Rent LEGO: Rock Band for Wii
view large frontback

LEGO: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

382 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is ASWOME in so many ways

posted by dinosaurs (RIVERSIDE, CA) Dec 15, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game is great for us kids they have lots of songs and a great way for kids to just have fun in there own way.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

An introduction to Rock Band for Younger Kids

posted by daniinnc (MOUNT HOLLY, NC) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, I want to say that I don't have much experience with these "rock star" games. I've only played Rock Band for a couple hours and I've never played Guitar Hero. So this review of Lego Rock Band is coming from a relative newbie to these games.

Another reviewer wondered what Lego has to do with music. I admit that Lego has about as much to do with music as with Batman or Star Wars. However, the Lego versions of these comic book and sci-fi games have set Lego up as a brand that parents can look at and say, "I know that game will be safe for my kids." That's why I rented the game. Even though my tweens and teens have already played the original Rock Band game, I thought the Lego version might have a playfulness that was more appropriate for 12-year-olds. What got was only partially satisfying.

As expected, the skill level in Lego Rock Band is dialed down a bit. I prefer to sing in these games, and I set the vocals on Medium only if I really know a song. In Lego Rock Band, I sang many songs on Hard or even Expert. This is fine for a person who has never played a Rock Band game before, but it is a letdown if you have played the original game first.

The true letdown for me, however, was the tour mode. Since this game is aimed at kids, I expected a bit more of a storyline between songs but there wasn't much of one. There isn't one in Rock Band, either, but that game is mainly about playing the songs. Why do a Lego version if you aren't going to add something to it? At the end of each song, you earn all these little trinkets that go in the Rock Shop. They don't really affect your gameplay; they're just cute.

I think the subtitle for this game should be My First Rock Band. Give it to a 9- or 10-year-old who has never played the original game, if you can find one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The beginning of the end of RockBand

posted by gameguy197 (BROWNWOOD, TX) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I hate to sound so negative, but what does Lego have to do with music? Nothing. This is a solid RockBand game, in that the controls work well; but it has some flaws. First, there is absolutely no sound right before each song starts. No cheering or crowd noise or anything (boring). Second, the song selections are less than ideal. Sure, there are gems here and there, but there is also lots of junk. Finally, what is the point of making comic Lego action scenes in the background if you can't take your eyes off the note highway for more than 1/10th of a second? My son got a kick out of them as he watched me play, but I wouldn't have even known they were there if he hadn't been laughing and describing it to me. Unless RockBand can get the focus back on the music, the franchise is doomed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst wii game i played yet!

posted by bruinswin (GARDNER, MA) Jun 14, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was happy when this game was delivered. since the DS one was great. But when i got the game i had a proble. It said the following you need a incerment or rcs microphone to play. Which dont have so it didt let me play. Which stinks. So if you dont have those things DO NOT GET THIS ok.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lego of a bad music game and play this!

posted by mecrjcr (COOPERSBURG, PA) Sep 23, 2012

Member since May 2011

Follow the title of the reveiw, but note you need special controllers to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lego Rock Band

posted by lissykayegmailc (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

Looks cool, but they fail to tell you before ordering that you will need Wii instruments to play this. Yes, I suppose it should be & probably is obvious to most "kids", but we didn't know, so we were disappointed that we couldn't play it. I hope they consider including this in game descriptions in the future for us old people.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awsome

posted by cody2001 (DAHLONEGA, GA) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I love this game but I think that the people can put songs on the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Out of all Lego games this is the WORST.

posted by gameflypeople (SEBRING, FL) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is nothing I would ever want to play again, The songs are akward for kids. They've never really heard them. And it's just boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Need Different Controllers to play

posted by JerseygirlinFL (NORTH PORT, FL) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Just found out that my kids could not play the game without "instrument controllers" that we do not have. If I had know that, I wouldn't have bothered renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game....

posted by sonic1 (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Jul 28, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

it is one of the best rock bands. there is you should buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

need microphone

posted by ckrishnan (FAYETTEVILLE, TN) Jul 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

you can't play this game unless you have a usb microphone. sure it's a great game but we couldn't play it. can't even play as a different character. HAVE to have the microphone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

LEGO Rock Band

posted by cjstaud66 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Mar 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I'm always looking for new songs to play and this wasn't bad but I did have problems when I got further in the game it cause my Wii to tell me to shut down and refer to my owners manual.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »