Rent LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean: The Video Game for 3DS
view large frontback

LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean: The Video Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.1

242 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

If you have the option, play on a console instead.

posted by CaptColon (SHIRLEY, NY) May 16, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2005

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll keep this review short, just like the game is.

-You can beat it within 4½ hours because each movie only has 4 levels each. The 3DS version is missing levels and cutscenes that are in the console versions. If possible, I'd recommend you rent the game on Wii, Xbox 360 or PlayStation 3 instead to get the full experience.

-It is also missing two player co-op, and that sucks because these LEGO games are pretty much meant to be played with another person helping you out.

-The 3D effect started to make my eyes hurt after about an hour of playing, so I had to start taking breaks every ~25 minutes after that. No other game on the 3DS has done that so far. Obviously that may not have the same effect on you, but I feel it is worth mentioning. You may want to just play with the 3D effect disabled anyway, since the frame-rate is smoother in 2D and being in 3D adds nothing to this game.

-I'd say the game makes for a perfect rental. You can enjoy it for a few days and just send it back after you finish. It's a fun game, and there isn't much else to play on the 3DS at the moment, but I can't recommend spending $40 on it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game!!!

posted by sallysweetheart (PISCATAWAY, NJ) Jun 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is really cute and really fun. It's all of the action of Pirates of the Caribbean with the humor of Legos. The 'Stranger Tides' level was a little short, but that could just be because the game came out at the same time as the new movie. If you love Legos and PotC, then you' love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

an alright lego game could b better

posted by peterce1111 (EAST LONGMEADOW, MA) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

i kinda enjoyed this lego it wasn't as boring but it was a decent rent overall to play as my favorite pirate characters from the movie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A Cruel, Un-Addicting, Regertful, Humiliation...

posted by TheLuigi (MORRISVILLE, PA) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Awful. I love most of the lego games... from Star Wars to Indiana Jones. But this game... no. Never.
Why did they make a Lego POTC game? Money. I know that why they make all games, but they did not even bother to let the player enjoy it.

It's CRUEL!!!!
This game... don't play it. You know that feeling when you trip, get ketchup on yourself and get hit by a car???? Thats what YOU, dear reader, will feel like. You walk around and solve puzzles. Where's the fighting of lego games we love? The un-targeted, random button-tapping that kills all to your enjoyment? Gone.
Instead, you walk up to an enemy, and tap a button seven times.You enter a swordfight where all you have to do is keep pressing a button. No skill. Not even any danger. Enemies don't attack when you attack someone else. That's it. It's boring...

It's UN-ADDICTING!!!
It's not fun... at all.... There aren't even many enimies. I've played many a level when I never swung a sword... Pathetic... The puzzles are annoying and simple. Unlike any other Lego game which actually took three seconds of thought.

Push a box on a switch. Go ahead. Done level. Yippee.

This game also includes a boss-battle type of play where a cutscene comes up and you press certain buttons to win. Nothing hard. Nothing fun...
You don't even want to llok at these battles because the animations never change. It's always the same swing, the same dodge, the same moves. It's WAAAAYYYY too repitive.

It's REGRETFUL!!!!
Why did I get this game.... =(

It's HUMILAITING!!!!
The cutscenes are pointless. No funnies. It doesn't even represent the movies at all...

Don't get this game. Really...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LEGO: pirates (The Nightmare veiw)

posted by NightmareXIV (RIVERTON, UT) Sep 9, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Amazing I loved every second of it.

From building quick builds to fighting duels. I never get tired of this game. With the 3D you feel like you're the swasbuckling rouge pirates sailing the seas looking for treasure.

I play it almost every day.

It deserves a spot in everyone's GameQ.

"Order it now you won't regret it."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOVED IT!

posted by ijarritos1 (CUMMING, GA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I have played about 10 3DS games but this is probably the best one yet. This game is the only game I have rated a 10.

I had a sore throat, so I had to stay home for one day. I got this game yesterday, but I hadn't started it yet. I played from 7:00AM - 3:00PM straight. It was really fun! This is also my first Lego game I have played.

There are parts of the game where you have to replay levels to get 100% completion. I didn't complete that part, but if you like to replay games and have a long lasting game, or if you just want to play it once like me, this is the game for you.

- iJarritos

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

worst lego game ever

posted by jackjack1515 (CHAMPLIN, MN) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

this is so awful it made my eyeballs throw up! it was so bad that when I got it 5 minutes of play I put back in the mail!! dont get this

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than Lego Star WarsIII(3DS)

posted by frownyguy (DAMARISCOTTA, ME) Jun 11, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Lego games on hanheld are for passing time. But Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is more than that. Slightly.
It reminds me of Lego Indiana Jones for the original DS. Specific characters have specific powers, one boss must be hit with TNT, and finally, and funny cut scenes.
Sadly, it has sloppy interactions with tools, unfair character costs(do we really need 1,000,000 studs for Blackbeard?!?!), and confusing levels. But those are minor complaints, because you don't need Blackbeard, and there are only a few confusing parts.
Since it's the only Pirates of the Caribbean game to my knowlagde, any Pirates fan should buy this.
Oh, and the reason it's better than Lego Star Wars III is that it has sword fights, which could be more sword fighty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »