Rent La Pucelle Tactics for PS2
view large frontback

La Pucelle Tactics

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

463 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Stellar Strategy RPG

posted by Schpenke (THE COLONY, TX) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

While the GameFly category of "RPG" is technically correct it's very worthwhile to mention that La Pucelle Tactics is a Strategy RPG. Some people may get turned off by the fact that the whole of the game is tactical combat wrapped around a pretty deep and humorous story but don't pass the chance to play this wonderful game up.

I found the graphics to be perfectly fine for a game of this genre. Animations are smooth during action cut scenes and the still drawings are gorgeous. The graphics are all presented in a very cute anime drawing style.

The storyline is intriguing, long, and wonderfully presented with a smooth flowing presentation. The storyline also sticks to very anime-esque humor which adds to the appeal of this game to anime fans even more.

For strategy game veterans and fans the controls and command structure for the game are very simple to use without lots of cumbersome sub-menus and obscure command descriptions (Generations of Chaos, anyone?). Most actions can be performed from the single main action screen and those that can't are very well organized and easy to find.

Straight combat plays out like pretty much all other strategy games although I did find the unit support features to be slightly different in La Pucelle Tactics. Also, the game throws a curve ball in to the strategy mix by introducing energy streams scattered around the battlefield that your characters can "purify". By purifying the streams your characters effectively create chain weapons of varying effects and damage.

If you enjoy strategy RPGs this should be right up your alley simply because of the fun game play and straightforward control scheme. If you happen to be an anime fan plus enjoy strategy RPGs you absolutely owe it to yourself to play this game. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Interesting, Yet Difficult, Yet Fun (To Me Anyway)

posted by entenkatsu (DENVER, CO) Jan 25, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ah, Nippon Ichi's first major SRPG for the PS2. A nice storyline, interesting battle system, and enough challenge for hardcore players. If you're looking for a game that's Final Fantasy Tactics-esque, unfortunately, this may not be for you.

La Pucelle Tactics is a difficult game for most people, even from the get-go. To further challenge your skills, it pulls out a Valkyrie Profile/Sonic CD element that allows you to get a normal or good ending for each chapter, depending upon your actions in certain levels.

The music, like in the other Nippon Ichi games, is excellent in quality. With some quirky humor here and there, it's definitely not a completely dark and serious game. The little extras allow you to change the fate of Prier as well in the very (true) end of the game, which is something you'll have to find out for yourself what exactly that entails.

Overall, I enjoyed La Pucelle Tactics both as a game, and as a new challenge among SRPGs. It brought me the hardcore difficulty I wanted, and provided me with most of the elements of a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's decent..I suppose

posted by Darkdemon (ESSEX, MD) Nov 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game was fine for the gameplay and etc. However, it really seemed to be like a remake of Disgaea. This game never got me hooked, and it actually bored me. I never really actually finished the game, and really don't feel like picking it back up. Disgaea was a good game, but this game was just...boring in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

loved it

posted by dark0n3 (TULSA, OK) Jul 7, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

ok i have played some srpg's including disgaea 3 ,ff tactics and growlancers but this one takes the cake its real fun rewarding endless character building same with items tons of hours of play great story likeable characters i give it an 8 would be a 9 or 10 if the graphics were as good as the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I Really Liked This Game!

posted by Mkmd13 (NORTH RIDGEVILLE, OH) May 30, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

This game is a very good to take time off your day if your bored. It keeps you interested in everyway and the humor in it is actually pretty good! The gameplay is just like Disaea but the geopanels is a bit complicated (it will come to you dont worry (;))

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

game is good.

posted by UberPants (LACONIA, NH) Jul 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

nippon ichi good.
Stradegy games counquer all.
level up too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it oooooooooooooooooookkkkkk- kkkkkkk

posted by halo2c (FRANKFORT, IL) Jun 29, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

it an ok RPG but i played better yes it had a long long long story line witch was good but the graphics stunk the game was a little bit to related to chess u only can use 8 people at a time witch i did not like and the final bad thing was u only can save on the map screen u can shop in the game and there some funny creatures like a monster in a box and a hippo that kills people when it flatulents and hit people with it's but../....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »