Rent LEGO: Rock Band for Xbox 360
view large frontback

LEGO: Rock Band

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS3, Wii
GF Rating
7.2

1287 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid Rockband Experience

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Nov 6, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being a big fan of most rythm games and a huge fan of Rockband 1 and 2 i thought this game was going to be a "joke" of sorts. I was wrong....

First off the track list is actually pretty good, the lego look and feel of the game really makes it "feel" like a whole new Rockband game. Its got all the charm of previous LEGO games and it works well. All the difficulty of the other games is here if you play on expert like i do, nothing is "simplified" on the higher difficulties and plays just like Rockband. All your RB DLC works with LEGO Rockband so your not just playing the disc songs the entire time which makes it a little more fun.

BIG plus is ALL of the songs are exportable to RB2 so if your like me and love Rockband 2 and all its DLC, well here is more to play.

Overall its a good game and if you are a fan of Rockband and DLC im sure you bought it already to have more music. Rent it, give it a go and have some fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

1 complaint

posted by rockstar21 (SPRING HILL, FL) Dec 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

im a huge fan of the rockband series and this game is fun the music in the game isnt bad in the least, there are quite a few fun songs. but my 1 gripe with this game is that all of your download content isnt added to the game because its suppose to be family friendly i own about 120 songs downloaded and only 51 of them are on this game. so you could see how im a little disapointed with the fact that all of my songs arent brought over to the game since i bought them. my whole thing on this is my console doesn't have family settings and if it did then i could understand having that issue but since i dont and i bought all of the content it should be there. but besides that i find this game a lot of fun and rated it an 8 and also has a lot of easy achievements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's still Rock Band

posted by josteen628 (MACON, GA) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I tried Lego Rock Band soley because you can export the songs to your Rock Band 2 song cache. I was surprised to find that I actually enjoyed playing the game and not just for the achievements.
You enter into a world tour mode not unlike Rock Band, but there's more interaction with your band with tons of unlockables that you can use to change your character, or even decorate your bands garage. The song list is not bad and appeals to all ages with a mix of current and not so current pop and rock. There are also some comical cinematic moments.
If you are a fan of the Rock Band series, I would recommend buying this one, especially if you have a family that enjoys playing as the game is family friendly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LEGO Rock Band

posted by Cbjaxx4187 (MESA, AZ) Jun 22, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is fun, but long. You get your monies worth, you play one hundred and sixty nine songs total. Bad thing about the game is the songs, you play the SAME songs OVER and OVER, and OVER again.
Achivements and trophies are easy to attain.
If you love the LEGO games I would recommend this game, you get to unlock LEGO figures and furniture to deck out your rock den. The classic LEGO humor mini movies are back for enjoyement.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, but should be better

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Nov 5, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I love Lego games, and i love Rock Band even more. So i obviously like this game. But let me say first that the concept of this game sounds really dumb and you might think this game is a joke. Well this game is pretty good, and it should be taken much more seriously than most people do. This game is almost identical to Rock Band 2 in a lot of ways. One of the ways is the menu, its almost exactly the same, but it still works just fine. A new feature that is really nice is youre just starting your drumming, is there is a game modifier that will automatically kick the kick pedal so you dont fail. Probably the best thing about this game, is the fact that almost all of the songs are really good. You will know 90% of these songs on this game, which is very unusual. But there are only 45 songs on this game, and there were over 100 on rock band 2, so its a slight rip off. And for some reason only half of the downloadable songs on the marketplace are usable on this game. And if you exported rock band 1 to the second one, itll be on this too, but only half of the songs are on this. Overall this game is a lot better than you think it is, but it could still be better. If you have a family with young kids, this game is perfect for you, try it out today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not worthy of a full game price.

posted by NascarFan (LAYTON, UT) Mar 24, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the track list on this game, but they should have done more to make it memorable. I would have preferred to have this as a $10 add-on to Rock Band. They did not make enough changes to make the game interesting. To sum up: Track list: GOOD! Presentation: POOR

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lego: Rock Band

posted by Deuce40SX (BESSEMER, AL) Feb 14, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

So this game being a Lego game is quite what you would not expect. I got the game so my girlfriend would be "happy" and not bug me about her likeing lego games. And when i popped it in and started playing it with her it became quite fun. It has a great sound track on it, i couldnt believe it had some good songs to play too, but than again Rock band is known for there 'lets throw a whole bunch of random bands on there no one knows to make a song list'.

So i got the game thursday (its sunday now) and already beat it with 2 achievements left to get, and i must say that once i got towards the end, it became VERY boring. You play the same song over and over and it just becomes a bore. Its a good game for achievements seeing as it has super easy mode and short song mode makes the game go a little quicker. and all you do is put your mic up against the tv ( or in m cased between my turtle beach's) and let the songs play and you beat it fairly quick. Also the no fail out thing was a masterpiece, seeing as my girlfiend trys to compete with me on expert and she cant keep up haha. But over all i would recommend this for familys and children, but be prepaired to break your kids 360's becuase of the 45 song list they have. you will hear the same song about 1000 times before the actually make it to the next venue. but its a good rent. not worth the buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Who are these bands ?????

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Dec 2, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I'm sorry but this is not a great game at all. I played this game with my son and as we went down the song list he kept saying "I don't know that song" or "who is that band".....the sad thing is I was saying the same thing.

My 2 biggest complaints...........

1) If you buy the game then you have to pay another $10 to export the songs into RB1 or RB2.
2) The song selection is HORRIBLE......Over 1/2 of the song list are bands and songs that no one has ever heard of.

If you want people to pony up $50 then another $10 to export you should have at least 3/4 of the songs and bands people have heard of.

Poor game in my opinion due to the band and song choices......We the Kings, The Coral, Supergrass, The Automatics, Everlife, The Zutons......WHO???????

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

4th, 5th or 6th

posted by Zeetoo (DAYTON, OH) Dec 30, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Lego Rock Band seems like a kids version the the game. Even though the song selection was very good, I foung them easy. Even on Expert. I had this game for about five hours before I decided to send it back for the next in my GameQ. If you have someone young in your family, and its there first time playing Rockband, I would start with this. If your getting it for someone experienced, I would recommend Rockband, Rockband 2, or the Beetles Rockband.

Farewell for now,
Zeetoo >:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Thank You

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Mar 14, 2013

Member since May 2011

Thank You

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

sucks

posted by liloscar05 (HITCHCOCK, TX) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

why do you need a microphone when you have a kinect

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Track list is unbareable

posted by mpleeds (LANSING, MI) Nov 23, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

You can't love every track in a Rock Band game but this assortment was just the pits. If I had not imported tracks for RB1 to RB2 I would have found this game impossible to stomach. I gave the game a 4 only because of this import option

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty good.

posted by kyotoro (HILLSBORO, OR) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I wasn't really sure what to expect with this game. I definitely like it, but it feels like for every new venue I play, I am just playing the same songs that I played in the previous venue. Just in my opinion, this game is a little repetitive but overall it is good. I think there should be more of a song selection though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good soundtrack, fun gameplay

posted by juicedaman (NORTHBOROUGH, MA) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

Rock Band and Guitar Hero games have long been some of my favorites, but lately they have just all been the same. Lego Rock Band is definitely unique, and with a good soundtrack and fun gameplay this is definitely a must play for any rock band fan.
7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Songs awesome - customization horrible

posted by Trivea (LUBBOCK, TX) Sep 18, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

Really, why do you play Rock Band? The music, of course! And this music rocked - I nearly had a heart attack of joy when I saw KoRn's version of "Word Up!" on the setlist, not to mention a couple of Queen hits (it's about time, in my opinion). Come on, Elton John, Boys Like Girls, Lostprophets, Counting Crows, and the real kicker - Spinal Tap? How could this game not be great?

Really, I couldn't get into the game (despite the AWESOME soundtrack) simply because of the lack of customization. It disappointed me, particularly from a LEGO game, because despite the technology and the real-life resources available this game had the character customization of an SNES fighting game. Considering that the ability to design your own rocker has always been a key point of the Rock Band games, I expected a lot more from the LEGO guys.

So all in all - the setlist is probably my favorite out of RB1, 2, and LEGO, but the appearance of the game was too disappointing for me to get into it, almost like they took a step back from RB2 and ended up somewhere between the first and second games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fake guitar game decline

posted by Droppo (MOUNTLAKE TERRACE, WA) Jun 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

I have been watching all of the Guitar Hero and Rock Band games decline over the last year or two with the exception of Beatles Rock Band, and Lego Rock Band is no exception. The decline I mention is in the poor selection of songs for each release. They have improved gameplay and graphics, but without the right songs, why would this even matter?? It appears to me that they are relying on DLC purchases to make these games worth playing, and I don't consider DLC part of the game... So my review can't be about anything but what is included on the actual game disc.

What is included on the actual game disc is a lot of great Lego customizing options, good fake guitar gameplay, and a selection of very weak songs. There are maybe five songs on this disc that I would consider quality Rock Band or Guitar Hero tracks. Too much is being included that is recent shlock rock from wannabe pop punk bands. We have 50 years of Rock and Roll to pull songs from, and THIS is what we get now? They are using a business model here that forces you to pay extra for some actual classic tracks. They include just enough to whet your appetite, and leave the rest to come from what's left in your wallet after you've already purchased the game.

What this does to the game is make career mode boring when it should be great fun. Who wants to play through career mode with weak songs? It makes me want to only play the five good songs in free play mode and miss out on all the customizing options that would make Lego Rock Band so much fun to begin with. It means that it only took me about an hour to feel like I was done with this game.

This game is a shoulda been, coulda been great game, but the reliance on our purchasing DLC for it has made it a quick rental and that's it. If you've already spent a bunch of money on Rock Band DLC, you bought into their money grubbing strategy, but at least you might find this game more fun that I did. I want a game to be fun as is, right out of the box.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome family time

posted by sogxsbpx (CORONA, CA) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

Ok, so games with the Lego name are apparently not going away. Not only are they not leaving us anytime soon, they are spreading to more than just the action/adventure genre. And this is a good thing. The time spent with my kids playing games like Lego Batman and Indian Jones has been great and it only gets better with this new musical offering. Lego Rock Band hits all the notes in regards to being an awesome family multiplayer experience.
There is one thing that you should know about this latest version of Rock band. That is that you will need to bring your own friends or family as there is no online multiplayer.
full review at digoutreach. com

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Where's the rock band?

posted by protox (LAKEWOOD, CO) Feb 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2005

Is this really the same company that made Rock Band? This is really bad. The song selection is pitiful, the controls are unpolished, and the game itself is lackluster.

Music
Are these real bands? I've never heard of most of them and I'm sure children haven't either. Nearly half the track list is emo. No joke, they actually label them as emo. The other half is a mix of halfway decent punk and a few songs from the 80s. One Bowie song and a couple Queen songs and that's basically all of the game you'll care about. The Beatles game had a better song selection and that one was horrible too.

Controls
Do not work. You know how the game usually feels polished and very spot on? Not in this one. The graphics look a little glitchy and notes allow you to be late, very late at hitting the note. I didn't actually time it but it's about half a beat of leeway, which is incredibly forgiving compared to real Rock Band. There is the normal feature to fine tune the lag on your screen. Only the tool doesn't work. Every time I run it I get a completely different compensation. It's also different from Rock Band 2. You can enter the numbers manually but it doesn't help much. The notes are forgiving for being late but if you are even a tiny fraction of a second early you miss.

Gameplay
Your band shares money. The selection of clothes and accessories are lame. You can't change the color of your lego person so some stuff doesn't match. Most items can only be unlocked by playing story mode. Story mode is really boring and forces you to play through a lot of songs you've never heard before. I was so tired I just gave up and played a couple songs then sent the game back. What's the fun in playing a game that doesn't work quite right and just has no song selection? I had hope for this game but after playing the Beatles I didn't expect much. It fell way short of expectations though. Lego should stick to Star Wars. Rock Band, should probably stick to rock... not emo and country.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »