Rent LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 for DS
view large frontback

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
6.9

256 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting New Take On Harry Potter

posted by AshleyFord (FREEPORT, IL) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lego Harry Potter takes an interesting view on the HP book/movie series. It's very interactive and the magic is great. Using your stylus as a wand, you can cast spells like a real witch/wizard. I have truly enjoyed the game and would recommend it to any Harry Potter fan, young and old. The only disappointment I have is that it doesn't really follow the regular storyline of Harry Potter. There are many missing gaps and new things that never happened in the books or movies. However, I understand that there are certain things you can't really translate from a book or movie into a video game. I give this a 8 out of 10! A must play for ALL Harry Potter fans or just magic fans in general.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but kind of boring when the levels are done

posted by Legoguy (WESTBOROUGH, MA) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I got this game and couldn't stop playing it. I play for like 5 hours straight. It's cool how you can go to classes and learn spells and stuff. But when I purchased X2 from the room of requirement I realized you can't turn it off. I thought it was great and that it wouldn't matter.
But I got everything too fast and before I knew I was done and the game was BORING. So #1 if you have the game DON'T GET X2!!!!!!!
And #2 think about getting the game. But if you do you'll love it. But I thought the DS system just got ripped off by Travelers Tales again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I had really looked forward to this

posted by MiniDriver (SOMERVILLE, MA) Sep 21, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I enjoy Lego Batman and Lego Indiana Jones and keep playing them even after a first run-through. Potter follows a similar format, and fairly faithfully follows the action in the movies.

But something about the Lego Harry Potter game seems rough and unfinished. In the other games, you can go "true" on the story and free play, but in HP, you can only go "true wizard" on story play.

I haven't really figured out what determines if characters will be unlocked. It doesn't seem related to true wizard status or number of hats.

Overall, the game's amusing enough. But I won't be buying this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

BADDDDDDD

posted by jake147 (BURLINGAME, CA) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I got it because they were out of the ones for the wii and it wasnt anything like i thought dont get

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring.

posted by dgolightly519 (PRESTON, ID) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

Rented this game for my wife, who is a fan of these type of game and is a fan of Harry Potter. She found it boring and told me to rate it a two. No offense meant to those who enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best so far

posted by IAGameMom (JANESVILLE, IA) Feb 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I have played all of the Lego games of this styling to date. This one is the one I like that best.

The one thing that I think has imporved the game, is on each level if there is a red brick, hat, or character card available on the top screen with the map there is a tracker showing what is left to be found.

Keep the games coming Lego.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Got better after the first few levels

posted by KBooBoo (SPANAWAY, WA) Feb 7, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

I didn't like the game at all the first few levels. I'm used to Lego Batman, Star Wars, etc that you can jump smash and break everything that is Lego made....... nope. You start to have more control of that the future you get. You learn more "spells" and it's easier once you get your wand. The story/plot stuck with the movie pretty well (as much as can be expected in a video game). I was going to send it back the first night but decided to just keep playing. I finished over the weekend and glad I did. Like other reviews say, it's not much fun once you beat the levels. My major complaint about the game is that there isn't a button to work the wand, you have to use the stylist. I understand it's a DS, it's touch screen, that's awesome... but I hate walking the characters around with the stylist. Overall, not bad... better than it started off....Compared to the PS3 version.... PS3 Lego Harry Potter is MUCH better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »