Rent LEGO Lord of the Rings for Xbox 360
view large frontback

LEGO Lord of the Rings

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, 3DS, Wii, PS3, DS

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.9

1223 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best LEGO Graphics Yet!

posted by johnzap (TAMPA, FL) Dec 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is only the 2nd LEGO game to feature voice overs. This has the actual soundtrack and dialog from the movie. I played the game with no sound and it was just like the days of the mumbled silent movie games of the series. Graphics are very detailed and some of the best yet in a LEGO game. Some glitches here and there. Some camera issues to solve some of the needed puzzles to complete the achievements. Not too many issues to finish the game. Huge overworld map! Really loved exploring Hobbiton and Bree for the first playthrough. Many hours of gameplay. You won't be disappointed if you're a LOTR fan. Tons of hidden secrets, so try using all the items you find on your active characters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Yet!!

posted by MacL3od77 (CREAM RIDGE, NJ) Nov 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is, by far, the best Lego game that has ever been made. I have played almost everyone of them and this the biggest and most fun. Has an RPG feel to it and Middle Earth is at your fingertips.

Must play if you are a Lego game fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too many Glitches/Bugs/problems

posted by Raydri (OOLTEWAH, TN) Dec 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Lego Lord of The Rings has great potential for a game other than frustrating controls and game breaking glitches. during play through certain objects may not work as intended, characters may get stuck in a loop action and unable to escape, bosses or enemies wont trigger proper cut scenes on death , during split screen there are certain missions where it is context sensitive for example during the mission where Gandalf Fights Sauroman in split screen the second player will be at the point after that fight and if player 2 does anything between smashing blocks to even moving forward will crash the game.
the controls are a bit frustrating where as doing certain actions will cause your character to unequip their weapon and to reequip it you have to hold the b button to bring up the item wheel and change to your weapon. not exactly a good thing when you are in the middle of a bunch of enemies.
i give this game a 5 out of 10 because the potential for the game is there however the controls and bugs make this game mediocre at best.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, worth renting!

posted by Watzitooya (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 14, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now when it comes to reviews, I like to make sure I bring in both the Pro and the Con. The list will tell you what I believe. (This is my first review on Game fly.)

Pros: 1. Graphics are Beautiful
2. Comedy is everywhere and you will laugh like crazy at times.
3. The scenery when you travel around the world of Middle earth will be mouth dropping.
4. You will always wanna go back to missions for unlocking the secrets against the fun Mini-games.
5. Epic battles while on the adventures of Middle Earth.

Cons: 1. Some missions need just a tad more fighting, including more enemies to fight.

Overall, This game is great for the kids, and people who love the franchise of Lord of the Rings. The great sound from the movie makes this game more powerful. Make sure to rent, before you buy! Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Shortest Battle Ever

posted by WadeWatts5 (WADESBORO, NC) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As stated in some of my other reviews, I love the Lego games (except Indiana Jones) and Lord of the Rings seemed like it would be a perfect addition to their family of games. I was so excited to get this in the mail, that I almost called in to work so I could stay home and play it.
Once again, Lego uses voice acting for their characters, and I have to say, I honestly like it. It makes me wish that they would update the Star Wars games with it as well. Also, the expansive open world is back, and it looks amazing. Also added to the fold are side quests! On the main level map, you will find citizens of middle earth in need of errands run, including some orcs. A real positive in my opinion!
The old tricks are back in the routine Lego formula, not that this is bad. The characters are also so much fun to play as, even Frodo and Sam. Gandalf's magic plays a huge role in accessing side areas, Legolas' ability with his bow and arrows help reach new heights, Gimli's axe helps open new pathways, and Aragorn's ranger abilities help track the others in the fellowship.
My only complaint was a big one. One that, on several occasions, kept me from playing the game. I was just starting the second movie story, when it started to freeze. I restarted my system and started back at my save, and it froze again. It would do this on several occasions. One night, i played it for three house, and it froze six times in those hours.
Unfortunately, it did not get better over the next few days, so I sent it back. I did not get to finish that game, and that was the only thing keeping me from doing so. That's really the only reason I rated it as low as I did. It's an amazing game from what I could play, unfortunately, that wasn't a whole lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Lego Game

posted by SnazzyJamm (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Got to be the best Lego game i have played out of all of them.... its probably because i am a huge Lord Of the Rings fan but still....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great LEGO Game!

posted by jackjackisback (LISLE, IL) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I loved this. It was the best!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

glitches and bugs

posted by Soul8Death (FOND DU LAC, WI) Jun 20, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

i would of gave it a 10 but way 2 many bugs and glitches in the game. when u go 2 grab a vine the player goes threw it instead of grabbing on or when u have 2 fight golom h e does not go off. but luv the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome game

posted by killbumper (KILLINGTON, VT) Jun 18, 2013

Member since May 2013

amazing game couldn't be better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Family Fun in a superb package

posted by Memphisking009 (BILOXI, MS) May 20, 2013

Member since May 2013

I wasn't expecting much from this to be honest. It was the first lego game I had ever rented. Me and my little nephew (age 7) are big into LOTR and I had hoped that we could spend time together enjoying this. Man, was it better then I expected! The little man had so much fun playing this, and I was happy to report to my sister that there wasn't anything inappropriate on it. I bought him an Xbox a few months ago, and I plan on buying him this game, and maybe more Lego ones if he has interest in them.

The voice acting and music is straight from the movie and sounds fantastic.

The amount of humor really had the kid laughing the whole time too, and it was a clean kind of humor.

A great family game for all ages. LOTR fans will be pleased. The amount of detail is incredible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game

posted by FlatFacts (LONGMONT, CO) May 4, 2013

Member since May 2013

It's a good game but it's not like the other Lego games. For example in Lego Lord of the Rings there was more effort put into having details matching the story line of the movie. That added more to the story but eliminated the humor that the other Lego games had. I found the lack of vocal in the other Lego games rather humorous but that's just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

meh

posted by rogbalki (DUMFRIES, VA) Apr 23, 2013

Member since Mar 2010

It was kinda funny, but fairly boring. If you're a lego game fan then it is a decent game. if you're looking for a good LOTR games, it is boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Booooring...

posted by fry_bread_eater (HINCKLEY, MN) Apr 22, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

This game's story is too slow. My 6 year old couldn't stay entertained... Great movies, but not a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

this game is greatladjsfiluyadsk;'.

posted by NerdPerson14 (SALEM, OR) Apr 12, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

The best Lego game I've ever played ever.
For all time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

WOW- Non shall pass! - (up on playing this game)

posted by MightyGStar (EDMOND, OK) Mar 30, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

Best LEGO game yet, great game play. My 8 yr old and my self love playing this.. We actually wish we had more time during our gaming hour to play. This game is LONG!! lots to do, must be a thinker.. I recommend this game to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Great, But.........

posted by wulfgar01 (TACOMA, WA) Mar 17, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

This game, like most lego games is quite entertaining. Throw in sound bytes from the movies and you have lego gold......however, the lack of online multiplayer in this gaming environment is a huge let down. Lego Star Wars, and Indiana Jones were great games that both had online multiplayer. No wonder sales for lego games have dropped steadily over the years. It would be more fun and have even more replay value with online co-op.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ALOT OF GLITCHES

posted by SMOKEYDIESEL (JEMISON, AL) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

as my girlfriend was playing this game kept getting stuck the more she played and then finally it just froze and she had was only 60% done and she had o send it back. there was just to many issues with it as she was playing, just wanted to let you guys and gals know.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A REALLY FUN EXPERIENCE

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

This is only the third Lego's game I have played that was based off of a license, and it did not disappoint, and is easily the best Legos video game experience.

I bought this game largely due to my fandom of Lord of The Rings, and it's worth nothing that Traveller's Tales did a great job of staying true to the movies while also provide their own comic relief that can even be enjoyed by toddler gamers. Ironically, this could be the best experience yet of the LotR License. The gameplay is easy to understand, the backdrops for the environments are well done, and the mechanics fit the world of Legos. The only negatives were some of the glitches from player movements, but these can quickly remedy themselves since the computer automatically forces your player from unattainable heights; the other negative for people who have played every Lego's video game may be getting tired of another installment.

Overall, this game is really fun and can be enjoyed on single and co-op modes, but it's best to play with a partner to enjoy a heightened experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LEGO: lord of the ring

posted by NTr0 (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Feb 20, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

the best looking LEGO game iv'e ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Keep

posted by seanmoore (LAND O LAKES, FL) Feb 20, 2013

Member since May 2011

I Still Keep This Game It Means Removed On The List Okay That Game Also Batman Arkham A Okay Also City

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lego Lord of the Rings

posted by Nillers (HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO) Feb 19, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

I really like this game for many reasons. The open world Middle Earth layout is very well done and putting the whole trilogy in one game was a must. Even though it follows the standard Lego game formula, the diversity of the characters keeps things interesting. I would have easily given this game an 8, however, Once I got to 99% completion I ran into the "99% glitch" where even though you have collected everything it won't register in the game so you can't get 100% or the achievements that coincide. I combed the internet looking for word on a patch, but it looks like that's not a big priority for Traveller's Tales. Very disappointing! If you don't care about the 100% and you're a fan of both genres, I very much recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid Game, but Not For Me

posted by SlayerOZombies (ENTERPRISE, OR) Feb 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

This game was a lot of fun, but I wasn't able to finish it. For some reason, this game gave me a splitting headache every 10 minutes or so. However, if that doesn't happen to you and you like Lego games, this game is great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Another good LEGO game from TT Games.

posted by BrianBeswick (WEST LAFAYETTE, IN) Jan 27, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Another great game for those who enjoy the Exploration genre and/or the Lord of the Rings. The game does a great job of taking you through the world of Middle Earth as seen through the Lord of the Rings trilogy. A great soundtrack and this one takes clips of dialog from the movies. Though personally I prefer the humorous mime acting from previousl LEGO games. Definitely good work from TT Games. A few bugs, but nothing that can't be easily worked around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun game

posted by CBT (NAPLES, FL) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

This is my first Lego game, and it is fun. Plain and simple as that. I love the game and it's done really well with the story and game play. The characters are fun and entertaining, but it seems like alot of the characters are unnecessary. The only fault I find with the game is the camera angle, when making those jumps for the blocks or anything I always get thrown off from the angle of the camera. That is about the most frustrating part of it all. I think they did a good job on the game whether your a kid or an adult the game is fun. I hope they do more lego games because I am looking forward to more of these games and better camera. I never thought I would be addicted to a lego game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best of the franchise IMO

posted by SaintInsaneMe (KALISPELL, MT) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

Great game. Couple of glitchy spots if you are an achievment farmer but other then that it's a great game...a cross between WoW and Lego Star Wars Saga with incredible graphics and the comedic cut scenes that Lego game fans have come to love. Down side...magic usage is difficult and at times frustrating and there are a few Mithril Bricks that are stupidly hard to get.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse