Rent LEGO Indiana Jones for PS3
view large frontback

LEGO Indiana Jones

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.3

2353 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Epitomizes everything I hate about the genre

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Jun 8, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I have never been one for the "platform/jumper" type games and this game contains everything that makes me dislike them. Inaccurate aiming systems, horrible third person perspective because of which you end up walking off of ledges unintentionally and which also makes some jumps difficult to do. Even more frustrating though is when the game resets you right back to where to walked off the ledge so some times it take a couple more tries to get away from it since whenever you move you end up falling off again. With all that said though I completely enjoy the game which is why I gave it the high rating despite the problems I have with it. It contains a good mix of humor, self-parody and irreverency (in the cut-scenes as well as the game itself) that makes it fun to play even if I am dying at every turn.

If you played the Lego Star Wars game it has pretty much the same controls and overall functioning (regarding collecting pieces, building objects and generally running through the movie storylines). Even if you haven't played the SW version though the controls are easy enough that anyone should be able to be up and running in a few minutes (now how they do with the problems endemic to this genre of games is another story ;) ). There was only one problem with the controls that I found, and that's the button to build is also the whip attack button, so things would often take longer to build than they should because you kept trying to attack the pieces instead of building. Regarding the visuals and audio, I suspect they are not really pushing the limits of the system, but they are step up from the SW game, especially the backgrounds and the cut scenes.

Bottom line is even if you don't usually like this type of game it's worth a rental for the camp value alone, especially if you like the original source material. With a Batman one on the way it's going to be interesting to see how many more of these they do... personally I'd love to see The Matrix.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by QuiGonLube (LAMBERTVILLE, NJ) Jun 3, 2008

Member since May 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you were a fan of the lego star wars games you'll love the Indy game. The controls are very similar so the learning curve is very shallow. There's a lot of Indy specific action like swinging from vines dodging poison darts etc. If reminded me of Activision's Pitfall from the 80's on steroids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cheesy game play but hours of fun

posted by mrtnztrio (MIDLAND, TX) Jun 18, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Besides the graphics being all blocky, hence it is a lego game, it is a wonderful game that our whole family enjoyed playing. It was interesting to play through three different movies on one game. My favorite part was you could go back with other players in the free play and do even more stuff!!! I would recommend this game to anyone who has small children, or who loves to go explore the surroundings in a game. LOVE THIS GAME!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Indy: Block by Block.

posted by aenderw (GREENSBORO, NC) Jun 11, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The LEGO series has always been about one thing: good wholesome fun. The games present a great way to introduce a younger audience to the films we love. Oh, and it's a great way to relive your own youth! If you mix LEGOs with any of my favorite films, chances are, I'll like it. Enter Indiana Jones...

The concept is the same as previous efforts and includes tasks that center around collecting small LEGO bolts used to purchase extra characters, gear, and cheats. While exploring the setting of each classic Jones film, you'll find treasure, defeat the bad guys, reclaim the grail, and as always, save the girl. LEGO Indiana Jones is a fun game by itself, but if you want the most enjoyment out of the game, by all means play cooperatively.

Indy journeys through each of the classic films (Raiders, Temple, and Crusade), dedicating six levels to each. The cut scenes are humorous and enjoyable as always, making it even more fun for those familiar with the films.

The game is a bit frustrating at times simply due to camera angles and death induced by poor respawn points. As mentioned, these problems are generally easier to deal with when playing with a friend or child.

My main qualm with any of the LEGO games are the lack of replay value. Once you journey through the levels once, you probably won't feel the need to go back and find the missing treasure. While I wouldn't recommend this game to everyone, it is worth a rent for Indy film buffs or anyone looking for a quick platforming adventure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Okay Game but could have been better

posted by musicmandj (PLAINFIELD, CT) Jun 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is pretty fun but the missions are too hard. The graphics are stunning but the missions are just too hard. I mean I like hard missions but not this hard. This game doesn't follow the storyline in my opinion. This game is okay, but it's not great

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Great Game,Bad Programming

posted by mrjason (SANTA BARBARA, CA) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was a very fun game to play especially with younger members of the family. It was great until the game froze, which I came to find out is common with this game. I tried another copy of the game but it had the same problem too. This is unacceptable for a game that costs $60 (I'm glad I didn't buy it!), and reflects badly on the company that made it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the LEGOS!

posted by CMB2K1 (Everett, PA) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start by saying this, WOW. I was incredibly wowed with this game, yes I know its just the lego version of Indiana Jones but from the moment you hear the "Raiders March" to seeing the lego version of the big rolling rock you know your in for a treat. I thorougly enjoyed the Lego Star Wars games and I am looking forward to Lego Batman, But With Indy, I didnt know how they were going to do three of my favorite movies justice. Well they did! I like how much they stuck to the story and made the stages (6 each per movie/story) by using the most iconic parts of the trilogy. The game is very simple to play and fun for almost anyone that isnt a pessimistic person. I am 25 and I had a blast whipping lego nazis whom were not nazis but whos complaining. The game on PS3 looks great in a dazzling 1080p very very pretty and very engaging, there is enough puzzles and such to go around for any casual gamer. Another home run from Travelers Tales and Lucasfilm, cannot wait for Lego Batman.

Definate must play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Indiana Jones ROCKS! 9/10

posted by thtkid (LANCASTER, CA) Jun 4, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has it all. Great graphics and shiny touches to the legos. Each Character has different fighting styles and each helps you. Some of the stuff they put in there is great just like how Indiana is scared of snakes so in the game if he gets close to a snake he shakes in his boots. Its funny. This game takes you through all 3 of the classic Indiana Jones adventures with little puzzles along the way. If your a RPG lover or just love legos you should buy it or rent it.
Or even If you dont like legos or RPGs still rent or buy it.

It has a couple minor glitches.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by yodajoshey (VENETA, OR) Jun 7, 2008

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

lego indiana jones is the best game ever i mean the title is even exciting plus the game play is fun,the fighting is awesome and theres also a wide veriate of viecles the controls could be better though so its a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Lego Indiana Jones....

posted by imex99 (JOHNSTOWN, OH) Jun 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game, just not my style. Very nice concept but shipped back to gamefly within an hour.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LEGO Indiana Jones: The Great Game

posted by Wyatt333 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Jun 2, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 22 gamers (9%) found this review helpful

I have not tried the game yet, but if you like the movies, I bet you'll love the game. Just because Indy's in LEGO form, doesn't mean he can't star in a new game, right? If any of you think, "What is he, 12!?". Well, yes. Yes I am. Have fun with the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I liked it.

posted by urmom92 (RAGLEY, LA) Sep 5, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

It wasn't the best game, but it was still fun. Get it if you liked the movies!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Unexciting

posted by foxbat (VAN NUYS, CA) Jul 14, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

As a fan of the Indiana Jones movies I had high hopes for this game, unfortunately it wasn't to my liking. This was also my first experience with a Lego game and I feel that after this game I probably won't be interested in further Lego games. My issues were primarily with the gameplay itself. A number of traits to the game I found tedious when playing...
- Jumping is inaccurate. Indy especially tends to roll after he jumps so you would land on the spot you wanted only to roll right off. Occasionally the computer will also respawn you falling off the edge again just to die.
- The targeting system was also inaccurate, which made several of the boss battles dull as I'd try to hit the boss or whatever was the target, only to have the target move at the last moment and then I'd miss.
- Sometimes you had to build things in the game, which basically amounts to hitting one button over and over. If you happened to make the mistake of picking Willie to do this, it's the same button that makes her scream. As this was inaccurate too you had to listen to her yell as you tried to build whatever it was. Plus, is there any real thrill in hitting the same button over and over to build something? Wouldn't one push of the button do?
- The puzzles are basically same thing different stage. It gets really repetitive.
- To complete the game you have to play each level twice at least, just with different characters. Some treasures are unobtainable in story mode. The levels weren't that exciting that I wanted to play them multiple times.

Additionally, if you aren't a completist, it's a short game. You can probably finish story mode in 8 hours. And really it wouldn't take much longer to finish if you were.

Probably the strongest aspect was the humor of the cut scenes. Even those didn't amuse me that much.

I will note that I didn't play the game with anyone. The game with a second player may be a better experience. But for a single player it's at best a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Just not my thing. Maybe for the kiddies.

posted by graymachn (CULVER CITY, CA) Dec 29, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

I like the idea of creative, non-violent games. LBP is probably my fave of ll time. However, these Lego games just don't do it for me. I'd show this to my son when he's a little older, and probably enjoy watching him figure things out. But, for an adult, I find it a bit boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

I got DEAD! (again)

posted by clintonk (SAN MARCOS, CA) Oct 9, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

There should be a trophy for amount of times you get killed in this game you would have triple platinum in the first level. The graphics are great but the gameplay is on the slow side and really aimed for the kids. Kids that like to die alot. (oh that sounds wrong)...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same formula, different main characters

posted by drawers (ROME, NY) Mar 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

By now, everyone should know that all of the LEGO games are cut from the same mold. You get to play through some of your favorite movie scenes that have a LEGO twist on them that adds a little humor, probably because they didn't do voice-overs and needed to make the scenes more entertaining.

This is a good family game because either player can drop in/out at any time and there's no real penalty for dying. There's a bit of co-op action with stuff like doors that have to opened by switches hit simultaneously and if you don't have a real partner, the computer AI is wise enough to help you out with these situations.

For a challenging title with in-depth character customization and development, look somewhere else.

This game is EASY and simply meant to poke a little fun at the Indiana Jones franchise and provide a little entertainment value in the process.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but not fantastic

posted by jjerik1202 (LEWISBURG, TN) Feb 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

this game was really quite fun, good controls, stuck very well with the indiana jones story with all the lego silliness you would expect. however i still like lego star wars the complete saga a whole lot more. this game had what i thought to be unusually long load times and the time spent in between missions was not as fun as the star wars version and like i said seemed to take longer to get back and forth

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lego Indy

posted by fan1970 (ALBERT CITY, IA) Feb 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

This game is a good game even though its not as good as lego star wars or batman. It is a fairly easy game with enough complications to let the adult enjoy it as much as kids. The only problem is that it is a very quick game, but still an excellent game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring

posted by dbp2005 (GREENACRES, FL) Jan 13, 2009

Member since Sep 2008

I was interested in this game until I started playing it. I had never played any of the Lego games before so I didn't know what it would be like. I was so bored after about 15 minutes I played the other game I had rented. For some reason I kept coming back to this game to see if it would get better but it was just as boring no matter how far I got in the game. I guess I'm just not into kid's game anymore or something. I saw someone say that the missions were hard, which I thought was true because sometimes I'd get stuck and spend a little while trying to figure out what I missed. Idk, I didn't even bother finishing the game, I only finished the first of the 3 stories. I'm so glad I only rented this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

suspenseful, exciting, action packed, and funny.

posted by pann311 (NORTH HIGHLANDS, CA) Jan 12, 2009

Member since May 2008

My 5 year old son, and I played for hours, my son was able to navigate and use most all features.The game was suspenseful, exciting, action packed, and funny all at the same time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LEGO INDIANA JONES THE ORIGINAL ADVENTURES

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Dec 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

I had played and beat the game LEGO INDIANA JONES THE ORIGINAL ADVENTURES. POSITIVE: This game is really ADVENTURES. The graphics are alright. You could play characters such as INDIANA JONES, MARION, SOLDIERS, BAD GUYS AND CROOKS, and more. You can design your own characters. I dont have anything negative to say about this game. This game is COOL!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good kid game

posted by rstilwel (PORT RICHEY, FL) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This was my first Lego game and I have to say that it was a nice little game to play. However sometimes the characters do not do what you want, or you think that you are suppose to do something but you are not and it will frustrate you. But other than the slow AI at times the game was very fun to play and funny to watch especially the cut scenes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Lots of fun!

posted by stashnet (ALTOONA, WI) Dec 8, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

This game was a blast - even my kids liked it. Lots and lots to do, very high replay-ability to the game, there's 3 aspects of every level to complete so you won't get bored and you'll stay challenged. Was a lot of fun and I kept it far longer than I intended!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same old good stuff

posted by BillSmurf (CASPER, WY) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

Lego Indiana Jones is a pretty fun game. The game play is excellent, and the drop in drop out co-op works well. Also, the controls are very simple, and great for younger gamers. Many unlockables and different characters can be found throughout the game. There are a few bad things though. This game is like Lego Star Wars, with Indiana Jones themes. The game is good, but it is a lot like it's predecessors. However, this small gripe should not make you not buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Nostalgia At Its Best

posted by F0ldsAtHom (SANTA MARIA, CA) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

Graphics: Good (720p)
Control: Fair
Fun Factor: Excellent
If you like the movies you will like this game. The tongue in cheek humor is well applied and the three story arcs tell a fun and familiar tale.

I usually put a lot of stipulation in the game control and the control scheme is good. The camera control needs improvement. You will find yourself staying up late playing this game. This game taps two genres. If your kids aren't familiar with Indy they can still take an interest in Legos.
This game would have been a 10 if the camera was floated better when the subject is near a collision and the there are a couple of bugs that may or may not require you to replay a level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse