Rent Last Rebellion for PS3
view large frontback

Last Rebellion

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
3.4

915 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Last Rebellion

posted by Killerewok (LITTLE EGG HARBOR TWP, NJ) Jun 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

22 out of 24 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

This game took me 12 hours to Plat. It's a very linear RPG with very little depth. There is no real armor system, no change in weapons, and no side quests. The game is mostly based around the battle system, which in and of itself is quite good, but very easy to exploit. Basically you choose the order in which to attack the body parts of the creature you are fighting. As you battle the creature several times, you will find the correct order to attack to generate a combo. Once you find this order you can save it, and use it everytime. Of course if you know the order to start with (via GameFAQs lets say), you can simply plow through the game in god-like fasion. I reccomend it to Trophy hunters who enjoy JRPGs, as it is a really easy Platinum, and the story is interesting enough to keep you mildly interested, but hard core RPG fans should stay away. You won't find much to do here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

PLEASE READ FIRST

posted by Foxhoundx (LOUISVILLE, KY) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

31 out of 40 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This game is the love hate type and doesn't really have a middle ground for the most part you are gonna see people giving horrible ratings for little to no reason like "this is terrible" and thats about all they say. I want everyone to understand, YOU HAVE TO look at video games subjectively and not just instantly say you hate other wise you will never be able to see the diamonds hidden in the rough. OK now to the review.

The good things about this game is that it is a traditional rpg in the way that it is turn based with a little bit of a spin. Each enemy has certain set of weak points which you have to learn and then exploit to beat them more easily. Because the game plays like this you can be in one fight and utterly destroy your enemy but go straight to the next fight and get destroyed yourself. To make your fight a little easier you are bound to a sealer which you use to cast stronger magic and to seal the souls of your dead enemies to keep them from reviving and becoming stronger. I would like to strain you must seal all enemies except for a few bosses.

The difficulty in this game isn't too bad but thats not to say you are or are not going to die a few times. The thing thats really gonna decided the difficultly for is if you just mash the X button or really think when you play games.

The graphics are a bit "different" because there are not any real motion cut scenes because the game is beautifully drawn, instead of animated.

The story isn't that great but trust me it isn't bad either. You be hating your self for even heard it but it isn't very memorable either.

The voice acting is the same not great or bad.

The last few things are a little nit picky. The enemies move a little too fast outside of battle and they re spawn much too quickly. My biggest nit pick for me at least was that the game was much too short after doing everything in the game I had only played for a little over 23 hrs

In conclusion you will more than likely either love or hate this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Really fun battle system, but so flawed otherwise

posted by callahan09 (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

15 out of 20 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The battle system is awesome, addictive, and a real joy to play with. It encourages experimentation and there's a lot of versatility to it, not to mention that it's utterly unique. Other articles have detailed the battle system already, so I won't explain it here, but unlike any other I've experienced and it's really, really awesome. And the interplay between Nine and Aisha and the different qualities that they each have and how you have to switch back and forth to succeed is quite cool.

But for everything good about the gameplay, there's something bad to counterbalance it and keep this game from being great.

For instance, when you're assigning your attack order for your chain attacks, if you decide that you want to just interchange to the order of 2 body parts, there's no intrinsic option to do that. It's a piece of cake if you just want to switch the last 2 parts you selected, because you can just deselect them and reselect them in the opposite order. But for an enemy with 10 body parts, if you wanted to just switch the 1st part you chose with the 10th part you chose, you have to deselect ALL of the parts and reselect them in the exact order you want. A simple "interchange the order of these 2 parts" option would have made experimenting in the battles a lot more user friendly. It's also annoying that once you level up a couple of times in each new area, all the older enemies don't give you any experience anymore (literally, ZERO exp) and it can be unavoidable to fight them, so they are just a time-waster traveling through older areas and not being able to avoid fights and not even getting any experience from the fights.

But the battles are fun and unique enough for me personally to enjoy the game.

Good translation and voice acting, but a boring and uninteresting story mix with the fun battle system but poor overworld gameplay to make for a distinctly average game. Lots of bad and lots of good will make it hit or miss, depending on your patience and tastes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WOW.... Really?!?!

posted by DrJMaster1 (ASTORIA, NY) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

15 out of 21 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

And to think, I never believed I would find and play the worst video game since ET on the Atari 2600. The creators of the game need to push themselves into oncoming traffic if they haven't done so already.

The gameplay is tedious and annoying. The storyline is waste of time. The RPG engine is more frustrating then it's worth. I can actual say there is not one deeming quality about this game. NOT ONE!

Seriously, I joined Gamefly to test the waters and play games that I would not normally consider buying but I'm upset that Last Rebellion ever made it into my game queue. Shame on me and shame on you if you don't read this review and avoid this title like the plague.

Do not listen to the "Easy Platinum" talk out there. Any amount of time you spend playing this game will be lost forever and you will be a worse-off person for it.

This game needs to be buried and never thought of or remembered again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Developers pleasure selves-- not gamers

posted by jfriedlan (GRAND RAPIDS, MI) Mar 27, 2010

Member since May 2006

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Disclaimer: I put down the game after about 2 hours and do not profess to know what its end game is like.

When making a game of an established genre, there must be something new or original in it. What Last Rebellion tries to do is what NIS tries and fails to do in all of their games that I've played: to conceal a simple game in a wash of needlessly complex and inutile game mechanics. They did not make an interesting combat system that demonstrates awareness of what the player does when playing and attempts challenge the player by adding more factors and possibilities. LR is tic-tac-toe in a foreign language played on an ornate board while bells and whistles try to distract.

In comparable games like FF 12 and 13, they have actively removed the parts of the rpg that have become tedious and replaced them with new combat paradigms all the while seeking to make it more fast paced and less yawn-inducing. Last Rebellion does exactly the opposite: it deliberately wastes time.

The inevitable battles, besides being numerous and respawning every time the player walks away, take a long time because the animations take a long time to play and cannot be disabled. In my 2 hour stint, I would select the exact same command that I had the previous time I had fought the same monster (in the same place) in roughly 10 seconds. Then I would wait 32 seconds to watch my attack animations.

Yes, 32 seconds of PS2-grade animation for 10 seconds of mindless input. Monster battles in the first open area included between 3 and 5 at a time. Selecting to attack all 3 monsters and then follow it up with an offensive spell took 32 seconds. Normally, this precedes the enemy counterattack, but in this timed case, the monsters were defeated. Expect to spend 2-3 minutes per fight early game and that it will get worse.

Story and voiceovers are poor.
Combat is intimidating initially but not challenging.
Graphics are 10 years out of date.
Game is tiresome.
NIS fails again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please don't waste your time

posted by Slick15 (VALDOSTA, GA) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

14 out of 36 gamers (39%) found this review helpful

This is my first review, and I just had to leave a comment on this game. This, hands down, is the worst RPG I have ever had the displeasure of playing. I literally only made it 20 minutes into this game before it was sealed up and on it's way back to Gamefly.

First off, the dialogue is not only extremely bad (seemingly zero continuity), the way they are sequenced is horrible.

The battle system, while inventive, is extremely clunky. And the animation of fight sequences is reminiscent of 8-bit NES.

That's all I have to say about this one, save yourself the pain, move on to something else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

rent at own risk

posted by briang573 (LITTLE ELM, TX) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 24 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

horrible game play. horrible story. got through 30 minutes and had to send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unplayable

posted by bacon420 (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

it takes a special type of game to kill you off with the first random encounter. bad plot bad characters bad system. each combat battle takes entirely too long and the enemies self resurect with full health and exponential strength. don't play this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Absolutely Terrible

posted by AeroCruzzu (UXBRIDGE, MA) Mar 1, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 17 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Terrible things about this game:
- Character animations
- Graphics (Compared to KZ2)
- Story + presentation of story
- Character voices

its not worthy of being a PS3 exclusive. The only good Japanese RPGs I have played are the Final Fantasy series.

Come on Japan! Stop making god-awful games like this that tarnish the PS3!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Okay RPG Nothing Spectacular

posted by jth2009 (HOMOSASSA, FL) Mar 11, 2013

Member since Apr 2006

This game does have a few good aspects to it, like turn based fighting, which I greatly miss in many of today's hack'em slash'em active time battle systems.

I did not mind having to share HPs and MPs between the two characters as you start off with a decent amount of both.

The game play is easy to pick up on and not difficult to master. The only drawback to the game is that you have to share CPs between both characters in order to attack "monsters". Sharing CPs can make the game more difficult as you have to plan out which "monsters" to attack and also have to try to figure out the order of the body parts. It is easy to run out of CPs and then have to either use magic attacks or defend until CPs return. However, another drawback is that if you already "killed" a "monster" it can respawn if take to long waiting on CPs to return and do not Seal it - which also costs CPs.

If the game designers would have left out the CPs entirely, this game could have been great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

terrible

posted by worlddomanator (PUYALLUP, WA) Dec 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

there is nothing that draws you in but you keep playing only to find the battle system is even lamer then resonence of fates. you want a good nis rpg get a disgea

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Last Rebellion

posted by L26 (HIALEAH, FL) Apr 5, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

It is a fun adventure with a great plot. It is funny from beginning to end. It describes light and darkness as the clash for supremency and balance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not Great

posted by Thaelryn (FLINT, MI) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Last Rebellion is good. It's not the best. It's not Fallout, Dragon Quest, Final Fantasy, or any of the other big name RPG's...but it is innovative, and the artwork is awesome. The combat system is wonderful, since you only have to enter commands once, then you can 'record' them with a button press, and then recall that action on any other of that same enemy.
The storyline, however, is where it falls flat. Its not the most epic of storylines, even if it is original. I would give it a solid seven out of ten. If you want an in-depth RPG with hours of character development, find another game. If you want to have a good ten hours of fun, as well as 19 easy trophies, this game is for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

What made it worth it was the "neko mikan" song.

posted by Nozombi (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Oct 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

It's playable. Sure, you may skip nearly all of the cut scenes, like I did. Sure, you may end up only finishing the game to plat' it, like I did. But it's playable.

If you exploit the battle system, which is easy to do with access to GFAQs or the wikipedia, you may actually enjoy the obliteration of the game's bosses. At the end of the game, I found myself at such a high level (level 57), that the final bosses took less than 30 seconds each. Takes away from the challenge or anticipation of beating the game, though.

What I did enjoy was the guest art in the loading screens, which is a lot to say about the game itself, and the Another World arena that unlocks near the end of the game, which allows you to fight Orange ("neko mikan") and Prinnies from the Disgaea series. Frankly, what made the game worth playing for me was a single song--the one used for the BGM whenever you fought Oranges.

Overall, I don't regret playing this game. It's an easy plat' for those who care about that sort of thing, and fans of JRPGs in general certainly won't mind attempting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad - If You Don't Take It Seriously

posted by 8BitOverdose (WOODBRIDGE, VA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Okay, first off, this game is short...I beat it in a day. However, that doesn't mean it isn't fun!

It's rare to find an RPG these days that only requires about 15 hours of playtime and it is a welcome change of pace for anyone who doesn't really have the time to play an epic 100+ hour campaign due to work, school, etc.

The combat takes a bit of getting used to at first, but after you figure out how to properly restore CP (Command Points) during battle you are golden. In fact, once I mastered this skill (Chain Booster), I never had another problem in battle again. I became godly!

The story itself is kind of weak, but it is different. Something I've never experienced before in my entire 25+ years of gaming so I guess that is saying something. The main character is a jerk, but if you look this game objectively and don't take it seriously then becomes hilarious.

I had fun with this short title and for anyone looking to rent it just to get Trophies, this is a great way to do so. It is quick, easy, and there isn't too much exploring or collecting to do. There is also quick-travel through portals that are found in every new area so when the game requires you to backtrack (which doesn't happen much), it is that much easier to get where you are going. Just grab a guide online and have fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Waste of time and space....

posted by LGryphon (CLARKSVILLE, TN) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

I only made it 30 minutes in and I wish I hadn't. I love RPGs, even ones that most people say are horrible I can usually find a redeeming quality in. Not this one.

The story is poorly written, cliche laden, and has been done into the ground so many times over I don't know what to think. Were they even thinking? My FIVE YEAR OLD niece tells more creative, coherent stories that this one. The skip button was my friend because not only was the story line garbage but the voice actors were worse. Vocaloids have more emotional depth than these characters do.

The battle system is long and tedious and makes what should be quick battles into long, drawn out affairs that suck any possible fun out of the experience. You randomly choose from a list of about 7-10 body parts to "tag" (physically attack) and hope you hit them in order. The idea is to figure out the proper order to hit them in to cause max damage (and it lists the order as you succeed). After you tag them you can hit the being with spells in the exact same areas in the exact same order. However, the tags only last so long and the monsters seem to randomly "cure" themselves of tags, which means you waste turns trying to cast spells that CAN NOT hit because there are no "tags" on the monsters.

I can see the potential in the system that they completely mishandled - it's called the Fallout series, and I'm talking the original here.

Kids, just say "No" to Last Rebellion. You will never get the time wasted on this heaping pile of garbage back. This gets a 2 just because the game actually functions - and thats about all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

a dumbed down kiddie version of Final Fantasy...

posted by VSwho (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Last Rebellion is basically Final Fantasy without great voice acting...without an incredible story...with Playstation 2 graphics (close to Playstation 1 if you're talking about Final Fantasy) and with a simplified version of the fighting system...

the voice acting is HORRIFIC...like bad anime...overall it's a game that will make you say "boy i'm glad i didn't buy this game." it would have been cool as maybe a Nintendo DS or PSP RPG but for a console game it just doesn't have any depth or production quality.

the only reason i could justify playing this game is if you're trying to find another easy platinum trophy...which is basically the main reason i decided to check it out. it won't last that long & you could actually do ok even with skipping all the pseudo cut scenes since the story is kind of predictable and the voice acting is pretty painful to endure.

trophy hunters: this is the game for you.

RPG lovers: skip it...go play something awesome like Elder Scrolls Oblivion, or Final Fantasy XIII, or even Borderlands was an amazing game with some RPG-esque leveling & skill customizing elements that any gamer should not miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible game

posted by toonchi (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Mar 4, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I think this was by far thr worst game I've played yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

LR

posted by Faded702 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

To keep it short and to the point its not that great, Graphics are Bad, Gameplay Bad, And the story is very short. The only thing I enjoyed was an easy platinum LOL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Koei should be punished

posted by SuperHuman (YORK, SC) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

Simply put what was Koei thinking when they Released this trash? This isnt a game its an abomination to the ps3 world. Not, one thing about this game is enjoyable. At one point I wanted to duct tape a friend to a chair and make him watch the cut scenes and send to mtvs pranked but i then thought that would polly be a form of terrorism and id be placed in federal jail.

1/10

Hands down worst game ive played for ps3. On, a side note i did platinum so that makes me a sad human being pray for me please

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This game is for renting not buying.

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

Not a bad game. The battle system isn't bad at all. The game itself is not to hard and lacks a lot in the department of accessories, different characters, and extras. The story line can become boring at times, but a skip feature is available. Overall I still enjoyed the game and it should be worth renting for if you are a real RPG fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok I was suprised

posted by zargot (BURLINGTON, VT) Aug 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2009

Well going into this game I expected to hate it and send it back within ten minutes or so. Now granted the voice acting was pretty bad and the story line was a little lame I actually kinda liked the game. Its pretty short something like 15 hours including doing all the side quest. Now its definitely a rental, I wouldn't pay more than $15.00 to own this game. The battle system has a lot of potential but this game didn't realize it at all. Items were more or less pointless and the stamp magic system I found useless 95 percent of the time. It was fun trying to find out the enemies weakness and exploit it. Plus you have to like a game when Prinny comes out to say "DooD!!". All in all kinda fun but rental only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An OK RPG for a system without RPG"s

posted by AutumnLost (BRICK, NJ) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

If you like RPG's, then there is no reason not to rent this. It's short, very short, and there are many flaws which I will list, but, before I do, I will say that if you're looking for a more traditional RPG for the PS3, this isn't the worst thing you can rent.
There's not much to say other than flaws, so... I'll list them.
First, and most importantly, the cutscenes/dialouges will stretch your patience again and again for a rather simple (though not too bad) story. Their long, and the lines of dialouge are either 1 or 2 lines, after which you must press x and x again to get to the next. They're long, not too interesting and strangely have an almost stall effect between them. It was a pain.
Second; the battles are irrelevant. What I mean is that there is absolutely no point to train because the game is designed for you to push into the boss, win, get an absurd amount of Xp and level up about 4-5 levels, then push into the next and level up 5-6 levels. There is no intricacy to this, and what it really does is make the en-route-to-boss battles incredibly tiresome and meaningless (which they are).
Third; It's linear 100%. Not so much a flaw but the fact that it is linear and with RPG-style battles, and without any reason to battle, it kind of hurts to go A-to-B and knowing exactly what awaits (one of my biggest qualms with FF13. If it's a linear turn-based RPG, then it should be an action game with light-rpg elements, not RPG battle systems. Horrible, horrible trend).
Fourth; it's short. My final play time was 13 hours, though it would have been 11 if I hadn't spent the first two hours "training" only to figure out the style of the boss's extravagent experience drop.

Honestly, though, it's not the worst game and, if you like RPG's, it's definitely a worthwhile rent. If you don't like RPG's, though, don't rent this and do yourself the favor of renting a decent game from the genre. Otherwise, try it, beat it, send it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Only fun for about an hour

posted by Dracobane (HOLLAND, OH) Aug 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

At first, I figured this would be a good classic JRPG. So maybe the storyline wasn't so great... and voice acting made it worse. But, at least the fighting was different. Problem was, the fighting got stale after an hour or so. You level up a few times on enemies, then they give you 1% of the exp you were getting from them at first. Fight a boss that's easy, then repeat.

Do that a few times and it gets put back in the mail the next day. The characters are so far from realistic that they really make it seem more like a bad MMORPG. Play a free MMORPG instead, you won't waste all that time for shipping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Has potential (if you like the style)

posted by Calsetes (MOUNT WOLF, PA) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

Before I get started, let me just say I couldn't get into this game myself, hence the "average" score.

The way the story is presented is unique. Whereas most games nowadays present story sequences in either cutscenes (either pre-rendered or in-game engine ones,) this game uses a method of artistic drawings combined with voiceovers. It is definitely unique in that aspect, and makes it stand out among a crowd of other games that use the "tried and true" method of video game movie scenes. The art is well-drawn and works really well for the game's style.

As for the actual story, the basic (spoiler-free) setup is this: There are two gods in the world - one that controls life, and one that controls death. They were in balance, but then the "life god" got a bit greedy and started abusing his power. Normally, you'd think that's a good thing, but he's making undead. People look to the god of death for strength, and split into two "factions," Blades (who excel at killing) and Sealers (who excel at making sure dead things stay dead.) From the little bit I played, it looked like there would be some humorous parts in it, as there is in most Japanese-style RPGs, and more than likely a few twists and turns. The two main characters also look to have some conflict between them, as one's a Blade and the other is a Sealer. Again, I can't comment too much on the story as I didn't get real far before shutting it off, but it seems a bit slow to get going.

As for gameplay, it does use a unique turn-based battle method. In battle, you physically attack different parts of an enemy's body in order to "tag" them. Once tagged, you can use what's called "Stamp Magic" to damage the tagged portions. It makes for an interesting battle system, and makes you experiment a bit to find out what order you attack someone in.

In short, this is a unique twist to the typical Japanese-style RPG; however, those changes might not suit fans of typical JRPGs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse