Rent LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars for PS3
view large frontback

LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

1842 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Probably more for Star Wars Fans

posted by Astronskas (AUBURNDALE, FL) Sep 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

I have played many of the Lego games and feel that this one is just not up to par with many of the other games. The controls feel less than smooth and the game play is more button mashing than puzzle solving. If you are a die hard Star Wars fan then you should definitely give it a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good , fun game

posted by RandomJ205 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

This game was alot of fun.
I got stuck a few times but i found my way thru it.

I was excited that they went right along with the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

its not any different then the good ol ps2 version

posted by airbender14 (DUBOIS, WY) May 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

not to much i can say about this one.this game is really no different then the ps2 or psp versions.the same ,little saber cuting then puzzle solveing stuff from all the other games.overall if you want the same thing as the ps2 version then go ahead and get it.and if not then dont.thats all i have to say,airbender14 >:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun

posted by wackysam712 (OCONOMOWOC, WI) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

It's a very fun game especially if you have a younger sibling. Me and my brother have played every Lego game and this is by far one of the best ones we have played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

really seriously????

posted by kccarrel (GOLETA, CA) Mar 16, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

hard to play. Controls stink. Got trapped with no vehicles and a vehicle was needed to kill a tower to finish the level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

same

posted by knives42 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

same as previous lego games i fell serise as become stale

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Game is fun but freezes

posted by bkw1976 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jan 31, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I found this game to be fun but was not able to play all the way through. After having a TON of problems with the game freezing up, with and without the game updates, I gave up. I was only able to get through the first 4 missions on each branch. I did a lot of searching and there appears to be an issue with the game freezing on any game system. Some people have problems and others don't. It doesn't seem to be an issue with the game system or the disc, it is very random. I had to give the game a low rating because of the lack of support and fixes to a problem that has been around for a year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but hard

posted by skybird528 (NEW WINDSOR, MD) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

The game play is fun but the camera is a little annoying. There are levels that you have no idea what to do and it takes a while to figure out. really fun huge battles weere u can make clones. i bought this game and really enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

lego star wars III

posted by dragonlord4 (MORRISTOWN, TN) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

it not a great lego star wars game the old one is is the best one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why the bad rap?

posted by Mustard (WALNUT GROVE, CA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

The game was solid, fun, addicting, and immersive. I'm not really sure why so many people have dogged on it. I can say that I haven't played the previous two games, to really compare and contrast, but I will say as a standalone game, it's everything I could want from the experience. The graphics are beautiful concidering it's Legos. The bump maps on all the levels are very well done. The framerate is constant even in the largely played scenarios even with havoc going on everywhere. The gameplay consisted of mechanics that aren't really new, but user friendly nonetheless. You feel a sense of accomplishment when you collect Legos and they did the levels in such a way, that when you recruit new members capable of using THAT specific ability you were waiting for, you will WANT to go back and free play the level to work on that 100%. The replay value is high and there's something to be said about a game that easily lets friends and family join in at anytime to stir things up. My only real complaint was level freezing and the "dynamic split-screen." On some of the large war type levels with all the activity going on, there was a few occasions the game unexpectedly froze. Most of the time, it was during the split-screen, but at other times, it also occured during single player action. Regarding the 2 player "dynamic split-screen," it was annoying. We played it on a 56" tv and still had issues with it causing confusion. The good thing is, you can flip the option to what you're typically used to, so it doesn't really lose much in the face of that. As a default setting though, it still needs to be said: Annoying. Overall, I would think most game players would enjoy the full playthrough on this and most certainly Lego and SW fanatics. A buy if you're playing with family and a long rental for those like myself - MUST... GET....... 100 PERCENT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

LEGO is Starting to get Old

posted by kezins (BECKLEY, WV) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

While I have loved LEGO games (particularly the Star Wars ones) in the past, I couldn't really get into Lego Star Wars III. There simply wasn't enough new things here to keep the game exciting. For the most part, it was the same old thing. The graphics are far better than previous games and the way you select levels is fresh, but that wasn't enough for me. For LEGO games to keep my attention in the future, they need to be fresher with additions. Basically, LEGO games have become boring for me because they just all feel too familiar.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

LEGO Star Wars III: The Clone Wars PS3 Review

posted by jtr1997 (LAKELAND, FL) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

Overview:
Overall, this game isn't much different from the others. The graphics are better, but you kinda have to expect that, considering it's a PS3 game. I like the new sound effects, but overall the gameplay just isn't where it needs to be. There are some very frustrating moments where just want to break the disc in half, so be warned, unless you like challenging, strategy games that really make you think, this isn't your game.

Pros:
1. Good graphics (MUCH improved)

2. Awesome new sound effects (Lightsaber clashes, etc.)

Cons:
1. Bad gameplay

2. Some frustrating moments

3. Too hard at times

4. Poor storyline

Overall Rating:
5 :(
Very dissapointing! LucasArts needs to try harder next time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

pretty good game

posted by blackcamber (leavenworth, WA) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

i like the lego starswars, i like what they have been adding to the game in the past few years my favorit is u can get up on the wall and use ur lightsaber to cut threw the wall, the one thing that bugs me about these games is that i like to beat it 100% the first round of the game i dont like going back over and over to get 100%

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

So disappointing!

posted by JamesFV (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jul 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game seemed to have a lot problems with it but the main one was that I had to force myself to finish it.

The system layout was confusing and often times the puzzles seemed in the levels more difficult than usual. I get Lego games to play with my son and the first day he was so frustrated because he and a friend were playing it and totally stumped on how to complete 2 of the levels.

The hub also seemed to be bigger and harder to navigate, including a very annoying glitch where doors and gates didn't actually open when you arrived at them but had to walk back and forth to open them.

The traditional Lego game humor was there, but not enough to take away from the all the frustrating aspects of the game. If you're looking for a Lego game I'd recommend skipping this one and heading straight to Pirates my son and I really enjoyed that one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a bit dissapointing

posted by treyperk3 (LEES SUMMIT, MO) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

i was totally syked to get this game kuz i thought it would be amazing. Well after awhile the game kind of seems like a bore since its pretty much just the same stuff. The battles also are okay but its just not as fun as you would think just rent this game first b4 u buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I guess

posted by Luigi221 (PLYMOUTH, MA) Jul 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

I did not really like this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

They sent us a broken game

posted by Andreas111 (BETHESDA, MD) Jun 30, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this game was broken. It only gave back a black screen

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

was fun at first

posted by giga_money (NEWNAN, GA) Jun 28, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

lego star wars games have always been a fav, this one was a real change up in the series. from getting to the level and getting to the end of the level was not the same as the first 3.

after i finished the good story i found out there was a bad story (which u end up lossing), at first it seamed great but u had to go to a different lever thing to play those (which was hidden).

if you played the first games of the series then the gameplay is the same ( fun, glichy, and wanting more). the minikits are still up for the grap and are even harder to get. there are more space levels than needed and they all are the same, get out where the arrow is pointing and do the same thing and kill the same enimies.

but wat was an eye cacher was the rts elemets, on some levels you had to go around in a speeder to towers and place down stuff the beat the lev.

there are cheats in the game and turning them on dosent effect the reward system, which is good if you hate dieing every 5 seconds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by robert_h (PROVO, UT) Jun 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game! I might keep this one. I always liked playing the Lego series games because I have kids in my house and it's a game we all can play together and have fun doing it. I had so much fun playing this game because after I clear all missions, I'm going back to collect everything to get 100% completion and hopefully get a platinum trophy. I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes a great game for all ages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible game

posted by sk8rdude84 (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 17, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

very bad storyline and just plain boring

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Jun 10, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

The levels are so insanely busy that you have no idea which character is the one you're controlling. You're given no idea how to proceed in any given level, and the split screen effect is maddening; you might be on the right side of the screen one moment, suddenly to flip around and be on the other! You might not even be visible on your half of the screen because the camera is so poorly aimed. All in all, a huge step back for the Lego video game franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lego Game

posted by SeanK_87 (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Overall the game is pretty good. The only real problem is that after a while it seems like its the same thing all over again. I have played every single lego game and they all seem to do the same thing with the characters in that you can only do certain things with certain characters and the problems that you have to figure out are pretty standard from game to game. Its a fun game but can get a dull after some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Disappointment to me

posted by dude32145 (REINHOLDS, PA) Jun 3, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

The game is over all good it has amazing graphics and I love the lightsabers and the moves but I have one problem. I rented the game and unlocked the ability to make my own character. Everything is good except the print on the front of my shirt also appears on the back. I have no idea if it's because the copy of my game is bad or if all games are like this. Can someone please let me know?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Entertainment is here!

posted by ty543dan (WHITINSVILLE, MA) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

From the looks of it LucasArts has done it again. I wouldn't buy it though, you get sick of it and it is very easy to beat. I beat the game in about 5 hours, yea theres more to do after the story is over, but, if you have friends over and dont have anything to do this is a good multiplayer game. Rent it and tell me what you think.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Save 40 bucks and go buy the older star wars saga

posted by rjones329 (GADSDEN, AL) May 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

This was A huge step back for the games. I have replayed the earlier titles several times and loved them the whole way. I am a huge star wars fan, but this was not a very good game. I did not like having to go hunting for the next level. The levels were too long and boring, I actually fell asleep walking around for an hour looking for one block. If it ain't broke, don't fix it, that's what I was always told. I was really looking forward to this game, but was let down very hard. Maybe next time I guess, wait, there are no more movies coming, so i guess there won't be a next time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse