Rent LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 for Wii
view large frontback

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.5

1997 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

LEGO Harry Potter as good as the books/movies?

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 14, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

18 out of 18 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First it was Star Wars, then Batman, then Indiana Jones.
Now Harry Potter gets the Lego treatment in Lego Harry Potter Years 1-4.
This game plays out very much like the other LEGO games. Your character gets special abilities in the form of spells and small creatures that you use to blast things to pieces, put together LEGOs to make things, and solve puzzles at the same time.
There are four episodes in this game, and they somewhat follow the first four books of the franchise. But the cut scenes take the material more lightly and with more humor than the books do. The humor for the most part is on target, and it’s one of the best parts of this (and any other LEGO) game.
The layout of the game is complex: there’s a whole lot for you to explore, and if you get lost, there’s a ghost guy that will guide you back onto the main path and onto the next level.
But, some of the puzzles can get tough, and if you want to get all the secrets and all the golden blocks (there are 200 of them), you will most likely have to buy the strategy guide. A standard run through of all four levels took me about 10 hours, which is a lot given the lack of depth of other action/ adventure games.
When you get through the game, you have the option of playing any level with any unlocked character to get more goodies.
You can also take on one of 10 bonus levels.
And you can create your own levels with the level editor.
This is another in a long line of LEGO hits, and it makes me wonder who’s next to be (for lack of a better word) Legoized. But Lego Harry Potter Years 1-4 will keep me satisfied until then. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rent it. rent it NOW.

posted by LegoAwesom (MILLIS, MA) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

16 out of 17 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

it is one of the best games i have ever played. if you don't rent it, you are REALLY missing out on this incredible game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

You should try this game for your self

posted by jacob0018 (HENNING, MN) Jul 3, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game is amazing. If you are into lego games and harry potter or any adventure games you would love it. in the real games of harry potter you learn only like 10- 20 spells if that but in this game you learn a lot more. The potion glass has definitely improved and even though professor snape is teaching it is still fun. so rent it and have a good time playing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

lego never disapoints

posted by griffin59 (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 12, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love lego games and Im a harry potter super fan so i love this game the only thing that makes me give it a 9 are
1.lego games are all the same
2.when i play a lego game I suspect strategy.this is the only one with out a lot of strategy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great for everyone

posted by yoda50 (OXFORD, CT) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

its the best game in the world.some challenge. but i will tell you how to beat the troll part you put scrabbers in the pipe push the red things on the side then build the lego sword and its easy hand it over to the lego thing and then it hits the ball. then you want to use wingardin levoso then you put on the wig that the guy in the painting press z on the light orange spot go in the bathroom and its simple to fight/kill the troll and save hermoine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game for Novice.

posted by AUNTGEGE (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Jul 7, 2010

Member since May 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I am not one who normally plays a game for a long time, the kids do that. But, I am a big Harry Potter fan, and I have been struggling with this game (and it is all good).

I am adjusting to the navigation. The only thing, I wish is that sometimes I'm uncertain as to what I'm suppose to be doing, and it would be nice to have a little popup give me direction. However, I usually still figure it out.

For example: I am in a classroom and the segment pops up a lego element, then explodes to start, the room is dark, (Learning luminos).. and the purpose is to collect the blown appart pieces and reassemble them to complete the task. I stumbled around for a while until I figured this out, but still had a great time playing.

However I do feel like I have stepped into Harry Potter's world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

So Far So Good

posted by gamecat78 (DENTON, TX) Jun 30, 2010

Member since Jul 2008

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I have only played this game for about an hour, but so far it is excellent. I usually enjoy the LEGO games, but this one is possibly the best so far. It is funny as usual, and easy to pick up and play. Even in the short time I have played this one, there is more to it. There is more open ended exploring and more in depth game play. Classes, learning spells and potions. Looks to be a great addition to the LEGO games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's pretty good

posted by jtwiztid (PLAINWELL, MI) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just got done with the first year and there are some things I noticed that are lacking. The levels are pretty short. They just cram tons of stuff to blow up into one tiny space so you're in one spot for a while collecting coins. Also there wasn't any co-op puzzles (or puzzles at all for that matter) that weren't just just stand on a platform while the other person lifts it. Just seems like the other lego games were more tricky and more detailed in gameplay. This one is still fun just not as good IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

lego harry potter

posted by brooks (VENICE, CA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is pretty fun,but sometimes dissapointingly glitchy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool game

posted by CORBIN1256 (MANASSAS, VA) Jul 5, 2010

Member since Sep 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game is awesome. the bosses are fun too. the only downfall is that the levitating spell can get annoying if you are trying to put something together.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lego harry potter years 1-4

posted by gamebayjay (ANDOVER, MN) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game did't plese me cause am a big harry potter fan but it was ok but i rated it a 1 cause i have star wars lego that was much beter it follwes the stoy this donet

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by gamefly2 (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

in the game you get to to potions and alot of fun things it is a good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is so boring

posted by lovesgames (DOUGLAS, GA) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

When I heard they were coming out with lego harry potter I was like that should be fun like star wars lego but it's not. So far I haven't found a better lego game then star wars even lego batman isn't all that fun. I'm not to crazy about the movies but I though it would be cool to play lego harry potter but when I rented it and went to play it I was like OH I'm definatly not going to buy this game it's just so boring. Even my nephew who's a hard gamer more then I am said so and he like star war legos and he's more into battle games. All I have to say is if you want to you can try it but to me it was really boring and not a game worth it to own but that's just my opinion. Some people proably do like it but I sure didn't. It was hard I know that makes a game challenging but come on it didn't have to be as hard as it was. Guess that's why Star Wars Lego's will always be #1 to me as far as lego games go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

When will Lego learn?!

posted by jjohn2478 (CARLSBAD, CA) Jul 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I was hoping to love this game as the past few Lego games were lacking and were just more of the same. Sadly as with the last few, this one fell very short as usual. The only Lego game worth playing in my opinion is Star Wars.

The controls are still wonky and awkward, the views are horrible as usual, and there in nothing exciting in this game at all to speak of. I honestly wouldn't mind just watching the whole movie series in Lego cut scenes as they are funny without any dialogue which is impressive, but the rest I can do without.

Skip this one (as well as the past few Lego games) and move on so the creators learn to end it here!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Difficult to follow

posted by nikikate (LINDENWOLD, NJ) Jul 17, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Much to my dismay, I found this game very difficult to follow. And I hated that I couldn't skip through the 'movie' portions. They were a waste of time and kept me from playing the game. So much promise, such a disappointment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

lego harry potter

posted by eletro1 (GENEVA, OH) Jul 2, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 33 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

THIS GANE IS JUST BAD.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Verry fun & challenging :-D

posted by Horserider79 (HOUSTON, TX) Feb 3, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

I had fun with this game. Very fun and challenging. Having grown up playing with legos I loved it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

abit glitchy but worth it

posted by 999love (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) May 30, 2013

Member since Oct 2006

yea the game was ez, fun and lasted a long time. but there are a few glitches to wtch out for that could potentioaly stop you from reaching 100% complete. but other than that it was realy fun and the cheats are built into the game (one of the bet parts).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

casting spells with ease

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and thought it was a great game. The game follows the first four movies hence the fact it is called years 1-4. The controls are simple and easy to use, with the nunchuk controlling movement and the z button used to cast spells and interact with things and the c button used to change characters. The graphics on this game are really good looking they look like the actually harry potter locations just in a lego world. The puzzles are challening but not so hard that they become frustrating. The only downfall I have with this game is the years are too long. There are two many levels between each year. If you are a fan of Harry Potter or just like the lego games I would recommend picking this game up. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont borther

posted by HBLYNN777 (KANSAS CITY, KS) Feb 19, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

This game was a big disappointment. It was not rather the time I played it. I thought it could be a lot better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IT'S TO HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by tommyshooter (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Why I say this is because it really is to FREAKIN hard. So if you are bad at playing puzzle games,DO NOT GET THIS load of Harry Poopy!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

4'th best Lego game I played!

posted by poppatrick12345 (RIVERSIDE, RI) Nov 5, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

The only complant I have is unlike Lego Indiana Jones 2, you go from room to room, but still, I have to imagine a LEGO Hogwarts in one big room. It was also the first LEGO game I got, so it was the game that caught me on to LEGO games in the first place!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Lego finally did it again

posted by FreekingGoose (RIO RANCHO, NM) Oct 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

I enjoyed the Lego star wars games. They were their own thing and completely original. They fouled up with the Indiana Jones and batman games a little and thus I was slightly wary of this game. I was astounded they improved upon what they had already done with the Lego star wars. If you do not like the Lego games then this game is still a Lego game (Duh?) but if you liked the Lego star wars then you will love this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Harry Potty

posted by Champ1623 (BOISE, ID) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

did not like it so much except you can build levels

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love it!

posted by AEbabe007 (BREWSTER, OH) Aug 11, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I loved this game so much, I bought it! I probably would have bought it anyway since I'm a huge Harry Potter fan, but I didn't think at first that I'd like a Lego game. It's absolutely fun and addicting. I love the controls and the way the characters behave and interact. There's some things that I haven't understood the purpose of yet, but I'll get there. I absolutely recommend renting this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse