Rent LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues for PS3
view large frontback

LEGO Indiana Jones 2: The Adventure Continues

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.1

1226 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same Game, Different Dress

posted by baldassbat (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jan 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you've played any of the LEGO adventure games you know what to expect here. Especially if you played the 1st Indy game.

The biggest difference from the 1st Indy is the addition of Crystal Skull. Each movie has its own hub world, but CS has 3 of them, making it 1/2 of the game. Each hub world is lively and contains its own puzzles rather than a central hub like SW, Batman and the 1st Indy. Besides adding CS, the story missions for the other movies are different than the last game.

Replays of story missions are not free play w/ every character anymore. Instead, it's treasure mode where you have to use 2 characters w/ specific abilities (i.e., one sword and one girl). After beating story and treasure you can replay both in time trial mode. There are now 6 Bonus LEGO town levels but they are easier, having more than exactly 1mil. studs in them. Also a level creator is added. Not perfect, but a good start.

Also added are vehicle and plane races in the hub worlds. These are frustrating but fun. Plenty of puzzles and races were enjoyable for me (29,M) but some were just difficult or confusing. Maybe it would have been easier to a child's brain?

If you hated the earlier LEGO games you'll hate this one. No surprise. If you've gotten bored w/ LEGO games because they aren't progressing, this may be the refresh you need. It's not a hugely different, but just enough to keep it interesting. For me, the titles are getting stale, but this one shows they still have potential.

Biggest gripe was w/ trophies. W/ a little help from online guides I scored platinum in about a week, but I would have been lost on my own. To earn all the trophies requires a lot of repetition - and worse, load screens. At least 2 trophies have a very annoying glitch but you can work around it w/ guidance. A 3rd is probably programmed right but feels like a glitch since it only works at certain times.

Overall it's better than the 1st Indy & Batman, but missing the magic of LEGO Star Wars.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

typically entertaining Lego game, yet with flaws

posted by wayfarer (BOISE, ID) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have played most of the Lego games, so when Lego Indiana Jones 2 came out, I was excited. Imagined my surprise that the game disappointed me somewhat.

pros-
Indiana 2 did not have the same gameplay as Indiana 1. Game also included the Crystal Skull storyline, which was new.

Mini-world for each chapter instead of a centralized setting.

A chapter to play around and build your own landscapes.

Artifact hunting and races instead of freeplay.

Find/break specific objects to get the ability to buy a certain cheat (aka fast build, fast fix, etc) from each mini-world.

cons-
To play a artifact story, you need to specifically select the two characters you want to use. To select the characters needed, you need to go hunt them down. Only the basic storyline characters (not bought ones) will appear regardless of where you are in the mini-world.

Each chapter required you to buy a specific character so you can complete the artifact story. So, if you bought a bazooka character for the Temple of Doom world, then you need to buy one for Raiders, etc. It's fortunate that gameplay gives you lots of studs.

Not all storyline playthru give you enough studs to complete the True Adventurer tag. I hunted down all of the breakable plants/boxes/etc, yet still could not get enough to meet the minimum amount.

After playing a certain story to release a character, you need to buy the character, otherwise that character will continue to attack your character until your character leave that setting in the mini-world.

The most annoying of all was switching from character to another. I was facing Marion, yet instead of selecting her, it selected another character instead. It happened every time. That was very annoying.

Regardless of the pros and cons, Lego Indiana Jones 2 is a good game like the ones prior. When Lego Harry Potter comes out, I plan on getting it too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LEGO CORP. DOES IT AGAIN!

posted by generalhbk (EVANS, CO) Dec 6, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Great game! another great lego game. But the new Create A Level feature really is awesome. But always try and collect as many studs as you can thats the key. And the new vehicals are another cool feature. It is one of the top 3 lego games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it ok

posted by mp1968 (ESCONDIDO, CA) May 29, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

iit it harder then first one and it isok game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Games were glichy

posted by Elstonedo (CALDWELL, ID) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

The game itself is a good game but it is way too glichy. I have noticed that all the lego games are starting to be so glichy you cannot play them. I had lego harry potter years 1-4 and it gliched on me in the chamber of secrets and I sent the game back because it would not unglich and I am not starting the game over when I am almost half way done with it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lego games rule, but not this one.

posted by extremegamer891 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Jun 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

Lego games are always awsome, but I didn't think this one was that great. The creators went in the wrong direction with being able to design levels and the Hub areas took a big step down. In my view, it is the worst Lego game so far, compared with the other Lego games I've played in the past.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

dull and boring

posted by darkangel2 (SPRING HILL, FL) May 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

worst lego game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Indy Jobes adventure Continues

posted by kingnv420 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Big sports game player. needed a game to enjoy with the wife co-play and was having trouble with the PS3 and the co-play games offered found the Legos series, and no complaints good fun to have with ur significant other. 2 thumbs from my brood

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

non-stop

posted by MichaelMMX (SPOKANE, WA) Oct 26, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

okay so i have writing a reveiw for harry potter years 1-4 and this game........

GOES BEYOND FUN!!!!

the possibilties of making your own level! its so awesome!!

the games i play range to all but 1 thats sports how much i hate sports it brings up a story..that is to long to put in this so ill leave you with this....
IF YOU LOVE EXTREME FUN AND LEGO COMEDY THEN PLAY THIS GAMEE!!!
SPUTNIK!!!!! I TELL YOU!!that never gets old...
i actualy recorded the opening on my laptop...thats how funny this game is....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun Until the End

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) May 13, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

I'm a fan of the Lego video game series, what with the goofy cut-scenes and the puzzle-solving. And the first three chapters of this game are no exception: Raiders of the Lost Ark, Temple of Doom, and Last Crusade are all fun homages to their respective movies. Where it goes downhill is Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. The level designers seem to have just taken a vacation when this part was being developed, as there is virtually no thought put into it. In the vehicle levels, not only can you not see where you're going or where your enemy is, you can't even see your own character. And the terrain all looks the same, whether it's open road, road you can access with the right vehicle, impassable terrain that makes you do a u-turn (a near impossibility in this chapter for some reason), or terrain that causes instant death (which looks exactly like regular, open road). It's a shame, because with just the slightest bit of effort, this could've been another great addition to the Lego lineup.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

In one word: Frustrating

posted by hiryu3 (RICHMOND, VA) May 12, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

Broken glitchy ai and game. Seems like it was barely quality tested. Trophies do not unlock until you got round about ways to trick the system into giving you what you earned. Play with someone because the ai controlled people cause you more issues than the enemies you are suppose to fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pleasantly Surprised

posted by Freakbear (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I am a big fan of all of the LEGO adventure games, and had completed the first Lego Indy, so when they came out with the Indy 2, I looked forward to the new gameplay, but was skeptical of buying it for just one new level. I had heard that they had made some changes to the old levels for the new version, but that is what they did for the Star Wars ultimate pack too, and it was just a few little bits and bobs. Well, they went all out on Indy 2. the entire gameplay of each level is different. It is a totally new game.

One thing about the new game that I have mixed emotions about is the 'common' area of each of the individual movies. where before you would go up to a map and look at where you could go with the corresponding elements that were still outstanding or completed, here there is just almost another independent level where you obtain the additional characters and go on bonus missions, but to find out if you have made True Adventurer, or gotten the treasure chest, you have to go all the way back to 'The Warehouse.' So if you are just trying to check what you have done or still need to do, you have to endure the cut screen/loading time each time you go back and forth.

All in all, a minor annoyance to a really fun game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Lego Game So Far?

posted by ShefZ28 (LOMBARD, IL) Mar 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I enjoyed this game more than I thought I would. If you're familiar with any of the past Lego games you'll have no problem picking this up. The game covers all 4 movies with different 'scenes' for the first 3 (broken into 1 hub each) and the 4th movie is broken into 3 hubs total.

Each hub has 10 red, green and blue bricks to discover and unlock, plus a handful of new characters and vehicles. The vehicles can be used in vehicle specific races.

Overall the level designs were fun, there are 30 story specific missions and another 60 bonus levels.

Going for the platinum trophy is tough as two of the trophies are glitched, but it is doable.

If you're a fan of the Lego series I'd suggest giving this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Another good one from Lego

posted by CipherHax (RALEIGH, NC) Feb 28, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Lego added some nice mechanics to this game. The challenge was increased considerably with the need to aim with certain weapons, and it requires more thinking to solve.

The only frustrating part is the vehicle battles, where you need to shatter enemy cars and trucks. It is difficult to know where on the map to go once one group has been destroyed. Not a game killer, but my only complaint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trophies: EPIC FAIL

posted by Ardilla3 (DURHAM, NC) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

Due to a stupid glitch in the game itself, I cant get the platinum trophy. It doesnt acknowledge me completeing the quick play story modes and you have to beat hangar havoc in under 5 minutes THE 1st TIME YOU PLAY IT otherwise you have to start a new game to do it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

The Adventure Continues....sort of

posted by knight2009 (LONGWOOD, FL) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I have been playing Lego Indiana Jones 2 for the past 3-4 days now. I honestly have to say that the first one was more over all fun. The levels were longer and more entertaining. I miss going to the lego store to buy all the unlockables like "Fast Build" etc. Visually this game is a step up. When swimming in the water and looking at the bottom the designers did a great job of making it look deep, more real. The environments are huge in this one. Just when I think I covered an entire island there is a part I missed. That is also part of the problem. Maybe it is just me but I feel lost a lot of the time trying to find what to do next. With no clear path like previous Lego games I get the feeling that it is supposed to give me the feeling that I have more control over where I go. I guess I liked the use of chapters under each movie title to break down the story. I like the idea of unlocking characters and vehicles as you go. I suppose it is necessary considering that in order to officially beat certain stages of the game the stages are character specific like all Lego games. Over all I feell there are things they should have left alone that were good in the first game. The most noted improvements are the much larger environments to walk around between playing stages and the racing contests. Now we can all live out our dreams of racing a camel. Hooray! Can't wait for Lego Harry Potter and hopefully another Batman one. How about one based on the A-Team? That show screams for its own Lego game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not even the kids like it!

posted by factor8 (PARKER, CO) Jan 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

Everything you remember from the first Lego Indiana Jones is gone... rewritten... lame... and obscure! The 4th installment (the Crystal Kingdom) is not that bad but when you go to play the first three movies... it's a complete joke. We almost bought this one and I'm so happy we didn't.

I'd like to see the developers simply migrate the original game with the last game so that we can forget about this "accidental release" so I can buy it.

I gave it a three based on the fourth installment, were it not for that I'd have given it a 1. Don't buy this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

GHASTLY '90s CONTROL AND BORING GAMEPLAY

posted by scion91 (BEND, OR) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2004

The worst control quality I've seen since the worst games of the 90's, especially the Pyramid in a Crystal Skill segment. But awful control design is a disease spread on land, sea and in the air throughout this boring, repetitive, rehash game. If you must have a Lego game, pick ANY of the others. This one would not be worth having if it was free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »