through the (explicit) windows and everyone else is dead! Hide in the closet, quick! Shut the door, shut the door!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun.. end of story.

posted by Guapoholic (DORCHESTER, MA) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Only reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10 is cause I feel that there's still room for a little improvement with minor things. For starters...If you don't have XBL and expected to have any type of fun playing this game then you shouldn't be wasting your time writing reviews ranting about how bad the game is, and they usually write reviews before the game is even released in some cases.

It's called IGN. Their reviews can save you a lot of time and money. They clearly state it's hard to have fun unless you're playing single-player/online co-op, as well as many other gaming sites.

As for the graphics they aren't the greatest.. but their passable and you forget about how subpar they are once you start having fun being chased by hordes of Zombies. The sound is good. The gameplay is intense and fun. The infected are really fast lol.. kinda like in Dawn of Dead. What I would like to see... more weapons, maps, variety of bosses and a bit more structure to versus mode.

If you aren't too sure about this still. Rent it. Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing Great job

posted by JamesM (LOS ANGELES, CA) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

15 out of 24 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

this game is amazingly fun ive been playing the first chapter over and over with my friend and it does not get boring because every time you play it the zombies are in different places the grapphics are amazing as well In my opinion this game is the best coop game on the 360 and this game actually makes me and three of my friends wanna be left 4 dead amazing job valve A Standing Ovation to you guys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good single player and even better co op

posted by znuckels (ADAMSBURG, PA) Jul 15, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Left 4 Dead probably gets overlooked now that the 2nd one is out and has been out for almost a year. If you've never played any Left 4 Dead series or zombie game in general then Left 4 Dead or L4D is a great place to start.

As I mentioned in the title, L4D is a good single player game but is even better co-op. Don't feel bad if you don't have Xbox Live or a buddy to play with. The AI in this game works very well. When you think of a zombie survival game with computers you end up thinking that the computer/AI will hog all the ammo and medkits. Well if that's your concern, then you can breathe easy. There is infinite ammo piles that never go away and the AI will always but the human players before themself. Now playing Co op is a different story. You can fight with your friends over medkits but co op is the way to play this game. Especially if none of you have went through the campaign yet.

There are 4 campaigns, 5 if you end up buying the DLC "Crash Course". The main campaigns are 5 chapters long and the DLC is only 2. Don't let that be your make or breaking point because the DLC is rather fun.

Basic need to know about the game is it's a first person shooter with 4 survivors on a team blasting through zombies to reach each checkpoint and ultimately reach the last level and summon the rescue also known as the finale. The finale is always fun to play co op especially the first time. You can wait anywhere from 5 minutes to 15 minutes for someone to pick you up. Also keep in mind that there are special infected zombies that do more than just punch you. There is a hunter who will jump on you and tear your insides out, a boomer who will puke on you, a tank that looks like the hulk, and a smoker who will constrict you with his tounge.

All in all L4D is a definate play. It has great achievements and the controls work very well too. It can be frustrating but in the end you will never regret your purchase or rental.

Zack
The Xbox Achievers Podcast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ITS a GREAT GAME!!!!

posted by mums77 (FAIRFAX, VT) Jan 25, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

This game is awsome the graphics are sick the zombies act and look realistic if u are thinking of renting this game u deffinitly should 2 thumbs up!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DennisT93

posted by DennisT93 (FORT WORTH, TX) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If your have friends or a friend then you would definetly love this game.
This game is so amazing that you dont even care if the graphics are a little bad you just start shoootin up all the zombies around you, like your on a killing spree.
Each match type has somthing great about them,
but if your in to more action than I suggest buying a Gold month membership and playing this online, because your gonna love it.
I definitely suggest buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Valve and the Living Dead.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game has zombies. You get to kill them.

If you're still reading, then perhaps the subject material didn't instantly draw you to the store (as it did me.) Well, regardless, this game isn't JUST for zombie fans. In fact, it's for anyone that enjoys a coop experience with friends or buddies over LIVE that changes EVERY time. The reason for this is something called the "AI Director." It was developed by VALVE (those behind Half Life and Counter Strike) and essentially molds the game around your performance. If you and your friends are doing terribly, the game will shrink the size of the onslaught of zombies and perhaps throw you some heavy weapons or health. Otherwise, prepare to be creamed by boss zombies, all while conserving ammunition.
The variety here is nothing to be scoffed at. The audio work is dead on with a Romero or Boyle film, with some new twists based upon the variants of zombie: the Boomer, Witch, and Tank, just to name a few. The Boomer spits bile on you, acting as a pheromone that attracts all zombies in the area. Needless to say, it'll make you curse. The Witch looks like a less developed zombie (closer to a human girl) that cries and is startled by light. She is fast and has claws. I don't think I need to tell you to stay away.
The weapons in the game are a bit generic, but effective. Regular shotgun, auto shotgun, assault rifle, rifle, handguns, etc. There are also molotov cocktails and pipe bombs (that attract zombies, haha!)
The game features two player local coop, four play online coop, and a four on four mode (versus) that allows one team to play as the zombies and the other as the survivors. The zombies can see through walls and climb them as well. It may well be the game/mode everyone is playing on LIVE in a few months.

Left 4 Dead isn't just for zombie fanatics and fans of Valve software, it's for fans of Perfect Dark, multiplayer in general, and the couch coop experiences of long ago. Happy hunting! 9.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This game is GREAT!

posted by Dramatic (DELTONA, FL) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This is a game that I haven't heard of and didn't get much Hype and I have no idea why not, this game is my pick for the best Co-Op MultiPlayer of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Play

posted by LoneSage (Saint Petersburg, FL) Apr 27, 2009

Member since Apr 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is nothing but fun and definitely a must play game for anyone. L4D is in my opinion a game that adults can play just for fun. It doesn't have a story really and not that many extra features but the replay value of this game is still incredibly high.

You will be playing this game for a long time whether it is to get a certain achievement or just to have fun for a while. Even the online co-op is amazing because it is the first game I have played that usually isn't laggy online, you may be in some games that after shooting a zombie in the face it's head doesn't explode until a second later but that is very rare and the worst of it.

This is the first game I have given a 10 but L4D is the definition of a fun game and worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Revolution in gaming

posted by DonRiker (beverly hills, CA) Nov 19, 2008

Member since May 2008

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best games of this generation of consoles. The emphasis on multi-player gaming is at large and Left 4 Dead hits it on the nose.

Anyone who has play any of Valve's other famous first person shooters will be right at home with this title. If you combined 28 days later and Half Life this would be the Arien baby offspring.

Must buy for anyone with a Live supscription.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by skater15 (ELGIN, SC) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

i love this game probably one of the best games or probably is the best game i have ever played it is so intense it is creepy, weird, awesome, exciting, funny, scary and amazing a must have game it is awesome when you play with friends

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun but very short game

posted by ZeroPain (SEAL BEACH, CA) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

14 out of 29 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Lets get strait to the point Left 4 Dead is a very fun and awesome game while it lasts. Playing left 4 Dead with 3 of your friends on Xbox Live or 4 survivors against 4 zombies on Xbox Live is very fun but this game has many flaws. Firstly left 4 Dead is a very short game and when i mean short i mean very short. There are 4 separate campaigns which they call movies and each lasts 1 hour to 2 hours. You can beat this game in about 4 to 6 hours. The game also has no story its basically you and 3 other people shooting zombies and it doesn't even tell you how the infection started or the characters back stories or anything. Its just you and 3 other people running around killing zombies and at the end of each campaign you have to hold out for a couple of minutes until you get rescued. I was very upset there was no story because VALVE has a great reputation for story in there games like Half Life and Portal. left 4 Dead's graphics run on the source engine which was used in VALVE'S Half Life series and there taking a toll. Graphics aren't very good but they get the job done. The Online is great because you can play with you and 3 of your friends in the campaign and up to 8 in the online multiplayer mode. The multiplayer is basically 4 survivors playing the campaign but they have to fight the AI and 4 other players. The players on the zombie team can pick between the special zombies in the campaign. Every level the survivors live through the game gets harder and that's how the multiplayer is. This is i a great game while it lasts so it definably deserves a rent but its not worth buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Left 4 Dead

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Nov 19, 2008

Member since Aug 2003

49 out of 109 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This is a solid game that uses some ground breaking technology. It's different every time you play it, and it adapts to the way you play it. I love how it focuses on 4 player cooperative and I love how it treats each level like you are the star in a movie.

For as good as this game is though, I have some issues. I feel like the characters move a little unrealistically fast (both you and the enemies). But there is no run button (probably due to the way they configured the melee attacks, which is genious) so the run speed was just a compromise (which is fine) but it just bothered me a little bit. Most folks won't care.

The bigger issue is that basically 3 or 4 different types of zombies. They just stand there and you shoot them or they run at you and you shoot them. For a FPS there's hardly any strategy to that. No need for a sniper rifle when they don't shoot back (which is one of the most fun things to do in a FPS). So fighting only these enemies makes it easy/boring to me.

The other thing is I like playing these games for story. If I just want to run around and shoot people I can pop in any of the other games I own. I like playing new games and being told a new story. There's absolutely NO cut scenes between campaigns. If feels like there isn't really a single player game at all in this. There's 4 campaigns which each have 5 chapters and you can complete a campaign in 30 minutes, so essentially you could beat the game in 2 hours.

If you like CO-OP multi-player though, then this game is for you. Plenty of chapters to play, plenty of strategies towards working together when entering rooms, etc.

This is a solid game by a great company, and it will no doubt be over-rated, but it really didn't blow me away like Rainbow Six Vegas series and Gears of War series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse