Rent Left 4 Dead 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Left 4 Dead 2

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

22181 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great fun!

posted by Supertes (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jan 23, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So addicting! its such a fun game! Plus, the graphics have improved a lot from the first one. Cool melee weapons, more guns, etc. The only problem I've experienced is when playing split screen, the frame rates go down. Not gamebreaking though, as its not too noticable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Rewards and then still adds more.

posted by SunsetDown (SPOKANE VALLEY, WA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

174 out of 195 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Left 4 dead 2 can be described as the first left 4 dead on steroids. The replay value has changed even further, as now their is three more special infected, new uncommon "common" infected, and a huge amount of new weapons and ammo.

The new special infected include the Jockey, Charger, and Spitter, which add new fear to the old fear the Smoker, Hunter and Boomer created. The Jockey is a small, monkey like man that giggles vicariously when he nears. His main attack is a small leap that leaves the victim helplessly to the Jockies mercy, controlling the survivor to its whim. The Charger is a large, brutish man with a giant arm. The Charger is like a small tank, that can pummel and "charge" into survivors. If the Charger successfully hits a survivor with its charge, it will grab and pummel the survivor into the ground until it is killed, dealing heavy damage. Finally, the Spitter is a grotesque acid spitting woman that can easily separate camping parties, or trap survivors to the mercy of the horde. Her acid projectile is very long range and deals steady damage if a survivor touches it. Their is also new common infected that have special attributes, including hazmat suits that makes them invulnerable to fire, or swamp horde that throw mud, blinding survivors.

Left 4 dead 2 also includes a huge variety of weapons, such as chainsaws, machetes, magnums, combat shotguns, silenced machine guns, and various others. To add to the killing, you can equip your guns with special ammo, like incendiary bullets and exploding bullets. Their is also a new helpful throwing item, Boomer Bile, which causes the boomer affect wherever you throw it. This bile can cause the hoard to devour a tank or attack one another, which can be joyous to watch. Aid items are also greater equipped with boosting adrenaline shots and reviving defibrillator units.

This game never plays the same, and I ran out of characters to explain the awesome campaigns. Definitely have a go with this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Soon to be a classic

posted by spazzymgee (MARYDEL, DE) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

25 out of 27 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

Left 4 dead 2 has a very high tempo, "in your face" style of gameplay that i feel is absent in most other video game franchises. This is why there are so many devout left 4 dead fans. there's nothing like this game. However, if you want in depth storytelling, and people being in love, then this game isn't for you. There's not much talking, and the concept is very simple; to kill lots of zombies. This game is a try for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ZOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOMBIESSSSSSSSSSS

posted by goodgamer500 (Coupland, TX) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

ZOMBIES HERE ZOMBIES THERE ZOMBIES EVERYWHERE THIS GAME IS AWSOME U SHOULD RENT WHAT ARE U WAITING FOR RENT IT NOW I MEAN IT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Still don't know why?

posted by Skinny (THEODORE, AL) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2009

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game is only rated 7.5. This game has to be one of the best looking and most enjoyable co-op I've played since contra back on the NES.

This game has the goods. The only thing that would have made this better would be to introduce iron sights in the game.

The game just looks so gorgeous. Taking just a small half of a zombies skull with a machete never looked better.

I never played Versus on this sequel mainly because I prefer plain old co-op.

If you have friends coming over a lot, this game makes a great 2 player couch co-op. The second player can even sign on as a guest and play with two others friends online.

Or if you have a lot of XBL buddies who own this game then don't rent it. Buy it! It's not even full price anymore if you know where to shop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

YES!! it's worth your time and money.

posted by Adder0 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 30, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

37 out of 47 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

I hear many people complaining that this game should have just been DLC for the first L4D. I don't understand the rationality in this complaint. As we all know, Microsoft likes to charge as much as possible for the DLC in their video games, regardless of the consent of the game developers. L4D2 has five new campaigns, one new multiplayer mode and a plethora of new weapons and technical improvements. If all of the content in L4D2 were to be released as DLC for the first game you would be looking at well over $60 of content. This installment takes the foundation that was laid in the first L4D and completes the structure with more zombies on screen, enhanced difficulty and more lengthy campaigns. I'm not kidding, the campaigns in this one are much longer than the ones in the first game. The inclusion of melee weapons definitely makes this game worth checking out. Not only is it incredibly satisfying to mash and tear zombies with melee weapons it also adds a new dimension which can, depending on the difficulty, change the tactics required to complete a campaign. The chainsaws, baseball bats, frying pans, etc..., are the sprinkles that were missing from the cupcake that is the first L4D. The only fault i find in L4D2 is that the freshness is gone. After i finished the campaigns and snatched all of the achievements i didn't feel quite as compelled to keep returning to the game like i did with the first one. Although, because of the co-op formula and improved AI director the game can feel completely original at times, depending on your team of players and their attitude. If you enjoyed the first please give this one a rent so that we may increase the replayability of the game by experiencing the game with as many different people as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Valve does it again...

posted by DatDude14 (STONE MOUNTAIN, GA) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

32 out of 42 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Will we ever get tired of killing zombies??? Not if Valve keeps putting out games like this. Left 4 Dead 2 is everything you loved in the first installment on steroids! We have 5 great campaigns here that will keep you and your friends on your toes for a really long time. This time around, survival mode is included in the game which is really nice. Also, Valve gave us what we wanted which was some sweet melee weapons! Look, I hear a lot of people saying that it's too short and its just the same thing over and over again. With the switching of the AI, you are getting a different experience every time regardless how many times you have played the game. I bet the people who say that its too short have only played it on easy or normal. Try playing it on advanced or extreme and tell me the same thing. Last but not least, this game is meant to be played with three other friends.
Gameplay: 9
Presentation: 8
Lasting Appeal: 10
Overall : 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Better L4D

posted by CmChun (ANNANDALE, NJ) Aug 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Left 4 Dead 2 is a very enjoyable shooting game. It improved many features from the first game such as the quantity of weapons, the amount of zombies in one screen, and even the story.

For a zombie apocalypse game, players have an arsenal of weapons to choose from, such as melee weapons, guns, special ammunition, unique grenades, and etc.

The first L4D only had 200 zombies per level, until more of them will spawn later on. The 2nd L4D can have up to 500 zombies per level. Adding more zombies in the game will further improve the overall fun you will recieve when playing this game.

There are new zombies to fight and play as.
Charger: Charges
Spitter: Spits acid
Jockey: Jumps at you

Uncommon Infected: There are 5 types of Uncommon Infected that are found only in their respective campaign levels. They are not as significant as Special infected but they still have an influence to gameplay.

With 5 campaigns comes with a story of L4D2. It's not engaging or interesting, but they at least expanded upon the L4D universe.

The best part in the game are the gametypes. You have new ones like Scavenger and Realism. Scavenger is just like versus but you stop survivers from getting gas cans. Realism is a campaign gametype where everything is more "realistic".

Overall, Left 4 Dead 2 is an awesome game and it deserves a 10 for its unbelievable replayability and the fun of its multiplayer features.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the first.

posted by Vegito (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Aug 26, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Very fun FPS that involves many zombies. The game is much better than the first one and more fun. I wish the campaign was a bit longer, but then again, who doesn't? My only major grief with the game was that most of the story takes place in the day time, which makes the game less spooky, and takes away from the "feel" of the game. Hearing a hunter's scream in a dark alley or office building is just a bit more interesting than hearing the scream and seeing down the street in broad daylight. Still though, a very good game and worth a play through if you are an FPS or zombie fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Left 4 Dead 2 Best Game!

posted by MattAtTaCk (BLOOMFIELD HILLS, MI) Nov 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I pre-ordered Left 4 Dead 2 from Gamestop, and I just picked it up yesterday, and this game is amazing. Just for playing for 2 minutes i was already in love with it. The game is so much more violent, which I like! Versus is a whole lot better, new game modes are fun, and the campaigns are a whole lot of fun and more cooperative! This game is worth to rent from gamefly, and to buy. The only thing that is not very good, which is probably because of the day the game just came out, is the lag. After the 17th, it has gotten better, I started playing versus after I beat all the campaigns, it wasn't that laggy. But don't let that stop you to get this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It is what you make it!

posted by Conkrete (NEW PORT RICHEY, FL) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Left 4 Dead 2 is, as the title says, what you make of it. For those of you who enjoyed L4D, you'll absolutely love this one, however if you didn't, you'll likely be disappointed.

L4D2 is constant with all the things that made L4D great; smooth, performance-based graphics, fluid gameplay, and a small learning curve. Massacring zombies is as exciting in this one as it was in the first, more so actually with the wider range of weapons. The campaigns are very similar in style, but each is different in it's own way keeping things fresh. The tactical side of the game is also more highlighted by the fact that there are a few more special infected to save your teammates from- or be saved from for that matter! They also added in more game modes to play, like survival and realistic mode, to offer a little more variation.

Now what I really mean by the game is what you make it is this- if you choose to play all the different game modes and hook up with friends online and try the campaigns on the hardest difficulty, this game can be a blast. It is EXTREMELY challenging if you make it that way, and doing it with friends or cool people that are willing to take it seriously and have fun doing it makes it unlike any other game. If you just play the campaigns on the easier difficulties, just do versus modes, or basically limit yourself in any way, you're going to find this game repetitive and be disappointed.

All in all, they did an excellent job of giving you the opportunity to have a blast playing a great game. It looks great, it plays smoothly, and it keeps that fresh Left 4 Dead concept alive in a major way. If you choose to take advantage of all the possibilities, you have yourself a game that you can spend weeks to months on! I personally love it, and playing it the way I mentioned is a great way to have fun with friends or meet some new people!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

First off... AMAZING!!!!!!!!

posted by GamerCro (ALPHARETTA, GA) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Valve has made a perfect game. Hundreds of people to play with on-line. 3 new speacial infected. Many new weapons and cool amunitions such as incidiary ammo. Also 2 new, very helpful items while fighting the horde. Defibulator which takes the place of the health kit to revive dead players and the adreniline shot which takes place of the pain pills to give you a quick boost, 25% jump to your health, and you can run through the horde without getting hurt.

The 3 new speacial infected are the jockey, charger, and spitter. The jock can leap on a survivors head causing steady damage and can steer them where ever they please. The charger grabs the survivors and runs, if he hits an item while running it causes even more damage. he then procedes to pummel the survivor into the ground until him or the survivor dies. The spitter shots an acid patch that will cause signifacant damage if a survivor stands in it to long.

Also there are 3 new intresting things. Unlike in the 1st left 4 dead there are now lady boomers. Also the tounge of the smoker now comes out the back of the head. The last thing is in daylight the witch walks around(easy way to kill her: have a semi-no-pump-shotgun, with her standing or sitting aim just bellow the head at the end of here hair, shoot twice to make sure you kill her and she dies right then.

All and all, great game and worth the time and money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Same game sicker setup

posted by Derek25 (NEOSHO, MO) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is so much more than the original,melee weapons,rock concerts,new infected,more and I mean alot more zombies. This game does live to the hype.The hit detection addition is remarkable,I have literally shot the butts off a few zombies. I also love the fact of dismembering and beheading. Other than that ,the same core element of the game is intact,SURVIVE!! While the new infected seem recycled from the original they still bring a fresh feel and new tactics for online. They have also fixed a few things that were wrong in the original,more weapons in more places,more checkpoints,longer levels and more detailed environments. They have brought more where the pipe bomb is ,bile bombs,fire bullets,explosive bullets,adrenaline shots, and the chest paddles. This game has more than enough to keep you coming back for more. If you are a fan of the original then you will love this.There are a few issues,minor ones but still need discussed.Such as loading times are insane for online,the kick player system is to easily exploitable,for instance, I join a game where there are 3 players on my team and four on the other.The other team initiates a vote to kick one my team members,and since they have more votes we lost a team member ,granting the opposition an extreme advantage. This can get annoying ,join a room just to get voted out for no apparent reason other than the other team wants an easy win. Aside from that setback this is a solid game worth your attention. MY score 9/10 . Great gaming,intense multiplayer,good graphics with an annoying multiplayer voting system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Absoloutly ADDICTING!

posted by xxShayxD (EUSTIS, FL) Feb 27, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I love this game! Part one AND two! There are little campaigns and after playing it for a while you know how to play, But I love the fact EVERY-TIME you play its DIFFERENT, there isn't ALWAYS going to be a tank in a certain place! You NEVER know when your going to run into one, You can play the level over & over and it WON'T Be the same! :D.

I also love the face that there is Easy, Normal, Advanced, and Expert, Because eventually you're going to get used to the level, and you won't want it to be SO easy! :D, goto advanced! aha!

I can play this game for HOURS! LOVE the game!

DEFIANTLY recommended, ESPECIALLY if you LOVE offline CO-OP with your REAL friends(: .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

play it for more then just 15 minutes

posted by DANMAN72 (Sharpsburg, MD) Feb 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

left 4 dead 2 is really a better game then left 4 dead 1 and thats saying something when you think about it new weapons new game mode five campaigns 3 new zombie class and is a game that you can play over and over and over.
most people say that left 4 dead 2 is dumb that all you do is just go around shooting zombies well thats not true these people just can't give it more then 15 minutes and then well i'm done. for me i just can't get enough of it .tanks. millions of zombies and alot of "OMG RUN!!!!!!!!" moments so if you like that stuff don't lession to people who say its dumb the real dumb ones are them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

fun

posted by vowtoo (CLEVELAND, TN) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

sometimes glitchy server's, but the gameplay itself is exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Fun!

posted by BigDaddy22 (CORPUS CHRISTI, TX) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you have played the first LfD4, there was not much of a difference as far as gameplay mechanics. Don't get me wrong the game is awsome; however I don't think it was worth making this new title into a full on new game. It would of been better as a digital download and much cheaper as well. Don't think I will buy this game right away, just rent it for a while and wait till the price drops. All in all a great multiplayer and tons of fun to play with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Equal if not better

posted by Morthos (RENO, NV) Nov 21, 2009

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The first L4D was amazing. It was fun, addictive, and it was everything I wanted in a video game. The second one met my expectations and then some. Now I'm debating whether or I still prefer the first one or I like this one more. By far it is just as fun as the first. The neat thing about this installment is wide variety of weapons you come across in the game. The melee weapons, such as the chainsaw, are extremely potent and awesome to use. The bullets also seem to have more devastating effects in this one too.

I don't really get the criticism that has been pinned to L4D2. Some have complained about the graphics being poor (do these people need glasses or something?) and thus that makes the game complete trash. First of all there is nothing wrong with the graphics, so unless you're really picky about over the top graphics you should enjoy the look of this one. Other criticisms include the difficulty. It is true that this game is more challenging than the first, at least I found it to be. But some have gone on to say that it's TOO difficult. Which is ridiculous. If you find this game difficult you should go back to playing Mario Bros. 3. It's just like the first one: once you get familiar with each level by playing it multiple times it gets much easier. Most people who are writing these reviews, criticizing the game, probably haven't played this game enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nonstop undead smacking good time!

posted by Paindancer (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

What can I say? This was a darn fine game! VERY like Zombieland in some places, the game plays smooth, and has a great mix of gore and humor in it. Said humor really sets this one apart from the rest of games in this category, championed by Ellis, whos long tales of his friend, to 'choo choo' noises while running the roller coaster were just priceless. Not much of a on line player, but even from a solo player, this is probably going to be on my buy list later on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved this game

posted by Schwab17 (CINCINNATI, OH) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

i bought this the day it came out and still loving it the new characters are fun and funny. if u loved the first one u sure will love to play this one because now it as melee weapons and a new mutiplayer option called savage or watever forgive my spelling. but anyhow u can play as 2 new horde type enemies in versus like The Spitter and Charger which are both really fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

it nasy raw

posted by vampire4 (NORTH CHICAGO, IL) Feb 26, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

u got to play to part one it is nasty raw u will ilke it a lot iv have playd it 56 times. think u ilke to .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Left 4 Dead 2

posted by golith1985 (CARSON, WA) Feb 21, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

An excellent game when it comes to weapon variety, and no level stays the same, it changes each time you play it so theres always some new enemy in a new spot waiting to take a bite outta your butt when you least expect it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfection

posted by SilverCBR (SEVIERVILLE, TN) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

12 out of 22 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

I would have to say this is the best survival horror game out there by far. Resident Evil made the genre but L4D and L4D2 took it above and beyond. I am a fan of survival horror games and I was really loyal to resident evil ... right up until L4D came out. This game takes everything you like about the first L4D and improves on it. More guns, more zombies, longer campaigns, more special infected, more "omg" moments. To some people this game is "repetition" ... only if you play it on easy. There is a lot of team work and strategy in this game. If you get a bad team you will die (unless you play on easy) ... I suggest playing it on normal at the very least.

I really don't see many flaws in this game. The story is great. Graphics are top notch, arms fly off, heads roll, blood splatters ... really cool. I don't ever really feel fear when playing this game though ... Resident Evil use to have a special knack for that (RE 4 and 5 sucked though) ... this game is less about the scare and more about the kill all sons of female dogs ... as Ellis put it so bluntly in the game. I highly suggest you buy this game ... at the very least rent it and play the snot out of it. I don't suggest it for young teens or kids though.

Playing along is really fun but this game get better if you have friends to play with ... nothing is more fun than shouting "dude get this freakin smoker off me" and your pal says "haha thats what you get for going off alone" ... Its always a lot of fun to fight a tank and just as much fun to cuss about it when he kills you :-) ... play on expert, you will die a LOT but if you have friends helping at least you can say "omg dude did you see that" ... enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

better than the first

posted by mcnast (SEARCHLIGHT, NV) Mar 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

the best thing they could do for the left for dead series they did; they got us out of those dumb dark buildings and got us out into the open streets with tons of zombies. makes replay a lot better strictly for zombie hunting value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun for a while but...

posted by SilentB33 (MARINETTE, WI) Feb 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

It gets boring sooo fast, just like the first one. The new special Infected gave some more fun to it as did the new "scavenge" mode. Graphics were decent and there was fun acheivements to get and guns to use. This one actually had more of a story but not that great anyways. Worth the rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse