Rent LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean: The Video Game for PS3
view large frontback

LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean: The Video Game

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

1999 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean

posted by MrABwatch (CAMERON PARK, CA) May 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I never knew that the LEGO franchise would be sailing into the Pirates of the Caribbean world. The game has the similar elements of all the other LEGO games. This game however, has improved in terms of graphics and interaction. The characters have the same likeness as they do in the movies. Jack Sparrow moves like he is off balance at all times, like he is suppose to. This game makes the Pirates movies fun for all ages and I have enjoyed playing it! This is the best LEGO game to date!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun!

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Graphics are clean and crisp, but nothing to make you want to play this on a PS3 over a Wii. But, it's a Lego game: you're picking this up to have fun, not to worship the graphics.

Yes, the game is a little buggy, freezing up from time to time. It's nothing too major. Remember, this is a Lego game: you're picking this up to have fun, not complain about the occasional freeze up.

I don't remember 2 of the 4 movies, but that doesn't matter (but the lack of dialogue makes figuring out what's going on a little weird). You're picking this up to have fun, not save on the cost of some movie rentals.

This game truly pays great homage to the universe created by the game and the ride, reminding you that you picked this game up to have fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the Lego games

posted by benn13 (WENONAH, NJ) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had this game for almost a month because my kids and myself had a whole lot of fun playing it. This is a very fun game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Enjoyable

posted by Ericknopf (FAIR LAWN, NJ) Jun 4, 2011

Member since May 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Just the other Lego title, Pirates is highly enjoyable and has a high replay value. I really did not find anything wrong with this game and was actually surprised when it featured "On stranger tides" before the movie itself even came out. This game is most definitely fit for all ages. I look forward to the next Lego title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than past Lego games

posted by Gunther13 (CARTERVILLE, IL) May 10, 2011

Member since May 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

My daughter and I have had a blast playing this game. It has all the movies in it and seems to have better graphics than past Lego games. Captain Jack Sparrow even has his trademark walk when using his character. Great game and recommended to all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Outstanding Lego Title.

posted by PSGregg (NEWMANSTOWN, PA) May 26, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

First off if you love Lego games and Pirates of the Caribbean you're going to love this. The puzzle solving mixed with the humorous Lego presentation of the stories is an excellent combination. One way they made the interface better is by allowing you to hold triangle (PS3) to select your character, versus having to face the character you want and often shift to the wrong one, and in "Free Play" you can choose from every character you have collected, not just the few you start a level with. I play this with both my son and daughter, and we absolutely love it. It's fun for them to be their favorite characters, while I enjoy the challenge in the puzzle solving, to both complete the levels, and find the hidden mini-kits, and compass items. I own every Lego game produced to date, and can say that while each is unique in its own rite, this is the most amazing yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome.

posted by bigjerm666 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was looking into the trophies and was like man theres no way im going to get the platinum on this title. but after a while and finding some redhats i was there pretty quickly. and needless to say the game was very enjoyable. one of those games me and my ole lady actually played together (she played it more than me btw). Def pick this title up!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Entertaining

posted by SordidAffaire (SULPHUR SPRINGS, TX) Jul 28, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's good for a while. After collecting enough studs to buy all the red hats and extra characters, there are plenty of minikits and compass treasures to obtain in free play. It follows the movies pretty close, but since it's LEGOS it gives off more of a goofy vibe that makes for lighthearted play. The two player split-screen bothered me. It kept bouncing all over the place and I would not recommend it for someone who, like me, gets motion sickness. Or you could keep a bucket nearby. Aside from the screen looking drunken and wobbling between diagonal, vertical, horizontal, and everywhere in between, two player gave the advantage of having another non-AI player to help with puzzles. Overall, not for serious gamers, but a fun distraction.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome new Lego features

posted by unchartedfan720 (HELOTES, TX) Jun 7, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Wow this is the best Lego game yet with awesome new moves! Like the pole clime, grenades, and many more. LOOK AT THIS!!!!!WATCH ON STRANGER TIDES BEFORE PLAYING THE GAME IT SPOILS THE MOVIE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

same old same old...but still fun

posted by realdeal44 (CLEVELAND, OH) May 18, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Basically if you have ever played a Lego game, you know what to expect here. Same lego experience, only this time with a Pirates twist. It is very fun and if you like the lego games then get this game. But if you are sick of the lego games then you will tire of this game pretty quick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better graphics, same old gameplay

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) May 15, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

"LEGO Pirates of the Caribbean" is the best looking game in the series. The water effects are terrific, the environments well detailed, and the main characters move like their movie counterparts. Captain Jack Sparrow's characteristic stagger is especially well captured. But good looks aren't enough to carry a game. This latest LEGO game carries with it much of the same gameplay that's the trademark of the series- there's some platforming, simple combat, and puzzle solving to be found throughout the game's twenty stages (five stages apiece for each of the Pirates movies, including the new one "On Stranger Tides"). Those work as well as they did in the last LEGO game, and are adequate to get you through the levels and provide some fun in doing so. Sadly, the same old problems are present as well. The camera can be unhelpful at times, and it can be puzzling (No pun intended) to figure out how to proceed. False clues are sometimes present , and it can lead to unnecessary running in circles til you figure out what to do. The hub world seems a step back, especially after the awesome hub in LEGO SW: The Clone Wars. You can eventually open things up once you gain enough gold bricks, but it's still not very compelling. As always, there is plenty to collect, so you will get your money's worth, provided you don't get bored with things. The hallmark of the series, its quirky sense of humor, is happily here in spades, and the game makes great use of Hans Zimmer's great musical score from the movies. As always, co-op locally with a friend makes life easier. There is no online play, which may be a minus for some. If you enjoyed past LEGO titles, give this one at least a rent. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bugs kept it from getting a higher score

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Jul 18, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've played the Lego Starwars games before, and really enjoyed them. It's amazing to me how much life the game creators can breathe into what are, essentially, pieces of plastic, especially with no direct dialogue.

The issue I had with Pirates was a few design flaws and major glitches, at least with the copy I received.

The only real design flaw I found was switching between characters. That's actually quite a compliment, because this was a MINOR flaw that was more frustrating than anything else. Just easier to hold down the triangle than to try to quick-switch, because I never seemed to get the right character if I had a party of more than 2.

The MAJOR problem I had was the glitches/freezing in the 4th movie. I actually didn't even finish it because it kept freezing...every level had at least one freeze-up or some other glitch.

That said, it was an enjoyable experience...worth the rental, and who knows...maybe it was just my disk that was messed up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

LEGO PIRATES

posted by kramerjb13 (BOTHELL, WA) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall this game was fun to play. It plays pretty much like the other Lego games with lots of collectibles and characters. This game is an easy platinum trophy if you're willing to put in the hours (about 25 or so).

The one problem I had with the game is that it did glitch and freeze up a lot especially when I had multiple EXTRAS turned on. If it wasn't for the glitching I would have given this game an 8. I recommend this game but be careful how many extras you have turned on at once or you could be starting a lot of levels over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego Pirates rule !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by extremegamer891 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lego Pirates of the Caribbean is a great game! It didn't disappoint me one bit. It is like any other Lego game, yet it is extraordinarily better. I would recommend this game because it provides many hours of gameplay!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

same but new

posted by yankees1318 (ASHBURNHAM, MA) Jun 3, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

if you played any other lego games like lego star wars its the same but the new part new missions jack sparrow has his un balced walk

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lego Pirates of the Caribbean: the Video Game

posted by onmars (NASHVILLE, TN) May 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

it was a awesome game that i been play ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome game

posted by voporak5 (WONDER LAKE, IL) Jul 25, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is simply awesome! The only problem I had was because I was trying to get my platinum trophy but I had to go through EVERY SINGLE LEVEL OVER AGAIN and after getting to the second act of my second playthrough I said this is taking too long and kinda repetitive, not to mention I had to do some levels 3 times because I missed something even though I had all the item locator cheats activated but other than that, great game, they should make lego lord of the rings

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lego: Pirates - Most Likely Game to Freeze

posted by mikentrent (TACOMA, WA) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I gave this game a 2 out of 10.I have been playing this game off and on for days and although the game is great it has a lot of glitches. It freezes OFTEN in a level and all progress is lost once the game is turned off and back on. There is also this loop issue where the game is almost frozen but the next event will not occur and therefore does not trigger the next event to continue through the level. I love the Lego games but this is one is by far the most frustrating when it comes to gameplay issues and freezing. Avoid if you like to throw controllers. I am glad I did not buy the game. It is too frustrating to lose that much game time played and data lost. It is going back in the envelope and back to Gamefly. I will never play this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

HORRIBLE!!!

posted by bingudoo (SIOUX CITY, IA) May 24, 2011

Member since May 2011

3 out of 15 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

this game is horrible. its very very glitchy. freezes all the time. this game to me feels like ity was rushed and the makers did not put any planning into the game once it was finished. it needs patched badly. all out horrible game. i do not recommend this to buy nor rent unless you like crapping games that glitch in almost every level to where you have to restart and play the level again and hope it dont happen for a second time just to beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool game

posted by duk774 (EAGLE POINT, OR) Sep 18, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

I just finished mailing this one back. had a ball playing it! A lot of fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pirates of the caribbean

posted by smokes_72 (ONAMIA, MN) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

My kids and wife love this game they want to buy it, thanks for the fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Family Game!

posted by SimonFamily (TURNERS FALLS, MA) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Great family game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a another lego game !

posted by lilpaul (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

they have made lego star wars lego star wars 2 lego indana jones lego batman lego harry potter and now lego pirates of the carriben this game is fun because i love lego games and just like another lego games there funny i love pirates and lego there is a lot of exploring in the game the game is sometimes hard because they are some parts yo do not know what to do if you are a lego and pirates fan you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best lego game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by lifesava (GRANADA HILLS, CA) Jul 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

best lego game of all no other lego game like it. best characther blackbeard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

LPOC

posted by shockdr101 (ORLANDO, FL) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

the gameplay was the same as all lego games.
not bad, but first time renter and already experienced something
i did not want. game freeze, game freeze, game freeze.
hope gamefly games aren't all like that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »