Rent LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga for DS
view large frontback

LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.6

760 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

The first good 3D DS action game

posted by SpaceNinja (PETALUMA, CA) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

TT Fusion was able to pull off a great translation of LSW:TCS for DS (when keeping in mind the limitations of DS hardware).

If you love the franchise and cannot get enough of it on the next gen platforms, pick up the DS version. The levels are recognizable, but different enough to give a fresh experience.

I found none of the bugs that plagued the LSWII DS version in this one as it was built from scratch thankfully.

The DS version keeps True Jedi gold bricks for both Story mode and Free Play mode. I prefer this over the new approach with next gen LSW:TCS using a new challenge mode in replacement of a True Jedi.

Criticism: TT Fusion should have gone with a larger cartridge size so they could have had the room needed to make all 36 main levels (instead of only 30), improved some levels like Speeder Showdown to be closer to the original, and have smoother cut-scenes. The extras like Indiana Jones and good outdoor Cantina area are missing. There is a lot less incentive to collect all gold bricks.

Overall this title has set the standard for 3D DS action games. I look forward to more developments from TT Fusion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A long time ago..in a lego galaxy

posted by lazy1uno (COVINGTON, WA) May 21, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I first heard of the lego star wars games, I really had my doubts, but I was proven wrong. My only criticism is the flying missions, it gets confusing at times. I love the battle with Palpatine though, thats my favorite part. The amount of unlockable characters is surprising and makes you want to keep playing till you get them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A step up from the previous Lego Star Wars attempt

posted by MrShepard (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

The game looks pretty when you are standing still but there is some occasional slow down once you and your AI partner start moving about. And moving about is all you can really expect from that AI partner. I don't recall Obi Wan ever staring blankly at the wall while his friends were pelted by enemy laser fire in the movies. Obi Wan in Lego Star Wars, however, is happy to count ceiling tiles while enemy droids rip you limb from lego limb. Not that any of that matters really. If your health meter runs out you respawn immediately and soldier on.

I also had some small gripes with the controls. A d-pad isn't fantastic for a "3-d" adventure game. Rubbing the touch screen with my thumb to activate force powers was a bit awkward as well. All in all this isn't a bad game but it's a much better experience on the consoles. I had a tough time taking a step backwards with this DS version and still enjoying myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

pretty good......????

posted by arkhamcityis4me (CORRYTON, TN) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This game was fun at first but when I went back to play it I could not do it. This is because the levels were rather boring. Honestly the only levels I liked were the vehicle levels. These levels were what brought me back to the game. Besides that it was pretty decent for the most part. I love to break things to collect studs and buy the characters. This was always my favorite part in the first game in 2005. Its a decent game for kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better Than The Other Versions.

posted by GameFlyUser1 (ARABI, LA) Jan 19, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

I played two versions of this game. On the wii and on the ds, and if you liked the one for bigger consols, you will enjoy it even better. This game is one that should have been made just for ds because it's so much fun and time consuming. It's the perfect game for the family that plays together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK

posted by Legoguy (WESTBOROUGH, MA) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

you'd have to not have a wii, PS3, or Xbox to actually like this game. The cutscenes when they walk they just move their hips up in down. The mini games are wicked annoying

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lego first combind video game ever and it was good

posted by jagman3 (ORANGEVALE, CA) Oct 23, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

this was a pretty good game it makes you feel like you want to see all of the movies and hope for a sequel any way the plantes are awesome but the empire strikes back first part made me so mad that it took me about an hour to figure it but i beat in about 3 months and final vertic a really good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Greatest Game EVER

posted by unfused (SAINT THOMAS, ND) Jun 5, 2009

Member since May 2009

Star Wars is cool. So should it's game. With a lot of features and cheats it is very awesome. So this is the main I'm typing this review, but I've got more for the Greatest Game EVER, I like going for the highest score in the mini games listed, such as Deflection Challenge, Grevious, and Pitstop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The sort of game the DS was made for

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

This is the kind of game that the Nintendo DS was made for. This is totally fun and I love playing it. I love it! So funny and great gameplay!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is FUN

posted by Kalika (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

The levels are a little easy to complete. All you have to do to complete a level is basically run to the end of it.

There are a lot of things to unlock and explore in the levels and that's what makes this game fun. Running to the end of a level isn't very exciting; but going back in with different characters is. And the fact that you have to unlock the characters makes the game even more enjoyable.

My feeling is that this is a great game for all ages. I'm very happy with it and am seriously thinking about purchasing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game For DS

posted by spartan492 (ROSENBERG, TX) Jun 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2005

this game is perfect for the ds. when they said this version of lego star wars was built "from the ground up" i thought it was a lie, but after playing this game, you know its built from the ground up.
lets get to the point though, this is a fun family friendly game for all ages, i recommend this game to any star wars and/or lego fan. the touch screen plays a bit of a part in this game its really really fun you should really play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun game on Nintendo DS

posted by NDSMom (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

My 9 year old son enjoyed this game on his Nintendo DS. He also has Lego Star Wars for the PC, and he said the Nintendo DS version has additional games that he would find as he played. So at some point, I will probably purchase it for him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Some Quaint Charms But Nothing Special

posted by airwalkrr (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga was entertaining for a few hours, but it quickly became apparent that there was not much of a challenge to the game. Do not get me wrong; the game is not without its charms. The cut scenes are cute and quite comical despite the lack of dialogue. The storyline more or less adheres to the movies, but most of the action takes place during times of "off-screen" activities. Most of your favorite climactic scenes are there though, such as Luke's confrontation with Vader on Bespin or the face-off between Darth Maul and Obi-Wan Kenobi. What is unfortunate about the game (for me at least) is that there is little skill necessary. This is the very definition of a button-masher with infinite lives. There is a minor penalty for each death of your main character, but it doesn't prevent you from completing a level.

Shortcomings aside, there are a number of fun things to do in the game. You collect studs (small LEGO bricks) throughout the game, giving you the ability to purchase new characters and new mini games in the cantina (which serves as kind of a base of operations). Earning new characters is always interesting because new types of characters give you access to different areas of the levels. For instance, only protocol droids can unlock certain doors. And not all Jedi are created equal. Some have better moves than others, such as Yoda, clearly the best of the bunch. There are also minikits and special bricks to collect in each level that you have to find. If there is a challenge to this game, finding them is it, though all they do is unlock more mini games.

In all, it was a fun play for a short period of time, but I was really desiring something with a bit more substance by the end. I think it is a great game for young kids who won't get bored with the lack of challenge on long car trips, but for those craving something more, I recommend checking out other adventure games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome game

posted by JPCCool (Shiloh, OH) Mar 31, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

The graphics are awesome. The levels are a little hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego Star Wars - The Complete Saga

posted by jabarri12 (KENNESAW, GA) Feb 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

I liked the game very much. I think it was very cool. And thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »