Rent LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy for DS
view large frontback

LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy

Not Rentable
GF Rating
6.2

372 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

dont be so hard on it.

posted by wiirock (BRISTOL, RI) Jun 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

first off, it can be a very fun game. I agree it is very glitchy in some parts and does lagg sometimes, but if you look away from that, its a pretty fun and solid game. perhaps not the best thing to put your money on, but at least rent it. please give it a chance? im sick of the harsh reviewers on this site, dont EVER listen to what someone says about a game if they score it below a 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Buggy

posted by reviewer (REDONDO BEACH, CA) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I want to give this game a high rating but it's buggy, and has one bad level (ewok one :P).

Lego Star wars is a great concept, you have infinite lives, but there is reward for not dieing and that is collecting lego coins, which allow you to purchase/unlock more lego characters. Plus levels have replay value, when you go back in them to hunt for superkits using unlocked characters. For it's game play I would give it a 9!!!

Unfortunely this game really pushs the DS hardware, to the point that polygons start disappearing if there is to many characters on the screen. And there are other glitchs too where you can fall through a wall or make some other wrong turn and end up stuck and having to start over. The AI isn't great either, I've had one of my other characters fall into a weird state where he would go into an infinite fall, some how they slid under a platform and kept falling and dieing :P, and it was an important character to.

As for the ewok level, it is one of the worst levels of the game, mostly because it is filled with jumps that are either almost impossible to make, or because of a lousy camera, it is easy to miss a jump :P.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Honestly... not terrible.

posted by Haruhiko (GENEVA, FL) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Okay, so I've been curious about this game for a long time. Then I got GameFly. The first game I rented was Sega Superstars, and then I got this. Yes, this game is indeed very glitchy. And like one other reviewer said, playing in the Ewok area is horrendous, but I am thourougly enjoying the game. I will most likely return it in the next coming days, but its fun for the time. These are the best graphics I've EVER seen on the DS. That is also why everything is glitchy. The character creation is a lot of fun (I gave Darth Vader an axe), and the Single-Card multiplayer is awesome. I haven't tried Multicard, and I probably never will.

Overall, its worth a rent. Not a purchase, but a single, five or so day rent. If you have another DS around and someone willing to play, rent this. You won't be too dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What happened??

posted by CeltCub (SAN JOSE, CA) Sep 14, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

20 out of 26 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I have been a fan of Lego Star Wars since it first hit the PS2 with the first game. So I was very excited to see this one coming to the DS and the ability to take Star Wars along with us. And had the game actually undergone any sort of Quality Testing before it shipped, it might have been a dream come true. However the game as it stands now is almost impossible to play, and every single problem is a bug or design issue. Walls fall away, your character disappears for no reason and I have even fallen behind a wall twice now.
Add to that the inability to see anything on the screen very clearly, horrible level design and parts of the game actually lagging because there is too much on the screen and it all adds up to a completely unenjoyable rendition of Lego Star Wars. I have compared it to the PC and PS2 versions, and this one is a waste of plastic and shipping time. Hands down one of the poorest DS games I have played yet. It honestly feels like playing a Beta, not a released title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should have NEVER rented the PSP version

posted by njdmmoe (BUTLER, NJ) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

I was so excited about this game I ran right out to buy it for the DS the night it was released. And it was a lot of fun. I saw the glitches everyone else in here have talked about but I didn't let it get me down.

That was until the level where Han and Chewy are running around the Ewok city. Wow, just wow. Spent HOURS trying to figure out what was going on.

So I gave up on it, and because I have Gamefly, I rented the PSP version. If I had never rented this version I probably wouldn't be writing this review.

The PSP version is 100 times better than the DS! I figured this game was going to be very similar of exactly the same on every platform. I was so very wrong.

I gave this game a 1 because you just hit a wall and stop playing. That is just lame. I honestly wouldn't even recommend a rental. The problems with the game are THAT bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Entertaining but way too glitchy.

posted by Bakula (HUMBOLDT, TN) Sep 19, 2006

Member since May 2005

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The game is actually very fun when it is working properly. Which is the majority of the time. But to get every unlockable sometimes the game is very unforgiving. The camera control is horrible in this aspect. You will be in the middle of a jump heading towards the camera and then in mid jump the camera flips 180 and so do the controls. In fact the best part of this game is the retelling of star wars through legos and all of the unlockables. This is not the system for it. They simply compressed it and ported it over and apparently did not test it at all. Multiplayer is fun however as well as the co-op. If anything that is what saved it. If the camera and glitches were fixed then this game would be awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

disappointed

posted by ZEBOP62 (PHOENIX, AZ) Sep 14, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Looked fun but.. seriously disappointed way to glitchy. nothin worse than a glitchy game!
glitchy glitchy glitchy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

On the upside...

posted by bushdoggg (BROOKLYN, NY) Sep 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2003

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Prepare to spend hours using the random lego character generator. Pay close attention to the names: If you're a Star Wars fan and you don't laugh out loud at least ONCE, you don't have a soul!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lego Star Wars II: the original trilogy

posted by batfan (RONKONKOMA, NY) Sep 21, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Sad to say but lego star wars II was probably one of the worst games I have ever played on my Nintendo DS system. The graphics were simply horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

lego

posted by monkey (KAPOLEI, HI) Sep 14, 2006

Member since May 2006

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

i like lego starwars

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

star wars 2

posted by nikki87 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Aug 14, 2012

Member since May 2012

why can't we rent this game some kids say its awesome.i want to get but you guys wont let me just please put this game for rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by blackspide (SHAWNEE, KS) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

I love the game but the reason I rated lego Star Wars an 8 is because it has to many glitces. But it's still a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lego star wars 11 the original trilogy

posted by 5131999 (MURPHY, TX) Jul 10, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

This game is really cool. this is just like starwars the complete saga.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

legos are sweet!

posted by gnome96 (FORT BRAGG, CA) Feb 1, 2008

Member since Apr 2007

the game is great but it has way to many glitches i say that your going to like the game but if you want to rent it from gamefly you may not enjoy it as much. i say if you want to play the game you should buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it!

posted by Bobbie1954 (BOAZ, AL) Oct 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

I rented this game first to see if I would like it and I did, so well I bought it. It is excellent on the DS. Very entertaining!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Rent it only.

posted by Zelda84 (CANDLER, NC) Jul 25, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Graphics are fair, nothing spectacular. The D-Pad is used for all movement of characters. Very little touch screen interaction. Inability to control camera angle makes the game very frustrating in places, particularly in the Battle for Endor stage. Don't get your hopes up for this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

confused

posted by sid123 (CRAIG, CO) Apr 15, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

This game wasn't as good as I had hoped.there where glitches in the graphics like the coler going away and some levels confuse you.So it wasn't all that good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not playable for kids under 8

posted by lughxer (CLEVELAND, OH) Nov 16, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

While this is a fun game for adults, teens and older kids -- don't be fooled by the "E" rating. It's not actually for everyone. For a child under 8 the controls, game play and puzzles are just too difficult and frustrating. My four and half year old didn't spend much time with this one. I doubt LucasArts even tested this game with any children. It appears they just slapped together yet another Star Wars game. Don't bother with this one for your younger kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what a bad game

posted by JOhnj25 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Oct 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

when i first saw perviews for this game i was hype and really wamted to play it but then i rented it before i was gonna buy it and i'm glad i did this game sucks!!! the farther you go in the game the wrose it gets you charaters start disapperaeing and the floor truns all white and you may even get stuck in the air and not able to move, oh yea the people who are following you get in the way and sometimes you have to kill them really what were they thinking making a game like this the only good thing was the music it was funny and it had some funny parts in it but as for game play i give it a 1, if you want to play this game rent it first and if you like it then buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lego Star Wars DS

posted by jdstoner (STANDISH, MI) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

This is an awesome game on other consoles but is terrible on the DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Serious Glitches

posted by boopuft (WOODINVILLE, WA) Sep 24, 2006

Member since Mar 2004

The game is so cute and has so much potential. Too bad the glitches make it unplayable in some places. Want to fall of into space and just stay there? Want to turn invisible? Want to have the sky and walls disappear? Then this game is for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »