Rent Lair for PS3
view large frontback

Lair

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
4.9

5866 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly pretty good.

posted by Seraphemz (Costa Mesa, CA) Jun 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

38 out of 39 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

I read a lot of negative things about this game initially, but when I found out about the new control system I decided to give it a shot. Most of the negative things I had heard where about how the controls were horrible. Well I never played the game with the old controls but I have to say that the analog controls worked perfectly. I really really liked this game. The story was really good, and the graphics were amazing. There were some camera problems but nothing too major and never died from it. I would definitely recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Takes a while to get comfortable, but..

posted by NYCsDizTs (NEW YORK, NY) Sep 21, 2008

Member since Aug 2008

10 out of 10 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I gave Lair an 8 because i stuck with the game although i didn't like it at first. At first the controls are a little difficult to get used to but as you play the game you will get comfortable with them and the game becomes good and fun. The storyline is OK. It's a little typical if you really think about it but the gameplay to go with it makes it what it is.The last couple missions were the best part of the game. I would recommend this game to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The SIXAXISS on lair

posted by SKIDrow80 (PARACHUTE, CO) Feb 4, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

21 out of 25 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I've heard from other reviews that this game was very hard to play becasue the SIXAXIS was a little screwy but I seem to like it alot. Its quite easy for me to control my character. SO dont read all the other reviews and say this game is really dumb and just give it a try you might like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Controls are not as bad as they say

posted by Gregarious (RICHMOND, VA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

31 out of 41 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

OK, so they could've--should've-- given us the choice between sixaxis or analog control but really the controls are not that bad. The reviewers at many sites obviously didn't go through the training missions--not that I always do. But you'll need to in order to get the hang of the controls. After about 20 minutes or so, it'll feel right considering you're flying a dragon. The visuals are stunning, the music great, and the story is fine so far. This is at least a "rent" as far as I'm concerned. I'll wait to see if I want to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Beautiful graphics, orginal gameplay, but tricky

posted by PinkDyno (HOBOKEN, NJ) Jan 19, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I have noticed that most of the reviews focus on the controls, and I would have to say that the controls are my biggest complaint. The game IS worth renting just to give it a go:

To start out, the graphics are fabulous both in the cut-scenes and in the game play. It is very visually appealing. The music is beautiful and I like how they do the narration and tell the story. I haven't finished the game and I'm probably not even halfway at this point, but so far the storyline is great. (Nothing out of this world, but I'm wanting to know more).

The game play on a dragon both in the air and on the ground is incredibly original and fresh. Utilizing the Six-Axis is taking us where video games need to be going. The game has a tutorial section which has challenges to improve your control and combat, which is immensely helpful.

Here are my issues with it. First, when you are battling in the air, most of the time your foes practically blend in with the game's scenery and it's really hard to pick them out, especially when you have to ride quickly to them on your dragon. They have a view that you can use to see them, but it's very faulty and sometimes throws me off course when I use it for some reason. Second, the controls are fresh and different, but wow are they testy. Sometimes you have to barely make adjustments, and sometimes little adjustments don't really do anything. It's very particular, and sometimes they don't work exactly how you are trying to make them work. If you are willing to put in some work to really get the feel of the controls it probably wouldn't be a problem.

Regardless, it is definitely worth getting just to try it and say you did. If you don't like it after a few days just stick it back in the mail. That's why we love GameFly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Game I've Ever Played

posted by BestJaxx (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jan 6, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The title sounds like an overstatement, but no, I'm serious. I have not played a game that I hated more, including all the Eye Toy games. Nothing compares to LAIR. I preordered it because I thought it would be good, so I've only played it with the no-analog-stick control. They have added analog-stick control for free since then, but I wasn't nice enough to give them another chance. They crushed my hopes so bad at first that they didn't warrant another one.

Anyway, onto the badness. First of all, the controls sucked. I don't know if they still do, but I think it is a fair guess that they aren't going to be great. The controls were unresponsive at best, and even then, dogfighting with dragons isn't as fluid as I would have hoped.

Second, the missions are stupid. You know how when you are playing a first person shooter, you will be given objectives, and they will be rather easy to follow? Not here. Here, most of the time you won't have any idea what they are asking you to do, and you will randomly shoot down enemy dragons, which would be good fun on its own of the controls didn't suck.

Third, and possibly the most frustrating, the difficulty curve could most easily be recreated by putting a seismograph on top of the oldest functioning drier ever made. About seven missions in, I hit a level that I attempted about twenty times. I played the level for a solid day before throwing in the towel, and I never came back.

This is the kind of game that causes school shootings. Not Manhunt, not GTA, but LAIR, and all its fail. The only reason LAIR doesn't have a one is because to me, a one warrants the game that finally makes me commit suicide. Luckily, I got out of LAIR fast enough, but some people may not. Play with all caution, and preferably a blanket.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I thought I could do it

posted by Alakazoom8 (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Nov 12, 2007

Member since May 2006

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

So, I am a gamer. And I have read the reviews of this game so far, and really, I thought the whole "controller" problem was because they were not good at games or anything. I gave this game a try, and yes as it turns out, the controller system is very hard to use and unstable. It would be easier just to use the joystick instead of the six-axis controller.

The graphics are pretty, however, gameplay is very frusterating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mediocre, but could have been great

posted by retiman (ARCADIA, CA) Oct 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 12 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Lair isn't as horrible as many reviewers would have you believe, but it isn't great either. The graphics and soundtrack are breathtaking, but I cringe at the presentation. A minor gripe is that loss of framerate when running at 1080p, which I suppose one might expect, but it's still disheartening to drop to 720p to make sense of the action happening on screen.

The major gripe is that the flow of the game just feels incredibly disconnected. When you start the game, you pick chapters from what looks like a DVD scene navigation menu, and as the story progresses, you'll select subsequent chapters from this menu to play. This is fine for games like Locoroco or Mario Kart, but detracts you from being fully immersed in Lair's story that's told through wonderful cg cutscenes.

The next annoyance is that once mission objectives are met, you don't immediately receive any indication of having done so. The screen fades to black (taking 3-5 seconds), and a cinematic starts. Given that some cinematics play if you are losing (bomb carring manta rays die if you don't protect them, for example) and some cinematics play if you actually win, it can make for a very confusing gameplay experience.

The next issue is that the mini cutscenes that play during a mission (because you rescued an NPC or destroyed a key structure) are simply not fluid enough. You might be flying toward a structure from one angle, and the camera sudden shifts to a completely different direction and shows you landing from that direction, or skips several in-between animations altogether, resulting in a finicky, jerky, and disconnected game flow.

These are the major issues that cause Lair to be subpar; I'm not sure why most reviewers docked Lair some 5 to 6 simply because they weren't used to the control scheme, which can be tricky, but isn't horrid as they claim. I will say that it takes getting used to, but I didn't go into the game expecting my dragon to control like a sports car in GT4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont waste time playing this.

posted by 216to808 (Ewa Beach, HI) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Worst game I've ever played, put it back in the mail about an hour after receiving. Controls are awful, you are forced to use the six axis to move, not even an option. The control pad and sticks only move camera. Targeting is nonexistent. Combat is ridiculous. Game graphics are decent. I would call this a update of Joust, but that would insult a great classic game, which is a hundred times better than this junk. Glad I rented it, would feel taken advantage of if I bought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The biggest reason this game sucks.

posted by Corinthian (HONOLULU, HI) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

If you've ever seen a car chase movie where one car tries to push another off the road, that's essentially what dragon to dragon battles look like in the air. It's really lame. It can shift into a free-fall sequence where you mash buttons to attack your opponent, but even that feels boring and easy. Every mission your allies tell you exactly what to do every five minutes. The game is very linear which wouldn't matter if the battles weren't so boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lair

posted by Vader101 (SANTEE, CA) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Aug 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Lair. What's there to say that hasn't been said before.

Controls:
Every once in a while I forget to tilt the controller and try to fly with the thumb stick.
But not bad

The other problem I have is that all the dragons look a like. I sometimes shot some of my own guys. Also knowing where to go is hard.

Also knowing how to take down a boss or a tuff bad guy is hard. They tell you to take out something but not how. Also they keep yelling at you to take out something but they never help.

The game is worth a rental just to see what they can do with the PS3 controller.

PS - Next time let us have a choice on what controller style we want. Tilt or regular thumb sticks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Try it for yourself...

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

65 out of 103 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Seriously...I have read so many reviews saying the controls suck and the gameplay sucks...blah blah blah. Not true. The controls are innovative and take some time getting used to but they do not suck at all. They are a bit sluggish but not bad enough to say they suck or make me want to not play the game. The storyline is great and really gets your attention. Targeting is somewhat difficult but it doesn't really matter when you have so many things to kill and the goal is to just kill kill kill. The graphics are absolutely beautiful and the dragons are rendered very nicely. I have always been a big fan of dragons and while the dragons in this game are not the classic look or what I am used to they do look very cool. I give this game a 10...they went for something new and different and they succeeded by leaps and bounds by my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

your flying a DRAGON!

posted by draco21 (SHARPSVILLE, PA) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

26 out of 40 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

after reading all the bad reviews i was worried about getting this game, good thing i don't believe everything i read the game is great the graphics are amazing the music sets the mood perfect and it has a very good story many people complain about the controls but i didn't have much trouble after playing though a little bit you just got to tilt the controller the way you want to go. remember your flying a dragon not a jet or helicopter, you shouldn't expect to be able to do a 90 degree turn in a sec or have a lock on computer targeting system so i just want to say try it for yourself and remember that this is meant to give the player an experience of flying and fighting with a 2 ton dragon not the latest in modern air combat jets, and this game does that, it lets you feel like its up to you and your dragon to destroy anything that gets in your way with fire and claws,not lock on missiles. so i give this game a 9
graphics 10
sound 9
story 10
controls 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Let's get something straight...

posted by ccaldwell (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Sep 6, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

13 out of 21 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I, too, have read far too many jeering remarks about Lair. When I went to pick it up at a popular game store which-shall-remain-namele- ss, I was even treated like an idiot by the guy behind the counter for wanting the game at all. The treatment I am used to...being a female gamer, I'm used to it. What I don't understand is why so many people can be influenced by a few misguided critics. I find Lair to be the best game out so far on PS3. The controls are different, and so take adjustment, but are no more complicated that getting used to the Wii remote with Zelda: Twilight Princess. I encourage EVERYONE to try this game...especially if you have a flair for the fantastic and have spent many a night dreaming of soaring through the air on your own personal dragon!

Oh, and Lair has the BEST soundtrack I've heard on any next-gen game so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lair falls, controll hurts bad

posted by GoldGlove2 (CHICAGO, IL) Aug 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

19 out of 32 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

The story starts off pretty intense and secures your interest in the two warring civilizations. There is also a brief flight training mission which helps you get slightly familiar with the sixaxis controller, but unfortunately none of this is customizable.

Graphics are amazing if you have a 1080p TV, which is gorgeous in it's view, lighting, shadowing, etc. Very well put together and fairly unique missions. They do a good job of creating new objectives for you each level.

What REALLY hurts this game is the controls. You will get extremely frustrated playing this game. At first I thought the difficulty was set too high, but what it really comes down to is the unresponsiveness of the gameplay control. It takes me about an avg of 3 upward flicks on the controller to do a 180 (should only take 1). Melee fights with other dragons feel unfair against your favor as in I try to avoid them at all costs, you maybe win 1 out of 5 battles. Trying to side swipe/ram them in the side-by-side battles is completely a waste, the controller lacks the most responsiveness there. The takedowns are very cool, but in 8 missions, I've had 2 opportunities to execute it.

I was really excited about this title. The first few missions you won't notice the harsh control, but once you reach the bridge mission and the night/stealth mission you will see what I mean. I also felt that it was almost impossible to save all the mantas from being attacked. No matter what you did, you were going to lose some of the mantas or the grain rafts.

There is also no online play, which might have been cool to at least experience. The control hurts, but an online play experience may have eased the pain. I haven't beaten it yet, but when I do, I will probably be returning it and getting Warhawk instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

if you like flying, buy warhawk!

posted by bigbadben (EL SOBRANTE, CA) Nov 18, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

maybe it's not the game for a guy like me, who mostly plays shooters. couldn't really get into the who gist of the controls plus the story line seemed lacking in some parts. really felt like LOTR. liked the graphics and the sound... disliked being confused. didn't play post 9/4, where it was supposedly fixed by firmware 9.8 or whatever...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lair

posted by bhali333 (OXFORD, FL) Nov 16, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game graphics where very good the story line was common, but what I found annoying about the game was the physical control of the main characters the movement of the joy stick was both unresponsive and confusing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls are terrible

posted by sneotch (SEATTLE, WA) Oct 22, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Jebus, flying was impossible. Played for maybe 10 minutes before giving up. Man, I wanted to like this game too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage

posted by DzNutZ (BROOKLYN, NY) Nov 14, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

There are bad games and then there is this. I sent it back minutes after relieving it. It's a good thing I would rather rent games now than buy them. It would have been very disappointing paying $60 for this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rent it first!

posted by PogMahone (HOLYOKE, CO) Oct 25, 2007

Member since Sep 2003

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

"Lair" has received very negative reviewed reviews from the press, and mixed reviews amongst gamers, and has grown into a love / hate type of game. Either you think it's the best game out there now, or you think it's absolutely dreadful. There are a few out there like myself, however, that views "Lair" as highly mediocre.

The reason I don't hold "Lair" in high regard isn't because of it's control scheme. While difficult at first to get used to, they're not as bad as reviewers make it seem. I can pull off a 180 nine times out of ten, and I can pull off a speed burst with similar ease. While wholly different from typical games, "Lair"'s controls are not impossible. It just takes a little time to get used to. The graphics are awe-inspiring as well, and the music is epic in every way.

So, what exactly is wrong with the game? Pretty much everything else. Bland storytelling; weak, repetitive, and confusing missions, and poor voice acting all bring what could've been a decent game down.

I can see the appeal to some fellow PS-3 owners, especially since there aren't too many good games out there at the moment on the platform. But if you're interested in "Lair", I recommend you rent it before you invest $60 to be sure it's a game you'll like.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not Good, at all!

posted by Jimme23 (WYANDOTTE, MI) Sep 24, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

First off I never write reviews, I do read them every now and then to get some perspective, but I like to form my own opinions. That said, if I can help someone not to waste their time, I think I should. This game is no good, it has poor controls (even with the PS3 update) and it is slow and it almost felt like playing it was painful. I urge you not to rent it.
For background, I rented it on the recommendations of the many who wrote that it was a very good game and to see a PS3 game that might live up to its hype. Those people must not like good games. I see now that they must be the people who play/buy games that are just plan bad, yeah those people wrote the “good” reviews. I like good games and this is not one of them, so stay away!!!!! I hope that helped at least 1 person.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Controls

posted by ryuuninja (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Sep 7, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Well I guess I am the only guy on earth that is having a hard time with these controls? Everyone else is saying that the controls are fine once you get used to them but that is not the case sadly. I was frustrated the whole six hours of game play this game gave me. The story could have been cool if they went into it more but it's relatively brief and they rush through it really fast. I mean there are like 15 chapters and trying to pack a decent story into that few of short levels kinda doesn't work. Oh and I really loved the 92 mini cut scenes I had to watch in each level, you play the game for 30 seconds, cut scene, ok cool i'm playing again, cut scene, what in the world am I supposed to do now?, cut scene that does not tell you what to do. Sometimes they would be informative but rarely. Oooo and the oh so fabulous targeting system that locks on to everything but what you want and then focuses on it until you pass the intended target, it's my favorite. I gave it a really low score not because I hated it, I might have given it a 5 :D, but because everyone is trying to make this game sound better than it actually is I decided to make it a little more realistic. Thank god it's a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Learm it!

posted by Davinci (SAINT PAUL, MN) Sep 10, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This Game is great. The main thing people approach to it is the control. I say learn them, you'll enjoy playing a lot more. i too couldn't play very well through the beginning, however as the missions pass by I got to truely master it.

THe only thing is that I don't Think I will replay it, but then again there are very few games where I do. I did not for GOW2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Critics are Idiots

posted by weddington (CHARLOTTE COURT HOUSE, VA) Sep 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This game has:
Eye Candy...check!
Good Storyline...check!
Fun Factor...check!
Thrills, Chills, and Suprises...check!

All in all, I have been impressed with this game in terms of its fun, innovation, and general feel. The biggest criticism of this game has been that the controls are bad. In my opinion, those criticisms are nonsense. I found the six-axis controls to be responsive and intuitive. The only problem I have run into with the controls is that in moments of excitement, my arms move everywhere, the game has a hard time with it, and so the controls kinda reset. However, this is my fault for being all over the place and not keeping things in control.
The big problem, I think, is that the game is intuitive in terms of what real dragon flight might feel like. Those who have problems with the game probably haven't spent much time with flight sims, or the like, and as such, the expect arcade-like responsiveness in flight as if the game were a joystick hack like BF 1942 or the "wraith" vehicle from Halo.
In closing, did I mention that you get to leap off your dragon onto your opponents, kick the tar out of him, kill his dragon, leap into the air only to be saved by your dragon flying in under you? Oh yeah, I didn't... Well, I kinda think that this aspect makes the game worth while all by itself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Expansive and Ground Breaking and actual fun!

posted by HngryTgr (GREENBELT, MD) Sep 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I bought this game before it was even released through a happy accident at the game store. I had played half through before the review nonsense even began. I though that game was incredible then and still do.

The levels are excellent. Large and complex with many things that must be accomplished to make it through a mission.

If you don't want to have to work at a game perhaps you should just go back to you rubber room and play with your dust bunny friend until the meds come.

Yes this game is challenging but not horrifyingly so. The controls are excellent and accurate. If I wave my controller around like I am having a seizure the dragon will act like that :) If I use the controls well the dragon behave well go figure.

The missions are fun and challenging. The story is excellent. The Graphics are amazing 1080p dragon wars come on! The music is spectacular. I like the unlocks as you progress to with the new blue ray games as you get whole commentaries making ofs etc artwork it is very nice.

This game gets the extra point to compensate for being thrashed my so many people.

I cannot wait for the next exploration like this from Factor Five! Way to go!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse