Rent LEGO: Rock Band for PS3
view large frontback

LEGO: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.9

468 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego Rock Band

posted by chidesd (PELLA, IA) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Although I hate Lego games and im more of a guitar hero kind of guy, I really enjoyed this game. Its fun and theres more to do then just play a song, the trophies/achievements arent all that hard to get but very enjoyable when u recieve them the songs arent the hardest but still provide a challenge. I like the songs on this game better then the ones on Rock Band, Rock Band 2, Guitar Hero 3, Guitar hero 4, and Guitar hero 5. over all its a game that u can play through and not have to say ew cant believe I have to play that song again, could have done with out the lego characters but it made it a fun new experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BUILD YOUR BAND!!!

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

okay i'm gona start off by saying yes i am a rockband fan boy.

that being said this game delivers on every aspect. the lego theme is both fun and humorous, this is a must own for any rock band fan. the game doesn't add anything new to the series (other than legos) but adds some nice music to the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ok overall...

posted by Vertikolli (TACOMA, WA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The graphics & new game play mods are definitely made to be more appealing for kids. The track list is more pop/rock oriented; but is still somewhat diverse & solid. Anyone can find a song on this game they like to play. I personally rented it so i can export the track list to RB2; but I have been playing the actual game & find it somewhat enjoyable. I definitely enjoy playing RB2 more due to the fact that I am not a child & have no children.

I would recommend this game to any RB player that wants to add a ton of tracks for a small export key charge ($10 I believe). I would also recommend this game to parents that want to have a more "family friendly" version of RB for their young kids to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

should you build your own band?

posted by advocate (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Lego Rock Band isn't a bad game it's just another knock-off, of the other knock-off, of the original knock-off, of that other game. This isn't necessarily a bad thing. If you like rock band then you will probably like this game. One con is that you rarely finding yourself playing with friends,unlike the original rock band game. I noted that I only found myself playing with myself and/or my family. One pro is that you can jump in and out of a song(idk if it's really a pro; I rarely used it). Overall Lego rock band gets a 6 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Hi

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Nov 21, 2012

Member since May 2011

My Ps3 Got Diat On It Ok Only Ps2 Ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

LEGO ROCK BAND

posted by applebottom36 (BRONX, NY) Jul 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

WHY DO YOU NEED A MICROPHONE?!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good RB Title

posted by Darkfang114 (JONESBORO, AR) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game gave me about a week and a half of playtime before I finished it. It has a great song list in my opinion and was fun playing. It was pretty fun unlocking stuff and whatnot. Where the game really kills itself is that there is no online. Why..? It's probably the only PS3 game without online play. (sarcasm). The trophies are very easy except for one or two.. Which one of the trophies is to hit 100% with 4 people on expert. You won't get that one unless you have four talented RB players as friends. Overall decent game, you should try it out if you are a RB fan. If you don't like music games don't even try this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lego Rock Band

posted by radicalroger (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Aug 9, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

I wasn't to happy with this game. the difficuly wasnt there, there was no online play and the export was a fail. The song choice was decent, some good songs I remember from when I was in grade school.... Overall a 5.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

WASTE OF TIME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Cub431430 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

It was so bad that there arent even words to describe how bad it was. DO NOT RENT THIS PIECE OF JUNK. I would not reccomend this to a friend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Fail Import

posted by steef (RESTON, VA) Mar 12, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Lego characters, some additional songs, mainly wanted it to export the songs by just buying the export code. However, not only does it cost $10 for the capability to export the songs from Lego Rock Band you also need a new copy of the game and the code that comes in the box. Lame.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

just for export

posted by rlane4 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Oct 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

I rented this so I can see how these songs looked on RB and I was surprised. I bought this later so I can export these songs onto my RB title games.

-Pros-
songs=great variety of songs + DLC (suitable for children)
career=wished RB titles has something similar (ex. rock den, office, stage and vehicles)

-Cons-
DLC=was only suitable for children

Overall: B

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pleasantly surprised!!

posted by ryobe2k5 (TROY, NY) Oct 9, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

When I added this game to my queue I was mainly considering just importing the songs to my ps3 and sending it right back. Then I put the game in, and slowly it started to reel me in. The rock band interface is just as appealing as RB2, if not more, and the setlist is extremely diverse and fun to play. For the first time a rock band setlist has actually surprised me with some awesome alternative tracks. The Coral, The Kooks, The Automatic, The Hives and a few other great alt bands contributed to the song list. There are also some surprisingly fun songs to play that caught me off guard. Who knew playing crocodile rock could be fun?? Dare I say that customizing your band is more fun than it is on RB2? You can deck out your rock den with various random items and tailor it to your personal tastes, as well as customizing your character. One of the features that I especially like is the rock challenges. For example, in the first rock challenge, you're tasked with taking down a run down building with the power of rock. To Tick Tick Boom by The Hives nonetheless!! It just makes the gameplay a more immersive and fun experience. The only real downside I can think of is that at first the lego block notes kind of threw me. But, after a few songs I was playing fine. Also, if you're not a fan of alt rock or pop rock, you may not find as many enjoyable songs. This set list is geared towards children so there really isn't any hard rock to speak of. Also, they charted the claps and stomps for We Will Rock You by Queen, which was a bit odd. Overall, if you're a fan of alt rock, are in desperate need of pampering the kid in you, and are looking for some new songs to play, rent this game. I'm probably gonna have to keep this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

this did not blow my mind

posted by goodgamer4 (SCHWENKSVILLE, PA) Aug 30, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

this game was not all that good and was a waste how many lego games have they made and most sucked, rock band is not really good like guitar hero and when guitar hero warriors of rock comes out rock band will be crushed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A well made game.

posted by MrRampage7 (HADDON TOWNSHIP, NJ) Aug 4, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

When i first got this in the mail, I thought it was gonna suck. But i started to play it and i got into it. It was actually pretty fun. I reconized most of the songs. They were fun to play. The rock power challenges (minigames) were fun to. But if your a heavy metal or hard rock guy, this game is not for you. It's geared twords familes. So mostly the songs are like classic rock and soft rock of today. So over all its a fun game for the whole family!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

please don't make me do it again

posted by trav23 (GARLAND, TX) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Sep 2008

The game itself is the same formula as any other rock band. My son loved the destroy the building/kill the ghosts with the power of rock levels, and looking around the band headquarters for where the pets were..

BUT, each new venue only unlocks one or two new songs, and them makes you play them over and over and over. Mystery setlist? I bet i will be NOT surprised..

I can now go the rest of this life, and the next, without ever feeling the need to hear "I'm walkin on sunshine" ever ever EVER again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

This structure is missing a few bricks.

posted by JakDax101 (O FALLON, MO) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

The Lego games haven't been great, but they have been good. Mostly because they have Star Wars or Indiana Jones or Batman or even Harry Potter slapped on the box. But did anyone expect Lego ROCK BAND?!? I know I didn't. However, the basic gameplay of Rock Band is still here, but it's been made MUCH easier for younger kids. For one, there is now Super Easy mode, which, well, is a difficulty for toddlers, should one pick up an instrument. Also, you technically will never fail a song. Instead, if your rock meter goes empty, you will lose points, and you will need to hit more notes to get them back. While I sorta like these changes, there are a few problems with the game. For one, the music store has been dumbed down. Only songs deemed "family friendly" are available in the store. Also, there is no online play of any kind here. Oh, really, WB? Are you serious?!? You expect kids to BUY songs with real money, to buy instruments separately, but you don't think they want to do something that is actually FREE?!?!? Overall, it's just ridiculous that there's no online multiplayer. Overall, I don't recommend buying this game, even if you already have the instruments. Just rent it for a week or two, then return it. It's just not worth the extra cash, in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lego Power!

posted by Animator22 (SAN JOSE, CA) Mar 28, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2009

First off, you should know no matter the theme the gameplay will be exactly the same. There is no difference in the gameplay in this title from previous Rockband or Guitar Hero titles. Except the notes are lego pieces.

Now putting a lego theme I thought was awesome! For me, after the first few hours it was just a ton of fun. There are a few new aspects to this game that weren't on previous Rockband titles.
-Even though it was on Guitar Hero 5, you can now create how all the band members look in your band and continue to use those same band members throughout the story mode. You can change your band members any time you like. You can also purchase new characters after playing different gigs and switch them out for members in your band.
-They added mini games during story mode called Power Challenges which you use the power of rock to tear down a building or to scare off some ghosts. The songs are pre set to the challenge so you have to keep playing the same song for that particular challenge but most of them are great songs related to the theme of the challenge.
-Another cool little addition is after a gig you can return to your den and you can buy and decorate different areas in your den with wall posters, furniture, equipment and other cool stuff you can unlock in story mode. You also adopt different animals that appear at random areas in your den. It’s always fun to come back and find all the animals.
The only little thing I saw that was an eye sore is that some of the band members movements (mostly the singer) are static. During a song that has a lot of energy in both the lyrics and music, the character will sometimes stand motionless only bobbing up and down singing the song. Also at times the lip sync doesn’t seem to match up but this is just me being nit picky.
If you’ve been thinking about it, I recommend play it! There are alot of other cool little aspects that I could tell you but I'm out of space to write.

Hope this was helpful for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

lego rock band

posted by vw86gti (PUYALLUP, WA) Nov 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

ok this game is awsome but there is only one thing that i hate about it because they tottaly coppy off guitar hero 5 and 4

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

!

posted by 655321 (BROKEN ARROW, OK) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

I HATE STATUES!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »