Rent LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy for Xbox
view large frontback

LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy

Not Rentable
Also on:PS2, PSP Games, DS, GC, GBA, Xbox 360
GF Rating
8.3

834 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Ton of Fun, at first...

posted by VTMarik (EVERETT, WA) Nov 29, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2006

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lego Star Wars II is the sequel to the previous one, and focuses on the real Star Wars films. Alright, let's get on with it.

Graphics: 8/10
Still those wonderfully kooky representations of the world and peoples of Star Wars. The vehicles and the models look especially nice.

Sound: 8/10
Another winner, all the necessary sound effects are here and they even managed to get Han Solo's "Yahoo!" from the end of A New Hope. The ambiance is perfect.

Controls: 7/10
Good controls, but at the same time some of the vehicles handle like a brick on astroturf. This adds to the realism slightly, so it's a plus.

Gameplay: 6/10
The same stuff from the last game, not that it's a bad thing. Not only do you have the original objective (get all the minikits and a ton of studs) but you also have numerous other objectives. And that takes us to:

Replay value: 3/10
Yes, I know. There's tons to do, levels to unlock, bonus stages to play. That's the only problem. There's almost too much stuff to do to get that all-holy 100%. It quickly devolves from a game into busy work, playing through the levels in a set time or collecting studs in a fixed arena. At first this is fun, but it very quickly turns into tedious work. I don't play video games to do homework.

Overall: 6/10 (Not an average)
The game's quirky sense of humor and endearing presentation is still here, but the sheer amount of stuff you have to do to get to 100% just makes you want to buy a cheat device and get someone else's save to attain it.

Final Verdict: The only reason I can think of to buy this game is if you want something you can come back to every once in a while and beat more side-levels. Otherwise, just rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A galaxy so far away, they built it with LEGOs

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Feb 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Star Wars has had a long history in video games. Many of the recent efforts have been terrific and some have been... tolerable. LEGO Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy is more than tolerable but less than fantastic. It's a fun game though. Basically, the game runs you through the major action sequences of A New Hope, Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi... but with LEGO people. Now the whole LEGO theme gives the game some interesting features, like collecting studs to buy new characters or cheats. It also adds a building element where you can uses the Force or your hands to build bridges, vehicles or doors in the game. To break things up, the game offers several ship-based levels. After you play through the Story in each of the 18 levels, you can go back and try Free Play, where you can pick any of the unlocked characters, or ones you create, and use their abilities to access previously unreachable areas to find several important items. Completing certain goals gives you gold studs, which let you access special stages and challenges. There's plenty of replayability. Even though there are only 18 levels, you'll have to run through them a few times to get everything and the unlockable stages add to the game as well. It's still not a super long game and many players might get bored with trying to collect all 99 gold studs. It's arguable whether or not the rewards are worth the backtracking. It really hinges on how much you like the gameplay, which has it's share of technical problems and glitches, but is solid overall. It's fun, it's different and it could take awhile to get 100% game completion. It gives some new personality to Star Wars. Give it a shot. It might just build a LEGO house in your heart.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Recommended for children and die hard SW Fans

posted by packster (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 2, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is an improvement over the first entry into the series and overall a better game. However after the novelty of Lego Star Wars figures wears off I found the game to be repetitive and boring. Of course I am not a young child nor the biggest Star Wars fan in the world so I am not in anyway a part of the target audience, I am sure that both those demographics are thrilled this sequel is on the market.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good the 1st, Better the 2nd

posted by zman2231 (KATY, TX) Sep 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Lego Star Wars 2 is better the original. The new features in this game is that you can make your own Lego character. The game has a adaptive difficulty so the better you are at the game the harder it is. The graphics are pretty good. The game has some funny cutscenes. The only problem is the camera. Lego Star Wars 2 is a great game like the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Legos Rock!

posted by xboxer (EVERETT, WA) Sep 16, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I do not think any game is better than this one!
I loved Lego Star Wars 1.
This one is twice as good.
Me and my friends can't stop playing.
You get to ride lots cool creatures and vehicles.
Be sure to put this game at the TOP of your Q!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

freakin sweet!

posted by Krazy93 (PITTSBURG, CA) Sep 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

this game is one of the best games ever. it takes the first one and adds so much more to the gameplay. do not rent BUY!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Gone and soon to be forgotten

posted by countzero (OAKLAND, CA) Apr 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

Perhaps the last gasp of a failing franchise, these Lego Star Wars Games represent presentation over content. They are cute if you are the 12 year old demographic that Lucas originally targeted. Between the inaccurate controls and fuzzy mission objectives
I am unsure if you you will get fed up by frustration or boredom first.
This game was cute, and the best thing about it was the cliff notes version of the original plot performed through para linguistics and facial expressions during the cut scenes. The actual gameplay was mediocre at best. I thought the lightsaber was supposed to more effective than the blaster.
Check it out if you LOVE Starwars or Legos.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What I think of Lego Star Wars II

posted by Emericann (GREENSBORO, NC) Apr 5, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

Ah Lego Star Wars 2.The first one was okay, but this one is even better!I do like the mix and match character creator, but it doesn't include all the characters you buy. Around the Cantina is cool but if you hit 1 innocent lego figure you're dead meat!In some point of the game "Extras" can help you, like "INVINCIBILITY" or "SCORE x10".They're just like cheats to me. I also loved playing Lego video game form of the "Star Wars Original Trilogy".My favorite level or Challenge is when your in "LEGO CITY", I like destroying houses and building ridible vehicles, every time there is a trail of blue studs. Well I like Lego Star Wars II its awesome I dont think I'd have enough space to put all the fun & cool fetures. So I say a 9 out of 10!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun! Fun! Fun!

posted by scallywag (THE DALLES, OR) Mar 16, 2007

Member since May 2004

Being an old Star Wars fan, I got this game before the first one, (wanted to stick to tradition, you know, hehe). But, if this one is even close to the first one, I'm definitely grabbing the first one as well.

This game is geared toward kids, yea, but adults like this old dude (I'm 43) can enjoy it as well.

Love the graphics, and easy controls. Though, I admit the at times I wish the camera was a bit more user friendly. But, it isn't that important and doesn't take away from the fun factor of the game.

Sound effects and music are dead on to the films.

I highly recommend this game for anyone who is a Lego or Star Wars fan. You will have a blast playin' this one. Heck, even if you aren't a fan, give it a try. You may surprise yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego Star Wars II

posted by ZFerret (HELOTES, TX) Feb 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

This game is great for Star Wars freaks like me because it is fun,exsiting,and hilarious you should rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Saw the first played the 2nd

posted by RHankins24 (ROSCOE, IL) Jan 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

My son has the original Lego Star Wars and I have watched him play that game so many times and beat it so many times. We got this one for christmas and wow I was so amazed at the actual quality of the game and how the intensity of the game changes based upon how well you do. I am usually not a big star wars gamer but this game I think has turned me around. I would recommend this game to anybody and everybody. If your looking for a game that you and your child can play together or just some thing that you could play on your own this is the game i would tell you to pick up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Nice Sequel... too repetitive

posted by koolt91 (INVERNESS, FL) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

First off this game is fun when you first start. Once you have to explore the levels more than once however it becomes boring and repetitive. There are many characters to unlock and play. This game is more of a rent than a buy if you don't have another player for the coop.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

not as good as the first

posted by Torg001 (LAMBERTVILLE, MI) Nov 3, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

This game does have a few problems, pathing, targeting, flight mission controls are a bit confusing... However, it does have lot of content and is the same style as LSW1. Fairly easy but fun with its drop in/out co-op. Definetely worth renting, maybe buying to fans of the first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

like the 1st one but better.

posted by fatalbert (TEMECULA, CA) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

i like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LEGO Star Wars

posted by sawbones (HAVELOCK, NC) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

This was a very good game for my 6 year old. The controls were easy for him to use, and once we got into the game and started opening up different levels, he really enjoyed it. Also free play is nice because you can switch between characters, which has kept his interest going for the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Very Best Game On The Market

posted by legocrazy (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 7, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

This game is waaaay better then Lego Star Wars 1. The mission's the same, collect studs to buy stuff. But the new vehicles, charactors,power bricks, and bonus levels, This game rocks!!! I only have 1 complaint, the camera. It is a great game for any age over 10. A great turner-oner for any non-starwars fan. I give this game a 10 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

starwars+lego=a whole bunch of fun

posted by phartsack (LANCASTER, CA) Oct 5, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

this game has all the fun, humer , and good gameplay
in it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

No Game is perfect...

posted by 4yunglings (DAYTON, OH) Oct 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

...but this one comes very close....

This game is entertaining from the get go. If you played the first one, you will LOVE this one. It takes all of your favorite Star Wars characters, scenes, and locations, and puts them together in a fun-filled humorous take on the Original Star Wars Trilogy.

The best part about this one is that not only have I (at a YOUNG 35 :)) enjoyed it, but watching my 10 and 11 year old play it and get as much if not more enjoyment out it has just been awesome.

This title can really bring all generations of a gaming family together, and with the exception of a few mildly risqué references does a good job at separating the humor for all ages.

I highly recommend this game whether you're a fan of Star Wars, Lego, or none of the above. It may have it's minor quirks, like camera angle being annoying, a mild bit of silliness, but it's FUN, and that's more than I can say for a lot of games I've played recently.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lego my Star Wars!

posted by lazygamer (Northridge, CA) Oct 2, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2003

This game is loads of fun for any Star Wars fan (like myself) or someone faintly familiar with the franchise (my 6 year old daughter). The mechanics are the same as the previous game (collect studs for bonus stuff, character switching, co-op modes and very-very funny cutscenes). New things like character mixing/creation adds yet another level of replayability. My only issue is that the camera can get a little crazy, especially in co-op mode. But it's a minor issue.
My daughter started to like Star Wars and watches the movies BECAUSE of the game! So this game has all the fun of Legos without the ouch-ouch minefield walk when the toys are left on the carpet. If you need something to bond with your kids in a family friendly manner, this game is a wise choice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »