Rent LEGO: Marvel Super Heroes for PS4
view large frontback

LEGO: Marvel Super Heroes

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.5

617 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

The Beginning of the Fall of Lego Games

posted by gman10111 (SUPERIOR, CO) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying I have no serious bias against Lego video games. They are the reason I got my first gaming console but this game is clear evidence that this franchise is in a serious downfall.

For example the voices in the game. I don't know about you but I loved the comedic grunts and squeaks of the old games. Though it was fun to hear some voices such as Clark Gregg (Phil Coulson) in the game. Over all the terrible voice acting seriously took away from the fun of the mindless violence and humor that is Lego games.

Eventually you can fight your way past the horrible voice acting to the actually game. Which once you got there it is one of the most fun experiences on the new consoles. The attacks were more dynamic. It now allowed for you to throw objects or blast your enemies with rockets and the open hub was just spectacular. They have made it so much better from all the old games. Though it did get tedious at times I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Over all if you are looking for some mindless fun and some cheese laughs get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks!

posted by Weeeeeeee (STOCKTON, CA) Mar 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

2D game, stupid camera position, auto focus target really bad, no online, can't skip cutscenes, hard control, my kids stuck at every bosses fight they get mad then have to go youtube.
Not for kids and not for adult, not recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by hulk504 (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Jul 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

It's a great game can't wait for part 2

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game and Co-op

posted by MugginMike (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Jan 2012

It has it's own unique story. Game-play is excellent and very entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Ok

posted by moose87 (PALMETTO, FL) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Just another one of your average Lego games. Time consuming and frustrating. Not a huge fan of comics or else this might have held a little more interest with me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very Entertaining

posted by Showta (HOODSPORT, WA) May 16, 2014

Member since Dec 2012

Very entertaining game, but there is no risk built into it.

So I will return it and move on

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lego size me

posted by texasvaquero (DALLAS, TX) May 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

This game is better suited for Lego fans or younger crowd. I was never a fan of this series. kids will probably like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by worstcaster (ROSCOE, NY) May 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Very fun. Getting to play with all the marvel characters can keep you entertained for hours. The story is decent and funny. I have a 6 year old and it is nice to have a game he can play too. He can spend hours stealing cars GTA style and crashing them, laughing the whole time. The only complaints I have is the flying controls could be much tighter. If you are playing two player and a cut scene is tripped by one player it was go full screen, even if the other play is in a race and the timer will keep counting down while you can't move. If you are flying and the other character goes through a door you will be in the same place you were when they went through to door but will suddenly be facing the same direction the other player is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

controls

posted by clapon (HOUSTON, TX) May 2, 2014

Member since May 2014

The controls are kind of a pain in the butt. I'm also one of those people that play with the Y axis on inverted. So I could have rated the game more if I wasn't constantly dying from a mistake I made due to me wanting to go one direction but I would go another.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by RebelTaz (SOUTH BEND, IN) May 1, 2014

Member since May 2009

Fun for everyone in family to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun family game.

posted by arebelongtous (CLAYTON, NJ) Apr 15, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

Played this game along with my kids who loved it. Great depth of character and decent enough story. Graphics aren't anything too memorable for next gen, but fun experience overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good but sub par for the series

posted by Supermane1985 (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 11, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Clearly a lot of love went into making the characters, each one is perfectly detailed and most even have unique movesets and multiple abilities, this aspect is definitely a step up from the other Lego games. However, the game itself just isn't nearly as well designed as the other entries in the series (particularly Lego Batman 2), level design can be frustratingly unclear at times and limits you to too few main characters, you can get characters stuck in places they weren't supposed to access, the world Hub is plain and can be annoying to navigate, and it can also be frustrating to try to figure out very basic features like unlocking/buying new characters or just trying to return to the helicarrier.

My biggest problem is that this entry is that it just isn't funny, all previous entries had a great sense of humor and often hilarious gags. Marvel Superheroes contains jokes in the very loosest sense of the word, throws a dozen at you per cutscene, and almost all of them fall extremely flat (ie Nick Fury talks, then bites from a hamburger, then mugs for the camera; where exactly is the joke there?).

Overall it's a game that is fun enough to play for the characters but doesn't live up to normal Lego game standards.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OK

posted by syracusenate22 (CENTREVILLE, VA) Apr 10, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

It was pretty cool I liked the open world but, it's kinda small.Overall it was a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing!

posted by kobemamba24 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 31, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Just when you thought you couldn't love LEGO enough...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Marvel Assemble

posted by leopeepoo (DOWNEY, CA) Mar 9, 2014

Member since Dec 2011

Lego games have been increasing in quality. I'm glad I rented this game. It is pretty fun, and if you like reading comics it ends up being even better. they added Easter eggs. Ex: superior spider-man #1 cover on a billboard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HULK SMASH

posted by BlackburnD81 (TIPP CITY, OH) Feb 27, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I have been playing video games for about 22 years now... My wife, not so much. She loves the Lego games, and we play them together. we both liked the Pirates of The Carribean Lego game, but were not pleased with the Harry Potter version. When I seen the Lego Marvel game I was leery at best. I read some reviews, and the wife was interested, so I took a chance. Let me say I am glad I did.

This game is fun. Whether you are completing the levels, playing the levels in free-mode, or playing around in the city there is fun to be had. Like any Lego game some of the characters are fairly pointless re-skins of other characters, but most are enjoyable in their own right. Some are downright annoying, and or pointless. I HATED the missions playing with Mr. Incredible, and why is Pepper Pots even in this game? At any rate tons of characters to choose from and unlock in various different ways. Another upside to this game is if my 6 year old daughter is bored, and so am I, I will turn this game on, hand her the second controller, and let her run crazy through the city while I go around working on the little city missions. She has fun just flying, or smashing, or shooting, or driving cars and causing chaos while I work to unlock characters and vehicles. Talk about a win - win.....

Bottom line is Lego Marvel restored my faith in the titles. The voice acting is lame, and slightly annoying, but a good, fun, family friendly game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly good!

posted by dredre200687 (BELLEVUE, NE) Feb 27, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Wasn't expecting much but it kept me entertained for days. A few bugs in the game leave you feeling slightly frustrated at times but overall very entertaining. If you're not into rinse and repeat games I would recommend staying away from this one. If you're a marvel fan then I think it is a must. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

My son loved it!

posted by Dawnmichelle021 (CINCINNATI, OH) Feb 24, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

My son is 4 years old and loved this game. It has a lot of interaction and a ton of characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Lego game I've Played

posted by simdeer (EAST ELLIJAY, GA) Feb 23, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

I really enjoyed playing this game! Loved flying around the city and doing the races!!! This is my first %100 platinum trophy for the PS4!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Alright

posted by gameflyjake (LOS ANGELES, CA) Feb 21, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

It's Lego.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game.

posted by Anathema706 (LEXINGTON, KY) Feb 20, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Really fun game. I played this on the 360 when it first came out. I got 100% on it then and decided to make this my first platinum on my PS4 as well. Knocked it out in four days. Definitely recommend this game for everyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I Love This Game!!!

posted by ViiperSnipez (POMPANO BEACH, FL) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Started to play on sunday and I gotta say,,,,, this game is awesome!!!! the gameplay is great and has a very interesting plot,,,,, I would totally recommend getting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Only one problem

posted by Crescenteye (WEST DES MOINES, IA) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

I'm loving the game so far, it's good for laughs and has an interesting plot. I love how the characters banter on missions even if some of them have very cheesy puns. (although i think they were intentionally cheesy)

The only problem I have had with it so far, is the terrible camera/split screen on multiple player! It can get kinda hard to see where you are going at times. That can (and did) lead to arguments with your partner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Marvel was a blast!!

posted by vampireslair (STATESVILLE, NC) Jan 25, 2014

Member since May 2011

This game is a blast for the hole family its alot of fun and alot to collect.Its so good im thinking about just keeping it lol a must have!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »