Rent LEGO Star Wars for GC
view large frontback

LEGO Star Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2, GBA
GF Rating
8.1

781 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Kids Game, Tons of Replay Value

posted by LameGamer (STREETSBORO, OH) Jul 13, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this to play with my 6 year old son, and had a great time with it; he still plays it on an almost daily basis!

The graphics are pretty cool, and I like how the pieces fall apart when characters are destroyed.

The campaign is fun but short. Luckily after you complete it once you are then able to go back and play individual levels as any character. There are tons of hidden treasures to find which keeps it fun.

The controls are very good and simple enough for my son to master.

There are several nice features built-in to the game that make it fun for a kid to play. First, you have infinite lives. Next, when playing in co-op mode one player can drop out and join back in at any time - this was very handy for getting past parts that frustrated my son initially without having to give up on the entire level! The ability to go back and play the campaing with any character allowed him to master parts he couldn't previously.

This has been the most enjoyable gaming experience for my son and I together to date!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good for a weekend

posted by MrInviz (CAMBRIDGE, MA) May 1, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My wife and I played through this game in a weekend. We only played the three main stories and didn't bother to go back and earn our way into the "?" section of the game (I'm not very patient for treasure hunting). I found the game extremely cute and enjoyable. It never got boring and felt like I was playing a series of mini-games that culminated in a great adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LEGO STARWARS THE VIDEO GAME

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Dec 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had played and beat the game LEGO STARWARS THE VIDEO GAME. POSTIVE: this game is COOL! The graphics are good for the GAMECUBE. You could play alot of different types of STARWARS characters such as JEDI, DARK SIDE, DROIDS, CLONE TROOPERS, BOUNTY HUNTERS, and more. I dont have any negative things to say about this game. This game is FANTASTIC!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game For a Star Wars Fan!!

posted by lovemycat (TACOMA, WA) Jun 7, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is one of the best star wars games I have ever played. I loved all the cute little lego people especially Jango Fett. The one thing that I have agenst this game is that it was too short. But its a good game non the less and worth a little bit of your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Some math for ya: Legos+Star Wars=Success!!

posted by boogieman5 (PLYMOUTH, MN) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Now, I love both Lego's and Star Wars, so when you mix them together, it equals success! Here are my ratings for the Double G's.

Graphics-10
Every place you encounter has that unmistakable Lego feel. When droids die, their arms pop off. Same goes for humans. And I like when they get destroyed, little...what do you call them... ah, yes. Studs! They come out!

Gameplay-7
The combat is a little too easy, but like I said in graphics, studs come out of destroyed droids. Once you get enough studs, you get a bonus level with episode IV (but now that's overtaken by the new Lego Star Wars game).

That brings the overall score to an 8.5 (rounded to 8)!
but you really should rent this game. It's the best Star Wars game I've played!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One Of The Best Games I've Ever Played

posted by ryan13 (GARDNER, KS) Jun 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game was the best its really exciting and it has almost every detail of the first three movies This is why it is almost perfect. I can't wait to play the second.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

star wars lego style

posted by jatrei212 (WHITE HALL, MD) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i'm a big star wars fan. so when i heard about this game i was unsure at first. i then decided to "take a chance." i was glad i did, because i couldn't stop laughing. parts we're funny like the times when you "used the force" to make chairs dance to the star wars theme.

the game was a lot of fun and challenging to play. although the camera angles sometimes frustrated me, a eventually got all the pieces and unlocked "episode 4" and unlocked all the characters even darth vader.

overall, this game has me wanting the next game in this series when it comes out. i would recommend this game to anyone. it's fun and nostalgic to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lego star wars game

posted by spil23 (LOVELAND, OH) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was a really cool game I beat the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Start!

posted by jackjackisback (LISLE, IL) Apr 12, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This may be the least impressive LEGO game. The levels are too easy, but the concept, at the time, was great. If you think, without this game, we wouldn't have LEGO Hobbit, LOTR, MARVEL, Indiana Jones, Batman, Harry Potter, and we might not even have the great LEGO Movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Game Did Not Work!

posted by jbob31 (SANFORD, ME) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

I received this game in the mail; very prompt delivery, quick access, however, I was quite displeased to find that this game did not work no matter how many ways I tried it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Stupid lego people!

posted by BULLY123 (PRATTVILLE, AL) Jul 27, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2008

I really don't like lego games. In Lego Star Wars you play as (lego) characters from the movies and try to get through levels. But none of the characters look the same! It was a little fun for at least a year. Then I got tired from it and got rid of it. The levels are stupid!! The most stupid level of all is the one whare you go through that factory! I hated having to play as C-P3O because he is way too slow! But the movies were good. But legoing them makes them terrible!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

godfather of all GC games! Loozur

posted by Loozur (GASTONIA, NC) Jul 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2009

I am left speechless in the presence of this action adventure game. this is the single best game i have ever played to date.

now... if you read my reviews you should know by now that i'm the kinda' guy who can beat games like sonic adventure 2 or sonic chronicles in 1 afternoon. IT TOOK ME 3 WEEKS TO BEAT THIS GAME!!
WITH HELP FROM MY BROTHER!!! it only took me 2 weeks to beat yoshi's island & 3 days for sonic rush.

another upside to this game is it has everything, action, drama, heroism, AWESOME storyline, aerial dogfights, racing, adventure, boss battles, realisticness (sort of...), AND NON-GRUSOME DEATH! when someone dies, -or as me and my siblings call it get defeated- so when someone gets defeated they just fall apart in little lego pieces. AND (another awesome death scenario) if someone dies in a cutscene there is no blood. example: if someone gets stabbed there is no blood no hole no gore the person just falls down with an "X" in each eye. example2: if someone gets slashed all the way through there is no blood, no grusomeness of any sort, the person doesn't even split in 2, they just fall over, an "X" in each eye.

there is maybe 5 characters in the entire game you cannot play because as well as playing the main characters (about 20 main characters) you can also play nearly every enemy, sidecharacter, and boss in the free play mode, once you see a character all you have to do is buy it in the diner and play it in free play mode. (once you start getting true jedi ranks, money is no issue.)

(hold A,X, & Y to end the credits)

and there you have it! the best game in the world, and out!

sincereley
Loozur

P.S. it is not the same attacks over and over but it's not confusing attack combos either and if you can handle a saber right it will begin glowing brighter making more noise & sparks will come off of it, when this happens defense has no effect against this powerful attack!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lego Star Wars

posted by joey4444 (CLEARWATER, FL) Jun 7, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I as an adult had a hard time figuring this one out. It has another player following the entire time. I think that I was stuck in one area fighting endless foes it got monotonous. My kids had a hard time figuring it out. We got 5000 coins throughout the game and seemed pointless to way they are collected. So far so not good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short, sweet, simple and funny

posted by NecroSen (SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ) Mar 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

LEGO Star Wars follows the story of Star Wars: Episodes 1-3 and has a lot of fun doing it. The locales from the movies are recreated with LEGO bricks and the characters are fully-functioning LEGO figurines, with the only addition to the graphics being Force effects, light sabers and blaster bolts. It sounds simple, but it comes off fairly well.

The game is indeed short: I beat the story mode's 17 levels across all 3 episodes in about 3 hours. The game also features a free play mode, however, which allows you to explore the levels as any character and gather items you couldn't get before. These include parts to Star Wars vehicles (LEGO-fied, of course) that you collect as trophies for each level.

Throughout the game you also collect LEGO bricks that are basically coins. Collecting a certain amount of bricks per level grants you a piece of a special trophy, and that piece gives you a bonus of even more bricks. You use the bricks to purchase more characters and cheat codes from the main area.

And there are indeed a lot of characters: Jar Jar, Qui-Gon, Obi Wan, Anakin (in all his many forms), Chewie, Yoda, Padme... the list goes on. Many are clones, gameplay-wise, but some have special abilities you can use to get to hard-to-reach places. The Jedi have a Force push that allows them to move stuff around, open new paths and throw enemies, and they can deflect blaster bolts.

The combat is pretty simple: you've got shooters and Jedi. Enemies come in more variety, but it boils down to a few simple moves. The game doesn't center around combat, though: there are plenty of platforming and puzzle elements to satisfy.

One of the best parts of the game is its sense of humor. If Spaceballs were a game, it couldn't beat this. Plus, the violence is so cartoonish you can't help but laugh as Darth Maul is cut in half or someone loses their head.

Though there's no tutorial to speak of and Force targeting could be better, the game is great. Definitely a solid weekend rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Really- Try it!!

posted by BoysMom (HALF MOON BAY, CA) Aug 20, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

The boys would like to rate this game 100 out of 10! They like it more than anything they've played in such a long time.

The cool things about this game: it has fun action sequences that can have amusing twists, the options are extensive for play beyond just 'winning the game,' it is exciting for younger kids, and my teenager who is a SUPER game whiz adores it too!

They loved it so much, actually, that we bought it AND the sequel at the store. (Not expensive, only $19.99 each.) We never buy games because Gamefly is so great and saves us a fortune in buying games (except occasional DS or GBA.)

This game is worth a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Use the LEGOs Luke!

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jun 22, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

LEGO Star Wars takes place in a galaxy far, far away, but you can buy it in this one. While this is a fun and harmless game with a wacky sense of humor, I categorically say LEGO Star Wars 2: The Original Trilogy (like the movies) was much better. To it's credit, this game does take you through the major battles of the prequel movies, but the amount of game and extras available pale to the sequel. The ease of use and simple controls lend itself to younger gamers, but the lack of content could discourage older ones. Not to say it doesn't have it's moment. Playing Yoda is always great because he jumps all over the place swinging his lightsaber like he ate too many pixie sticks. And unlocking General Grievous, four lightsabers firmly in mechanical grasp, is very satisfying. The game does suffer from feeling slow. The character move sluggishly and the actions, like force abilities, take awhile. Still, this is a fine game, but not as good as The Original Trilogy and far from the lofty heights of other Star Wars games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lego Starwars

posted by Keyblur (SYRACUSE, NY) Mar 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Not bad.. easy game play. They sure do rush through the 3 stories. It filled the time, but I don't really know that there was a point. You endlessly collect things, and there really isn't much of a payoff. Still, a fun game to RENT, not own in my opinion

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Casual Gamers Rejoice!

posted by conman (SOUTH BEND, IN) Mar 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

The Star Wars license has been running amok in the video game industry for the last decade or so. There have been many okay games, a few gems, and a lot of junk. This game is one of the few gems.

I loved the Lego take on the series. After having been so disappointed by the new trilogy, I feel magically transported into the trilogy by this game. Too bad Lucas didn't make the films using Legos.

The game is short, easy, and straight-forward. There's no depth to the gameplay, and the extras don't add much to the overall feel of the game. But this is all for the better. This game would be great for the kids (or the kids-at-heart), and would be ideal for casual gaming. We don't always want a game experience that lasts 40+ hours, and we don't always want to spend time learning controls and strategies. For those moments, this game is perfect.

This game looks fantastic and the Lego-style is implimented down to the smallest detail. If I were nit-picking I would say that I wanted everthing in the game-world to be made of Legos. Many locales from the films include Lego characters, but other details (dirt, sand, rocks) lose sight the Lego style. However, my favorite chapter in the game was the least Lego-like. The Battle over Coruscant (from the beginning of Episode 3) is a lot of fun and looks amazing; but there's hardly any visible Lego-ness to it. It may as well be a straightforward adaptation of the film. But, again, I really didn't care because the game simply feels right.

This game would not be as fun if it were longer or more difficult. Its charm and pleasure comes from its casual presentation and childish return to the magic of the Star Wars storyline. Highly recommended to gamers of any ilk, and to Star Wars or Lego fans in particular.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Disappointment

posted by wordwithin (MCHENRY, MD) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Lego star wars wasn't really what I had anticipated it to be. When I started playing, I felt cheated by how ridiculous the star wars characters were portrayed-through legos with no polish. They were uninteresting in their model build-ups. The environments had almost nothing in them, which made me feel a little bit more cheated and bored. The music was good, but redundant. Collecting bolts and nuts was satisfying for about twenty minutes and then just became a pain.
I mean the whole set-up of Lego star wars was well disappointing, if i must say again. Any of your attacks requires a simple, strained method of gameplay called button mashing, which is well defined as being a simple strategy that requires no effort and "no" fun. I wasn't motivated to move between each chapter because even though I would have completed each chapter throughly, if I hadn't sent it back first, the other two stories besides The Phantom Menace unlocked after beating the first mission of story one. I thought it was very unrewarding in that respect, seeing as to an average gamer might skip passed the other stories to try and beat the game, and then miss out on the other star wars volumes. I just thought it was cheap in those regards, not really having to complete in any order is a let-down and shows the weak sides of this game even further.

Final word: total letdown to everything that is starwars. The saga is better off just being a movie, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

simply fun

posted by shingo18 (NEW YORK, NY) Dec 25, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

when a games only real problem is that its to short then i think you have a good game. the game shows star was in a nice made for kid vibe that can still be fun for adults and actually bring the kid out of them oh and the facial expressions were priceless

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad.

posted by faliGC (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Nov 6, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

Can anyone say "cute"? The idea of using Legos to build a story is neat, and at least a somewhat original idea. Some cons: I think voice-overs would have made a nice addition to at least the cut scenes, and the game is pretty short if you just play through the story and don't look for extra stuff. I think my total game time was about 6 hours. Some pros: once you beat a "chapter" you can go back through with any characters that you've unlocked to find bonuses, and it's easy to switch between characters when going back through. Overall, not a bad game if you're a fan of the Star Wars series. If you've never seen the movies, it might be pretty boring for you though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Short, stupid and not to the point

posted by toasttoast (BLOOMINGTON, IN) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

I like most lego games and starwars games, but they last or have diffrent levels. This game took my THREE HOURS to beat. That's pittiful! The graphics were bad and the enviroment wasnt made with legos! The game was easy and didnt have a totorial, but only the stupid annoying boxs to inform you. I gave it a two thought because if I gave it a one people would get mad. It was bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not to much replay value very short.

posted by outlaw (PHOENIX, AZ) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

the game is good for kids but not for harcore gamers i beat this game like in a hour or so.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lego Star Wars

posted by wolfie1377 (LAYTON, UT) Sep 25, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2006

pretty fun game. makes me want to play part 2. Best team for me was grevious and maul to use on freeplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what i think

posted by mattchill (MONROE, WA) Sep 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

The game levels are a little to easy but the game itself is hard to beat. In my opinion it needs more characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse