Rent LEGO Lord of the Rings for Wii
view large frontback

LEGO Lord of the Rings

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, PS Vita, Xbox 360, 3DS, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.8

218 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best LEGO game ever!

posted by Coronach (CALLAWAY, VA) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is the ultimate LEGO experience. Combining the best aspects of the older LEGO games, with a list of all new great additions, this one is definitely king of the mountain.

Each character has his or her own use.
Samwise has a spade to dig or work with plants.
Legolas can double jump, and walk on snow.
Gimli can smash through cracked stone.

The addition of items is a HUGE thing for this series. Now you can collect some awesome equipment to really customize or play how you want. Need to climb a wall? Like the Weasley boots in the LEGO Harry Potter series, you can have the blacksmith forge you a pair of Mithril Climbing Boots to walk up the wall.

The cost of each item is actually the silver Mithril blocks you collect by finding them in the wild, or earning them in the story levels. Kind of like how the gold blocks from past games unlock movies and special content. Only a lot more fun.

And gone is the tiny hub world associated with most of the past LEGO games. Now your world is Middle-Earth itself. You are able to walk from Hobbiton to Bree and on to Rivendell.

Of course it would be more fun if there were random attacks by orcs or goblins, or anything. At least in the LEGO Pirates game you had enemies that came and attacked.

But being able to explore Middle-Earth is just amazing. And the stages are packed with lore from the movies. At times you have two characters in different scenes, and are able to switch between them.

The best, and first you will see, is when Gandalf is fighting Saruman at Isengard, in the same stage as Frodo and the hobbits are fleeing from the Nazgul.

This is definitely a 10. The only minor thing I've found wrong so far is with holding B to use a ranged, sometimes the crosshairs don't appear right off.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awe to the power of SOME

posted by legarcia2 (SAN JUAN, TX) Nov 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's the book/movies with a spoofy Lego twist to it!
It's my first Lego game and I am definitely trying the others. It is like playing with your Legos when you were a kid!

Controllers are simple and easy to understand.
It is a game you can just pick up and play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by biagionimario (WENTWORTH, MO) Dec 13, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

It was just amazing. fun, exciting, intriguing, funny. YOU HAVE TO TRY IT. IT'S FUN!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Overall, a really great LEGO game...

posted by MoonGoddess236 (DAYTONA BEACH, FL) Apr 16, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

I really enjoyed this game. The worlds had really excellent detail, the game play was fun and easy. My only complaint was that it seemed like the game could pretty much go on indefinitely as the directions when moving from quest to quest were kind of unclear (maybe it was just me, I don't know). Trying to find things you need to complete in game quests can be a little frustrating, but overall, I still really liked it and would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

ITS NOT HERE

posted by Nobs4Lyf (FARMINGTON, NM) Feb 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

HOW COME IT SAYS ITS HERE WHEN ITS NOT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Frustrating from the start... Bad AI

posted by booneroo (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Meh. Game opens with boss who's AI is predictable but difficult. Frustrating! Daughter (7), no slouch mind you, lost interest immediately.
Probably a great game for 13+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

LEGO: Lord of the Rings Review

posted by VampireJoe (PAW PAW, MI) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

So, anyway this game is actually good. I only had a glitch where I had to restart my Wii, but that wasn't a big deal. The graphics are fine, just like every wii game. The gameplay is good, less then a few glitches and is fun to play with someone with a friend or your brother. But, this game is actually good and is worth under 30 bucks. But, the thing is, that is has no multiplayer or anything else. Once your done, that's it. You can do side quests but that's really it. The controls are actually pretty good and the cutscenes and music are both really good. I say it's worth the buy, but be warned, it only has story in it. For under 30 bucks, I say go grab it. If you like LEGO's or like the video games of LEGO's go get it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Not Bad

posted by Valkyrion (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 22, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

The game actually was more fun than I originally thought. It gets a bit tedious at times, and sometimes there are weird moments where the AI gets important characters stuck in a spot, so you need to reset. Since I was a fan of the movies, I did really like the game, diehard fans of the books may not like it - or fans who find out some parts were cut - but still a game I would rent again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

buttsz

posted by butts (DAMASCUS, OR) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another Lego hit!

posted by jralpaca (GREENSBORO, NC) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Great Game, a little more complicated than the two Lego Batman games, but still... this is one of the best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

LEGO does it again

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

With the Hobbit movie out in theatres, this is a great time for a Lord of the Rings game to come out as well. So, we get the Lord of the Rings, LEGO edition (this review is for the Wii version)
If you’ve played any of the other LEGO games, then you know what you’re going to get: characters that have special abilities to get to certain areas, destroy certain types of LEGOs, or hit certain objects with projectiles.
Each level plays out mostly the same way. You get one character to use his or her ability to overcome and obstacle, which opens a path. Then you use another character (or your partner if you are playing this game two players) to overcome another obstacle to get closer to the end of the level.
Along the way, you beat up all sorts of bad guys – mostly orcs (yet these are some very nasty orcs on display here).
The process repeats itself until you do get to the end of the level. But the game makers put in some ingenious puzzles and fights in the game – and these are much easier then most other LEGO games.
But unlike most other LEGO games, the cutscenes are different. There’s a serous tone to what the characters are doing or saying. But if you look hard, you can see some silly sight gags that do a good job of lighting up the mood.
But some of the levels just use the same trick over and over again, which made for a less than thrilling experience.
And once the main story was over, there’s not much left to do except collect designs for mitheral items and mitheral ore, and have some blacksmith make amazing artifacts from the ore.
Still, this is a really fun LEGO game, one that is a definite rent, and fans of such games ought to just buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lord of the Rings

posted by lorrielou (STEVENS POINT, WI) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

Great game. Full of action, I think its the best Lego game so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Could've been better

posted by beachydude (NAPPANEE, IN) Dec 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

The gameplay was alright, but it's no different than any of the other lego games. The one huge flaw they did on this game was make the characters talk. It was always so much funnier in the other games to hear them murmuring or pointing, yelling, etc, cute funny stuff. This game lacks the funny cute stuff that the other lego games have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Game EVER!!!

posted by GameGuyGenius (KALAMAZOO, MI) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

This game is totally amazing, it has everything, everybody in the world should play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »