Rent LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7 for Wii
view large frontback

LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.6

482 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Game For A Great Series

posted by Silversonic (WORCESTER, MA) Feb 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Anyone who thinks that this game won't be very accurate is in for a surprisingly good time. Just because it is in the form of Lego's, that doesn't mean it will change the whole story of the final 4 movies in Harry Potter. If anything, it puts a unique spin on the series. The cutscenes are funny and there are so many unlockable goodies to search for. For instance, over 200 unlockable characters.

This game is definitely geared towards kids, but I enjoyed it despite my age. However, there are always a few minor annoyances in a game. One such annoyance in this one is the fact that it is easy to get lost within Hogwarts since there is no in-game map. But on the other hand, that also clearly shows that there is a large world to explore and this game gives you all the time in the world to discover everything.

So if you enjoy exploring large worlds, finding many unlockables, funny cutscenes, and the Harry Potter series in general, this is clearly a great game for you to try. It is all about having fun. And who doesn't enjoy that?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great improvements

posted by rms923 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Nov 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Everything learned from Hp Years 1-4 and Pirates has been incorporated. Game play is a lot more fun with characters acting more intuitively. The cut out art from Pirates is again used to bring emphasis to that which can not be messed. Game flows naturally from one location to another with the hub world being more interactive between missions including a rich (and nicely lit) Diagon Alley and streets of London. Give it a whirl!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Harry Potter awesome

posted by TKFranks (GREENBRIER, AR) Dec 23, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am so glad that I bought this came. It has given my 10 year old son and me many hours of time together. It is awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Harry Potter 5-7

posted by jesjones (REXBURG, ID) Jan 31, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

My wife and I had a lot of fun playing this game, it was nice and long, time flew while playing it, and it really wasn't hard at all. The reason that it only had a seven for this game is for a few reasons. while we had fun, the split screen system for this game was quite a pain. It usually split to soon and if the other person was running around when the screens were split it was nearly impossible to aim. Next there were glitches in the game. there were two times when we had to reset the game because we jumped and got stuck in an area of permanent falling and it wouldn't allow us to escape.Another reason it got only a seven was because every level was basically the same, you just blast everywhere and levitate everything until it allows you to move on. after many hours of play, it got a little boring. Lastly, it said that my wife and I only beat it like 37% after we did the whole thing, so we would have had to replay every level with different characters twice more to beat it all the way, and lets face it, after as many hours you spent doing the same exact thing over and over again, it would be miserable to do it again. So those things knocked it down as low as it did, but I kept it a good rating because I had a lot of fun playing it one time through, and then returning it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Kids Game

posted by AleraFletcher (SAN DIEGO, CA) Feb 4, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

I found this game to be really fun, but a little boring if you play it too long. For those of you who have younger siblings, the two player is really fun because you constantly have to help eachother out. It takes a lot of team work, but the missions are easy enough for young children to understand. Not for the hard-core gamer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

very good game

posted by march0314 (PORTER, TX) Jan 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

very good game the graphics were good the special effects were amazing i beat it in less then a day i can wait to own it someday

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego Harry Potter years 1-4 vs. years 5-7

posted by thedboys (MEDFORD, NJ) Jul 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

Both games were really well thought out, and at first I thought they were both amazing, but I then realized only one can stand tall and strong.

Years 1-4 was fun and all, but I feel years 5-7 was more action packed.

Years 1-4 was cool with Hogwarts set-up and all, but I feel years 5-7 was just as cool with the different teleporting spots.

Years 1-4 wasn't as action packed with the storyline. Years 5-7 was full of adventure.

Years 1-4 was boring compared to the new dueling in years 5-7

I have to say, Lego Harry Potter years 5-7 destroys Lego Harry Potter Years 1-4.

Enjoy Playing!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Freezes up on Wii platform

posted by legofan (GREENWICH, CT) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Not sure if this happens on other consoles, but this game freezes up to the point of cold boot to recover. Was avle to play for 1 day and then returned. Very frustrating b/c the game is pretty good and interesting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun

posted by NinFreakinJa (BLUFFTON, SC) May 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

very fun with the classic lego style and wand battles but i didnt like that the thing you got after finishing the game is a mini gold castle that doesnt do anything

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Was okaaaay

posted by heyitsbryan (SAN JOSE, CA) Dec 28, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

Maybe it was because I didn't play enough (only about 30 minutes) but I couldn't get into this. Was a little too "puzzle-y" for me and my girlfriend. Was hoping for a lot more action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

never mind my review for lego harry potter 1-4

posted by tommyshooter (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Never mind the other review I wrote for the prequel for this game, my little brother wrote that and he HATES puzzle games. Anyway, this game is a perfect choice for smaller children that enjoy the harry potter series. The controls are fairly easy, and the puzzles are at a fairly difficult level (they were very easy for me, my brother, on the other hand, just wanted to use a certain spell to make other Hogwarts students float in the air). It's a good choice for small potter-lovers that enjoy puzzle games and bathroom humor. (just don't expect everybody to like it).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BORING!!!

posted by smtreptow (MUSKEGON, MI) Dec 21, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

This game was incredibly dull... I rented it for my ten year old and played it with her. We only tried it twice and we have been renting it for over a month and she won't go near it again. I LOVE Harry Potter and so does she but this game is not good :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Delivers what’s expected, but not much more

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Dec 6, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Harry Potter and his friends, family and enemies are back in the last installment of the LEGO Harry Potter franchise, LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7
There are four sections of the game (Year 7 has two sections in it), and if you have played the last version of this franchise, then you know what you’re going to get this time around.
You wander around Hogwarts School for most of the game doing side quests or following the transparent LEGO pieces that will lead you to the next part of the main quest.
Every now and then, you will have to do a simple level where you go from point A to point B, solving puzzles by destroying objects, casting spells, and making new objects from the LEGO pieces lying about. Just like in almost any other LEGO game.
But once again, the biggest headache is the single player mode – the AI doesn’t really do much to help you get through the game, so a second player is most welcome.
Another problem I had with this game is that there are far too many dark sections of each level, making it hard to see items that you can hit with spells. This really becomes a problem with the parts where you cut out a figure from a red block (the block can almost be covered up by the lack of light in the area).
Still, this game is a lot of fun, most of the levels show of great design, and the cut scenes are just as funny as I’ve seen in any other LEGO game (unlike the movies, which is far, far darker than this game).
LEGO Harry Potter Years 5-7 is definitely worth a rent, and fans of the LEGO franchise may end up buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BEST GAME EVER!!!

posted by adgvadercolario (BALDWIN PARK, CA) Dec 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

I like this game because you get to see all of your favorite characters and you explore different places than years 1-4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

(>")> <("<)

posted by kirbyhug (LOS ALTOS, CA) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I'm in luv with this game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lego Harry Potter: 5-7

posted by EdDantes (STILLWATER, MN) Nov 19, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

Great game play and story line...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Reveiw

posted by Champ1623 (BOISE, ID) Nov 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

i loved it its better than first one cool dueling skills the best lego game ever made

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »