Rent LEGO Lord of the Rings for 3DS
view large frontback

LEGO Lord of the Rings

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, PS Vita, Wii, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.2

67 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

A thin version of its console counterpart.

posted by tenaciousTK (CHICO, CA) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

The 3DS version of this game is watered down. If you want to enjoy it at its full potential, get the PC or console version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a Pain

posted by mandamayhem (RICHARDSON, TX) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I love the Lego games, they're funny and great time wasters. This game was AWFUL!!! There is no central hub, and nothing to tell you where you may be missing a brick, a character or one of the special items. The delivery aspect was a nice addition, but it certainly doesn't make up for the issues from above or the glitching that always hits at the most awkward time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lord of the Glitch

posted by HLarge4 (WOONSOCKET, RI) Feb 15, 2013

Member since May 2010

A little history, I love lego games. Let's advance to ancient history. I've always loved legos. And just as i grew up playing with those colorful construction bricks and their eventually digital equivalents, so too did I grow up reading LotR and eventually the movies. So I'm the target market. And I wanted to love the game. Unfortunately, it failed to deliver on multiple levels.
Cut-scenes in lego games are supposed to be fun and wity, more satire than recreation. Yet I found L:LotR attempting to maintain the serious vibe of the movies rather than trusting in their own creative direction. The inclusion of (poor fidelity) audio clips of movie dialog take action away from the characters in leave the story to an unfortunate tell, not show format. The occasional pieces of humor are there, and each one's a diamond. Unfortunately it only serves as a reminder of just how many missed opportunists there were.
Gameplay was equally cumbersome. I felt I was controlling a foos-ball (spelling) character, spinning frantically in an attempt to achieve some form of hit direction. All too often my allies were the ones soaking up the damage.
Glitches abound. I've frozen, clipped through (middle)earth.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

alright

posted by immit (WILLINGBORO, NJ) Nov 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

the game is alright but after a while youll get tired of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »