Rent LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy for Xbox 360
view large frontback

LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, GC, PSP Games, Xbox, PS2, GBA
GF Rating
7.4

4387 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Parents review of Lego Star Wars

posted by 360parent (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 30, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

34 out of 39 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This review is for fellow parents. If you want a standard review, read a different one. I'm 28 years old, with an 8 year old son. First, here's what he had to say about it:

"That game was awesome! (I asked why) The missions weren't too hard but they weren't too easy. And it was exactly like the movie so some parts I knew what I was supposed to do. I think it deserves an A+. (Asked for his favorite part) My favorite part was playing all the different characters. (Asked his least favorite part) I didn't have a part I didn't like."

Here's why I like it:

It's a lot of fun!! A story we all love and toys we grew up with. Gameplay is quick, there's a lot to do, and good replay value after the story missions are complete.

Rated 'E'!! Because of the cartoony nature of the game it draws an 'E' rating where almost all of the games my son wants to play are 'T' or 'M'. There IS violence in this game though. The characters blast each other with blaster pistols and hit each other with light sabers. If you object to that for your child, avoid this game.

It's easy! Easy to learn, easy to play, if you die, you respawn right where you are which keeps the game moving forward. There's very little "I'm stuck" and zero "I keep dying this game sucks!!" while throwing a controller.

Cooperative! This is awesome for 2 reasons. First I can play WITH my son, as a team, which is infinitely more fun that being pitted against each other trying to kill each other. Second and most important, is if 2 kids want to play. Being put on the same team at the same time eliminates arguments over whose turn it is. But also wont get the younger (or less skilled) child frustrated because the other keeps killing him. The only arguing I encountered was was when the 2 kids decided they wanted to go in opposite directions. Those moments were few, and didn't last long, as overall there was generally only one way to go to progress.

I'm out of space. If you've got kids that like games, rent this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Original Trilogy = Awesome

posted by KrispyD (YORK, PA) Sep 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

36 out of 44 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed the first Lego Star Wars game, even though it was really designed for kids. It was something I could pick up with my wife or my nephew and enjoy without having all the extra frustration of more "sophisticated" games.

Nothing really has changed here, at least not at it's core. The game is still fantastic to play, if perhaps a little easy for anyone over the age of 10. They've made the environments a bit more interactive, allowing more than just jedi to move lego blocks around, as well as allowing players to "build" vehicles and drive them around.

It's unfortunate that they didn't push the 360's capabilities a little more when bringing it from the "current gen" systems, but this isn't the type of game that really relies heavily on cutting edge technology to make it good.

I'm also a little saddened by the lack of any kind of online functionality what so ever. I guess most games these days forgo split screen in favor of system link or XBL play to try and up their sales a bit, so to a point I respect what they've done. It's good to be able to just gather around the television, load a game and then play with people in the same room without having to get a second system, game, and television, but it's also nice to be able to play with friends and family that may be spread out around the country.

The slowdown is a little unnerving, adding a bit to that unpolished feel, but it's never that bad to ruin the game. In fact, none of the problems I've listed are ever enough to take away from the overall fun of the game.

Taking all other factors away from this sequel, the fact that it is based on the original movie trilogy and not the prequels is enough to sell me on the game, and I'm sure it's that way for a lot of others also.

It all comes down to this. If you liked the first game, this should definitely be on your list. If you've never played the first game, this should be on your list. Really, there isn't any reason not to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Second verse, same as the first

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Sep 11, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

23 out of 32 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

For anyone that's played and loved the original LEGO Star Wars, rest assured that this game just offers you more to love. With arguably a better storyline, LEGO Star Wars II does everything else just as well, if not slightly better, than the first game. The main difference with this game would be the party system. Like the original, you can flip-flop back and forth between your party members to accomplish different goals, like using force powers to build a bridge or using R2-D2 to hover across a gap. Unlike the first game, you can sometimes have up to six people in your party to make things a little more interesting.

If you haven't played the original, let me say that both games are very kid friendly. That's not to say that they wouldn't be fun for more mature audiences, but they are very light as far as the violence and the difficulty level. I think this game may be slightly more challenging than the first game, but overall it's still easy enough for a youngster to make it through without too many problems.

My only real gripes with this game are the lack of upgrades for the 360 version. Come one, people! This is a sophisticated next-gen machine capable of far better than just a higher resolution. There is nothing in the online department at all: no leaderboards for comparing scores, no co-op with your brother in another state. The game does offer co-op on one system, meaning you can sit down with a friend (or your kids) and play together, just not over Xbox Live. Also, there are some occasional slowdown problems, which I can't understand given the 360's power compared to the not-very-next-gen graphics. This is a definite port, obviously not designed to take advantage of this system.

Those minor gripes aside, I must say that LEGO Star Wars II is just plain fun to play. I would highly recommend anyone that liked the first game to check this game out, as well as anyone who liked the movies. Seeing your favorite scenes in LEGO form is something not to be missed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Woo Hoo

posted by LSWF777 (MORONGO VALLEY, CA) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This game blows my mind, i just love everything about it the graphics aren't bad; the adventure is good along with everything else..... i strongly recomend you get this if you like star wars, rpg games andlegos ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A fun game for everyone!

posted by NEX2NUN (PORTLAND, IN) Nov 10, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game and surprisingly so did my wife and kids.

This game was true to Star Wars and yet had a twist that was fun and fresh. I was so excited to play this game that I really didn't follow any order but the game covers all of the original Star Wars movies, with a few extras. I was most impressed with the cut-scenes and in game movies.

Unfortunately there were a few things that I found upsetting while playing. The drop-in/drop-out co-op feature is a lot of fun but make sure your buddy stays close. If you or your co-partner wander too far from the playing field your character may become unplayable and you have to select start to jump back into game play. Also I found that the AI was more of a burden than a help. At times the AI was in the way or just didn't help when you really needed it. You'll find that through free play your AI partner will help you get to certain areas of a level. For example if an elevator must be activated by a Jedi power your AI friend will help you get a free ride. But while you are busy firing away at storm troopers your AI just sits there. Oh and I found a number of in-game glitches. At one point I did a Jedi lightsaber move and my character froze. I had to select another character to continue play. During free play at Escape from Hoth Base I found a secret area and yet couldn't get back to the level, I had to shutdown and start all over.

But if you are looking for a game that the entire family can play, this is a great game! I certainly enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Simple

posted by UteJosh (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Oct 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Fun, simple game. The novelty of the Legos wears off after a few hours and the game becomes tedious. I'm surprised anybody besides Star wars fans finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Familiar, but still fun.

posted by ViciousIX (PIEDMONT, AL) Sep 11, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Lego Star Wars 2 will be an enjoyment to fans of the first, people who enjoy games that you can pick up an play, and Star Wars fans in general. This game, unlike the first, is based off the original three Star Wars movies. However, in this game you're treated to a better story, slightly better visuals, and a few new gameplay mechanics. I found the game equally if not more enjoyable then the original.

Reason being is of course the story, but that's not where it ends. Some new features that are quite cool is the ability to control vehicles, and have more members in your party. Another thing is that the puzzles have gotten an upgrade too. If you remember in the first game there were a few puzzles spread throughtout the level, but they lacked a challenge. Luckily for us, the guys at Lucasarts have given us that.

So, there we have it. A new Lego Star Wars game that is as good if not better then the first.

Story- 10/10 Cmon, it's the first Star Wars!

Graphics- 6/10 Nothing stunning, but good to look at.

Gameplay- 8/10 Simple, but fun. Enough said.

Overall- 8/10 Good game that I recommend to any fan of Star Wars who doesn't mind a Lego twist.

P.S. If you plan on buying the game for the Xbox 360 then be prepaired to pay an additional $10. Sucks, I know, but what can we do?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

stupid fun

posted by RFitzmor (RIVERSIDE, RI) Sep 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

A fun relaxing game where you can't die. It's actually a neat graphic effect to see the Star Wars universe rendered in Lego's. It's just a simple shooter with some puzzle solving. Most of the puzzles are fairly logical and the game rarely becomes frustrating. This is a perfect game for a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Two Thumbs,WAY UP

posted by weav74 (WEST MONROE, LA) Sep 18, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a perfect 10!!! Graphics and sound are outstanding! The gameplay, for the most part is simple, but it does have a few spots in it that make you think! It is a great, well rounded game for kids and adults. I was even amazed at how close the games story line, follows the Star Wars movies. This is one of the best 360 games I've played. I would rate it in the top 5!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great!

posted by Turtleky (SOUTH AMBOY, NJ) Sep 11, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

The First one as awesome and I say. This one is just sweet! A few set backs but it is still very very fun. Recommened to any Lego and/or Star Wars fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BladeRunnerx360

posted by BladeRuner (WHITTIER, CA) Oct 5, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

AWESOME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

360 port = some not optimised.

posted by artair (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

the original Lego Star Wars was fantastic. it elevated the subject material of the prequels with humor and a nice control scheme.

this time around, Traveller's Tales took on the original trilogy, and the original trilogy kicked them in the head. this game is decent, but the 360 version suffers from mistakes that make it seem obvious that LucasArts didn't plan out the 360 version until late in the game.

but first, to the just not-so-good elements: the lightsaber controls are bad! I can't understand how TT messed this up-- the lightsaber combat was tight in the first LSW title, but here it's sloppy and the hit detection seems to be turned down greatly. you know how frustrating it is to be able to take down sand people with one blaster shot, but swing right through them with a lightsaber over and over? you will very quickly. the game also makes wide attempts at humor that sometimes skew what the movies were all about. most of the time it's funny, but it's not really Star Wars.

now to the specific... the 360 version suffers from a sluggish framerate when there are lots of particle effects on screen. try blowing up multiple things in rapid succession and you'll see what I mean. lastly, for a game designed with achievements for beating each level without dying, the lack of any means to simply restart a level is unforgiveable. whenever you wish to restart a stage, you must exit to the stage select, load the stage, sit through the intro scroll, and then wait to finish the unskippable intro video. for almost all the stages, this seriously means two or three minutes of loading every time you want to restart a level. that's just a lazy oversight.

ultimately LSW2 can't top the original films. and given the way the first game really outdid the prequels, I guess I was hoping for a lot more than a rushed attempt to cash in.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Good game until the end....

posted by Vahrak (ENID, OK) Jun 13, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The gameplay of this game is fun, however, when doing level 4 and 6 of the ROTJ story the game freezes when you are on superstory mode. This makes it impossible to finish up the entire game and achievements. Lucas Arts/Travelers Tales/Microsoft all know about this but, but no patch has been released or is planned. Visit the X-Box 360 forum for this game for more information. This is a very common problem. I have had it happen with 2 different discs on 3 different consoles. Renter beware!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

funny ok but it gets boring after awhile

posted by lonewolf2 (EUREKA, CA) Jun 1, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

nice to make a hero for once, but it sucks and
gets boring I am saying this in a bored tone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring!!

posted by LuckMurph (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Oct 1, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 20 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

If you are not 10 yrs old I advise you to completely stay away from this title. As a fan the movies, and most of the star wars games I was mislead by reading many reviews that told me this was a fun game. The gameplay might be exciting for younger gamers, but anyone who has graduated from grade school will find the interface easy and missions rather repetitive. The action is flat slow and truly frustrating as I continually found myself assaulting my friend. I never had the chance to play vehicle missions because the entertainment value was barely there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Don't believe the hype

posted by Mahotsukai (KINGFISHER, OK) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

This game is bad. The A.I. is stupid and the game design is very simple. The game is just for gamers who don't want to think, just push the X button, rinse, repeat. Give this game a pass.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Worst Game EVER!

posted by Muddy9494 (MERIDEN, CT) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

This was the Worst game ever! The Boring level is 17/17 !! The levels are confusing... and lots more.. If you think this is a great and havent played it think again.. The player maker feature dosent work right either.. You can just make them and look.. not play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than the first

posted by jackjackisback (LISLE, IL) Apr 12, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

This is better than the first for three reasons: The improved gameplay, the original trilogy movies are good, and the prequels are bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

star wars sucks

posted by lisas1309 (MCALLEN, TX) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

that game and movie of star wars sucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lego Star Wars 2 - The Original Trilogy

posted by Solopowers (OAKLAND, CA) May 20, 2010

Member since May 2010

I have grew up looking and using a rate system so this will be done the same. Before people start clowning all I want to say is I am truly a Avid Gamer for more than 20 years and tested games for 10 years as well so gaming is what I do for sport and as a profession.

1 - BAD!!!!. Poorly design, lack of interest and down right a PAIN to play or see.
2 - Can be Better. Has more bad than good, but enough good to stand out.
3 - Mediocre. Pretty Decent, Not bad. Basically normal or average
4 - Impressive. Very Good, Nicely Done and on it's way to greatness
5 - FLAWLESS!!! Trend Setter. Will stand the test of time.

Categories:

1. Graphics: The style and design of the game. How good the modeling and texturing is as well as animation.
2. Gameplay: How the game plays and mechanics work during gameplay. This also informs you about crashes and bugs in the game that ruin the gameplay experience and how to get around them if possible. This will also include the replay value and if it's fun to play over and over again.
3. Audio: How the music and sound FX play during the game and are they at the right volume and right tone to set the mood of that scene or story.
4. Story: This is what the game is based on and about. What the hero/heroine is fighting for or what is at stake if you fail. For certain games this will vary.

For 360 Achievement Folks:

Achievements: For those that seek achievements quickly or for challenge this will inform you how long and PAINFUL getting a achievement or if it's worth getting at all. The lower the number the longer and crueling task you will have at 100% completion.

1. 60+ hrs
2. 40+ hrs
3. 20+ hrs
4. 10+ hrs
5. 4+ hrs

Lego Stars Wars II - TOT

Graphics: 4
Gameplay: 4
Audio: 5
Story: 5

Achievements: 3
Time: 33 hours. All achievements earned offline.
Hardest Achievement: Death Star...Undefeated

2 cents
Fun Game, several issues with camera during 2player that affect gameplay and functionality. Port from Xbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bringing the Galaxy together, piece by piece

posted by 580067 (HATTIESBURG, MS) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

This is the second LEGO Star Wars game I've ever played. This game was highly addictive. The story line was funny and some of the achievements were tricky to unlock, all of level achievements had to be unlocked without dying. Bonus levels such as Mini-Kit and Character bonuses involved you collecting 100,000,000 studs in just 5 minutes! The most expensive characters to buy are the "Ghost Characters". This include Anakin SkyWalker, Ben Kenobi, and Yoda, this guys can't die (because they're already dead). I sometimes was shocked because sometimes some the Power Bricks and Mini-kits were in front of me this entire time. To be honest I liked they way Yoda move in the first Lego Star Wars game, Because he had this chair that floated when he didn't have his lightsaber out, when he did he jump around. He know walks around with a lousy cane (even with his lightsaber out!) Hope you enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The good and bad of the game by 564900

posted by 564900 (CLARKSVILLE, TX) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

The good:
It has good graphics for a LEGO game.
It is very fun and addicting.
It has a good story-line.
The cheat codes help a lot with unlocking the characters.
Good choice of items when making a person.
Easy-to-learn controls.

The bad:
The LEGO people don't talk, they make noises.
If you get hit when using the force you have to start over.
You only get 4 hearts(lives).

All-in-all LEGO Star wars II is a family fun appropriate game and is enjoyed by almost everybody.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game doesn't work!

posted by tweety (KNIGHTDALE, NC) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

I can't write a review because the game never worked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Played co-op only

posted by astr0Zee (BRIGHTON, CO) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Apr 2004

...and the unruly, aggrivating camera made me and my gf almost break-up, it sucked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Fun

posted by Thrasher90 (MONTEREY PARK, CA) Aug 16, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is pretty fun especially if your a star wars fan, it's cool to see all the scenes from the movie lego style. The only thing that is bad about this game is that there are no tutorials to tell you what your doing or what you have to do so a lot of the times you'll just be walking around not knowing what to do but after a while you'll figure it out and when you do that's when it becomes pretty fun. Worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse