Rent LEGO Lord of the Rings for PS3
view large frontback

LEGO Lord of the Rings

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, DS, PS Vita, Xbox 360, 3DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.9

676 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST Lego game ever!

posted by LOTRandVidoGams (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 20, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first heard that lego lord of the rings was coming out into the market, I thaught that it was going to be just another lego game, which, I'm not a huge fan of, but it ended up being so much MORE! This game, has the magcal, epic feel of the lotr series, though not at all on the same scale as the movies. Here are some pros and cons on those who are pondering whiether or not to purchase this game.

Pros

Still keeps the lego feel to satisfy the past lego game fans.

sort of open world where you can fast travel to all your favorite places from the movies, as long as you've previously visitedthem.

The additional items you can buy with points you earn from the completion of a level.

The larger variety of charecters, skills, and items in which the other lego games did not posess.

Splitscreen follows your charecter, like in the lego harry potter games, but you have a little more control of the camara.

Side quests to keep you entertained.

Cons

Long 1-5min cutscenes (I miss the old wordless, somewhat childish lego cut scenes).

A few glitchs here and there, but nearly every game has some.

Like other lego games, not the longest lasting appeal.

I would give lego lotr a 9 out of 10 stars because lasting appeal is important to me and none of the lego games really fit my requirements in that catagory. The gameplay and adaptions to the old lego games definetly add to this game and makes it the best lego game I've ever played, and even to non lego fans, I would recomend trying out this game, and as a diehard lotr fan I was completely satisfied from what I got out of this experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

True to the Lego video game formula

posted by SethAtkins (DALLAS, TX) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The title says it all. If you aren't quite yet tired of the tried and true formula for Lego games, then definitely this will be one you want to get. But if you think they are getting a little stale, and you don't have particular affinity for Lord of the Rings, then you may find this to be more of the same. There are obviously some differences and some novel things added, but I could write pages on what is the same and writing what is different would take all of a few sentences. Of course, I will qualify this by saying, I don't count as "different" the coloring of red bricks silver (mithril bricks) and crafting them into mithril items that give character abilities that previous titles gave through the "red brick" vehicle.

I did like this game, but it wasn't really that fresh, to be completely honest. I found mithril brick gathering a little tedious. I found it extremely annoying that there were two types of things that were needed to open certain things. For example, the mithril fireworks wand only exploded some silver obstacles, leaving me wondering how to get past other of the same thing. It turns out there is one character you have to buy who can explode ALL silver objects. Grrrrr. That was very frustrating. Similarly for the boxing gloves. The mithril boxing gloves are good enough to open most orange pull handles (strong character doors), but not one in the overland map. You had to find a true strong character to open that one pull handle. Again, grrrrr.

I thought the overland map was neat and well done....however, it did make for a bunch of extra traveling to get to places and hunt mithril bricks. Other lego titles didn't have quite as much "traveling" in the overworld areas. Perhaps Clone Wars was a close second in this regard.

Overall well done, perhaps a bit buggy, but about what I expected.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome gamePLAY

posted by carlwain74 (BELLEVUE, WA) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Only completed the 1st part of the trilogy and the gameplay is really good. Finally get to see some actual spoken words rather than mutterings as experienced in the Batman and Harry Potter series.

Looking forward to the next parts...

Had a few game crashes (PS3) version where I got certain characters stuck in dark caves or behind rocks. In each case I had to abort the game play and revert to a saved position...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lego

posted by dznuts (MILLEDGEVILLE, GA) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed playing this game, there are alot of side missions that will keep you busy for hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by simdeer (EAST ELLIJAY, GA) Apr 12, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

I had no problems with this game with glitches or anything i was able to get %100 on Game and Trophies!! If you love the movies or books you will enjoy the game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

MUST HAVE FOR LORD OF THE RINGS FANS!

posted by SwaggasaurusRex (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Jan 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

10/10, by far the BEST game in the LEGO series. Unlike other games like LEGO Star Wars where you are confined to the cantina, this game is all OPEN WORLD. You can literally run from the Shire to Mount Doom with NO LOADING SCREENS in between. Because of this, you will be exploring for hours visiting your favorite sites, finding secrets, unlockables, AND characters that you can buy with studs. The levels are fun and all the dialogue is taken straight from the 3 movies. My only problems with this game is that there is no area like the cantina in LEGO Star Wars where you can see all your unlocked characters roaming around waiting for you to play them. I didn't like that only ONE!? area of Minas Tirith is open for exploration. The entire castle should have been open IMO. The game also has a few glitches that will sometimes force you to restart levels. Overall, this is a great game and I can't wait for the LEGO Hobbit!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Big LotR fan so a bit dissapointed.

posted by Nanalady (MIDDLE ISLAND, NY) Oct 1, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

As soon as I saw that the actual audio from the movie was being used I was hesitant. On the one hand actually hearing "Sam" when he hit orcs with a frying pan is awesome, but part of what makes Lego games good is without dialog there is much more room for the amazingly funny cut-scenes they're famous for. And while the areas looked amazing, I didn't do much exploring for the side missions cuz got tedious very quickly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kids loved it

posted by Nutt (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Jul 27, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Kids loved this one so much they had to kep it! Like many others this Lego game is great! A Must play for fans of the books/movies!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Major Issue

posted by Bryandillon3 (CHARLESTON, SC) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Overall, I had enjoyed the game. However there were a few objectives that were clearly poorly made and lead to great frustration. However the big one was one of the bricks is glitched to being useless. To find out 30 hrs. of my life have been wasted and that a game is unbeatable at 99.5 precent is a source of major dissapointment for me. This is going to taint my desire to get their games from here on out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid Game As usual

posted by DrKnow (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Mar 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2008

Typical Lego Game. Very solid, good fun if you are a fan of those other games. This one send you on quests to find blueprints and mitril to forge the special items you need in freeplay.

Not bad,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego Does it Again

posted by Lonewolf198505 (LOUISVILLE, KY) Feb 18, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Take anything epic make it into a video game and you have a hit. Take Legos and add them into the soup and it gets even better. No exception when it comes to this game just as it does any other. Its a good pick up if you liked any other Lego game in there franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but Glitched to the point of broken

posted by NotoriousN (SAINT ALBANS, WV) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Aug 2010

My wife and I enjoyed playing this game up until the last mithril block was glitched and would never allow us to collect it, and thus never get 100%. I wish Traveller's Tales would take a little more time on their games because they are fun and about the only co-op that doesn't involve the internet. Some seem to have been able to complete it, so it may have just been our disc. All in all, especially if you liked the other LEGO games, check this one out. I hope you have better luck than we did with your copy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lego Lord of The Rings .. 8

posted by MrBlonde29 (SPRING, TX) Feb 9, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This is the first Lego Game I ever played, and it was extremely enjoyable. The combat is not that great, nor is the platforming, but what makes the game so much fun, is the creative way Lego used it's licensing rights. It told the story of the entire Lord of The Ring saga, with it's own twists , using real clips from the movie(s). The game was fantastic and creative. I will definatly check out more games created by Lego !! .. and very kid friendly as well

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best legos game so far

posted by cno407 (ELIZABETH CITY, NC) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

hands down the best yet. scenes from the movies with voices. pretty time consuming getting the platinum trophy but the game is fresh and not too repeatative. the next legos title is marvel heroes i cant wait.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good game

posted by jadarickey (GROVE, OK) Nov 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This is a very good game,probably the best lego game yet with many different abillities and characters.If you liked all the other lego games you will love this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »